Computed from this object's own state — a structural condition is unmet. This is not a fixed disclaimer: the conditions below are each testable, and a build in which they are met renders READY.
In Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants, what is the effect on versus placebo on medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection?
In this section: Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set)
| Review title | Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants |
|---|---|
| Review question (PICO) | In Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants, what is the effect on versus placebo on medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection? |
| Population | Not shown — no prospectively-frozen v1.0 protocol describes this review, so an independent criterion is withheld rather than invented. State: NO_PROTOCOL. |
| Intervention | Not shown — no prospectively-frozen v1.0 protocol describes this review, so an independent criterion is withheld rather than invented. State: NO_PROTOCOL. |
| Comparator | Not shown — no prospectively-frozen v1.0 protocol describes this review, so an independent criterion is withheld rather than invented. State: NO_PROTOCOL. |
| Background / rationale | Not recorded — this object holds no background field, and an introduction generated without one would be argument that no source in this review supports |
| Information sources | 0 source layers, listed on the Extraction tab |
| Search strategy | The executed strings, datetimes, filters and hit counts are on the Search tab |
| Study selection process | Not recorded — this object holds no screening record, so the selection process cannot be described |
| Number of screeners | Not recorded — this object records no screener count |
| Data extraction items | Extracted per trial on this object: registry id. Fields not listed here were not extracted. |
| Outcomes and prioritisation | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection |
| Risk of bias method | RoB 2, per result, five domains — see the risk-of-bias table below |
| Synthesis methods | Pooled under random-effects with the REML estimator. Whether they were prespecified is not recorded on this object. |
| Subgroup analyses | Not recorded — this object records no subgroup-analysis field at all, so whether any were prespecified is UNKNOWN -- which is not the same as none having been |
| Meta-bias assessment | Not recorded — no funnel, Egger or Peters value is held on this object, so no meta-bias assessment is claimed |
| Certainty assessment | GRADE, recorded for 1 outcome(s) (GRADE, following the Cochrane Handbook chapter 14. Randomised evidence starts HIGH and is rated down with reasons.). The ratings are on the Certainty tab. |
| Funding | Not recorded — no funding statement is recorded for this review |
| Competing interests | Not recorded — no declaration is recorded |
| Built | 2026-08-18 |
| Schema | 2 |
In this section: Risk of bias (RoB-2) · Overall judgement per trial · Inter-assessor agreement · References · Included studies · Regulatory documents · Methods and guidance · Sources · medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection · medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection · Pooled result · Contributing trials · Does the answer depend on the pooling method?
Variant:
Unit assessed: —
Assessor 1: (anthropic family). Assessor 2: (openai family).
| Trial | Result assessed | Domain | Assessor 1 (anthropic) | Assessor 2 (openai) | Agreed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D1 D1_randomisation_process | no information | no information | yes |
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D2 D2_deviations_from_intended_intervention | no information | no information | yes |
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D3 D3_missing_outcome_data | no information | no information | yes |
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D4 D4_measurement_of_the_outcome | LOW | LOW | yes |
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D5 D5_selection_of_the_reported_result | LOW | LOW | yes |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D1 D1_randomisation_process | no information | no information | yes |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D2 D2_deviations_from_intended_intervention | no information | no information | yes |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D3 D3_missing_outcome_data | no information | no information | yes |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D4 D4_measurement_of_the_outcome | LOW | LOW | yes |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | D5 D5_selection_of_the_reported_result | LOW | LOW | yes |
| Trial | Result assessed | Assessor 1 (anthropic) | Assessor 2 (openai) | Agreed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 2b (MEDI8897 50 mg, preterm) | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | some concerns | no overall judgement reached — this assessor answered “no information”, which RoB 2 defines as a response to a signalling question and not as one of the three overall categories (low, some concerns, high) | NO |
| MELODY | medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | some concerns | no overall judgement reached — this assessor answered “no information”, which RoB 2 defines as a response to a signalling question and not as one of the three overall categories (low, some concerns, high) | NO |
This assessment is DUAL — two assessors from different model families, the second asked blind. The agreement rate is withheld pending adjudication. Both readers were given this review’s decision rule; an earlier version of this sentence said the blinding had withheld it, and that was wrong. What the 10 domain comparison(s) show is a reading difference that runs in OPPOSITE directions by domain — on domains 1 to 3 the second assessor more often declines to judge at all, and on domains 4 and 5 it more often judges low. A single agreement rate averages those two behaviours into one number that describes neither. Both assessors’ per-result judgements are shown in the table above, unadjudicated, and neither is this review’s finding. No adjudication has been performed, so this review holds no final risk-of-bias judgement for these results.
| Layer | Source | How it was obtained |
|---|
RR 0.2605 (0.1766 to 0.3845), 95% interval
medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection. random-effects, estimator REML, k = 2.
