Computed from this object's own state — a structural condition is unmet. This is not a fixed disclaimer: the conditions below are each testable, and a build in which they are met renders READY.
Does cangrelor reduce ischaemic events at PCI? The three CHAMPION trials answer versions of this, and the numbers this page used were not the ones they answered it .
In this section: Registration and administrative information (PROSPERO field set) · What this object claims to contain
| Review title | Cangrelor versus clopidogrel at percutaneous coronary intervention |
|---|---|
| Review question (PICO) | Does cangrelor reduce ischaemic events at PCI? The three CHAMPION trials answer versions of this, and the numbers this page used were not the ones they answered it . |
| Population | Patients undergoing PCI (elective, NSTE-ACS, or STEMI) |
| Intervention | Intravenous cangrelor 30 mcg/kg bolus + 4 mcg/kg/min infusion periprocedurally |
| Comparator | Not uniform across trials: clopidogrel 600 mg load (CHAMPION-PCI); clopidogrel 300/600 mg load (CHAMPION-PHOENIX); placebo during PCI with clopidogrel 600 mg at end of PCI in all patients (CHAMPION-PLATFORM) |
| Background / rationale | Not recorded — this object holds no background field, and an introduction generated without one would be argument that no source in this review supports |
| Eligibility criteria | not recorded on the page this object was built from |
| Information sources | 0 source layers, listed on the Extraction tab |
| Search strategy | The executed strings, datetimes, filters and hit counts are on the Search tab |
| Study selection process | Not recorded — no screening record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from, so who screened and how cannot be stated |
| Number of screeners | Not recorded — this object records no screener count |
| Data extraction items | Extracted per trial on this object: registry id; primary publication; arms; per-arm counts and the published effect; the randomised total, separately from the analysed denominator. Fields not listed here were not extracted. |
| Outcomes and prioritisation | Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials |
| Risk of bias method | Not recorded — no per-domain RoB-2 assessment exists yet |
| Synthesis methods | Pooled under random-effects with the REML estimator on the log scale. Whether they were prespecified is not recorded on this object. |
| Subgroup analyses | Not recorded — this object records no subgroup-analysis field at all, so whether any were prespecified is UNKNOWN -- which is not the same as none having been |
| Meta-bias assessment | Not recorded — no funnel, Egger or Peters value is held on this object, so no meta-bias assessment is claimed |
| Certainty assessment | Not recorded — no GRADE record was recoverable from the page this object was extracted from |
| Funding | Not recorded — no funding statement is recorded for this review |
| Competing interests | Not recorded — no declaration is recorded |
| Built | 2026-08-18T00:00Z |
| Schema | 2-authored-from-source |
not recorded on the page this object was built from
In this section: Extracted values, and where each came from · References · Included studies · Regulatory documents · Methods and guidance · Sources · Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials · Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials · What was measured · Pooled result · Contributing trials · Endpoint definitions, read from the registry · corrected_composite_3component (not declared in outcomes)
One row per extracted value. Every row carries the value, the verbatim sentence it was read from, a resolvable link to the source, and whether the number was read or derived. Where any of those is absent the row says so rather than omitting the value.
