Statins vs placebo/control for primary prevention in older adults

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Statins vs placebo/control for primary prevention in older adults

In older adults (>=70 years) without established cardiovascular disease, do statins versus placebo/control reduce major vascular events?

Primary outcome

OutcomeMajor vascular events
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 20404379 (PMID 20404379)
Screened-in → pooled4 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 3 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.61 (HR), 95% CI 0.46–0.81
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

14 of 14 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)036ee46c6c45cb5c10607def1eeda86ba536d750
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['older persons', 'older adults', 'elderly', '70 years', '75 years', 'aged 70', 'aged 75']; and none of ['heart failure', 'atrial fibrillation', 'stroke', 'acute coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'coronary artery disease', 'coronary heart disease', 'coronary disease', 'chronic subdural', 'rheumatoid arthritis', 'osteoarthritis', 'hearing loss', 'postoperative', 'perioperative', 'kidney disease', 'hemodialysis', 'liver fibrosis', 'at risk of vascular disease', 'vascular disease (prosper)', 'cognitive decline', 'alzheimer', 'dementia']; randomised intervention is one of ['statin', 'statins', 'rosuvastatin', 'pravastatin', 'atorvastatin'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'usual care', 'control']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol - statins for primary prevention in older adults

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is embedded
in the page's Protocol tab and Reproducibility tab. The protocol is committed before
the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - older adults (>=70 years) without established cardiovascular disease.
- **I** - statin therapy, including rosuvastatin, pravastatin, or atorvastatin.
- **C** - placebo, usual care, or no-statin control.
- **O (primary)** - major vascular events / major cardiovascular events.
- **O (harms)** - muscle symptoms/myopathy; new-onset diabetes.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - risk ratio (RR), statin vs placebo/control.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial or randomised trial analysis;
- **I2** - title-level or registry-condition population is older/elderly adults;
- **I3** - title-level or registry intervention is a statin or statin name;
- **I4** - comparator is placebo, usual care, or control;
- **design** - randomised statin allocation; double-blinding is not required because
  usual-care trials are eligible.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only, or PubMed record
  not indexed as a randomized controlled trial by the fixed screen);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. heart failure, atrial fibrillation, prior stroke,
  acute coronary syndrome, coronary disease, perioperative/non-cardiovascular disease);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no statin-vs-placebo/usual-care/control contrast);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another disease/topic in this set (negative control).

> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether an included trial reports major
> vascular events, or gives a 2x2 table vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as
> target-result status at extraction - never as an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI
> is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: focused statin-title searches for JUPITER older-person analyses, ALLHAT-LLT
  older-adult primary-prevention analyses, and STAREE older-adult atorvastatin reports.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "Elderly", intervention "Atorvastatin".
- Comparator reference seeding is disabled for this topic because the resolved open-access
  comparator is an observational review; its reference list is not an RCT recall set for
  a randomized statin-vs-control harness.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study
only if it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor 5.0.1
(<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Huang, Zhu, and Ya, *Reviews in Cardiovascular Medicine* 2022, "Statin use in older
people primary prevention on cardiovascular disease: an updated systematic review and
meta-analysis" (PMID 39076238, PMCID PMC11273788, DOI 10.31083/j.rcm2304114; Unpaywall
is_oa=true). It reports total cardiovascular events HR 0.75 (95% CI 0.66-0.85) in older
primary-prevention statin users versus no-statin users. This is an external benchmark,
not an RCT-only comparator; exact RCT-only elderly primary-prevention meta-analyses
found during resolution were not open access.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include the JUPITER older-person rosuvastatin
  analysis (PMID 20404379) and ALLHAT-LLT older-adult pravastatin analyses (PMIDs
  28531241 and 30251369).
- **Negative** - CORONA (rosuvastatin in older patients with systolic heart failure,
  PMID 17984166 - different disease/topic) must be recovered and EXCLUDED as wrong
  population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)28
Records screened (deduplicated)28
Excluded at screening — by rule24 (X1 5 · X2 14 · X3 5)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)4
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)3

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 28 records: agreement 25/28, disagreement 10.7% (3 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Independent model adjudication of the disagreements

A capable model (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets) adjudicated 3 content-bearing disagreements; it agrees with the served rule screener on 3/3. an independent capable-model reader adjudicated the rule-screener disagreements (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets). Advisory: the rule screener remains the served decision; flags are surfaced for review. Flags: none — the model agrees with the served rule screener on all of them

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:16Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

