Computed from this object's own state — a structural condition is unmet. This is not a fixed disclaimer: the conditions below are each testable, and a build in which they are met renders READY.
In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'), what do the contributing trials show?
In this section: Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set) · What this object claims to contain
| Review title | Canagliflozin, dapagliflozin and empagliflozin in kidney disease |
|---|---|
| Review question (PICO) | In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'), what do the contributing trials show? |
| Population | Adults with chronic kidney disease (eGFR 25-75 mL/min/1.73m^2) with or without diabetes |
| Intervention | SGLT2 inhibitor (canagliflozin, dapagliflozin, empagliflozin) |
| Comparator | Placebo |
| Background / rationale | Not recorded — this object holds no background field, and an introduction generated without one would be argument that no source in this review supports |
| Eligibility criteria | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
| Information sources | 0 source layers, listed on the Extraction tab |
| Search strategy | The executed strings, datetimes, filters and hit counts are on the Search tab |
| Study selection process | Not recorded — no screening record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from, so who screened and how cannot be stated |
| Number of screeners | Not recorded — this object records no screener count |
| Data extraction items | Extracted per trial on this object: registry id; primary publication; arms; per-arm counts and the published effect; the randomised total, separately from the analysed denominator. Fields not listed here were not extracted. |
| Outcomes and prioritisation | Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') |
| Risk of bias method | Not recorded — no per-domain RoB-2 assessment exists yet |
| Synthesis methods | Not recorded — no outcome on this object carries a pooled estimate, so no synthesis method was applied |
| Subgroup analyses | Not recorded — this object records no subgroup-analysis field at all, so whether any were prespecified is UNKNOWN -- which is not the same as none having been |
| Meta-bias assessment | Not recorded — no funnel, Egger or Peters value is held on this object, so no meta-bias assessment is claimed |
| Certainty assessment | Not recorded — no GRADE record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from |
| Funding | Not recorded — no funding statement is recorded for this review |
| Competing interests | Not recorded — no declaration is recorded |
| Built | 2026-08-17T12:06Z |
| Schema | 2-converted-from-extractor |
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from
In this section: Extracted values, and where each came from · References · Included studies · Regulatory documents · Methods and guidance · Sources · Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') · Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') · What was measured · Pooled result · Contributing trials · Endpoint definitions, read from the registry
One row per extracted value. Every row carries the value, the verbatim sentence it was read from, a resolvable link to the source, and whether the number was read or derived. Where any of those is absent the row says so rather than omitting the value.
| Trial / outcome | Value as extracted | Verbatim source sentence | Source links | Read or derived |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CREDENCE primary | OR 0.685 (95% CI 0.574 to 0.816) | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT02065791 | DERIVED by us from extractor recovery from the published page The point estimate and interval shown here are DERIVED, not read: the extractor recovered an estimate and a variance on the analysis scale, and the interval is estimate +/- 1.96*sqrt(variance) back-transformed. No source document was consulted and no source sentence is recorded. |
| DAPA-CKD primary | OR 0.594 (95% CI 0.492 to 0.718) | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT03036150 | DERIVED by us from extractor recovery from the published page The point estimate and interval shown here are DERIVED, not read: the extractor recovered an estimate and a variance on the analysis scale, and the interval is estimate +/- 1.96*sqrt(variance) back-transformed. No source document was consulted and no source sentence is recorded. |
| EMPA-KIDNEY primary | OR 0.74 (95% CI 0.646 to 0.848) | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT03594110 | DERIVED by us from extractor recovery from the published page The point estimate and interval shown here are DERIVED, not read: the extractor recovered an estimate and a variance on the analysis scale, and the interval is estimate +/- 1.96*sqrt(variance) back-transformed. No source document was consulted and no source sentence is recorded. |
| Layer | Source | How it was obtained |
|---|
| Comparator | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from |
|---|---|
| Estimand | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from — random-effects |
| Effect scale | reported on the log scale; nothing is pooled on this outcome |
What is confirmed, stated as prominently as what is wrong. The component types agree across all three trials: every one counts kidney-function decline, end-stage kidney disease, renal death and cardiovascular death, and every one counts the first of them to occur. EMPA-KIDNEY's registry title names only 'kidney disease progression or cardiovascular death' and its description places renal death and the eGFR thresholds inside 'kidney disease progression' -- so reading the title alone would have made it look like a trial counting no renal death at all, which would have argued for splitting it from the other two for the wrong reason. The full description is quoted on every trial for exactly that reason. These three trials are close; they are not the same, and the difference is a threshold rather than a missing component. And the three results agree: crude risk ratios of 0.72, 0.63 and 0.77, all in the same direction. Agreement of results is not evidence of a common estimand. What is averaged is decided by what was counted, not by how the counts came out, and this withdrawal cannot be undone by observing that the numbers are close. The replacement question is identified and deliberately not taken: end-stage kidney disease as dialysis or transplant, and cardiovascular death, are each defined identically across all three and each is reported separately by all three. Taking it needs the trials' own reported hazard ratios for those components, from the registry results sections, and -- as recorded on ABLATION_AF -- a replacement question must be chosen before its answer is known. It is parked as a decision, not left as an oversight.
