Submission readiness: NOT READY

Computed from this object's own state — a structural condition is unmet. This is not a fixed disclaimer: the conditions below are each testable, and a build in which they are met renders READY.

Transcatheter repair for functional mitral regurgitation

Three trials of transcatheter mitral repair in functional regurgitation, registering three different composites at two different time horizons.

In this section: Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set) · What this object claims to contain

Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set)

Table 1. Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set)
Review titleTranscatheter repair for functional mitral regurgitation
Review question (PICO)Three trials of transcatheter mitral repair in functional regurgitation, registering three different composites at two different time horizons.
PopulationPatients with symptomatic HFrEF/HFmrEF (LVEF 20-50%) and moderate-severe or severe secondary (functional) MR despite guideline-directed medical therapy
InterventionTranscatheter edge-to-edge repair (MitraClip or Pascal device) plus guideline-directed medical therapy
ComparatorGuideline-directed medical therapy alone
Background / rationaleNot recorded — this object holds no background field, and an introduction generated without one would be argument that no source in this review supports
Eligibility criterianot recorded on the page this object was built from
Information sources0 source layers, listed on the Extraction tab
Search strategyThe executed strings, datetimes, filters and hit counts are on the Search tab
Study selection processNot recorded — no screening record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from, so who screened and how cannot be stated
Number of screenersNot recorded — this object records no screener count
Data extraction itemsExtracted per trial on this object: registry id; primary publication; arms; per-arm counts and the published effect. Fields not listed here were not extracted.
Outcomes and prioritisationThree different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months
Risk of bias methodNot recorded — no per-domain RoB-2 assessment exists yet
Synthesis methodsNot recorded — no outcome on this object carries a pooled estimate, so no synthesis method was applied
Subgroup analysesNot recorded — this object records no subgroup-analysis field at all, so whether any were prespecified is UNKNOWN -- which is not the same as none having been
Meta-bias assessmentNot recorded — no funnel, Egger or Peters value is held on this object, so no meta-bias assessment is claimed
Certainty assessmentNot recorded — no GRADE record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from
FundingNot recorded — no funding statement is recorded for this review
Competing interestsNot recorded — no declaration is recorded
Built2026-08-18T00:00Z
Schema2-authored-from-source

What this object claims to contain

not recorded on the page this object was built from

Not held in this object. No screening log is recorded for this review. The included set was reconciled against published syntheses rather than screened from a search, so no records-identified, excluded-with-reason or dual-screening counts exist.

In this section: Extracted values, and where each came from · References · Included studies · Regulatory documents · Methods and guidance · Sources · Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months · Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months · What was measured · Pooled result · Contributing trials · Endpoint definitions, read from the registry

Extracted values, and where each came from

One row per extracted value. Every row carries the value, the verbatim sentence it was read from, a resolvable link to the source, and whether the number was read or derived. Where any of those is absent the row says so rather than omitting the value.

Table 2. Extracted values, and where each came from
Trial / outcomeValue as extractedVerbatim source sentenceSource linksRead or derived
COAPT
primary
no effect value held for this outcomeno source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line hereNCT01626079 · sourceDERIVED by us from not carried forward -- the estimate is withdrawn
The counts above are what the page held for this trial. The endpoint definition beside them is verbatim from the registry, and is what the withdrawal turns on.
MITRA-FR
primary
no effect value held for this outcomeno source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line hereNCT01920698 · sourceDERIVED by us from not carried forward -- the estimate is withdrawn
The counts above are what the page held for this trial. The endpoint definition beside them is verbatim from the registry, and is what the withdrawal turns on.
RESHAPE-HF2
primary
no effect value held for this outcomeno source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line hereNCT02444338 · sourceDERIVED by us from not carried forward -- the estimate is withdrawn
The counts above are what the page held for this trial. The endpoint definition beside them is verbatim from the registry, and is what the withdrawal turns on.

Sources

Table 3. Sources
LayerSourceHow it was obtained

Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months

Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months

What was measured

Table 4. What was measured
Comparatorguideline-directed medical therapy
Estimandfirst or recurrent event — random-effects
Effect scalereported on the log scale; nothing is pooled on this outcome

Pooled result

Estimate withdrawn. Not poolable, and the registry now says why in the trials' own words. The three registrations declare three different primary outcomes at two different horizons. MITRA-FR registers 'All-cause mortality and unplanned hospitalizations for heart failure' AT 12 months. RESHAPE-HF2 registers a 'Composite rate of recurrent heart failure hospitalizations and cardiovascular (CV) death within 24 months' -- cardiovascular death, not all-cause, and recurrent events rather than first events, which is a different counting rule altogether. COAPT registers a primary effectiveness endpoint at 24 months and a primary safety endpoint, 'Freedom From Device Related Complications', at 12 months. A twelve-month all-cause composite, a twenty-four-month recurrent-event cardiovascular composite, and a device-safety proportion are three quantities, not one. And reshape-HF2 registers a continuous primary as well -- change in the KCCQ overall score at 12 months -- which no count-derived odds ratio can carry at all. The original card named only two of the three trials. It contrasted COAPT with MITRA-FR and did not mention RESHAPE-HF2, which is on the page and which adds the third distinct composite and the continuous primary. The verdict was right and its evidence was incomplete.