28 records screened; 4 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
20404379pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of statin vs placebo in older persons; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…r primary prevention in older persons with elevated C-reactiv…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. SETTI…”
30251369pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of statin vs placebo in older adults; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…r Primary Prevention in Older Adults: Restricted Mean Surviv…”; comparator “…0 mg/d (n=1,467) versus usual care (n=1,400). MEASUREMENTS…”
28531241pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of statin vs placebo in older adults; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…scular Prevention Among Older Adults: The ALLHAT-LLT Randomi…”; comparator “…of Statin Treatment vs Usual Care on Primary Cardiovascul…”
42670961pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42670961).publication types: Journal Article
17984166pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…patients with systolic heart failure.
39076238pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39076238).publication types: Journal Article
NCT01304641nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT01304641).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT00535405nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'coronary heart disease'.…oderately High Risk for Coronary Heart Disease (0653A-128) Hypercholes…
SPACE · NCT00449410nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'atrial fibrillation'.…in Elderly AF Patients Atrial Fibrillation Neuropsychology Magneti…
rrAD · NCT02913664nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cognitive decline'.…Hypertension Subjective Cognitive Decline Family History of Alzhe…
NCT05361421nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['statin', 'statins', 'rosuvastatin', 'pravastatin', 'atorvastatin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effect of Intensive LDL-cholesterol Targeting for Elderly Patients With Cardiovascular Dis…”
PolyIran-L · NCT01245608nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['older persons', 'older adults', 'elderly', '70 years', '75 years', 'aged 70', 'aged 75'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease Using a Single PolyPill in an Urban Population - Focu…”
STAREE-HEART · NCT04536870nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…STAREE) Heart Sub-study Heart Failure Atrial Fibrillation Hea…
ARISE · NCT01646307nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'control']).examined: “Effect of Atorvastatin Versus Rosuvastatin Intensive Statin Regimens on Chinese Elderly Pa…”
NCT04111419nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'atrial fibrillation'.…e With Hypertension and Atrial Fibrillation Atrial Fibrillation Hyp…
NCT07359105nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'control']).examined: “Moderate-intensity Statin vs. Individualized LDL-C Target-based Therapy in Older Adults Wi…”
NCT03515772nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT03515772).publication types: (no publication types)
PolyIran · NCT01271985nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['statin', 'statins', 'rosuvastatin', 'pravastatin', 'atorvastatin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Middle-aged and Elderly Iranians Using a Single Po…”
CAPITAL-PLAQUE · NCT06896708nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['older persons', 'older adults', 'elderly', '70 years', '75 years', 'aged 70', 'aged 75'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effect of Intensive Lipid-Lowering Therapy on Coronary Atherosclerotic Plaque Progression …”
NIA-Plaque · NCT00127218nctincludeINCLUDERCT of statin vs placebo in elderly; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ue Stabilization in the Elderly Atherosclerosis Cardiov…”; comparator “…sease any statin niacin Placebo NIA-Plaque”
NCT00418834nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'coronary heart disease'.…Older at High Risk for Coronary Heart Disease (CHD)(0653-112) Hyperch…
INNOVATION · NCT01394848nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['older persons', 'older adults', 'elderly', '70 years', '75 years', 'aged 70', 'aged 75'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Safety and Efficacy Study of Endothelial Progenitor Cell Capture Stent With 1 Months Dual …”
PREVENTABLE · NCT04262206nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'dementia'.…nitive Impairment, Mild Dementia Cardiovascular Diseases…
NCT05893849nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05893849).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05165251nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'control']).examined: “Blood Pressure and Lipids Reduction in High Risk Elderly Patients With Isolated Systolic H…”
SECURE · NCT02596126nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'myocardial infarction'.…se in the Elderly Trial Myocardial Infarction Cardiovascular Disease…
NCT07197463nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'coronary disease'.…mplicated by Sarcopenia Coronary Disease Sarcopenia
STAREE-Mind · NCT05586750nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cognitive decline'.…entia of Alzheimer Type Cognitive Decline White Matter Hyperinten…

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
20404379Major vascular eventsJUPITER >=70 subgroup: 5-point composite; age cut chosen post-hoc. ·both familiesDISCLOSED (subgroup + component note)

Major vascular events (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.61 (HR), 95% CI 0.46–0.81
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 3 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
20404379PMID 204043790.61 (HR), 95% CI 0.46–0.82✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): The rates of the primary end point in this age group were 1.22 and 1.99 per 100 person-years of follow-up in the rosuvastatin and placebo groups, respectively (hazard ratio, 0.61 [95% CI, 0.46 to 0.82
30251369PMID 30251369declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
28531241PMID 28531241declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NIA-PlaqueNCT00127218declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Muscle symptoms/myopathy

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
20404379PMID 20404379declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30251369PMID 30251369declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
28531241PMID 28531241declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NIA-PlaqueNCT00127218declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

New-onset diabetes

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
20404379PMID 20404379declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30251369PMID 30251369declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
28531241PMID 28531241declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NIA-PlaqueNCT00127218declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorStatin use in older people primary prevention on cardiovascular disease: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis. (2022), Rev Cardiovasc Med
IdentifierPMID 39076238
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.31083/j.rcm2304114

Total cardiovascular events / major vascular events: 0.75 (HR), 95% CI 0.66–0.85

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 0 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (20404379) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 20404379not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT registry fields). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
20404379not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 0 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, HR 0.61 [0.4569, 0.8144]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 0 of 1 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.4569, 0.8144]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)−1registry census: 33 of ~97 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 34%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot -> downgraded

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In older adults (>=70 years) without established cardiovascular disease, do statins versus placebo/control reduce major vascular events?

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 036ee46c6c45); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (28 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.61 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.81); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 3 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 036ee46c6c45) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.61 (95% CI 0.46 to 0.81); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

204043790.61 [0.46, 0.82]Pooled (k=1)0.61 [0.46, 0.81]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 0 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage); the trial registry shows unpublished completed trials (possible publication bias). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 036ee46c6c45) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py statins-primary-prevention-elderly

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 10.7% (3/28); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. An independent capable-model reader adjudicated the disagreements and agrees with the served screener on 3/3 (genuinely independent — different information + method).
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 036ee46c6c, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA036ee46c6c45cb5c10607def1eeda86ba536d750
Content hash (review core)9cc9cb9ce69c9e7c27e8dc4976b5ff51458c0ad67866a9f1ff55a7a046fa9e40
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 1 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 0COMPARATOR-INVALID. comparator pools 12 OBSERVATIONAL studies, 0 RCTs = not an RCT-meta comparator

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 1 of 1 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 1 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.