Computed from this object's own state — a structural condition is unmet. This is not a fixed disclaimer: the conditions below are each testable, and a build in which they are met renders READY.
In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f, what do the contributing trials show?
In this section: Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set) · What this object claims to contain
| Review title | Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f |
|---|---|
| Review question (PICO) | In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f, what do the contributing trials show? |
| Population | Not shown — the SGLT2 v1.0 protocols cover heart failure and chronic kidney disease; this review is the SGLT2 cardiovascular-outcome-trial (type-2-diabetes MACE) population, which none of them describes. State: PROTOCOL_POPULATION_MISMATCH. |
| Intervention | Not shown — the SGLT2 v1.0 protocols cover heart failure and chronic kidney disease; this review is the SGLT2 cardiovascular-outcome-trial (type-2-diabetes MACE) population, which none of them describes. State: PROTOCOL_POPULATION_MISMATCH. |
| Comparator | Not shown — the SGLT2 v1.0 protocols cover heart failure and chronic kidney disease; this review is the SGLT2 cardiovascular-outcome-trial (type-2-diabetes MACE) population, which none of them describes. State: PROTOCOL_POPULATION_MISMATCH. |
| Background / rationale | Not recorded — this object holds no background field, and an introduction generated without one would be argument that no source in this review supports |
| Eligibility criteria | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
| Information sources | 0 source layers, listed on the Extraction tab |
| Search strategy | The executed strings, datetimes, filters and hit counts are on the Search tab |
| Study selection process | Not recorded — no screening record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from, so who screened and how cannot be stated |
| Number of screeners | Not recorded — this object records no screener count |
| Data extraction items | Extracted per trial on this object: registry id; primary publication; arms; per-arm counts and the published effect. Fields not listed here were not extracted. |
| Outcomes and prioritisation | Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f |
| Risk of bias method | Not recorded — no per-domain RoB-2 assessment exists yet |
| Synthesis methods | Pooled under random-effects with the REML estimator on the log scale. Whether they were prespecified is not recorded on this object. |
| Subgroup analyses | Not recorded — this object records no subgroup-analysis field at all, so whether any were prespecified is UNKNOWN -- which is not the same as none having been |
| Meta-bias assessment | Not recorded — no funnel, Egger or Peters value is held on this object, so no meta-bias assessment is claimed |
| Certainty assessment | Not recorded — no GRADE record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from |
| Funding | Not recorded — no funding statement is recorded for this review |
| Competing interests | Not recorded — no declaration is recorded |
| Built | 2026-08-17T12:06Z |
| Schema | 2-converted-from-extractor |
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from
In this section: Extracted values, and where each came from · References · Included studies · Regulatory documents · Methods and guidance · Sources · Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f · Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f · What was measured · Pooled result · What this pool holds constant · Contributing trials · Endpoint definitions, read from the registry · Does the answer depend on the pooling method?
One row per extracted value. Every row carries the value, the verbatim sentence it was read from, a resolvable link to the source, and whether the number was read or derived. Where any of those is absent the row says so rather than omitting the value.
| Trial / outcome | Value as extracted | Verbatim source sentence | Source links | Read or derived |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMPA-REG OUTCOME primary | OR 0.849 (95% CI 0.727 to 0.992) | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT01131676 | DERIVED by us from extractor recovery from the published page The point estimate and interval shown here are DERIVED, not read: the extractor recovered an estimate and a variance on the analysis scale, and the interval is estimate +/- 1.96*sqrt(variance) back-transformed. No source document was consulted and no source sentence is recorded. |
| DECLARE-TIMI 58 primary | OR 0.935 (95% CI 0.843 to 1.04) | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT01730534 | DERIVED by us from extractor recovery from the published page The point estimate and interval shown here are DERIVED, not read: the extractor recovered an estimate and a variance on the analysis scale, and the interval is estimate +/- 1.96*sqrt(variance) back-transformed. No source document was consulted and no source sentence is recorded. |
| Layer | Source | How it was obtained |
|---|
| Comparator | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
|---|---|
| Estimand | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from — random-effects |
| Effect scale | combined on the log scale; ESTIMAND UNIFORMITY NOT ESTABLISHED -- the contributing trials have not been shown to measure the same quantity |
OR 0.9074 (0.831 to 0.9908), 95% interval
Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f. random-effects, estimator REML, k = 2.