| Trial / outcome | Value as extracted | Verbatim source sentence | Source links | Read or derived |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHAMPION-PCI primary | no effect value held for this outcome | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT00305162 · source | DERIVED by us from not carried forward -- see numerator_defect No per-trial effect is stored here. The counts above are the REGISTRY'S OWN primary-outcome counts, recorded so a reader can see what the page should have used. |
| CHAMPION-PLATFORM primary | no effect value held for this outcome | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT00385138 · source | DERIVED by us from not carried forward -- see numerator_defect No per-trial effect is stored here. The counts above are the REGISTRY'S OWN primary-outcome counts, recorded so a reader can see what the page should have used. |
| CHAMPION-PHOENIX primary | no effect value held for this outcome | no source sentence recorded — this value cannot be checked against a quoted line here | NCT01156571 · source | DERIVED by us from not carried forward -- see numerator_defect No per-trial effect is stored here. The counts above are the REGISTRY'S OWN primary-outcome counts, recorded so a reader can see what the page should have used. |
| Layer | Source | How it was obtained |
|---|
| Comparator | clopidogrel |
|---|---|
| Estimand | incidence at 48 hours — random-effects |
| Effect scale | reported on the log scale; nothing is pooled on this outcome |
What is confirmed, stated as prominently as what is wrong. (1) the trials are the right trials and the identities are correct: NCT00305162, NCT00385138 and NCT01156571 are CHAMPION-PCI, CHAMPION-PLATFORM and CHAMPION-PHOENIX. (2) every arm size is exactly right. All six denominators match the registry's primary-outcome record to the participant. That is what makes the defect so hard to see: five of the six numbers in each 2x2 are correct. (3) the arm roles and labels are correct on all three -- cangrelor against clopidogrel, matching each registration's own arm titles. What this withdrawal does not establish: not that cangrelor is ineffective. CHAMPION-PHOENIX's own primary result, 257 of 5,470 against 322 of 5,469, is OR 0.7880 (0.6659 to 0.9326) and favours cangrelor. CHAMPION-PLATFORM's is 0.8674 (0.7063 to 1.0652) and CHAMPION-PCI's is 1.0478 (0.8830 to 1.2434). All three are on this page. The trials disagree with each other, and a synthesis that reports them as agreeing significantly is the thing being withdrawn. The replacement question is identified and deliberately not taken. Pooling the correct primary counts is arithmetic, not a new question -- but it still requires choosing whether a four-component composite may be averaged with two three-component ones, and that is an estimand decision whose answer is already visible above. The corrected pool is shown only to demonstrate that the defect changes the conclusion, which cannot be shown without computing it. Parked.
Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials. k = 3.
The 0.81 this page records as the WITHDRAWN card's figure is also the published one. Steg et al., Lancet 2013 (PMID 24011551) -- a prespecified pooled analysis of PATIENT-LEVEL data from all three CHAMPION trials, 24,910 patients -- reports the primary composite at OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The withdrawal note on this outcome records that the card published OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The same value and the same interval.
It does not undo the withdrawal. This object establishes that the card's own stored numerators were all-cause mortality counts set against the primary composite's denominators, on all three trials, and that is a real data defect. What it changes is the reading: the card's headline value appears to have been right while the counts beneath it could not produce it. A correct number standing on the wrong arithmetic is a provenance failure, not an accuracy one, and the withdrawal note currently reads as though the benefit itself were unsupported.
From published aggregates this review can pool only CHAMPION-PCI and CHAMPION-PLATFORM on the three-component composite, because CHAMPION phoenix (NCT01156571) registers a four-component composite adding stent thrombosis -- its counts are recorded here, 257/5470 against 322/5469, so the exclusion is checkable. Steg et al. had patient-level data and could rebuild the three-component quantity for phoenix; that is not recoverable from aggregates. The two-trial pool is 0.965 (0.813 to 1.14) and crosses no difference where theirs does not.
Prefer the published analysis. Three trials at patient level, prespecified, beats two trials of aggregate counts. Unresolved, and not decided here: whether this outcome's withdrawal note should be restated now that the withdrawn figure is corroborated by the literature. That is a content decision about a published number and belongs to the author.
About the corrected three-component composite pool on this object, recorded here because that is where a reader arrives. The stored pooled result on this object names no effect measure. The `pooled` block holds point, CI LOW, CI HIGH and CI level and NO `measure` field: {"point": 0.9646, "CI LOW": 0.8132, "CI HIGH": 1.1442, "CI level": 95}. The outcome block above it says RR, so a reader who looks in the right place can recover it -- but the number itself travels without its unit, and it is compared elsewhere on this object against a published odds ratio. A risk ratio and an odds ratio are not interchangeable: away from the null the odds ratio is further from 1 than the risk ratio, so comparing ours against theirs makes our result look closer to no effect than a like-for-like comparison would. The direction of that error is knowable and is stated here; the size is not, because it depends on the event rate they pooled over, which this object does not hold.