τ² 0 · I² 0% · Q 0.0876 on 1 df
A published systematic review of this agent included six randomised trials (n = 12,086) where this pool carries two. Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, reports RSV-related hospitalisation at OR 0.19 (0.13 to 0.30) and severe RSV infection at OR 0.23 (0.12 to 0.44). Those are different outcomes on a different scale from this pool's medically attended RSV lrti risk ratio of 0.2605 (0.1766 to 0.3845), so no discrepancy is claimed -- the point is the trial count.
The review's abstract names none of its six trials and no included-study table was read, so the four trials this object does not carry are counted and not identified. Naming them would require reading the review.
A published synthesis of this question included 6 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, six randomised trials totalling 12,086 participants.
Which trials are ABSENT is not established. The published abstract names none of its included studies and no included-study table was read, so this is a difference in stated counts and nothing more. It is not a claim that 4 specific trials were missed, and nobody here has identified them.
The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made.
| Trial | Analysed treatment / control |
RR (95% CI), or events | Source of this cell |
|---|
Registered endpoint definitions were read from every contributing registration on 2026-08-18; this text is the object's own record of them.
With two or three studies the Cochrane Handbook (10.10.4.4–10.10.4.5) asks for a sensitivity analysis comparing interval methods rather than a choice between them. Both are given here; the published interval is the first row.
| Interval | Method | Summary (95% CI) |
|---|---|---|
| as published | REML | 0.2606 (0.1766 to 0.3845) |
| sensitivity (Handbook 10.10.4.5) | REML with Hartung-Knapp, t on k-1 = 1 degree(s) of freedom (t = 12.7062) | 0.2606 (0.0209 to 3.2461) |
The published point is 0.2605 and the house-rule point is 0.2606. The number a reader remembers does not move; what differs is the precision claim. That is why nothing downstream catches this -- every memorable quantity survives.
A floor of 1 is applied to the variance-inflation factor so the adjustment can never narrow an interval below the unadjusted one. That guard is the recognised modification for exactly this instability, and its existence is evidence the small-k behaviour is a known problem with known handling rather than a novel judgement.
In this section: medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection · Forest plot · Visual abstract · Risk of bias, both assessors · GOSH · Trial-sequential analysis · Meta-regression
Drawn from the same stored estimates the table above lists. Box area is proportional to inverse-variance weight.
x-axis range
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 92 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 5f96df82c9981272), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_fit.eps, 3 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_fit.tiff, 12,129 KB.
Changing the range moves the axis window only. The guides stay labelled with the null and the extremes of the plotted intervals, so no plotted value and no printed number differs between these views — and that is checked at build time, not asserted. Ranges not offered because they would crop the data: 0.5 to 2, 0.25 to 4, 0.7 to 1.3.
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x2100 321 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 9f355bac034f9402), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — visual-abstract.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — visual-abstract.tiff, 27,685 KB.
Projected from the canonical object, so it carries the same k, the same pooled estimate and the same interval as the paper and cannot drift from them. The interval is drawn to scale against the no-difference line, which it EXCLUDES: 0.177 to 0.385, with no difference at 1.
⬇ SVG (vector) 4 KB
Only the vector format is offered for this figure, by choice: it is line art — discrete marks, glyphs and labels — which SVG reproduces exactly at any size, so a raster would add weight without adding fidelity. The build was able to rasterise; it was asked not to.