τ² 0.000106 · I² 2.27% · Q 1.023 on 1 df
Favours: the intervention (direction of benefit not recorded for this outcome)
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from
The extractor recovered a pooled result from this page, so the page pooled these trials. Whether they should have been pooled is not established by conversion - several pages in this corpus pooled harm with efficacy, or distinct agents, and their estimates were withdrawn for that reason.
A published synthesis of this question included 3 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Kluger et al., Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine 2018, PMID 31032602, 'Cardiorenal Outcomes in the canvas, DECLARE-TIMI 58, and EMPA-REG OUTCOME Trials'.
The third trial is named: the canvas Program. It is in the title of the review and is not carried by this object. This is the only topic in the corpus where a trial we do not pool can be named.
The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made.
| Dimension | Across the pooled cohorts | If it differs, why it is crossed anyway |
|---|---|---|
| effect measure | NOT ESTABLISHED | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
| estimand | NOT ESTABLISHED | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
| Trial | Analysed treatment / control |
OR (95% CI), or events | Source of this cell |
|---|---|---|---|
| EMPA-REG OUTCOME NCT01131676 | intervention: 4,687 control: 2,333 | 0.8491 (0.7267 to 0.9922) | : |
| DECLARE-TIMI 58 NCT01730534 | intervention: 8,582 control: 8,578 | 0.9353 (0.8428 to 1.038) | : |
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from
What each trial COUNTED, in its own registry record's words, before anything here was pooled. A sentence saying what HAPPENED is not a sentence saying what was COUNTED, and only the second one licenses a pool. Follow the registration link to disagree with any row.
| Trial | Rank in its own trial | Registered outcome measure | Description, verbatim | Analysis set / window |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMPA-REG OUTCOME NCT01131676 | No endpoint definition is recorded for this trial. Its effect was pooled without one. | |||
| DECLARE-TIMI 58 NCT01730534 | No endpoint definition is recorded for this trial. Its effect was pooled without one. | |||
With two or three studies the Cochrane Handbook (10.10.4.4–10.10.4.5) asks for a sensitivity analysis comparing interval methods rather than a choice between them. Both are given here; the published interval is the first row.
| Interval | Method | Summary (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|
| as published | REML | 0.9074 (0.831 to 0.9908) |
| sensitivity (Handbook 10.10.4.5) | REML with Hartung-Knapp, t on k-1 = 1 degree(s) of freedom (t = 12.7062) | 0.9074 (0.5132 to 1.6045) |
The published point is 0.9074 and the house-rule point is 0.9074. The number a reader remembers does not move; what differs is the precision claim. That is why nothing downstream catches this -- every memorable quantity survives.
A floor of 1 is applied to the variance-inflation factor so the adjustment can never narrow an interval below the unadjusted one. That guard is the recognised modification for exactly this instability, and its existence is evidence the small-k behaviour is a known problem with known handling rather than a novel judgement.
In this section: Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f · Forest plot · Visual abstract · Risk of bias · GOSH · Trial-sequential analysis · Meta-regression
Drawn from the same stored estimates the table above lists. Box area is proportional to inverse-variance weight.
x-axis range
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 102 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: face43935c1938ff), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_fit.eps, 3 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_fit.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 103 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 992ccc75be045990), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w1.eps, 3 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w1.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 101 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 132750dc67ee53d3), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w2.eps, 3 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w2.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 102 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 096490d91912da24), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w3.eps, 3 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w3.tiff, 12,129 KB.
Changing the range moves the axis window only. The guides stay labelled with the null and the extremes of the plotted intervals, so no plotted value and no printed number differs between these views — and that is checked at build time, not asserted.
⬇ SVG (vector) 4 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x2100 519 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 0dc3a91cd49865f1), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — visual-abstract.eps, 6 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — visual-abstract.tiff, 27,685 KB.
Projected from the canonical object, so it carries the same k, the same pooled estimate and the same interval as the paper and cannot drift from them. The interval is drawn to scale against the no-difference line, which it EXCLUDES: 0.831 to 0.991, with no difference at 1.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB
Only the vector format is offered for this figure, by choice: it is line art — discrete marks, glyphs and labels — which SVG reproduces exactly at any size, so a raster would add weight without adding fidelity. The build was able to rasterise; it was asked not to.
Not drawn, because there is nothing to draw it from.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 81 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 9091822e99aa8781), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — gosh.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — gosh.tiff, 5,537 KB.
Deliberately not drawn. Every subset meta-analysis of 2 trials is 3 points; a cloud that small cannot show the multimodality GOSH exists to reveal, and a reader would take the picture as evidence of its absence.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x650 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 25ed9800fdf56614), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — tsa.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — tsa.tiff, 6,665 KB.