What this does not establish: not that transcatheter mitral repair does not help in functional mitral regurgitation, and not that COAPT and MITRA-FR disagreeing was a mistake by either. Those two trials enrolled different populations and measured different things over different horizons, which is the leading published explanation for their divergence and is visible directly in their registrations. The trials here measure heart-failure hospitalisation, death and quality of life on three different definitions, and nothing on this page estimates a single quantity across them. What is confirmed: the NOT-POOLABLE verdict was correct before this re-verification and is correct after it -- this is the one topic in the cardiology set that reached the right answer without a detector, by a human noticing that two headline numbers were not comparable. All three identities are correct. The replacement question is parked: reshape-HF2 and COAPT share a 24-month horizon and both count heart-failure hospitalisation, so a synthesis restricted to that component is conceivable -- but one counts recurrent events and the other first events, and reconciling those is an estimand decision needing each trial's own results record.

Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months. k = 3.

Contributing trials

Table 5. Contributing trials
TrialAnalysed
treatment / control
OR (interval, at each row's own level), or events Source of this cell
COAPT
NCT01626079
302 / 312not stated (not stated to not stated):
MITRA-FR
NCT01920698
152 / 155not stated (not stated to not stated):
RESHAPE-HF2
NCT02444338
255 / 250not stated (not stated to not stated):

Authored on re-verification of a NOT-POOLABLE verdict that was already correct and is now sourced.

Endpoint definitions, read from the registry

What each trial COUNTED, in its own registry record's words, before anything here was pooled. A sentence saying what HAPPENED is not a sentence saying what was COUNTED, and only the second one licenses a pool. Read from the registry on 2026-08-18. Follow the registration link to disagree with any row.

Table 6. Endpoint definitions, read from the registry
TrialRank in its own trial Registered outcome measure Description, verbatimAnalysis set / window
COAPT
NCT01626079
PRIMARY -- primaryOutcomes[1] on this registrationPrimary Effectiveness EndpointRecurrent HF hospitalizations (HFH) through 24 months, analyzed when the last subject completes 12-month follow-up24 months. Note that the safety primary is measured at 12 months and the effectiveness primary at 24, within one registration.
MITRA-FR
NCT01920698
PRIMARY -- primaryOutcomes[0] on this registrationAll-cause mortality and unplanned hospitalizations for heart failureno description registered12 months -- half the horizon of the other two trials.
RESHAPE-HF2
NCT02444338
PRIMARY -- primaryOutcomes[0] on this registrationComposite rate of recurrent heart failure hospitalizations and cardiovascular (CV) death within 24 monthsComposite rate of recurrent heart failure hospitalizations and cardiovascular (CV) death within 24 months24 months for the two event primaries, 12 months for the quality-of-life primary. Its first primary counts recurrent events, not first events.

In this section: Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months · Risk of bias · GOSH · Trial-sequential analysis · Meta-regression

Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months

Risk of bias

Risk-of-bias traffic light — not computable No per-domain RoB-2 assessment is stored in this object.

⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB

Only the vector format is offered for this figure, by choice: it is line art — discrete marks, glyphs and labels — which SVG reproduces exactly at any size, so a raster would add weight without adding fidelity. The build was able to rasterise; it was asked not to.

Not drawn, because there is nothing to draw it from.

GOSH

GOSH plot — not drawn at this k Computable but uninformative at k = 3: the whole subset space is 7 points, and its shape is read for clustering that needs an order of magnitude more studies.

⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 80 KB

All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: dd33d4f986f7c7c5), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.

Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — gosh.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — gosh.tiff, 5,537 KB.

Deliberately not drawn. Every subset meta-analysis of 3 trials is 7 points; a cloud that small cannot show the multimodality GOSH exists to reveal, and a reader would take the picture as evidence of its absence.

Trial-sequential analysis

Trial-sequential analysis — not computable Not run: TSA needs a pre-specified target information size, and no anticipated relative risk reduction or control-arm event rate is registered in this object's protocol.

⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x650 87 KB

All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 25ed9800fdf56614), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.

Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — tsa.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — tsa.tiff, 6,665 KB.

TSA boundaries depend entirely on a target information size that must be pre-specified. This review's protocol registers none, so any boundary drawn here would be a parameter chosen after seeing the data -- which is the practice TSA exists to protect against.