Every cell carries BOTH independent cross-family assessments and they are not reconciled: showing one column would be a reconciliation presented as an observation. Glyph as well as colour, so the panel survives greyscale printing and colour-blind reading. A trial with no judgement is shown as a row of not-assessed markers rather than omitted, so a gap in the assessment cannot be mistaken for a clean assessment. Agreement as measured: {'per domain agreed': 10, 'per domain total': 10, 'per domain rate pct': 100.0, 'overall agreed': 0, 'overall total': 2, 'overall is derived': True, 'recomputed from the stored judgements': True, 'why recomputed': 'The stored disagreement tallies were frozen as text and 12 of 22 no longer match the judgements in the object -- a later guidance pass moved 51 the randomisation process judgements and the tallies were never recomputed. This is derived from what the object holds now.'}.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 81 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 9091822e99aa8781), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — gosh.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — gosh.tiff, 5,537 KB.
Deliberately not drawn. Every subset meta-analysis of 2 trials is 3 points; a cloud that small cannot show the multimodality GOSH exists to reveal, and a reader would take the picture as evidence of its absence.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x650 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 25ed9800fdf56614), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — tsa.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — tsa.tiff, 6,665 KB.
TSA boundaries depend entirely on a target information size that must be pre-specified. This review's protocol registers none, so any boundary drawn here would be a parameter chosen after seeing the data -- which is the practice TSA exists to protect against.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: e35ec93bbc9a1c10), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — bubble.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — bubble.tiff, 5,537 KB.
The protocol pre-specifies no moderator, and at k = 2 a meta-regression would be fitted on 2 points. Not drawn rather than drawn with a caveat: a bubble plot invites reading a slope, and there is no slope here that any reader should read.
In this section: Summary of findings · Reproducibility artifact · Other recorded qualifications
| Outcome | k | Pooled effect | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | 2 | RR 0.261 (0.177 to 0.385) | Pending1 |
| Canonical object | — |
|---|---|
| Registered at | — — |
| Schema | 2 |
| Object last updated | 2026-08-18 |
| Source object SHA-256, first 16 hex characters | 2d3efecfaeeb99b7 |
| Page generated | 2026-08-28 19:19 UTC |
| Generator build | a441e4187. The standard this page was built to is NOT ESTABLISHED: this object carries no build_stamp, so the version above is the standard that exists now, not the one this page was built against. |
This page CANNOT be rebuilt from what is recorded here: no canonical object is recorded and no registered commit is recorded. Each figure on the Analysis tab downloads as an SVG carrying exactly the values shown.
Statements this review records about the limits of what it establishes, which are not shown elsewhere on this page. They are reproduced from the object verbatim and are not summarised.
| What this does not establish | Not that either trial is free of bias -- no risk-of-bias assessment is recorded. Not anything about the excluded open-label trial, which reports a large effect on its own terms and is excluded on comparator type, not on quality. Not RSV hospitalisation or mortality, neither of which is the pooled endpoint. Not reliability at k=2 -- see Hartung-Knapp. |
|---|---|
| A a published review pools six trials where this pools two | A published systematic review of this agent included six randomised trials (n = 12,086) where this pool carries two. Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, reports RSV-related hospitalisation at OR 0.19 (0.13 to 0.30) and severe RSV infection at OR 0.23 (0.12 to 0.44). Those are different outcomes on a different scale from this pool's medically attended RSV lrti risk ratio of 0.2605 (0.1766 to 0.3845), so no discrepancy is claimed -- the point is the trial count. |
| B which four are missing is not established | The review's abstract names none of its six trials and no included-study table was read, so the four trials this object does not carry are counted and not identified. Naming them would require reading the review. |
| A a published synthesis carried more trials than this pool | A published synthesis of this question included 6 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, six randomised trials totalling 12,086 participants. |
| B whether the extra trials can be named | Which trials are ABSENT is not established. The published abstract names none of its included studies and no included-study table was read, so this is a difference in stated counts and nothing more. It is not a claim that 4 specific trials were missed, and nobody here has identified them. |
| C what this means for the estimate above | The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made. |
| What is not established | The concealment mechanism is not on the registry and no publication was read. |
