SGLT2 inhibitors vs placebo for CKD progression in chronic kidney disease

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

SGLT2 inhibitors vs placebo for CKD progression in chronic kidney disease

In adults with chronic kidney disease, do SGLT2 inhibitors reduce kidney disease progression versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeCKD progression / kidney composite outcome
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)3 — 32970396 (PMID 32970396); 30990260 (PMID 30990260); 36331190 (PMID 36331190)
Screened-in → pooled9 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 3 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 6 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect0.68 (HR), 95% CI 0.55–0.84
Prediction interval0.53–0.89
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

32 of 32 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy']; and none of ['heart failure', 'reduced ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFrEF', 'myocardial infarction', 'post-myocardial infarction', 'pericarditis', 'atrial fibrillation']; randomised intervention is one of ['SGLT2', 'SGLT-2', 'sodium-glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium-glucose co-transporter 2', 'sodium glucose cotransporter 2', 'sodium glucose co-transporter 2', 'dapagliflozin', 'canagliflozin', 'empagliflozin'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - SGLT2 inhibitors for CKD progression in chronic kidney disease

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs. Eligibility is on
P/I/C/design only; outcome reporting affects extraction status, not screening.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with chronic kidney disease, including diabetic nephropathy terminology.
- **I** - an SGLT2 inhibitor, specifically dapagliflozin, canagliflozin, or
  empagliflozin, added to background standard care.
- **C** - placebo added to background standard care.
- **O (primary)** - CKD progression / kidney composite outcome, using the
  trial-reported composite definition.
- **O (harms)** - diabetic ketoacidosis and lower-limb amputation.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR), SGLT2 inhibitor vs placebo, pooled on the log
  ratio scale when trial-reported HRs are extractable; percentage-corroborated arm
  counts are accepted by the harness as poolable ratio inputs when the abstract
  presents them.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest trial-reported follow-up.

## Eligibility - P/I/C/DESIGN only
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - adult chronic kidney disease / kidney disease / diabetic nephropathy
  population, judged from title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - dapagliflozin, canagliflozin, or empagliflozin versus placebo;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only, or
  meta-analysis);
- **X2** - wrong population (for example heart failure, myocardial infarction,
  pericarditis, atrial fibrillation, or another non-CKD population);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no eligible SGLT2-inhibitor-vs-placebo
  contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled in the machine-readable
  record;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative
  control).

Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an eligible trial reports CKD
progression, and whether it reports arm counts or only an effect plus confidence
interval, is recorded at extraction. A published effect plus 95% CI is a poolable
input.

## Search
- PubMed: UID-anchored queries for the DAPA-CKD, CREDENCE, and EMPA-KIDNEY
  primary reports, plus the resolved open-access comparator.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "chronic kidney disease", intervention "SGLT2
  inhibitor".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log ratio; Paule-Mandel tau2; HKSJ 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1,Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se2)`. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs
metafor 5.0.1 for the binary RR path; published HR inputs are pooled on the same
log ratio scale.

## Comparator (resolved; OA confirmed)
The SMART-C collaborative meta-analysis in *JAMA* 2026, "SGLT2 Inhibitors and Kidney
Outcomes by Glomerular Filtration Rate and Albuminuria: A Meta-Analysis" (PMID
41203232, PMC12595549, DOI 10.1001/jama.2025.20834; Unpaywall is_oa=true). It reports
CKD progression HR 0.62 (95% CI 0.57-0.68) across 10 randomized trials.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover the landmark CKD SGLT2 inhibitor trials:
  DAPA-CKD (PMID 32970396), CREDENCE (PMID 30990260), and EMPA-KIDNEY (PMID
  36331190).
- **Negative** - DAPA-HF (dapagliflozin, placebo-controlled, but HFrEF rather than
  CKD; PMID 31535829) must be recovered and EXCLUDED as wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)35
Records screened (deduplicated)35
Excluded at screening — by rule26 (X1 9 · X2 9 · X3 8)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)9
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)3
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)6

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 35 records: agreement 32/35, disagreement 8.6% (3 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Independent model adjudication of the disagreements