About the corrected three-component composite pool on this object, recorded here because that is where a reader arrives. Where this pool and the published one differ, the cause named on this object is not the one the evidence points . The cangrelor PCI programme's central controversy is the definition of the myocardial infarction component of its composite primary, which changed during the programme -- the third universal definition of myocardial infarction was published in 2012, mid-programme -- and the trials' results are sensitive to which definition is applied. A composite whose largest component is redefined is not the same endpoint before and after, and two syntheses applying different definitions will differ for that reason before any statistical one. This is recorded as the likely cause and not as an established one: establishing it needs the definition each synthesis applied, which is not on this object.
Authored rather than converted, so this name states the finding instead of concatenating trial titles.
What each trial COUNTED, in its own registry record's words, before anything here was pooled. A sentence saying what HAPPENED is not a sentence saying what was COUNTED, and only the second one licenses a pool. Read from the registry on 2026-08-18. Follow the registration link to disagree with any row.
| Trial | Rank in its own trial | Registered outcome measure | Description, verbatim | Analysis set / window |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHAMPION-PCI NCT00305162 | PRIMARY -- this registration's only primary outcome | Incidence of All-cause Mortality, Myocardial Infarction (MI), and Ischemia-driven Revascularization (IDR) | (composite incidence) | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 290 of 3889 against clopidogrel 276 of 3865. |
| CHAMPION-PLATFORM NCT00385138 | PRIMARY -- this registration's only primary outcome | Incidence of All-cause Mortality, Myocardial Infarction (MI), and Ischemia-driven Revascularization (IDR) | mITT population; (composite incidence) | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 185 of 2654 against clopidogrel 210 of 2641. |
| CHAMPION-PHOENIX NCT01156571 | PRIMARY -- this registration's only primary outcome | The Composite Incidence of All-cause Mortality, Myocardial Infarction (MI), Ischemia-driven Revascularization (IDR) and Stent Thrombosis (ST) | Clinical Events Committee (CEC)-adjudicated results (modified intent-to-treat \[mITT\] population) | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 257 of 5470 against clopidogrel 322 of 5469. |
corrected_composite_3component is not declared in this object's outcomes, so it has no registered name, measure or comparator to be rendered under. IT IS NOT EMPTY -- it may carry a pooled estimate, and on this object it does. Declaring the outcome is a CONTENT change and is not made by the builder.In this section: Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials · Forest plot · Risk of bias · GOSH · Trial-sequential analysis · Meta-regression
Drawn from the same stored estimates the table above lists. Box area is proportional to inverse-variance weight.
x-axis range
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 114 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: ea02458968abd76b), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_fit.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_fit.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 114 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 4b4f72fec8857980), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w1.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w1.tiff, 12,129 KB.
⬇ SVG (vector) 2 KB ⬇ PNG 4500x920 114 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: fb49215b6b593ec5), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — forest_w2.eps, 4 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — forest_w2.tiff, 12,129 KB.
Changing the range moves the axis window only. The guides stay labelled with the null and the extremes of the plotted intervals, so no plotted value and no printed number differs between these views — and that is checked at build time, not asserted. Ranges not offered because they would crop the data: 0.7 to 1.3.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB
Only the vector format is offered for this figure, by choice: it is line art — discrete marks, glyphs and labels — which SVG reproduces exactly at any size, so a raster would add weight without adding fidelity. The build was able to rasterise; it was asked not to.
Not drawn, because there is nothing to draw it from.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 80 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: dd33d4f986f7c7c5), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — gosh.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — gosh.tiff, 5,537 KB.
Deliberately not drawn. Every subset meta-analysis of 3 trials is 7 points; a cloud that small cannot show the multimodality GOSH exists to reveal, and a reader would take the picture as evidence of its absence.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x650 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 25ed9800fdf56614), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — tsa.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — tsa.tiff, 6,665 KB.
TSA boundaries depend entirely on a target information size that must be pre-specified. This review's protocol registers none, so any boundary drawn here would be a parameter chosen after seeing the data -- which is the practice TSA exists to protect against.
⬇ SVG (vector) 1 KB ⬇ PNG 3500x540 87 KB
All raster formats were generated at build time from the same SVG as the graphic above (SHA-256, first 16 hex characters: 2316b730fa24744e), at 600 dpi for a 6-inch print width, on a white ground. They are not screenshots of the page and do not change with the theme you are reading in.
