Tocilizumab vs usual care or placebo for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Tocilizumab vs usual care or placebo for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

In hospitalised adults with COVID-19, does tocilizumab reduce 28-day all-cause mortality versus usual care, standard care, or placebo?

Primary outcome

Outcome28-day all-cause mortality
EstimandOR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 33933206 (PMID 33933206)
Screened-in → pooled12 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 11 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.83 (OR), 95% CI 0.73–0.95
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

40 of 40 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['covid-19', 'covid 19', 'covid19', 'covid', 'coronavirus disease 2019', 'sars-cov-2', 'severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2', 'coronavirus infection']; and none of ['post covid', 'post-covid', 'long covid', 'paediatric', 'pediatric', 'children', 'child', 'mis-c', 'pims-ts', 'multisystem inflammatory syndrome', 'giant-cell arteritis', 'giant cell arteritis', 'rheumatoid arthritis', 'polymyalgia rheumatica', 'cytokine release syndrome', 'cancer', 'transplant']; randomised intervention is one of ['tocilizumab'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol - tocilizumab for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs.

## PICO
- **P** - adults hospitalised with COVID-19.
- **I** - tocilizumab, an interleukin-6 receptor antagonist, added to usual or
  standard care.
- **C** - usual care, standard care, supportive care, or placebo added to standard care.
- **O (primary)** - 28-day all-cause mortality.
- **O (harms)** - serious adverse events and secondary infections by 28 days.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - odds ratio (OR), tocilizumab vs usual care/placebo. Published
  abstract effect estimates with 95% CIs are poolable as reported when
  abstract-extractable 2x2 counts are absent.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - 28 days.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - hospitalised COVID-19 population by title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - tocilizumab vs usual care, standard care, supportive care, or placebo;
- **design** - randomised comparison; double-blinding is not required because the
  target comparator includes open-label usual-care trials as well as placebo trials.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, meta-analysis, guideline, observational study,
  protocol-only, or secondary/post-hoc analysis);
- **X2** - wrong population (for example post-COVID sequelae, paediatric MIS-C,
  giant-cell arteritis, rheumatoid arthritis, polymyalgia rheumatica, cytokine-release
  syndrome outside COVID-19, cancer, or transplant);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no tocilizumab-vs-control contrast, or an
  active-drug comparison without usual-care/placebo control);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic/disease in this set
  (negative control).

> Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an included trial reports
> 28-day all-cause mortality in an abstract-extractable form is recorded as
> target-result status at extraction, never as an exclusion. A published effect
> plus 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/tocilizumab-covid19-mortality/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: title-token queries for original tocilizumab COVID-19 randomised trial
  reports, with PubMed-side filters to avoid reviews, meta-analyses, letters,
  observational cohorts, post-hoc biomarker reports, and active-drug comparisons.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "COVID-19", intervention "tocilizumab".
- Comparator-reference seeding is enabled so the WHO REACT trial references, where
  PubMed exposes them, are replayed through the same P/I/C/design screen.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on the configured log ratio scale; for the primary
outcome this is log(OR). Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on `t_{k-1}` with variance
floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval `mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`.
0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study only if it has a zero cell.
DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
WHO Rapid Evidence Appraisal for COVID-19 Therapies (REACT) Working Group, *JAMA*
2021, "Association Between Administration of IL-6 Antagonists and Mortality Among
Patients Hospitalized for COVID-19: A Meta-analysis" (PMID 34228774, DOI
10.1001/jama.2021.11330; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PubMed Central PMCID PMC8261689).
Its abstract reports 27 randomised trials and 28-day all-cause mortality summary OR
0.86 (95% CI 0.79-0.95) for all IL-6 antagonists versus usual care or placebo; the
tocilizumab subgroup summary OR is 0.83 (95% CI 0.74-0.92).