A capable model (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets) adjudicated 3 content-bearing disagreements; it agrees with the served rule screener on 3/3. an independent capable-model reader adjudicated the rule-screener disagreements (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets). Advisory: the rule screener remains the served decision; flags are surfaced for review. Flags: none — the model agrees with the served rule screener on all of them

Trial integrity: none of the 3 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:15Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

35 records screened; 9 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
32970396pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…flozin in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease. Chronic Kidney Disease”; comparator “…n (10 mg once daily) or placebo. The primary outcome wa…”
30990260pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in nephropathy; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Type 2 Diabetes and Nephropathy. Diabetes Mellitus, Typ…”; comparator “…dose of 100 mg daily or placebo. All the patients had a…”
36331190pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…flozin in Patients with Chronic Kidney Disease. Chronic Kidney Disease”; comparator “…once daily) or matching placebo. The primary outcome wa…”
31535829pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…flozin in Patients with Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fr…
41203232pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41203232).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
DAPA-LN · NCT07678203nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Dapagliflozin to Reduce the Decline in Renal Function in Patients Newly Diagnosed With Lup…”
NCT05735197nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…Disease in Non-diabetic Chronic Kidney Disease Patients Chronic Kidney…”; comparator “…Dapagliflozin 10mg Tab Placebo”
FLAMINGO · NCT05640180nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: FLAMINGO).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07344922nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…alcification and Anemia Chronic Kidney Disease Anemia Cardiovascular C…”; comparator “…tandard medical therapy Placebo”
NCT07348484nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07348484).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT06288529nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT06288529).publication types: (no publication types)
DapaBalci-Leap · NCT05884866nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…er 50 Years of Age With Chronic Kidney Disease. Chronic Renal Failure…”; comparator “…red to Balcinrenone and Placebo on Body Fluid and Elect…”
MIRO-CKD · NCT06350123nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…liflozin in Adults With Chronic Kidney Disease Chronic Kidney Disease…”; comparator “…5 mg/10 mg and matching placebo for dapagliflozin 10 mg…”
EMPA-CKD · NCT07060417nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in chronic kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…abetic CKD Non-diabetic Chronic Kidney Disease EMPA-CKD”; comparator “…y Disease Empagliflozin Placebo EMPA-CKD”
ZODIAC · NCT05570305nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Zibotentan and Dapagliflozin in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes and Elevated Albuminuria Chr…”
SEKTR · NCT06013865nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Empagliflozin Treatment in Kidney Transplant Recipients Kidney Transplant Chronic Kidney D…”
NCT06297603nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effect of Retatrutide Compared With Placebo in Participants With Type 2 Diabetes and Moder…”
SEED · NCT05786443nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Safety and Efficacy of Empagliflozin in Hemodialysis End Stage Renal Disease SEED”
NCT06155604nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “SGLT2 Inhibitor in Lupus Nephritis Patients With Chronic Kidney Disease Lupus Nephritis Ch…”
DECODED · NCT04764097nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Dapagliflozin Effect on Cardiovascular Outcomes in Haemodialysis for End Stage Renal Disea…”
NCT07084038nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07084038).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07348718nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07348718).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05373680nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Efficacy and Safety of Metformin Versus Empagliflozin on Chronic Kidney Disease Progressio…”
NCT07537088nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Efficacy and Safety of Triple Therapy With Dulaglutide, SGLT2 Inhibitors, and Finerenone i…”
ADIPO-CKD · NCT07309094nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: ADIPO-CKD).publication types: (no publication types)
CANIDIAP · NCT07527390nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “CANagliflozin In DIALysis Patients Dialysis Chronic Kidney Disease (Stages 4 and 5) Invoka…”
Optimize@Home · NCT06094920nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Treatment Optimization for Patients With Type 2 Diabetes Using Empagliflozin and Finerenon…”
INFORM_2 · NCT06843902nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Improving Coronary Vascular Health in Women HIV-1-infection Coronary Microvascular Dysfunc…”
TRIDENT 2 · NCT07444203nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: TRIDENT 2).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05614115nctincludeINCLUDERCT of SGLT2 vs placebo in kidney disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ependent ESKD End-stage Kidney Disease Kidney Disease, Chronic…”; comparator “…odialysis Empagliflozin Placebo”
DIAMOND · NCT03190694nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'CKD', 'nephropathy'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effects of Dapagliflozin in Non-diabetic Patients With Proteinuria Chronic Kidney Diseases…”
EMPATHY · NCT04143581nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “SGLT2 Inhibitors in Glomerular Hyperfiltration Obesity Non-diabetic Chronic Kidney Disease…”
FINEGUST · NCT05526157nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: FINEGUST).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05737186nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…bitors and Treatment of Heart Failure in Severe Renal Insuffi…
NCT04778787nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…e Prevention Congestive Heart Failure