Previously displayed: OR 0.6793 (0.5996 to 0.7697); index card and table row: HR 0.68 (0.60-0.77), k=3 -- the DERIVED ODDS RATIO above, published under the label HR — superseded by this withdrawal.
Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'). k = 3.
| Trial | Analysed treatment / control |
OR (95% CI), or events | Source of this cell |
|---|---|---|---|
| CREDENCE NCT02065791 | intervention: 2,202 control: 2,199 | 0.6845 (0.574 to 0.8163) | : |
| DAPA-CKD NCT03036150 | intervention: 2,152 control: 2,152 | 0.5943 (0.4917 to 0.7182) | : |
| EMPA-KIDNEY NCT03594110 | intervention: 3,304 control: 3,305 | 0.7405 (0.6463 to 0.8484) | : |
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from
What each trial COUNTED, in its own registry record's words, before anything here was pooled. A sentence saying what HAPPENED is not a sentence saying what was COUNTED, and only the second one licenses a pool. Read from the registry on 2026-08-18. Follow the registration link to disagree with any row.
| Trial | Rank in its own trial | Registered outcome measure | Description, verbatim | Analysis set / window |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CREDENCE NCT02065791 | PRIMARY -- this trial's own primary outcome measure | Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiovascular (CV) Death | Primary composite endpoint is the composite of DoSC, eskd, and renal or CV death. DoSC: from baseline average determination (sustained and confirmed by repeat central laboratory measure after at least 30 days and preferably within 60 days). Eskd: as initiation of maintenance dialysis for at least 30 days, or renal transplantation, or an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) value of less than (<)15 milliliters per minute per 1.73 square meter (mL/min/1.73 m^2) (sustained and confirmed by repeat central laboratory measure after at least 30 days and preferably within 60 days). Renal death: death in participants who had reached eskd, died without initiating renal replacement therapy, and no other cause of death was determined via adjudication. Adjudication of these events by Endpoint Adjudication Committee (EAC) was performed in blinded fashion. Event rate estimated based on time to first occurrence of primary composite endpoint are presented. | Up to 4.6 years |
| DAPA-CKD NCT03036150 | PRIMARY -- this trial's own primary outcome measure | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: >=50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD or CV Death or Renal Death. | End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) is defined as: Sustained eGFR <15 mL/min/1.73m2 or, Chronic dialysis treatment or, Receiving a renal transplant. The proportional hazards Cox regression model takes into account the time to the event. Data is reported as the numbers of subjects with the event and the Hazard ratio is included in the Statistical Analysis section attached to the Outcome Measure data table. | Up to 38.2 months |
| EMPA-KIDNEY NCT03594110 | PRIMARY -- this trial's own primary outcome measure | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') | Kidney disease progression was defined as: end stage kidney disease (defined as the initiation of maintenance dialysis or receipt of a kidney transplant) OR a sustained decline in estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) to <10 mL/min/1.73m^2 OR renal death OR a sustained decline of >=40% in eGFR from randomisation. | From the day of randomisation to the day of the final follow-up visit in the interventional part of the trial, up to 1136 days. |
In this section: Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') · Forest plot · Risk of bias · GOSH · Trial-sequential analysis · Meta-regression
Drawn from the same stored estimates the table above lists. Box area is proportional to inverse-variance weight.
x-axis range
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 120 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 3d1bd09f1880a282), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_fit.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_fit.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 120 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 3a2c7e3daa07bec2), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w2.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w2.tiff, 12,129 KB.
Changing the range moves the axis window only. The guides stay labelled with the null and the extremes of the plotted intervals, so no plotted value and no printed number differs between these views — and that is checked at build time, not asserted. Ranges not offered because they would crop the data: 0.5 to 2, 0.7 to 1.3.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB
Only the vector format is offered for this figure, by choice: it is line art — discrete marks, glyphs and labels — which SVG reproduces exactly at any size, so a raster would add weight without adding fidelity. The build was able to rasterise; it was asked not to.