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include RECOVERY tocilizumab
  (PMID 33933206), EMPACTA (PMID 33332779), and COVACTA (PMID 33631066).
- **Negative** - GiACTA tocilizumab for giant-cell arteritis (PMID 28745999) must
  be recovered and excluded as the wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)50
Records screened (deduplicated)50
Excluded at screening — by rule38 (X1 15 · X2 5 · X3 18)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)12
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)11

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 50 records: agreement 50/50, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 3 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted; 1 registered retrospectively — after enrolment began, a reporting-bias signal, not disqualifying (33933206) (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:18Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

50 records screened; 12 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
40232661pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…pitalized patients with COVID-19 pneumonia and high IL-6…”; comparator “…ndomized 1:1 to receive standard of care (SOC) or SOC plus one d…”
38157348pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…to hospital with severe covid-19 at high risk of deterio…”; comparator “…a or tocilizumab versus usual care (UC) for adults at high…”
36247068pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36247068).publication types: Journal Article
36150845pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36150845).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
36064504pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36064504).publication types: Letter, Comment
35531306pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35531306).publication types: Journal Article
34609549pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ed patients with severe COVID-19 pneumonia: a randomized…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicenter…”
34147248pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34147248).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
33933206pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…mitted to hospital with COVID-19 (RECOVERY): a randomise…”; comparator “…4 patients allocated to usual care died within 28 days (ra…”
33657286pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33657286).publication types: Letter, Comment
33631066pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ed Patients with Severe Covid-19 Pneumonia.”; comparator “…needed from randomized, placebo-controlled trials. METH…”
33332779pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ients Hospitalized with Covid-19 Pneumonia.”; comparator “…ventilation to receive standard care plus one or two doses o…”
33089038pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33089038).publication types: Journal Article
33080017pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…dults Hospitalized With COVID-19 and Moderate or Severe…”; comparator “…ffect of Tocilizumab vs Usual Care in Adults Hospitalized…”
33080005pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ients Hospitalized With COVID-19 Pneumonia: A Randomized…”; comparator “…ffect of Tocilizumab vs Standard Care on Clinical Worsening i…”
33085857pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ients Hospitalized with Covid-19.”; comparator “…a 2:1 ratio to receive standard care plus a single dose of e…”
38485912pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Tocilizumab Failed to Reduce Mortality in Severe COVID-19 Patients: Results from a Randomi…”
33472855pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in coronavirus disease 2019; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…with severe or critical coronavirus disease 2019: randomised controlled…”; comparator “…fusion of 8 mg/kg) plus standard care (n=65) versus standard…”
28745999pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'giant-cell arteritis'.Trial of Tocilizumab in Giant-Cell Arteritis.
34228774pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34228774).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
NCT04730323nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cytokine release syndrome'.…ith COVID-19 Associated Cytokine Release Syndrome; A Single Center Experi…
NCT04690920nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Theranostic Implication of Complementary Medicines Against Interleukin Receptors and Gp-13…”
NCT04346693nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['tocilizumab'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “An Open Randomized Study of Dalargin Efectiveness in Combination With Leitragin Drug in Pa…”
NCT05035589nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05035589).publication types: (no publication types)
ULTRA-COVID · NCT04394182nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Ultra Low Doses of Therapy With Radiation Applicated to COVID-19 Pneumonia, Viral Cytokine…”
NCT04370834nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cancer'.…zumab for Patients With Cancer and COVID-19 Disease He…
NCT04380818nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Low Dose Anti-inflammatory Radiotherapy for the Treatment of Pneumonia by COVID-19 Pneumon…”
NCT04445272nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Effectiveness and Safety of Tocilizumab for Treating Patien…”
ICASARS · NCT05407597nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['tocilizumab'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Inhibition of Bradykinin in COVID-19 Infection With Icatibant SARS CoV 2 Infection Icatiba…”
H4COVID · NCT05277285nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['tocilizumab'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “STS Administration on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Patients in Critical Care COVID-19 Vi…”
NCT04871854nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cancer'.…-19 Infection in Breast Cancer vs. Non Cancer Pateints…
NCT04321993nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Treatment of Moderate to Severe Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) in Hospitalized Patients CO…”
COLLATE · NCT04476888nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['tocilizumab'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Convalescent Plasma Treatment in COVID-19 Covid19 Convalescent Plasma (CP) Drugs and suppo…”
TOSCA · NCT04332913nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: TOSCA).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05367882nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05367882).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04893031nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04893031).publication types: (no publication types)
TOCSIN · NCT05017441nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: TOCSIN).publication types: (no publication types)
TOCIVID · NCT04322773nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['tocilizumab'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Anti-il6 Treatment of Serious COVID-19 Disease With Threatening Respiratory Failure Corona…”
CasiTocCOVID · NCT06233357nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: CasiTocCOVID).publication types: (no publication types)
ARCHITECTS · NCT04412772nctincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…for Treatment of Severe COVID-19: ARCHITECTS COVID-19 AR…”; comparator “…TS COVID-19 Tocilizumab Placebo ARCHITECTS”
Cytomegalovir · NCT05419206nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: Cytomegalovir).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04377750nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “The Use of Tocilizumab in the Management of Patients Who Have Severe COVID-19 With Suspect…”
TOCIDEX · NCT04476979nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Comparison of Tocilizumab Plus Dexamethasone vs. Dexamethasone for Patients With Covid-19 …”
NCT05279391nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Combination of Inhaled DNase, Baricitinib and Tocilizumab in Severe COVID-19 COVID-19 Seve…”
NCT04492501nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cytokine release syndrome'.…tal of Pakistan Covid19 Cytokine Release Syndrome Critical Illness ARDS
CORON-ACT · NCT04335071nctincludeINCLUDERCT of tocilizumab vs usual care in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…avirus Induced Disease (COVID-19) SARS-CoV-2 Infection C…”; comparator “…ction Tocilizumab (TCZ) Placebo CORON-ACT”
HEPMAB · NCT04600141nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Clinical Efficacy of Heparin and Tocilizumab in Patients With Severe COVID-19 Infection Co…”
TC19LGH · NCT04560205nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Tocilizumab in COVID-19 Lahore General Hospital SARS-CoV Infection Tocilizumab TC19LGH”
NCT04315480nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Tocilizumab for SARS-CoV2 (COVID-19) Severe Pneumonitis SARS Pneumonia Tocilizumab”
TRONCHER · NCT04361032nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'standard treatment', 'placebo', 'control', 'best supportive care', 'supportive care']).examined: “Assessment of Efficacy and Safety of Tocilizumab Compared to DefeROxamine, Associated With…”