| Why this is not an adjudicated dispute | A blind second assessor from a different model family disagreed with this domain on 89% of judgements across 22 topics. That would ordinarily be a dispute to adjudicate. It is not one: the tool's own text names this exact evidential situation -- a bare statement that a study was randomised -- and prescribes the answer. The second assessor is not being deferred ; the guidance is being applied. |
| What the registry gives and does not | A ClinicalTrials.gov design module records `allocation: Randomized`. It carries no sequence-generation method and no allocation-concealment mechanism. The original judgement's own note said so before scoring LOW. |
| How this maps to the tool s algorithm | The tool maps 'No information' on 1.1 and 1.2 with no baseline concern to a domain judgement of some concerns. This project writes no information on the domain when it could not be judged from the sources read, and caps the overall at some concerns. Same place, and it keeps 'we could not judge this' distinguishable from 'we judged it and had concerns'. |
| What does not change | No overall rating and no GRADE CERTAINTY moves. All 51 judgements were already capped at some concerns or HIGH by another no information domain. |
| This does not replace the stored judgement | This is the judgement the published algorithm proposes from the signalling responses named here. It does not replace the stored `judgement` beside it, and nothing reads it yet. The tool itself says its algorithms "provide proposed judgements, but users should verify these and change them if they feel this is appropriate" -- so this is an input to a person, not an output to a reader. |
| And it bounds a finding of ours | Class 94 records assessor 2 saying no information on the randomisation process/deviations from the intended intervention/missing outcome data `100 of 100`. Measured across all 23 topics now stored that is 239 of 243, and all four exceptions are the randomisation process=some concerns on `agyw-hiv-prep-review` and `cab-prep-hiv-review` -- two of the three topics asked under the earlier prompt build, the one whose reply ids are bare NCTs. Under that build it is 4 of 6; under the later build 0 of 75. The 100% was measured on the later build's topics. The two-defaults mechanism stands; its universality does not, and what varies with it is the prompt. |
| The rate is still conditional on the same allow list | Both numbers are conditional on the fact list in THE_ALLOW_LIST_THE_RATE_IS_CONDITIONAL_ON above. Neither is a rate of agreement between assessors in general. |
| The finding of this comparison | A coverage finding, not an estimand one. Lien et al. 2026 included SIX randomised trials totalling 12,086 participants; This object pools two, totalling 4,465 as registered. Which six is not established -- the abstract names none and no included-study table was read -- so the four this object does not carry are counted and not identified. This is not a class-76 instance: they did not choose a better-defined target, they pooled more of the same kind. Whether this review's search should be widened is a content decision. |
In this section: Paper · Title · Abstract · Introduction · Methods — search · Methods — synthesis · Results · Risk of bias in the included results · Certainty of the evidence · Comparison with published syntheses · Limitations · Note on registration · References · Figures · Trial characteristics · Not reported in this record
Each statement below cites the record it came from; those sources are listed at the end of every section. Where the record holds nothing, the section says so by name rather than being left out, so a procedure that was not carried out can be told from one that simply was never mentioned.
Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants1
titleQuestion. In Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants, what is the effect on versus placebo on medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection?1
Methods. estimates were pooled under a random-effects model with the REML estimator; risk of bias was assessed with RoB 2 (Cochrane risk-of-bias tool for randomized trials); and certainty was rated with GRADE, following the Cochrane Handbook chapter 14. Randomised evidence starts HIGH and is rated down with reasons.2
Results. Medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection: risk ratio 0.261 (0.177 to 0.385) across 2 trials; 1 of these pooled outcome(s) carries a stated qualification -- a referral or a recorded finding -- given in full in Results and not reproduced here; and no statistical heterogeneity was detected (I-squared 0%), though heterogeneity cannot be reliably assessed with two trials.3
questionresults.by_outcome, risk_of_bias.by_outcome, grade.by_outcomeresults.by_outcomeBackground. This review asks: In Nirsevimab versus placebo for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection in infants, what is the effect on versus placebo on medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection? It pools 2 randomised trials, against placebo. The outcome pooled is medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection. Every count and denominator behind those estimates is read as follows. Registry throughout. Counts and denominators read from ClinicalTrials.gov posted results.1