Meta-regression

Meta-regression bubble plot — not drawn at this k Not fitted: 3 trials and no pre-specified moderator. A regression on year would spend 2 of 3 degrees of freedom on a covariate this review never registered.

⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 87 KB

All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 2316b730fa24744e), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.

Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — bubble.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — bubble.tiff, 5,537 KB.

The protocol pre-specifies no moderator, and at k = 3 a meta-regression would be fitted on 3 points. Not drawn rather than drawn with a caveat: a bubble plot invites reading a slope, and there is no slope here that any reader should read.

In this section: Summary of findings · Reproducibility artifact · Other recorded qualifications

Summary of findings

Table 7. Summary of findings
OutcomekPooled effectCertainty
Three different registered composites, at 12 and at 24 months3not pooledSee comment12
  1. The pooled estimate for this outcome has been WITHDRAWN, so there is no estimate for a certainty rating to be about. Any rating this object still carries for this outcome was made about the withdrawn estimate and is not shown beside it.
  2. Read this beside `whether the estimand was established`. That flag records that every contributing trial measures the same quantity. It records nothing about what that quantity was measured against -- whether the comparators are of one kind, whether each comparison was randomised, whether it was concurrent. The two questions were never separated. Named as P48 in PAGE-STANDARD.md v1.21.0 and swept by scripts/audit_mixed_contrast_pools.py.

Reproducibility artifact

Table 8. Reproducibility artifact
Canonical object—
Registered at— —
Schema2-authored-from-source
Object last updated2026-08-18T00:00Z
Source object SHA-256, first 16 hex characters575ed7cc8b074785
Page generated2026-08-28 07:29 UTC
Generator build59b484ca7. The standard this page was built to is NOT ESTABLISHED: this object carries no build_stamp, so the version above is the standard that exists now, not the one this page was built against.

This page CANNOT be rebuilt from what is recorded here: no canonical object is recorded and no registered commit is recorded. Each figure on the Analysis tab downloads as an SVG carrying exactly the values shown.

Other recorded qualifications

Statements this review records about the limits of what it establishes, which are not shown elsewhere on this page. They are reproduced from the object verbatim and are not summarised.

Table 9. Other recorded qualifications
Components as the registry states themthe registered primary effectiveness endpoint. This registration also declares a primary safety endpoint -- 'Percentage of Participants With Freedom From Device Related Complications at 12 Months' -- so it carries two primaries of opposite kind.
Analysis set as the registry states it24 months. Note that the safety primary is measured at 12 months and the effectiveness primary at 24, within one registration.
Components as the registry states themAll-cause mortality and unplanned hospitalisations for heart failure. A two-component composite whose death component is ALL-CAUSE.
Components as the registry states themThree registered primaries: (1) composite rate of recurrent heart-failure hospitalisations and cardiovascular death within 24 months; (2) rate of total, first and recurrent, HF hospitalisations within 24 months; (3) change in quality of life, the KCCQ overall score, at 12 months -- a continuous outcome.
Analysis set as the registry states it24 months for the two event primaries, 12 months for the quality-of-life primary. Its first primary counts recurrent events, not first events.

In this section: Summary

Summary

Question. Three trials of transcatheter mitral repair in functional regurgitation, registering three different composites at two different time horizons.

What was checked. ClinicalTrials.gov protocol records, read 2026-08-18

What was found. 3 registered trials:

Table 10. Summary
RegistrationTrial
NCT01626079COAPT
NCT01920698MITRA-FR
NCT02444338RESHAPE-HF2

Why no result is pooled. Not poolable, and the registry now says why in the trials' own words. The three registrations declare three different primary outcomes at two different horizons. Mitra-fr registers 'All-cause mortality and unplanned hospitalizations for heart failure' at 12 months. Reshape-hf2 registers a 'Composite rate of recurrent heart failure hospitalizations and cardiovascular (cv) death within 24 months' -- cardiovascular death, not all-cause, and recurrent events rather than first events, which is a different counting rule altogether.

Whether these trials study this subject. Checked against each registration's arm structure on 2026-08-25. 3 could NOT be decided this way, because the registered arm names do not name the intervention the way this review does. That is not a pass: they remain unverified, and no other check has looked.

What would change this. A pooled result becomes possible when trials reporting a shared, comparably measured outcome are available.

No pooled estimate, risk-of-bias assessment or certainty rating is published for this question, because there is no combined result for them to describe.

Not held in this object. No statistical panel set is held in this object.

Page standard

UNSTAMPED — unknown-version. This page carries no build_stamp, so the standard it was built to cannot be established. That is a statement about the record, not a claim that the page is below standard.

Every number on this page is projected from a single canonical object, and each measured cell names the source analysis it was read from. That is what is machine-checked. It does not establish that the underlying sources are right, only that this page faithfully reports them.