Controls

Results

28-day all-cause mortality (primary)

EstimandOR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepoint28 days
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.83 (OR), 95% CI 0.73–0.95
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 11 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
33933206PMID 33933206621/2022 vs 729/2094 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Overall, 621 (31%) of the 2022 patients allocated tocilizumab and 729 (35%) of the 2094 patients allocated to usual care died within 28 days (rate ratio 0.85; 95% CI 0.76-0.94; p=0.0028).
40232661PMID 40232661declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
38157348PMID 38157348declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34609549PMID 34609549declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33631066PMID 33631066declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33332779PMID 33332779declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080017PMID 33080017declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080005PMID 33080005declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33085857PMID 33085857declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33472855PMID 33472855declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
ARCHITECTSNCT04412772declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CORON-ACTNCT04335071declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Serious adverse events

EstimandOR
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect0.81 (OR), 95% CI 0.09–6.98
Prediction interval0.09–6.98
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 10 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
33631066PMID 33631066103/295 vs 55/143 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): In the safety population, serious adverse events occurred in 103 of 295 patients (34.9%) in the tocilizumab group and in 55 of 143 patients (38.5%) in the placebo group.
33332779PMID 3333277938/250 vs 25/127 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): In the safety population, serious adverse events occurred in 38 of 250 patients (15.2%) in the tocilizumab group and 25 of 127 patients (19.7%) in the placebo group.
40232661PMID 40232661declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
38157348PMID 38157348declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34609549PMID 34609549declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33933206PMID 33933206declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080017PMID 33080017declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080005PMID 33080005declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33085857PMID 33085857declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33472855PMID 33472855declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
ARCHITECTSNCT04412772declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CORON-ACTNCT04335071declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Secondary infections by 28 days