manuscript.introductionPrimary trials. No bibliographic search for primary trials was run. The 2 included trials were identified by reading named registrations on 2026-08-18. All three seeded registrations read on 2026-08-18 including arm types and posted results. Published syntheses. PubMed E-utilities esearch + esummary, executed 2026-08-21. Query as executed: (nirsevimab[tiab] OR MEDI8897[tiab]) and (meta-analysis[pt] OR "systematic review"[pt] OR meta-analysis[tiab] OR "pooled"[tiab] or melody[tiab]). It matched 39 record(s), of which 39 were retrieved and 39 read; 1 appraised.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.the_search_its_date_and_its_databasesFor medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection, a random-effects model was fitted with the REML estimator.1
Risk of bias was assessed with RoB 2 (Cochrane risk-of-bias tool for randomized trials) , following . 2 result-level assessments were made.2
A ceiling applies to every risk-of-bias judgement in this review; it is stated with the assessment itself rather than summarised here.3
Certainty of evidence was rated with GRADE, following the Cochrane Handbook chapter 14. Randomised evidence starts HIGH and is rated down with reasons., following . 1 pooled outcome(s) were rated. No domain is rated UP. Rating up applies to observational evidence; these are randomised trials starting HIGH.4
results.by_outcome.primary.model, results.by_outcome.primary.estimator_usedrisk_of_bias.tool, risk_of_bias.by_outcomerisk_of_bias.ceilinggrade.approach, grade.by_outcomeThe pooled risk ratio for medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection was 0.261 (0.177 to 0.385) across 2 trials, against placebo.1
Noted on this pool. A published systematic review of this agent included six randomised trials (n = 12,086) where this pool carries two. Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, reports RSV-related hospitalisation at OR 0.19 (0.13 to 0.30) and severe RSV infection at OR 0.23 (0.12 to 0.44). Those are different outcomes on a different scale from this pool's medically attended RSV lrti risk ratio of 0.2605 (0.1766 to 0.3845), so no discrepancy is claimed -- the point is the trial count. A published synthesis of this question included 6 trials where this pool carries 2. Source: Lien et al., Pediatrics and Neonatology 2026, PMID 41314935, six randomised trials totalling 12,086 participants. Which trials are absent is not established. The published abstract names none of its included studies and no included-study table was read, so this is a difference in stated counts and nothing more. It is not a claim that 4 specific trials were missed, and nobody here has identified them. The review's abstract names none of its six trials and no included-study table was read, so the four trials this object does not carry are counted and not identified. Naming them would require reading the review. The estimate above is computed from the trials this object carries and is not withdrawn or altered by this note. What a reader is owed is the scope: a larger evidence base on this question exists in the literature, and whether this review's search should be widened is a decision that has not been made.2
The trials' results were closely consistent with one another: I-squared, the share of the variation between them that is more than chance alone would produce, was 0%; the estimated variance of the true effects between trials (tau-squared) was 0, the heterogeneity test statistic Q was 0.0876, on degrees of freedom 1.3
What this does not establish: Not that either trial is free of bias -- no risk-of-bias assessment is recorded. Not anything about the excluded open-label trial, which reports a large effect on its own terms and is excluded on comparator type, not on quality. Not RSV hospitalisation or mortality, neither of which is the pooled endpoint. Not reliability at k=2 -- see Hartung-Knapp.4
The full model output for every pooled outcome -- the call, the estimator, the heterogeneity statistics and the back-transformed interval -- is stored verbatim on this review object at `results.by_outcome.<outcome>.r_output.verbatim`. It is not reproduced as an Extended data section in this article; an earlier version of this sentence said it was, and no such section exists.5
outcomes[id=primary].name, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled, outcomes[id=primary].comparatorresults.by_outcome.primary.POOL_FINDINGS_2026_08_21results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.i2, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.tau2, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.q, results.by_outcome.primary.heterogeneity.dfresults.by_outcome.primary.what_this_does_not_establishresults.by_outcomeRisk of bias was assessed with RoB 2 at the level of each reported result, by two assessors reading independently. Their judgements differ on 2 of the 2 results and no adjudication has been performed, so this review holds no final risk-of-bias judgement for these results. Assessor 1 recorded: 2 at some concerns. Assessor 2 recorded: 2 at no information. Both are shown in the risk-of-bias table; neither is the review's finding. The per-domain judgements behind them are recorded with the extracted data.1
risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.DISAGREEMENT_RATE, risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.PER_DOMAIN, risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.RECOUNTED_AFTER_THE_D1_RESOLUTION_2026_08_21, risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.assessor_1, risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.each_disagreement, risk_of_bias.SECOND_ASSESSOR_2026_08_21.how_it_was_asked, risk_of_bias.ceiling.statement, risk_of_bias.toolCertainty was rated with GRADE, following the Cochrane Handbook chapter 14. Randomised evidence starts HIGH and is rated down with reasons..1
No domain is rated UP. Rating up applies to observational evidence; these are randomised trials starting HIGH.2
This certainty rating is pending, not rated. It rests on a risk-of-bias judgement that this review has not finalised: two assessors read every contributing result independently, they disagree, and no adjudication has been performed, so this review holds no final risk-of-bias judgement for these results. Cochrane rates certainty per outcome by aggregating the risk-of-bias judgements of the results contributing to it, so a certainty rating cannot be more final than the risk-of-bias assessment it reads. The rating this object currently records, and the steps behind it, are shown below as the work so far rather than as this review's answer. No level is published for this outcome -- not the recorded one, not a more cautious one, and not a midpoint -- because choosing one would be the judgement that has not been made.3
MODERATE certainty. The single downgrade is for two unjudgeable risk-of-bias domains that the registry does not carry -- not for inconsistency, indirectness or imprecision, none of which the evidence supports downgrading.4
| Outcome | Certainty | k | Started at | Rating steps |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| medically attended RSV lower respiratory tract infection | Pending | 2 | HIGH | the steps taken so far, not a final rating: risk of bias -- Both results are some concerns, and the driver is not an observed weakness -- the randomisation process, measurement of the outcome and selection of the reported result are LOW on read registrations, with quadruple masking including the outcomes assessor. deviations from the intended intervention and missing outcome data are no information because the registry does not carry those fields, and an unjudgeable domain caps the overall. (move: HIGH to MODERATE, down 1 level(s)); inconsistency -- The stored refit gives tau^2 exactly zero, Q 0.0879 on 1 df, p = 0.7668; the two intervals -- 0.2715 (0.1689 to 0.4363) and 0.2395 (0.1214 to 0.4727) -- overlap almost entirely and agree in conclusion. (move: no downgrade); indirectness -- One registered primary on each trial, the same endpoint, placebo-controlled, and it is exactly what is pooled. Recorded and not used to downgrade: the two trials enrol different infant populations and NCT02878330 fixes a 50 mg dose where melody uses weight-banded dosing -- read from the registered arm labels. The endpoint definition is unaffected. (move: no downgrade); imprecision -- The effect is large and the interval excludes no difference by a wide margin: 0.2605 (0.1766 to 0.3845). Even the Hartung-Knapp interval at k = 2, 0.2606 (0.1233 to 0.5505) on t = 12.7062 with 1 df, excludes 1 across its whole range. Downgrading for imprecision here would be mechanical rather than warranted. (move: no downgrade); publication bias -- k = 2. Funnel-plot asymmetry tests have essentially no power below about ten trials (Handbook 13.3.5.4), so this is not assessable rather than 'undetected'. (move: Not assessable -- no rating applied) |
grade.approachgrade.not_rated_uprisk_of_bias.by_outcomegrade.by_outcome.primary.summarygrade.by_outcome.primaryPublished syntheses were identified as follows. PubMed E-utilities, executed 2026-08-21. Query, counts and per-record disposition in ssot/nirsevimab-infant-rsv-review/appraisal/the screen of published syntheses.json.1
published_comparison._how_identifiedWhat this review does not give a clinician: the number of events in each arm, any absolute effect or number needed to treat and any measure of harm. A relative effect cannot be turned into the benefit or the risk facing one patient without them, so this review can support a judgement about what these trials found and not a judgement about what to do.1
results.by_outcomeNo PROSPERO registration or protocol record is held on this object. That is not the same as knowing this review was not registered, and neither claim is made. It is recorded here as an absence so that a reader does not have to infer it from silence.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.whether_this_review_was_prospectively_registered| Trial | Registration | Registry | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| Phase 2b | NCT02878330 | ClinicalTrials.gov | 2026-08-18 |
| MELODY | NCT03979313 | ClinicalTrials.gov | 2026-08-18 |
| Citation | Identifier |
|---|---|
| Efficacy of nirsevimab for the prevention of RSV disease in infants: A systematic review, meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials, and global perspectives on recommendations and unmet needs. Pediatrics and Neonatology. 2026. | PMID: 41314935 |
| Cited for | Reference |
|---|---|
| risk of bias in the included results | Sterne JAC, Savovic J, Page MJ, et al. RoB 2: a revised tool for assessing risk of bias in randomised trials. BMJ. 2019;366:l4898. doi:10.1136/bmj.l4898 |
| certainty of the evidence | Schunemann HJ, Higgins JPT, Vist GE, et al. Chapter 14: Completing 'Summary of findings' tables and grading the certainty of the evidence. In: Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions version 6.5. Cochrane; 2024. |