Submission formats written to the figures directory, not embedded here because an uncompressed 600 dpi TIFF is tens of megabytes: EPS (vector, journal's first choice for line art) — bubble.eps, 2 KB; TIFF (uncompressed, 600 dpi -- journal fallback) — bubble.tiff, 5,537 KB.
The protocol pre-specifies no moderator, and at k = 3 a meta-regression would be fitted on 3 points. Not drawn rather than drawn with a caveat: a bubble plot invites reading a slope, and there is no slope here that any reader should read.
In this section: Summary of findings · Reproducibility artifact · Other recorded qualifications
| Outcome | k | Pooled effect | Certainty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials | 3 | not pooled | See comment12 |
| Canonical object | — |
|---|---|
| Registered at | — — |
| Schema | 2-authored-from-source |
| Object last updated | 2026-08-18T00:00Z |
| Source object SHA-256, first 16 hex characters | 4b076be40a9bd2c7 |
| Page generated | 2026-08-28 19:53 UTC |
| Generator build | a441e4187. The standard this page was built to is NOT ESTABLISHED: this object carries no build_stamp, so the version above is the standard that exists now, not the one this page was built against. |
This page CANNOT be rebuilt from what is recorded here: no canonical object is recorded and no registered commit is recorded. Each figure on the Analysis tab downloads as an SVG carrying exactly the values shown.
Statements this review records about the limits of what it establishes, which are not shown elsewhere on this page. They are reproduced from the object verbatim and are not summarised.
| Components as the registry states them | all-cause mortality; myocardial infarction; ischaemia-driven revascularisation. Three components. |
|---|---|
| Analysis set as the registry states it | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 290 of 3889 against clopidogrel 276 of 3865. |
| Components as the registry states them | all-cause mortality; myocardial infarction; ischaemia-driven revascularisation. Three components, mITT population. |
| Analysis set as the registry states it | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 185 of 2654 against clopidogrel 210 of 2641. |
| Components as the registry states them | all-cause mortality; myocardial infarction; ischaemia-driven revascularisation; Stent thrombosis. Four components. |
| Analysis set as the registry states it | 48 hours after randomisation. Registry primary-outcome counts: cangrelor 257 of 5470 against clopidogrel 322 of 5469. |
| A the withdrawn value matches a published patient level analysis | The 0.81 this page records as the WITHDRAWN card's figure is also the published one. Steg et al., Lancet 2013 (PMID 24011551) -- a prespecified pooled analysis of PATIENT-LEVEL data from all three CHAMPION trials, 24,910 patients -- reports the primary composite at OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The withdrawal note on this outcome records that the card published OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The same value and the same interval. |
| B what that changes and what it does not | It does not undo the withdrawal. This object establishes that the card's own stored numerators were all-cause mortality counts set against the primary composite's denominators, on all three trials, and that is a real data defect. What it changes is the reading: the card's headline value appears to have been right while the counts beneath it could not produce it. A correct number standing on the wrong arithmetic is a provenance failure, not an accuracy one, and the withdrawal note currently reads as though the benefit itself were unsupported. |
| C what this object can and cannot pool | From published aggregates this review can pool only CHAMPION-PCI and CHAMPION-PLATFORM on the three-component composite, because CHAMPION phoenix (NCT01156571) registers a four-component composite adding stent thrombosis -- its counts are recorded here, 257/5470 against 322/5469, so the exclusion is checkable. Steg et al. had patient-level data and could rebuild the three-component quantity for phoenix; that is not recoverable from aggregates. The two-trial pool is 0.965 (0.813 to 1.14) and crosses no difference where theirs does not. |
| D which a reader should prefer and what is unresolved | Prefer the published analysis. Three trials at patient level, prespecified, beats two trials of aggregate counts. Unresolved, and not decided here: whether this outcome's withdrawal note should be restated now that the withdrawn figure is corroborated by the literature. That is a content decision about a published number and belongs to the author. |
| G and the likely cause of the divergence is the mi definition | About the corrected three-component composite pool on this object, recorded here because that is where a reader arrives. Where this pool and the published one differ, the cause named on this object is not the one the evidence points . The cangrelor PCI programme's central controversy is the definition of the myocardial infarction component of its composite primary, which changed during the programme -- the third universal definition of myocardial infarction was published in 2012, mid-programme -- and the trials' results are sensitive to which definition is applied. A composite whose largest component is redefined is not the same endpoint before and after, and two syntheses applying different definitions will differ for that reason before any statistical one. This is recorded as the likely cause and not as an established one: establishing it needs the definition each synthesis applied, which is not on this object. |