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
40232661PMID 40232661declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
38157348PMID 38157348declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34609549PMID 34609549declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33933206PMID 33933206declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33631066PMID 33631066declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33332779PMID 33332779declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080017PMID 33080017declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33080005PMID 33080005declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33085857PMID 33085857declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33472855PMID 33472855declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
ARCHITECTSNCT04412772declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CORON-ACTNCT04335071declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorAssociation Between Administration of IL-6 Antagonists and Mortality Among Patients Hospitalized for COVID-19: A Meta-analysis. (2021), JAMA
IdentifierPMID 34228774
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2021.11330

28-day all-cause mortality: 0.86 (OR), 95% CI 0.79–0.95

Scope match (is this the same question?)

⚠ SCOPE MISMATCH. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is class-level (match: False); population match: True. comparator is a DRUG-CLASS meta-analysis while this topic is a single agent — a PICO scope mismatch (single-drug review vs class-level review); the k difference vs this comparator is a scope difference, not unretrieved evidence Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Comparator resolution. Three findings, separated. (1) SCOPE: the committed comparator (PMID 34228774) pools the IL-6-antagonist CLASS (tocilizumab + sarilumab), a broader PICO than this tocilizumab-only topic. (2) NO valid same-scope STANDALONE comparator exists: a PubMed search for a tocilizumab-only COVID-mortality meta returns IL-6/monoclonal-antibody CLASS meta-analyses, or papers reporting tocilizumab only as a SUBGROUP (tocilizumab-specific mortality RR ~0.95 [0.76-1.19] in placebo-controlled trials; RR ~0.90 [0.83-0.97] in severe-critical subgroups). So, like the three single-pivotal-trial drugs, tocilizumab has no clean like-for-like published comparator to re-judge against. (3) REACH/EXTRACTION: many tocilizumab COVID-mortality RCTs exist, but of the machine-reachable ones only RECOVERY reports clean per-arm 28-day mortality counts (621/2022 vs 729/2094 -> OR 0.83; the largest, ~4116 patients, pooled here). COVACTA gives mortality as a RATE only (19.7% vs 19.4%, no per-arm counts); EMPACTA and the CORIMUNO trials report death-or-ventilation COMPOSITES. So the verifiable-count k is ~1, and a larger tocilizumab meta reaches higher k via rate/composite counts this harness declines. Honest reach gap, blocked by extraction, with no valid same-scope comparator to benchmark against.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours40232661, 38157348
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2021) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed). RoB2 is scoped to the primary outcome; 2 trial(s) pooled only in secondary outcomes (33332779, 33631066) are outside this assessment.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 2 of 3 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 33332779industryabstract onlye identified. (Funded by Genentech; EMPACTA ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04372186.).
PMID 33631066mixedabstract onlyo at 28 days. (Funded by F. Hoffmann-La Roche and the Department of Health and Human Services; COVACTA ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04320615.).
PMID 33933206public/non-profitabstract onlyrticosteroids. FUNDING: UK Research and Innovation (Medical Research Council) and National Institute of Health Research.

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
33933206some concernslownot assessednot assessednot assessedsome concerns

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, OR 0.83 [0.7285, 0.9456]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: very low (starting from high for randomized trials, 3 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.7285, 0.9456]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)−1registry census: 20 of ~38 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 53%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot -> downgraded

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In hospitalised adults with COVID-19, does tocilizumab reduce 28-day all-cause mortality versus usual care, standard care, or placebo?

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 38478f5e060a); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (50 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: OR 0.83 (95% CI 0.73 to 0.95); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 11 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was very low (from 3 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: OR 0.83 (95% CI 0.73 to 0.95); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

339332060.88Pooled (k=1)0.83 [0.73, 0.95]OR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); the trial registry shows unpublished completed trials (possible publication bias). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py tocilizumab-covid19-mortality

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/50); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 38478f5e06, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Content hash (review core)faf9dc5d920d1917ec433201dc17926e4fa3705a47a34b2d3a2ae3a6414b0fef
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 1 of 1 that are checkable from the abstract (1 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 2 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.