| the reporting guideline this manuscript is written against | Page MJ, McKenzie JE, Bossuyt PM, et al. The PRISMA 2020 statement: an updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. BMJ. 2021;372:n71. doi:10.1136/bmj.n71 |
manuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled| Registration | Trial | Participants | Randomised | Primary outcome measured over | Design |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT02878330 | registered condition: Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infections | not extracted | From Day 1 through Day 151 | nirsevimab (25 of 969) vs placebo (46 of 484). No arm-level record is stored on this trial. The counts above are read through to this object's own `as posted` block -- the registry's posted results, uncorrected, read 2026-08-18. They are not a separate copy: this cell is derived, so a correction to the source cannot leave a stale duplicate behind. | |
| NCT03979313 | registered condition: Respiratory Syncytial Virus Infections | not extracted | Through 150 Days Post Dose | nirsevimab (12 of 994) vs placebo (25 of 496). No arm-level record is stored on this trial. The counts above are read through to this object's own `as posted` block -- the registry's posted results, uncorrected, read 2026-08-18. They are not a separate copy: this cell is derived, so a correction to the source cannot leave a stale duplicate behind. |
inputs.trialsThe items below were not written because the record does not hold what they would be composed from. They are named here so that an absence is not mistaken for an omission.
| Article area | Item not reported | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Abstract | The Background sentence of the abstract | Background is argument -- why this question matters -- and no arrangement of the quantities this object holds yields it. It is emitted only from an authored field and there is no composition path for it here |
| Abstract | The Conclusions sentence of the abstract | A conclusion is argument -- what a reader should now believe -- and it is emitted only from an authored field. Composing one from the estimate would be this renderer telling the reader what to conclude, which no field supports |
| Methods — search | A database search for primary trials, which was not carried out for this review; the included trials were identified from named registrations | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — eligibility criteria | The eligibility criteria | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — how many studies at each stage | The k cascade | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — outcomes sought at every registered rank | The statement that outcomes were sought below the primary | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that records were screened in duplicate by two independent reviewers | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that the review methods were prespecified before data collection | No further reason is recorded. |
| Disagreements between sources | The reconciliation against other sources | No further reason is recorded. |
| Data availability | The data availability statement | No further reason is recorded. |
| Software availability | The software and environment statement | No further reason is recorded. |
| Reporting guidelines | The reporting-guideline compliance statement | PRISMA 2020 is the guideline for a completed systematic review, and this object carries no screening record, so a claim of compliance would be asserted rather than shown. It is refused rather than written, because a false statement in a compliance section is worse than an absent one |
| Author contributions | The author-contributions statement | Who did what is a fact about people, and this object records none |
| Competing interests | The competing-interests declaration | F1000Research requires this section on every article, and requires explicit text where there is nothing to declare. It is a statement about the author and not about the evidence: no field of this object implies it and none is invented here |
| Grant information | The grant information | The venue requires each funder's name, the grant number where applicable, and the person the grant was assigned . None of that is derivable from a synthesis |
| Funding and conflicts of interest | The funding and conflict-of-interest statement -- a content gap | A submission requires it and this object does not carry it; it is not inferable from anything held here |
| Note on registration | The registration note | No further reason is recorded. |
| Registration | A registration statement: no prospective registration is recorded for this review, and whether one exists elsewhere has not been established | No further reason is recorded. |
| Submission conformance | The submission conformance statement | No further reason is recorded. |
UNSTAMPED — unknown-version. This page carries no build_stamp, so the standard it was built to cannot be established. That is a statement about the record, not a claim that the page is below standard.
Every number on this page is projected from a single canonical object, and each measured cell names the source analysis it was read from. That is what is machine-checked. It does not establish that the underlying sources are right, only that this page faithfully reports them.