| Recoverable by correcting the data not by harmonising | A category the proportionality sweep cannot see. That sweep never reads our verdicts -- the design choice that keeps it honest -- so it flagged this topic on shared outcome concepts and could not tell that the withdrawal was about mis-transcribed data. The sweep is not exhaustive and this class will always be invisible to it. |
| What this does not establish | Not that either trial is free of bias; no risk-of-bias assessment is recorded. Not a result including CHAMPION phoenix, whose composite differs. Not that the original withdrawal was wrong -- the data on the page WAS mismatched and that withdrawal was correct; what was missing was the corrected pool. |
| A a published patient level analysis disagrees with this estimate | This estimate is compatible with no benefit and a larger prespecified analysis is not. This pool: 0.9646 (0.8132 to 1.1442) on 2 trials, from published aggregate counts. Steg et al., Lancet 2013 (PMID 24011551), a prespecified pooled analysis of patient-level data from all three CHAMPION trials, 24,910 patients: the same three-component composite -- all-cause death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- returns odds ratio 0.81 (0.71 to 0.92). Their interval excludes no difference and this one does not. |
| B why the two differ and it is not an error on either side | The third trial. CHAMPION phoenix (NCT01156571) is on this object and is excluded from this pool with a stated reason: it registers a FOUR-component composite, adding stent thrombosis to the same three, and its counts are recorded here so the exclusion is checkable -- 257/5470 against 322/5469. Steg et al. had patient-level data and could rebuild the three-component composite for phoenix; from published aggregates that cannot be done. The difference is one of data access, not of care. |
| C which estimate a reader should prefer | Theirs. A prespecified patient-level analysis of three trials is stronger evidence than an aggregate-data pool of two, and it includes a trial this object cannot include honestly. This pool is reported because it is what the registered aggregate data support; It is not offered as the better answer. |
| G and the likely cause of the divergence is the mi definition | Where this pool and the published one differ, the cause named on this object is not the one the evidence points . The cangrelor PCI programme's central controversy is the definition of the myocardial infarction component of its composite primary, which changed during the programme -- the third universal definition of myocardial infarction was published in 2012, mid-programme -- and the trials' results are sensitive to which definition is applied. A composite whose largest component is redefined is not the same endpoint before and after, and two syntheses applying different definitions will differ for that reason before any statistical one. This is recorded as the likely cause and not as an established one: establishing it needs the definition each synthesis applied, which is not on this object. |
| Scope | primary: death, myocardial infarction, ischaemia-driven revascularisation or stent thrombosis at 48 h. Secondary triple composite: all-cause death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 h. |
| The finding of this comparison | A material disagreement, and it is not a class-76 instance. Class 76 is about the published work choosing a better-defined target; here it chose the same target and got a different answer with more data. Steg 2013 pooled all three CHAMPION trials at patient level to OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.92) on the triple composite; this object pools two to 0.9646 (0.8132 to 1.1442). One interval excludes no difference and the other does not. Separately, this object's declared primary outcome carries no pooled estimate at all despite k = 3. Which trial is absent from the three-component pool, and whether 0.9646 should stand, is a content decision and is not made here. |
| What this review does not publish | What this review does not publish. This review also examined one outcome for which no pooled estimate is published: Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials (k=3) -- the numerators and the denominators on this page come from different outcomes, on all thre. Each of those outcomes is recorded on this review with the reason it was not pooled, and none of them contributes to the estimate reported above (0.9646 at k=2). A reader meeting the pooled result should not take it as covering every outcome, or every trial, this review examined. This sentence exists because a second, independent reading -- by a different model family, given the object and the abstract and none of our conclusions -- found that a reader would reasonably conclude the review pools all relevant trials, and that the object does not support that. The withdrawals were already recorded beside the outcomes they concern; they were invisible from the abstract, which is where the impression forms. |
In this section: Paper · Title · Abstract · Introduction · Methods — eligibility criteria · Methods — outcomes sought at every registered rank · Methods — synthesis · Results · Comparison with published syntheses · Limitations · Software availability · Note on registration · References · Figures · Trial characteristics · Not reported in this record
Each statement below cites the record it came from; those sources are listed at the end of every section. Where the record holds nothing, the section says so by name rather than being left out, so a procedure that was not carried out can be told from one that simply was never mentioned.