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
36331190CKD progression / kidney composite outcomeflagged; per-row adjudicationDISCLOSED (kidney composite includes a cardiovascular-death component and a 40% eGFR-decline threshold; component sets vary across the kidney trials)

CKD progression / kidney composite outcome (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end / longest trial-reported follow-up
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k3
Pooled effect0.68 (HR), 95% CI 0.55–0.84
Prediction interval0.53–0.89
τ²0
Composite heterogeneitypooled trials use each trial's OWN primary composite; component sets differ across trials (varying extra components across trials: HF hospitalization) — the pooled estimate mixes composite definitions (disclosed, not adjusted)
Leave-one-out (influence)estimate ranges 0.66–0.71 across single-trial drops; most influential: 32970396. each row drops one trial and re-pools; a stable estimate across drops = no single trial drives it.

k = 3: the 3 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
32970396PMID 329703960.61 (HR), 95% CI 0.51–0.72✓ verified against source
DAPA-CKD (PMID 32970396) abstract: primary composite (sustained >=50% eGFR decline, ESKD, or renal/CV death) 197/2152 dapagliflozin vs 312/2152 placebo (hazard ratio, 0.61; 95% CI, 0.51 to 0.72; P<0.001). SCALE CORRECTION (override): the CT.gov/abstract count extractor pooled a count-derived RR into the HR pool; the trial reports the kidney-composite HR 0.61 directly.
30990260PMID 309902600.7 (HR), 95% CI 0.59–0.82✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): The relative risk of the primary outcome was 30% lower in the canagliflozin group than in the placebo group, with event rates of 43.2 and 61.2 per 1000 patient-years, respectively (hazard ratio, 0.70;
36331190PMID 363311900.72 (HR), 95% CI 0.64–0.82✓ verified against source
EMPA-KIDNEY (PMID 36331190) abstract: primary composite (kidney disease progression or CV death) in empagliflozin vs 558/3305 (16.9%) placebo (hazard ratio, 0.72; 95% CI, 0.64 to 0.82; P<0.001). SCALE CORRECTION (override): pool the reported kidney-composite HR, not the count-derived RR.
NCT05735197NCT05735197declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07344922NCT07344922declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DapaBalci-LeapNCT05884866declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
MIRO-CKDNCT06350123declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
EMPA-CKDNCT07060417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05614115NCT05614115declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Diabetic ketoacidosis

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
32970396PMID 32970396declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30990260PMID 30990260declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
36331190PMID 36331190declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05735197NCT05735197declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07344922NCT07344922declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DapaBalci-LeapNCT05884866declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
MIRO-CKDNCT06350123declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
EMPA-CKDNCT07060417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05614115NCT05614115declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Lower-limb amputation

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
32970396PMID 32970396declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30990260PMID 30990260declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
36331190PMID 36331190declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05735197NCT05735197declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07344922NCT07344922declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DapaBalci-LeapNCT05884866declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
MIRO-CKDNCT06350123declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
EMPA-CKDNCT07060417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05614115NCT05614115declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorSGLT2 Inhibitors and Kidney Outcomes by Glomerular Filtration Rate and Albuminuria: A Meta-Analysis. (2026), JAMA
IdentifierPMID 41203232
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2025.20834

CKD progression / kidney composite outcome: 0.62 (HR), 95% CI 0.57–0.68

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)3
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)10
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2026) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Trials the comparator pools that this review EXCLUDES on estimand grounds

A larger k bought by pooling a different outcome is not a larger evidence base — it is a different question. These trials were found; they are excluded deliberately because the outcome they report is not this review's estimand, not because the search missed them.