Not drawn, because there is nothing to draw it from.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 80 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: dd33d4f986f7c7c5), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — gosh.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — gosh.tiff, 5,537 KB.
Deliberately not drawn. Every subset meta-analysis of 3 trials is 7 points; a cloud that small cannot show the multimodality GOSH exists to reveal, and a reader would take the picture as evidence of its absence.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x650 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 25ed9800fdf56614), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — tsa.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — tsa.tiff, 6,665 KB.
TSA boundaries depend entirely on a target information size that must be pre-specified. This review's protocol registers none, so any boundary drawn here would be a parameter chosen after seeing the data -- which is the practice TSA exists to protect against.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 2316b730fa24744e), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — bubble.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — bubble.tiff, 5,537 KB.
The protocol pre-specifies no moderator, and at k = 3 a meta-regression would be fitted on 3 points. Not drawn rather than drawn with a caveat: a bubble plot invites reading a slope, and there is no slope here that any reader should read.
In this section: Summary of findings · Reproducibility artifact · Other recorded qualifications
| Outcome | k | Pooled effect | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') | 3 | not pooled | See comment12 |
| Canonical object | — |
|---|---|
| Registered at | — — |
| Schema | 2-converted-from-extractor |
| Object last updated | 2026-08-17T12:06Z |
| Source object SHA-256, first 16 hex characters | ff1fb38e332203ac |
| Page generated | 2026-08-28 07:29 UTC |
| Generator build | 59b484ca7. The standard this page was built to is NOT ESTABLISHED: this object carries no build_stamp, so the version above is the standard that exists now, not the one this page was built against. |
This page CANNOT be rebuilt from what is recorded here: no canonical object is recorded and no registered commit is recorded. Each figure on the Analysis tab downloads as an SVG carrying exactly the values shown.
Statements this review records about the limits of what it establishes, which are not shown elsewhere on this page. They are reproduced from the object verbatim and are not summarised.
| Read from the protocol record not a result | Read from the protocol record's outcome-measure title and description. Not from a results table and not from an abstract sentence: a quote that says what happened is not a quote that says what was counted. |
|---|---|
| What is confirmed not only what is wrong | Stated as prominently as the problem, because a page that lists only what it found wrong misrepresents what it checked. The component types agree across all three trials. Every one counts kidney-function decline, end-stage kidney disease, renal death and cardiovascular death, and every one counts the first of them to occur. EMPA-KIDNEY's title names only 'kidney disease progression or cardiovascular death' and its description places renal death inside kidney disease progression -- so reading the title alone would have made it look like a trial that counts no renal death, and would have argued for splitting it from the other two. That is the bare-TITLE-with-components-in-the-DESCRIPTION trap already in the ledger, and it is why the description is quoted here in full for every trial. These trials are close. They are not identical, and the difference is a threshold rather than a missing component. |
| Withheld display | No pooled estimate is displayed. The value previously published on the index card, HR 0.68 (0.60-0.77) k=3, was a derived odds ratio labelled as a hazard ratio, over three composites with three different kidney-decline thresholds. |
| What this withdrawal does not establish | Not that the three trials disagree. Their crude risk ratios are 0.72, 0.63 and 0.77 and point the same way. Agreement of results is not evidence of a common estimand, and it is the reason this page cannot be rescued by observing that the numbers are close: what is being averaged is decided by what was counted, not by how the counts came out. Not that pooling these trials is wrong in principle -- syntheses that pool each trial's own primary composite exist and are defensible when they SAY that is what they are doing. What is not defensible is presenting the result as one endpoint under one measure label. |
In this section: Paper · Title · Abstract · Introduction · Methods — search · Methods — eligibility criteria · Methods — outcomes sought at every registered rank · Results · Disagreements between sources · Limitations · Reporting guidelines · Note on registration · References · Figure legends · Figures · Trial characteristics · Not reported in this record
Each statement below cites the record it came from; those sources are listed at the end of every section. Where the record holds nothing, the section says so by name rather than being left out, so a procedure that was not carried out can be told from one that simply was never mentioned.