TSA boundaries depend entirely on a target information size that must be pre-specified. This review's protocol registers none, so any boundary drawn here would be a parameter chosen after seeing the data -- which is the practice TSA exists to protect against.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: e35ec93bbc9a1c10), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — bubble.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — bubble.tiff, 5,537 KB.
The protocol pre-specifies no moderator, and at k = 2 a meta-regression would be fitted on 2 points. Not drawn rather than drawn with a caveat: a bubble plot invites reading a slope, and there is no slope here that any reader should read.
In this section: Summary of findings · Reproducibility artifact · Other recorded qualifications
| Outcome | k | Pooled effect | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f | 2 | OR 0.907 (0.831 to 0.991) | See comment12 |
| Canonical object | — |
|---|---|
| Registered at | — — |
| Schema | 2-converted-from-extractor |
| Object last updated | 2026-08-17T12:06Z |
| Source object SHA-256, first 16 hex characters | f4efacb1f40a675d |
| Page generated | 2026-08-28 19:54 UTC |
| Generator build | a441e4187. The standard this page was built to is NOT ESTABLISHED: this object carries no build_stamp, so the version above is the standard that exists now, not the one this page was built against. |
This page CANNOT be rebuilt from what is recorded here: no canonical object is recorded and no registered commit is recorded. Each figure on the Analysis tab downloads as an SVG carrying exactly the values shown.
Statements this review records about the limits of what it establishes, which are not shown elsewhere on this page. They are reproduced from the object verbatim and are not summarised.
| Primary verbatim 1 used by this review | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke |
|---|---|
| Primary verbatim 2 not used and not recorded | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death or Hospitalization Due to Heart Failure. |
| And this trial has two co primaries | CV death or hospitalisation for heart failure is registered at the same rank. This review used the MACE composite and recorded no reason. Choosing between co-primaries is an analytic decision and an unrecorded one is not a methodological choice, it is an accident that happens to have a direction. |
| A a published synthesis carried more trials than this pool | A published synthesis of this question included 3 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Kluger et al., Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine 2018, PMID 31032602, 'Cardiorenal Outcomes in the canvas, DECLARE-TIMI 58, and EMPA-REG OUTCOME Trials'. |
| B whether the extra trials can be named | The third trial is named: the canvas Program. It is in the title of the review and is not carried by this object. This is the only topic in the corpus where a trial we do not pool can be named. |
| C what this means for the estimate above | The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made. |
| Scope | None. It reports the three trials side by side and does not pool. |
| The finding of this comparison | A published systematic review of these exact trials looked at them and did not pool them. Kluger et al. 2018 reported the three CVOTs side by side and concluded that matching inclusion criteria and endpoints would be needed 'to ensure a truly direct comparison of the drugs'. They name the difference: EMPA-REG OUTCOME required prior confirmed cardiovascular disease and enrolled 99.2% with CVD, against 40.6% in DECLARE-TIMI 58. This object pools those two populations into one odds ratio of 0.9074. The comparison therefore does not adjudicate our estimate -- it questions whether the pool should exist. Withdrawing or restating it is a content decision and is not made here. |
In this section: Paper · Title · Abstract · Introduction · Methods — search · Methods — eligibility criteria · Methods — synthesis · Results · Comparison with published syntheses · Disagreements between sources · Limitations · Software availability · Reporting guidelines · Note on registration · References · Figures · Trial characteristics · Not reported in this record
Each statement below cites the record it came from; those sources are listed at the end of every section. Where the record holds nothing, the section says so by name rather than being left out, so a procedure that was not carried out can be told from one that simply was never mentioned.
Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Following Adjudicated Components of the Primary Composite Endpoint (3-point M | Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events (MACE) Composite of Cardiovascular (CV) Death, Non-Fatal Myocardial Infarction (MI), | Subjects Included in the Composite Endpoint of CV Death, MI or Ischemic Stroke | Time to First Occurrence of MACE (Composite Endpoint of Major Adverse Cardiovascular Events [Cardiovascular Death, Non-f1
titleQuestion. In the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title, what do the contributing trials show?1
Methods. estimates were pooled under a random-effects model with the REML estimator.2
Results. the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title: odds ratio 0.907 (0.831 to 0.991) across 2 trials; 1 of these pooled outcome(s) carries a stated qualification -- a referral or a recorded finding -- given in full in Results and not reproduced here; and no statistical heterogeneity was detected (I-squared 2.3%), though heterogeneity cannot be reliably assessed with two trials.3
questionresults.by_outcomeresults.by_outcomeBackground. This review asks: In the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title, what do the contributing trials show? It pools 2 randomised trials. The outcome pooled is the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title.1
manuscript.introductionPrimary trials. No bibliographic search for primary trials was run. The 2 included trials were identified by reading named registrations on the dates recorded on each entry. The basis on which this object was verified is not recorded. What this object does not claim is not recorded. The bar this object had to clear is not recorded. Published syntheses. PubMed E-utilities esearch + esummary, executed 2026-08-20. Query as executed: (("SGLT2"[tiab] OR "sodium-glucose"[tiab] OR empagliflozin[tiab] OR dapagliflozin[tiab]) and ("cardiovascular outcome"[tiab] or MACE[tiab] OR "major adverse cardiovascular"[tiab])) and (meta-analysis[pt] OR "systematic review"[pt] OR meta-analysis[tiab]). It matched ? record(s), of which ? were retrieved and ? read; 2 appraised.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.the_search_its_date_and_its_databasesnot recorded on the page this object was extracted from1
screening.eligibilityFor the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title, a random-effects model was fitted with the REML estimator.1
results.by_outcome.primary.model, results.by_outcome.primary.estimator_usedThe pooled odds ratio for the four trial-declared outcomes named in the title was 0.907 (0.831 to 0.991) across 2 trials.1
This pool is referred, not withdrawn. The stroke component is not the same component. EMPA-REG's 3-point MACE counts non-fatal stroke of any type; declare's counts ischemic stroke only. Haemorrhagic stroke is inside one composite and outside the other. Two different endpoints sharing a name. Declare registers two co-primaries and this review silently used one. The other -- CV death or hospitalisation for heart failure -- is at the same rank and is the endpoint on which declare was positive. An unrecorded selection among co-primaries is an unrecorded analytic decision. The obstacle is in the evidence. Withdrawing a published estimate is a published-number decision and belongs to Mahmood. The estimate is unchanged; the finding is complete and stated.2
Noted on this pool. A published synthesis of this question included 3 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Kluger et al., Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine 2018, PMID 31032602, 'Cardiorenal Outcomes in the canvas, declare-timi 58, and empa-reg outcome Trials'. The third trial is named: the canvas Program. It is in the title of the review and is not carried by this object. This is the only topic in the corpus where a trial we do not pool can be named. The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made.3
The trials' results were closely consistent with one another: I-squared, the share of the variation between them that is more than chance alone would produce, was 2.27%; the estimated variance of the true effects between trials (tau-squared) was 0.000106, the heterogeneity test statistic Q was 1.02, on degrees of freedom 1.4
The grounds for pooling are recorded as: The extractor recovered a pooled result from this page, so the page pooled these trials. Whether they should have been pooled is not established by conversion - several pages in this corpus pooled harm with efficacy, or distinct agents, and their estimates were withdrawn for that reason. Where a later pool on this page rests on the same grounds, they are not restated.5
The full model output for every pooled outcome -- the call, the estimator, the heterogeneity statistics and the back-transformed interval -- is stored verbatim on this review object at `results.by_outcome.<outcome>.r_output.verbatim`. It is not reproduced as an Extended data section in this article; an earlier version of this sentence said it was, and no such section exists.6
outcomes[id=primary].name, results.by_outcome.primary.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.THE_POOL_IS_REFERRED_2026_08_20results.by_outcome.primary.POOL_FINDINGS_2026_08_21results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.i2, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.tau2, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.q, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.dfresults.by_outcome.primary.poolable_reasonresults.by_outcomePublished syntheses were identified as follows. PubMed E-utilities, executed 2026-08-20. Query, counts and per-record disposition in ssot/sglt2-mace-cvot-review/appraisal/the screen of published syntheses.json. 313 records matched; Only 300 ids were returned because the request capped at 300, so 13 matched records were never listed and are not merely unread -- they were never seen. 300 summaries read, 4 flagged by title, 2 appraised against their abstracts, 296 not appraised.1
published_comparison._how_identifiednot recorded on the page this object was extracted from1
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from2
reconciliation.why_this_step_existsreconciliation.clean_becauseWhat this review does not give a clinician: the number of events in each arm and any absolute effect or number needed to treat. A relative effect cannot be turned into the benefit or the risk facing one patient without them, so this review can support a judgement about what these trials found and not a judgement about what to do.1