TrialIdWhat the trial reportsWhy excluded (estimand)
EMPA-REG OUTCOME (renal)PMID 27299675incident or worsening nephropathy (includes progression to macroalbuminuria) / doubling of serum creatinine — HR ~0.61Softer/broader composite that includes albuminuria; not the sustained-eGFR-decline/ESKD/renal-death estimand this review pools.
CANVAS ProgramPMID 28605608kidney composite (40% eGFR decline, RRT, renal death), SECONDARY in a CV-outcomes diabetes trial — HR 0.60Reported as a secondary outcome in a cardiovascular-outcomes trial; not extractable to our estimand from the abstract without mixing a different studied population/endpoint.
DECLARE-TIMI 58PMID 30415602renal composite that includes cardiovascular death, SECONDARY — HR 0.76Composite includes CV death, so it is a different estimand than the kidney-specific composite pooled here.
DELIVER (kidney analysis)PMID 36326604post-hoc kidney composite in an HFpEF population — HR 1.08Post-hoc analysis in a heart-failure (preserved-EF) population, not a pre-specified CKD-progression outcome.
VERTIS-CV (renal)PMID 33665685kidney composite, SECONDARY in a CV-outcomes diabetes trial — HR 0.81 (exploratory 40%-eGFR composite HR 0.66)Two different composites reported; the pre-specified one is a secondary CV-trial outcome, not our estimand.
SCORED (kidney analysis)PMID 38277468kidney composite for sotagliflozin (dual SGLT1/2 inhibitor) — HR 0.62Sotagliflozin is a dual SGLT1/2 inhibitor, a different intervention class than the SGLT2-selective inhibitors pooled here.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 3 of 3 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 3 of 3 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 32970396industryabstract onlywith placebo. (Funded by AstraZeneca; DAPA-CKD ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03036150.).
PMID 30990260industryabstract onlyf 2.62 years. (Funded by Janssen Research and Development; CREDENCE ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT02065791.).
PMID 36331190industryabstract onlythan placebo. (Funded by Boehringer Ingelheim and others; EMPA-KIDNEY ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03594110; EudraCT number, 2017-002971-24.).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
30990260some concernslowsome concernslowsome concernslow
32970396low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlowlowlowlow
36331190some concernslowsome concernsnot assessedsome concernslow

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 3 of 3 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=3, HR 0.6836 [0.5537, 0.844]
Low risk of bias onlyk=1, HR 0.61 [0.5134, 0.7248]

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−12 of 3 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.00134; prediction interval not markedly wider than the CI
Imprecisionnot downgraded95% CI [0.5537, 0.844]
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 13 of ~52 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 25%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with chronic kidney disease, do SGLT2 inhibitors reduce kidney disease progression versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 38478f5e060a); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (35 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 3 trials gave HR 0.68 (95% CI 0.55 to 0.84), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.53 to 0.89. 6 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 3 trials gave HR 0.68 (95% CI 0.55 to 0.84), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.53 to 0.89.

329703960.61 [0.51, 0.72]309902600.7 [0.59, 0.82]363311900.72 [0.64, 0.82]Pooled (k=3)0.68 [0.55, 0.84]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 3 of 3 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was HR 0.61 (95% CI 0.51 to 0.72, k=1); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.

Limitations

No GRADE domain was downgraded from the machine-computable signals. The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py sglt2-ckd-progression

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 8.6% (3/35); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. An independent capable-model reader adjudicated the disagreements and agrees with the served screener on 3/3 (genuinely independent — different information + method).
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 38478f5e06, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Content hash (review core)b80c9f9413411e6cee3220ec2e429acc87bc2f228a1123d88489d3e0bb3cde6e
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 3 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 10GAP. 3/10. Gap = 7 CV/HF SGLT2 trials that report a kidney composite as a SECONDARY endpoint. Re-tested at full text: the MATCHING hard-kidney composite (sustained >=40% eGFR decline / ESKD / renal death) DOES exist in CANVAS/CREDENCE publications, but its per-arm data is PAYWALLED / IPD-only — CT.gov posts a DIFFERENT composite (CV-death-inclusive, or albuminuria-based) which is not our estimand. We decline what we cannot verify against a matching-definition accessible source; the comparator pooled these via IPD.

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 3 of 3 that are checkable from the abstract (2 identical, 1 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.