Cangrelor versus clopidogrel at percutaneous coronary intervention1
titleQuestion. Does cangrelor reduce ischaemic events at PCI? The three CHAMPION trials answer versions of this, and the numbers this page used were not the ones they answered it .1
Methods. estimates were pooled under a random-effects model with the REML estimator.2
questionresults.by_outcomeBackground. This review asks: Does cangrelor reduce ischaemic events at PCI? The three CHAMPION trials answer versions of this, and the numbers this page used were not the ones they answered it . It pools 3 randomised trials, against clopidogrel. The outcome pooled is Death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials.1
manuscript.introductionnot recorded on the page this object was built from1
screening.eligibilityEvery registered rank -- primary, secondary and other -- was read for 3 of 3 contributing trials before any decision about which outcomes could be combined; each records the time it was read.1
inputs.trials[].all_ranks_read_utcFor corrected composite 3component, a random-effects model was fitted with the REML estimator.1
results.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.model, results.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.estimator_usedDeath, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours -- and stent thrombosis in one of the three trials. These 3 trials are not pooled, and the reason is stated rather than the outcome being quietly omitted: The numerators and the denominators on this page come from different outcomes, on all three trials. Each row carried the primary composite's participant denominators -- 3,889 and 3,865; 2,654 and 2,641; 5,470 and 5,469, all exactly right -- against event counts of 8 and 5, 6 and 18, and 18 and 18. Those counts are not the composite's. They are all-cause mortality, a secondary outcome on every one of the three: CHAMPION-PCI's 'Individual Incidence of All-cause Mortality' is 8 against 5, CHAMPION-PLATFORM's 'Incidence of All-cause Mortality' is 6 against 18, and CHAMPION-PHOENIX's 18 against 18 is the death row of its stent-thrombosis/death/MI breakdown. The registry's own primary-composite counts are 290 and 276, 185 and 210, and 257 and 322 -- between one and two orders of magnitude larger than what the page used. A mortality numerator over a composite denominator is not a small error in a rate; it is a quantity that corresponds to nothing. And the correction reverses the conclusion, which is why this matters more than a tidiness complaint. Pooling the registry's own primary counts by DerSimonian-Laird gives OR 0.8955 (0.7526 to 1.0656), I-squared 64 per cent -- an interval that crosses no effect. The card published OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91), which excludes it. The page reported a significant benefit where the trials' own primary outcomes do not establish one. Separately and sufficient on its own: the composites are not the same. CHAMPION-PHOENIX's registered primary is 'The Composite Incidence of All-cause Mortality, Myocardial Infarction (MI), Ischemia-driven Revascularization (IDR) and stent thrombosis (ST)' -- four components. CHAMPION-PCI's and CHAMPION-PLATFORM's are mortality, MI and IDR: three. One whole component is present in one trial and absent from the other two, so even with correct counts these three would not share one estimand.1
Noted on this pool. The 0.81 this page records as the withdrawn card's figure is also the published one. Steg et al., Lancet 2013 (PMID 24011551) -- a prespecified pooled analysis of PATIENT-LEVEL data from all three CHAMPION trials, 24,910 patients -- reports the primary composite at OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The withdrawal note on this outcome records that the card published OR 0.81 (0.71 to 0.91). The same value and the same interval. It does not undo the withdrawal. This object establishes that the card's own stored numerators were all-cause mortality counts set against the primary composite's denominators, on all three trials, and that is a real data defect. What it changes is the reading: the card's headline value appears to have been right while the counts beneath it could not produce it. A correct number standing on the wrong arithmetic is a provenance failure, not an accuracy one, and the withdrawal note currently reads as though the benefit itself were unsupported. From published aggregates this review can pool only CHAMPION-PCI and CHAMPION-PLATFORM on the three-component composite, because CHAMPION phoenix (NCT01156571) registers a four-component composite adding stent thrombosis -- its counts are recorded here, 257/5470 against 322/5469, so the exclusion is checkable. Steg et al. had patient-level data and could rebuild the three-component quantity for phoenix; that is not recoverable from aggregates. The two-trial pool is 0.965 (0.813 to 1.14) and crosses no difference where theirs does not. Prefer the published analysis. Three trials at patient level, prespecified, beats two trials of aggregate counts. Unresolved, and