SGLT2 inhibitors vs placebo for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalisation in HFrEF

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

SGLT2 inhibitors vs placebo for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalisation in HFrEF

In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, do SGLT2 inhibitors reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeComposite cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)2 — 31535829 (PMID 31535829); 32865377 (PMID 32865377)
Screened-in → pooled3 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 2 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 1 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect0.78 (RR), 95% CI 0.45–1.35
Prediction interval0.45–1.35
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

13 of 13 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)43f5f12e367109bebd37936a8177ef00c6dcf1f6
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['heart failure', 'HFrEF', 'reduced ejection fraction']; and none of ['preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'mildly reduced', 'diabetes', 'diabetic', 'diabete', 'type 2 diabetes', 'chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'myocardial infarction']; randomised intervention is one of ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - SGLT2 inhibitors for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalisation in HFrEF

**Registration.** The commit that adds/updates this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (HFrEF).
- **I** - an SGLT2 inhibitor, specifically dapagliflozin or empagliflozin, added to recommended therapy.
- **C** - placebo added to recommended therapy.
- **O (primary)** - composite cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure.
- **O (harms)** - volume depletion or hypotension; diabetic ketoacidosis.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - risk ratio (RR) when arm counts are extractable, or published HR/RR with 95% CI when that is the source-reported poolable input.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest randomised follow-up reported for the composite endpoint.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - adult HFrEF / reduced-ejection-fraction heart-failure population, judged from title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - dapagliflozin or empagliflozin versus placebo;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only, or post-hoc analysis not indexed as an RCT);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. HFpEF, mildly reduced/preserved EF, diabetes-only, CKD-only, post-MI, or other non-HFrEF population);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no eligible SGLT2-inhibitor-vs-placebo contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled in the machine-readable record;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative control).

> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports the composite
> endpoint, or gives a 2x2 vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as *target-result status* at
> extraction - never as an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/search.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: UID-anchored queries for the DAPA-HF and EMPEROR-Reduced primary reports, plus the resolved open-access comparator.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "HFrEF", intervention "SGLT2 inhibitor".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study only if
it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Li et al., *ESC Heart Failure* 2022, "Sodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitors in heart
failure with reduced or preserved ejection fraction: a meta-analysis" (PMID 35112512,
DOI 10.1002/ehf2.13805; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PMC8934917 available). The comparator's
LVEF <=40% subgroup reports the assigned HFrEF composite endpoint.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover the canonical HFrEF SGLT2 inhibitor trials:
  DAPA-HF and EMPEROR-Reduced.
- **Negative** - EMPA-REG OUTCOME (empagliflozin, double-blind, placebo-controlled, but
  type 2 diabetes rather than HFrEF) must be recovered and EXCLUDED.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)18
Records screened (deduplicated)18
Excluded at screening — by rule15 (X1 4 · X2 5 · X3 6)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)3
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)2
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)1

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 18 records: agreement 16/18, disagreement 11.1% (2 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 2 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:15Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

18 records screened; 3 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
31535829pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…flozin in Patients with Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fr…”; comparator “…THODS: In this phase 3, placebo-controlled trial, we ra…”
32865377pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…s with Empagliflozin in Heart Failure.”; comparator “…n (10 mg once daily) or placebo, in addition to recomme…”
35112512pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35112512).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
26378978pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…and Mortality in Type 2 Diabetes.
ACHILLES-HF · NCT07758023nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Achieving Optimal Medical Therapy Through Percutaneous Treatment of Secondary Mitral Regur…”
NCT04304560nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetic'.…as an Added Therapy in Diabetic Patients With Heart Fai…
ERTU-SODIUM · NCT05152940nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “ERTU-SODIUM: Study on the Effects of Ertugliflozin on Sodium Storage, Interstitial Volume,…”
NCT07803471nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Yiqi Fumai Lyophilized Injection for Chronic Heart Failure Caused by Coronary Heart Diseas…”
NCT06229678nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…T2, HFrEF Type2diabetes Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection F…”; comparator “…lozin 25 MG Oral Tablet Placebo Acipimox 250 Mg Oral Ca…”
NCT05737186nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “SGLT2 Inhibitors and Treatment of Heart Failure in Severe Renal Insufficiency Heart Failur…”
NCT05934071nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05934071).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07044700nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07044700).publication types: (no publication types)
HF-MultiOmics · NCT07355088nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: HF-MultiOmics).publication types: (no publication types)
INITIATE · NCT05989503nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Initiation of ARNi and SGLT2i in Patients With HFrEF Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection F…”
ICARD · NCT05420285nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'mildly reduced'.…Failure With Reduced or Mildly Reduced Ejection Fraction Heart…
VERI-PATH · NCT07405944nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Vericiguat and Reverse Remodeling Indices in Heart Failure Heart Failure With Reduced Ejec…”
NCT04385589nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetic'.Dapagliflozin in Diabetic Patients (Type 2) With…
PopS-HF · NCT07295522nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'.…rEF) Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction (HFPEF) Heart Failure W…