Canagliflozin, dapagliflozin and empagliflozin in kidney disease1
titleQuestion. In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'), what do the contributing trials show?1
questionBackground. This review asks: In Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'), what do the contributing trials show? It examines 3 randomised trials and does not pool them. The outcome sought is Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated').1
manuscript.introductionPrimary trials. No bibliographic search for primary trials was run. The 3 included trials were identified by reading named registrations on the dates recorded on each entry. The basis on which this object was verified is not recorded. What this object does not claim is not recorded. The bar this object had to clear is not recorded.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.the_search_its_date_and_its_databasesnot recorded on the page this object was extracted from1
screening.eligibilityEvery registered rank -- primary, secondary and other -- was read for 3 of 3 contributing trials before any decision about which outcomes could be combined; each records the time it was read.1
inputs.trials[].all_ranks_read_utcMultiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated'). These 3 trials are not pooled, and the reason is stated rather than the outcome being quietly omitted: Withheld on two independent grounds, each established from a source and each sufficient on its own. (1) the three trials do not share one endpoint definition. All three composites count kidney-function decline, but at three different thresholds, and all three registry records say so in their own words: Credence counts doubling of serum creatinine, dapa-ckd counts a sustained decline of at least 50% IN eGFR, and EMPA-KIDNEY counts a sustained decline of at least 40% IN eGFR. Those are three different events. A 40% threshold admits strictly more patients than a 50% threshold, which admits strictly more than a doubling of creatinine, and the decline component is the largest contributor to each composite. The eskd component differs too: Credence and DAPA-CKD floor it at eGFR below 15, EMPA-KIDNEY at eGFR below 10. (2) the stored effect measure is not the measure the trials report. Every per-trial value in this object is an odds ratio this project derived from 2x2 counts, while all three trials analyse time to first occurrence -- DAPA-CKD's registry record states outright that 'the proportional hazards Cox regression model takes into account the time to the event', and the other two describe time-to-first-occurrence analyses. The index card published the derived odds ratio under the label HR. Neither ground can be repaired by re-pooling; both need the trials' own reported hazard ratios and a common endpoint. And, recorded separately on the withdrawal itself: the three trials do not share one endpoint definition, and each registry record says so in its own words. All three composites count kidney-function decline, but at three different thresholds: Credence counts a doubling of serum creatinine, dapa-ckd counts a sustained decline of at least 50 per cent in eGFR, and EMPA-KIDNEY counts a sustained decline of at least 40 per cent in eGFR. Those are three different events, and the decline component is the largest contributor to each composite: a 40 per cent threshold admits strictly more patients than a 50 per cent threshold, which admits strictly more than a doubling of creatinine. The end-stage component differs too -- credence and DAPA-CKD floor it at an eGFR below 15, EMPA-KIDNEY at an eGFR below 10. Separately and sufficient on its own: every per-trial value this review held was an odds ratio derived by US from 2x2 counts, while all three trials analyse time to first occurrence -- DAPA-CKD's registry record states that 'the proportional hazards Cox regression model takes into account the time to the event'. The index card published that derived odds ratio under the label HR.1
outcomes[id=primary].name, results.by_outcome.primary.poolable_reason, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled.withdrawn_reasonnot recorded on the page this object was extracted from1
not recorded on the page this object was extracted from2
reconciliation.why_this_step_existsreconciliation.clean_becauseWhat this review does not give a clinician: the number of events in each arm, any absolute effect or number needed to treat and any measure of harm. A relative effect cannot be turned into the benefit or the risk facing one patient without them, so this review can support a judgement about what these trials found and not a judgement about what to do.1
results.by_outcomeThis review reports against PRISMA 2020. A screening record is held on this object and the flow it supports is shown in the Methods. The completed PRISMA checklist and FLOW diagram are not held here: the venue requires them deposited in an approved repository with a DOI cited in the Data Availability Statement, and minting that DOI is an author action rather than a build step.1
screeningNo PROSPERO registration or protocol record is held on this object. That is not the same as knowing this review was not registered, and neither claim is made. It is recorded here as an absence so that a reader does not have to infer it from silence.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.whether_this_review_was_prospectively_registered| Trial | Registration | Registry | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT02065791 | ClinicalTrials.gov | ||
| NCT03036150 | ClinicalTrials.gov | ||
| NCT03594110 | ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Cited for | Reference |
|---|---|
| the reporting guideline this manuscript is written against | Page MJ, McKenzie JE, Bossuyt PM, et al. The PRISMA 2020 statement: an updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. BMJ. 2021;372:n71. doi:10.1136/bmj.n71 |
manuscript.referencesmanuscript.references| Outcome | Figure | What it shows |
|---|---|---|
| Multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') | Forest plot | not pooled; the reason is given in Results |
results.by_outcomeresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled| Registration | Trial | Participants | Randomised | Primary outcome measured over | Design |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT02065791 | CREDENCE | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from | 4401 | Up to 4.6 years | Canagliflozin 100 mg (treatment, n=2202) vs Placebo (control, n=2199) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
| NCT03036150 | DAPA-CKD | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from | 4304 | Up to 38.2 months | Dapagliflozin (treatment, n=2152) vs Placebo (control, n=2152) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
| NCT03594110 | EMPA-KIDNEY | not recorded on the page this object was extracted from | 6609 | From the day of randomisation to the day of the final follow-up visit in the interventional part of the trial, up to 1136 days.; From the day of randomization in the interventional part of the trial until the individual day of end of study in the non-interventional part of the trial. Up to 1869 days. | Empagliflozin 10 mg (treatment, n=3304) vs Placebo (control, n=3305) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
inputs.trialsThe items below were not written because the record does not hold what they would be composed from. They are named here so that an absence is not mistaken for an omission.