not decided here: whether this outcome's withdrawal note should be restated now that the withdrawn figure is corroborated by the literature. That is a content decision about a published number and belongs to the author. About the corrected three-component composite pool on this object, recorded here because that is where a reader arrives. The stored pooled result on this object names no effect measure. The `pooled` block holds point, CI LOW, CI HIGH and CI level and NO `measure` field: {"point": 0.9646, "CI LOW": 0.8132, "CI HIGH": 1.1442, "CI level": 95}. The outcome block above it says RR, so a reader who looks in the right place can recover it -- but the number itself travels without its unit, and it is compared elsewhere on this object against a published odds ratio. A risk ratio and an odds ratio are not interchangeable: away from the null the odds ratio is further from 1 than the risk ratio, so comparing ours against theirs makes our result look closer to no effect than a like-for-like comparison would. The direction of that error is knowable and is stated here; the size is not, because it depends on the event rate they pooled over, which this object does not hold. About the corrected three-component composite pool on this object, recorded here because that is where a reader arrives. Where this pool and the published one differ, the cause named on this object is not the one the evidence points . The cangrelor PCI programme's central controversy is the definition of the myocardial infarction component of its composite primary, which changed during the programme -- the third universal definition of myocardial infarction was published in 2012, mid-programme -- and the trials' results are sensitive to which definition is applied. A composite whose largest component is redefined is not the same endpoint before and after, and two syntheses applying different definitions will differ for that reason before any statistical one. This is recorded as the likely cause and not as an established one: establishing it needs the definition each synthesis applied, which is not on this object.2
The full model output for every pooled outcome -- the call, the estimator, the heterogeneity statistics and the back-transformed interval -- is stored verbatim on this review object at `results.by_outcome.<outcome>.r_output.verbatim`. It is not reproduced as an Extended data section in this article; an earlier version of this sentence said it was, and no such section exists.3
outcomes[id=primary].name, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled.withdrawn_reasonresults.by_outcome.primary.POOL_FINDINGS_2026_08_20, results.by_outcome.primary.POOL_FINDINGS_2026_08_21results.by_outcomePublished syntheses were identified as follows. PubMed E-utilities, executed 2026-08-20. Query, counts and per-record disposition in ssot/cangrelor-pci-review/appraisal/the screen of published syntheses.json.1
published_comparison._how_identifiedEligible trials that do not contribute: All three included registrations contribute to this review; none was dropped.1
This review does not claim that the journal reports were consulted.2
1 claim(s) previously made about this review were corrected and the corrections are retained on the object rather than overwritten.3
What this review does not give a clinician: the number of events in each arm, any absolute effect or number needed to treat and any measure of harm. A relative effect cannot be turned into the benefit or the risk facing one patient without them, so this review can support a judgement about what these trials found and not a judgement about what to do.4
eligible_but_not_contributing.noteverification_basis.what_is_not_claimedclaims_correctedresults.by_outcomeAnalyses were computed under R 4.6.0 with metafor 5.0.1.1
results.by_outcomeNo PROSPERO registration or protocol record is held on this object. That is not the same as knowing this review was not registered, and neither claim is made. It is recorded here as an absence so that a reader does not have to infer it from silence.1
bookkeeping_2026_08_21.whether_this_review_was_prospectively_registered| Trial | Registration | Registry | Read |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00305162 | ClinicalTrials.gov | ||
| NCT00385138 | ClinicalTrials.gov | ||
| NCT01156571 | ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Citation | Identifier |
|---|---|
| Effect of cangrelor on periprocedural outcomes in percutaneous coronary interventions: a pooled analysis of patient-level data. Lancet. 2013. | PMID: 24011551 |
| Cited for | Reference |
|---|---|
| the model fitted, as R 4.6.0 with metafor 5.0.1 | Viechtbauer W. Conducting meta-analyses in R with the metafor package. J Stat Softw. 2010;36(3):1-48. doi:10.18637/jss.v036.i03 |
| the reporting guideline this manuscript is written against | Page MJ, McKenzie JE, Bossuyt PM, et al. The PRISMA 2020 statement: an updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. BMJ. 2021;372:n71. doi:10.1136/bmj.n71 |
manuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesmanuscript.referencesresults.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.per_trial, results.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.pooledresults.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.per_trial, results.by_outcome.corrected_composite_3component.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooledresults.by_outcome.primary.per_trial, results.by_outcome.primary.pooled| Registration | Trial | Participants | Randomised | Primary outcome measured over | Design |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00305162 | CHAMPION-PCI | registered condition: Myocardial Infarction (MI); Acute Coronary Syndromes (ACS) / registered condition: Myocardial Infarction (MI); Acute Coronary Syndromes (ACS) | 8882 | randomization through 48 hours after randomization | Cangrelor (treatment, n=3889) vs Clopidogrel (control, n=3865) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
| NCT00385138 | CHAMPION-PLATFORM | registered condition: Atherosclerosis; Acute Coronary Syndrome (ACS) / registered condition: Atherosclerosis; Acute Coronary Syndrome (ACS) | 5364 | randomization through 48 hours post randomization | Cangrelor (treatment, n=2654) vs Clopidogrel (control, n=2641) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
| NCT01156571 | CHAMPION-PHOENIX | not recorded | 11145 | 48 hours after randomization | Cangrelor (treatment, n=5470) vs Clopidogrel (control, n=5469) [+2 further fields recorded on the object] |
inputs.trialsThe items below were not written because the record does not hold what they would be composed from. They are named here so that an absence is not mistaken for an omission.
| Article area | Item not reported | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Abstract | The Background sentence of the abstract | Background is argument -- why this question matters -- and no arrangement of the quantities this object holds yields it. It is emitted only from an authored field and there is no composition path for it here |
| Abstract | The Results sentence of the abstract -- no outcome on this object carries a pooled point estimate, so there is nothing to report and none is manufactured here | The reason each pool is declined is given in Results |
| Abstract | The Conclusions sentence of the abstract | A conclusion is argument -- what a reader should now believe -- and it is emitted only from an authored field. Composing one from the estimate would be this renderer telling the reader what to conclude, which no field supports |
| Methods — search | A database search for primary trials, which was not carried out for this review; the included trials were identified from named registrations | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — how many studies at each stage | The k cascade | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The model/estimator sentence for death, myocardial infarction or ischaemia-driven revascularisation at 48 hours | And stent thrombosis in one of the three trials -- no pooled estimate was produced for this outcome, so no model was fitted and none is described |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that records were screened in duplicate by two independent reviewers | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that risk of bias was assessed with a named tool | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that certainty of evidence was graded | No further reason is recorded. |
| Methods — synthesis | The claim that the review methods were prespecified before data collection | No further reason is recorded. |
| Results | The result sentence for the outcome recorded as `corrected composite 3component` | Its registered text is not held, and an internal identifier is not an outcome name |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias assessment | No further reason is recorded. |
| Risk of bias in the included results | The risk-of-bias distribution | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | Certainty of the evidence, by outcome, with every rating step | No further reason is recorded. |
| Certainty of the evidence | The certainty assessment | No GRADE record is held, so the certainty column elsewhere on this page is an em dash rather than a guess |
| Funding and conflicts of interest | The funding and conflict-of-interest statement -- a content gap | A submission requires it and this object does not carry it; it is not inferable from anything held here |
| Note on registration | The registration note | No further reason is recorded. |
UNSTAMPED — unknown-version. This page carries no build_stamp, so the standard it was built to cannot be established. That is a statement about the record, not a claim that the page is below standard.
Every number on this page is projected from a single canonical object, and each measured cell names the source analysis it was read from. That is what is machine-checked. It does not establish that the underlying sources are right, only that this page faithfully reports them.