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
31535829Composite cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failureDAPA-HF: composite adds urgent HF visit (vs EMPEROR-Reduced HHF-only). ·both familiesDISCLOSED (urgent-visit component note)

Composite cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect0.78 (RR), 95% CI 0.45–1.35
Prediction interval0.45–1.35
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 1 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
31535829PMID 31535829386/2373 vs 502/2371 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): RESULTS: Over a median of 18.2 months, the primary outcome occurred in 386 of 2373 patients (16.3%) in the dapagliflozin group and in 502 of 2371 patients (21.2%) in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0
32865377PMID 32865377361/1863 vs 462/1867 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): RESULTS: During a median of 16 months, a primary outcome event occurred in 361 of 1863 patients (19.4%) in the empagliflozin group and in 462 of 1867 patients (24.7%) in the placebo group (hazard rati
NCT06229678NCT06229678declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Volume depletion or hypotension

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
31535829PMID 31535829declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32865377PMID 32865377declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06229678NCT06229678declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Diabetic ketoacidosis

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
31535829PMID 31535829declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32865377PMID 32865377declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06229678NCT06229678declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorSodium-glucose cotransporter 2 inhibitors in heart failure with reduced or preserved ejection fraction: a meta-analysis. (2022), ESC Heart Fail
IdentifierPMID 35112512
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1002/ehf2.13805

Composite cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure in LVEF <=40%: 0.76 (HR), 95% CI 0.7–0.82

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)2
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 2 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 2 of 2 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 31535829industryabstract onlyof diabetes. (Funded by AstraZeneca; DAPA-HF ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03036124.).
PMID 32865377industryabstract onlyof diabetes. (Funded by Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly; EMPEROR-Reduced ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03057977.).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
31535829low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlowlowlowlow
32865377some concernslowsome concernsnot assessedsome concernslow

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 2 of 2 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=2, RR 0.7755 [0.4457, 1.3493]
Low risk of bias onlyk=1, RR 0.7683 [0.6815, 0.8661]

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 2 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.4457, 1.3493]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 21 of ~86 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 24%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, do SGLT2 inhibitors reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 43f5f12e3671); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (18 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 2 trials gave RR 0.78 (95% CI 0.45 to 1.35), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.45 to 1.35. 1 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 43f5f12e3671) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 2 trials gave RR 0.78 (95% CI 0.45 to 1.35), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.45 to 1.35.

315358290.77328653770.78Pooled (k=2)0.78 [0.45, 1.35]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 2 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was RR 0.77 (95% CI 0.68 to 0.87, k=1); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 43f5f12e3671) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py sglt2-hfref-hosp-cvdeath

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 11.1% (2/18); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 43f5f12e36, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA43f5f12e367109bebd37936a8177ef00c6dcf1f6
Content hash (review core)0535c4f05013c85d6447282483fa5b2517139474ee67d79e9ec05094d6adc9de
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 2 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 2PARITY. 2/4; both gaps (EMPEROR-Preserved, SOLOIST) are HFpEF/mixed-EF out of scope

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 2 of 2 that are checkable from the abstract (2 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.