| Article area | Item not reported | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Abstract | The Background sentence of the abstract | Background is argument -- why this question matters -- and no arrangement of the quantities this object holds yields it. It is emitted only from an authored field and there is no composition path for it here |
| Abstract | The Methods sentence of the abstract | None of the method facts this would be composed from -- databases searched, eligibility, pooling model, risk-of-bias tool, certainty approach -- is recorded on this object |
| Abstract | The Results sentence of the abstract -- no outcome on this object carries a pooled point estimate, so there is nothing to report and none is manufactured here | The reason each pool is declined is given in Results |
| Abstract | The Conclusions sentence of the abstract | A conclusion is argument -- what a reader should now believe -- and it is emitted only from an authored field. Composing one from the estimate would be this renderer telling the reader what to conclude, which no field supports |
| Keywords | The keyword list | A content gap; no keywords are recorded and inventing them would be indexing this review under terms nobody chose |
| Methods — search | A database search for primary trials, which was not carried out for this review; the included trials were identified from named registrations | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — how many studies at each stage | The k cascade | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The model/estimator sentence for multiple trial-declared outcomes: Primary Composite Endpoint of Doubling of Serum Creatinine (DoSC), End-stage Kidney Disease (eskd), and Renal or Cardiov | Time to the First Occurrence of Any of the Components of the Composite: ≥50% Sustained Decline in eGFR or Reaching ESRD | Interventional Part: Time to First Occurrence of Kidney Disease Progression or Cardiovascular Death ('as Adjudicated') | No pooled estimate was produced for this outcome, so no model was fitted and none is described |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that records were screened in duplicate by two independent reviewers | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that risk of bias was assessed with a named tool | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that certainty of evidence was graded | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that the review methods were prespecified before data collection | No further reason is recorded. |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias assessment | No further reason is recorded. |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias distribution | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | Certainty of the evidence, by outcome, with every rating step | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | The certainty assessment | No GRADE record is held, so the certainty column elsewhere on this page is an em dash rather than a guess |
| Discussion | The Discussion -- this is a content gap | The object records no interpretive text, and none is generated here: text written by the renderer would be an argument no field supports |
| Comparison with published syntheses | The comparison with published syntheses | No published synthesis is recorded for this topic, so no denominator can be given |
| Conclusions | The Conclusions -- this is a content gap | The object records no interpretive text, and none is generated here: text written by the renderer would be an argument no field supports |
| Data availability | The data availability statement | No further reason is recorded. |
| Software availability | The software and environment statement | No further reason is recorded. |
| Author contributions | The author-contributions statement | Who did what is a fact about people, and this object records none |
| Competing interests | The competing-interests declaration | F1000Research requires this section on every article, and requires explicit text where there is nothing to declare. It is a statement about the author and not about the evidence: no field of this object implies it and none is invented here |
| Grant information | The grant information | The venue requires each funder's name, the grant number where applicable, and the person the grant was assigned . None of that is derivable from a synthesis |
| Funding and conflicts of interest | The funding and conflict-of-interest statement -- a content gap | A submission requires it and this object does not carry it; it is not inferable from anything held here |
| Note on registration | The registration note | No further reason is recorded. |
| Registration | A registration statement: no prospective registration is recorded for this review, and whether one exists elsewhere has not been established | No further reason is recorded. |
| Extended data: statistical output, quoted verbatim | The verbatim model output | No analysis output is stored on this object, so nothing can be quoted and nothing is paraphrased in its place |
| Submission conformance | The submission conformance statement | No further reason is recorded. |
UNSTAMPED — unknown-version. This page carries no build_stamp, so the standard it was built to cannot be established. That is a statement about the record, not a claim that the page is below standard.
Every number on this page is projected from a single canonical object, and each measured cell names the source analysis it was read from. That is what is machine-checked. It does not establish that the underlying sources are right, only that this page faithfully reports them.