results.by_outcomeAnalyses were computed under R 4.6.0 with metafor 5.0.1.1
results.by_outcomeThis review reports against PRISMA 2020. A screening record is held on this object and the flow it supports is shown in the Methods. The completed PRISMA checklist and FLOW diagram are not held here: the venue requires them deposited in an approved repository with a DOI cited in the Data Availability Statement, and minting that DOI is an author action rather than a build step.1
screeningNo PROSPERO registration or protocol record is held on this object. That is not the same as knowing this review was not registered, and neither claim is made. It is recorded here as an absence so that a reader does not have to infer it from silence.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.whether_this_review_was_prospectively_registered| Trial | Registration | Registry | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT01131676 | ClinicalTrials.gov | ||
| NCT01730534 | ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Citation | Identifier |
|---|---|
| Cardiorenal Outcomes in the canvas, declare-timi 58, and empa-reg outcome Trials: A Systematic Review. Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine. 2018. | PMID: 31032602 |
| Comparative Efficacy of Five SGLT2i on Cardiorenal Events: A Network Meta-analysis Based on Ten CVOTs. American Journal of Cardiovascular Drugs. 2022. | PMID: 34231123 |
| Cited for | Reference |
|---|---|
| the model fitted, as R 4.6.0 with metafor 5.0.1 | Viechtbauer W. Conducting meta-analyses in R with the metafor package. J Stat Softw. 2010;36(3):1-48. doi:10.18637/jss.v036.i03 |
| the reporting guideline this manuscript is written against | Page MJ, McKenzie JE, Bossuyt PM, et al. The PRISMA 2020 statement: an updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. BMJ. 2021;372:n71. doi:10.1136/bmj.n71 |
manuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled| Registration | Trial | Participants | Randomised | Primary outcome measured over | Design |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT01131676 | EMPA-REG OUTCOME | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from | not extracted | From randomisation to individual end of observation, up to 4.6 years | BI 10773 low dose (treatment, n=4687) vs Placebo (control, n=2333) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
| NCT01730534 | DECLARE-TIMI 58 | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from | not extracted | up to 5.2 years | Dapagliflozin (treatment, n=8582) vs Placebo (control, n=8578) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
inputs.trialsThe items below were not written because the record does not hold what they would be composed from. They are named here so that an absence is not mistaken for an omission.
| Article area | Item not reported | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Abstract | The Background sentence of the abstract | Background is argument -- why this question matters -- and no arrangement of the quantities this object holds yields it. It is emitted only from an authored field and there is no composition path for it here |
| Abstract | The Conclusions sentence of the abstract | A conclusion is argument -- what a reader should now believe -- and it is emitted only from an authored field. Composing one from the estimate would be this renderer telling the reader what to conclude, which no field supports |
| Methods — search | A database search for primary trials, which was not carried out for this review; the included trials were identified from named registrations | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — how many studies at each stage | The k cascade | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — outcomes sought at every registered rank | The statement that outcomes were sought below the primary | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that records were screened in duplicate by two independent reviewers | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that risk of bias was assessed with a named tool | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that certainty of evidence was graded | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that the review methods were prespecified before data collection | No further reason is recorded. |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias assessment | No further reason is recorded. |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias distribution | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | Certainty of the evidence, by outcome, with every rating step | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | The certainty assessment | No GRADE record is held, so the certainty column elsewhere on this page is an em dash rather than a guess |
| Data availability | The data availability statement | No further reason is recorded. |
| Author contributions | The author-contributions statement | Who did what is a fact about people, and this object records none |
| Competing interests | The competing-interests declaration | F1000Research requires this section on every article, and requires explicit text where there is nothing to declare. It is a statement about the author and not about the evidence: no field of this object implies it and none is invented here |
| Grant information | The grant information | The venue requires each funder's name, the grant number where applicable, and the person the grant was assigned . None of that is derivable from a synthesis |
| Funding and conflicts of interest | The funding and conflict-of-interest statement -- a content gap | A submission requires it and this object does not carry it; it is not inferable from anything held here |
| Note on registration | The registration note | No further reason is recorded. |
| Registration | A registration statement: no prospective registration is recorded for this review, and whether one exists elsewhere has not been established | No further reason is recorded. |
| Submission conformance | The submission conformance statement | No further reason is recorded. |
UNSTAMPED — unknown-version. This page carries no build_stamp, so the standard it was built to cannot be established. That is a statement about the record, not a claim that the page is below standard.
Every number on this page is projected from a single canonical object, and each measured cell names the source analysis it was read from. That is what is machine-checked. It does not establish that the underlying sources are right, only that this page faithfully reports them.