Semaglutide 2.4 mg vs placebo for percent body-weight change in overweight/obesity without diabetes

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Semaglutide 2.4 mg vs placebo for percent body-weight change in overweight/obesity without diabetes

In adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes, how much more does once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg reduce body weight than placebo at Week 68? (Randomized double-blind trials; mean difference in percent body-weight change.)

Primary outcome

OutcomePercent change in body weight
EstimandMD
Trials pooled (k)2 — 33625476 (PMID 33625476); 33567185 (PMID 33567185)
Screened-in → pooled14 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 2 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 12 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect-11.84 (MD), 95% CI -25.13–1.44
Prediction interval-33.69–10
Between-study τ²1.86
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

30 of 30 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 0 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)fe53c76aad18c0fd8369e3c1fe171406c0f85e7f
Committed (UTC)2026-09-12
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight']; and none of ['diabetes', 'type 2 diabetes', 'type 1 diabetes', 'adolescent', 'children', 'paediatric', 'pediatric', 'maintenance', 'withdrawal', 'continued treatment', 'weight loss maintenance', 'knee osteoarthritis', 'heart failure', 'oral semaglutide', 'tablets', 'tablet', '7·2 mg', '7.2 mg', 'bimagrumab', 'cagrilintide', 'liraglutide', 'dulaglutide', 'tirzepatide', 'retatrutide']; randomised intervention is one of ['semaglutide 2.4', 'semaglutide', 'once-weekly semaglutide'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Semaglutide 2.4 mg vs placebo for percent body-weight change in overweight/obesity without diabetes

## PICO
- **Population:** adults with overweight or obesity (BMI thresholds per trial) WITHOUT type 2 diabetes.
- **Intervention:** once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide 2.4 mg plus lifestyle intervention.
- **Comparator:** placebo plus lifestyle intervention.
- **Primary outcome:** percent change in body weight from baseline to Week 68 (mean difference in percentage points; a more-negative value = greater weight loss, so a negative mean difference favours semaglutide).

## Eligibility - P/I/C/design only
Include randomized controlled trials when all of the following are true:
- The population is adults with overweight or obesity without type 2 diabetes, judged from the title or registry conditions.
- The randomized intervention is once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg for weight management.
- The randomized comparator is placebo (both arms with the same lifestyle intervention).
- The trial is double-blind or placebo-controlled.

Exclude records for wrong population (type 2 diabetes, adolescents/children), wrong intervention (a different GLP-1 agonist, a different semaglutide dose or an oral formulation as the randomized arm, tirzepatide), wrong comparator, non-randomized design, reviews, protocol-only reports, **weight-loss-MAINTENANCE / continued-treatment-vs-withdrawal designs** (a different estimand: change measured from a post-run-in randomization, not from the untreated baseline — e.g. STEP-4), and fixed-dose multi-arm trials without a pre-specified dose comparison.

Eligibility is not based on whether the abstract reports the target outcome. If an otherwise eligible trial does not report the Week-68 percent body-weight change as a per-arm mean and standard deviation (in the abstract or in eligible structured registry results), it is declared absent rather than substituted with another endpoint or timepoint or an imputed variance.

## Outcomes
Primary outcome:
- Percent change in body weight from baseline to Week 68, including phrasings such as change in body weight (%), percent/percentage change in body weight, and the Week-68 body-weight-change endpoint.

The estimand is the mean difference (percentage points) in the Week-68 percent body-weight change, semaglutide 2.4 mg versus placebo. Pooling is random-effects inverse-variance on the mean difference; a single included trial is presented as that trial's own effect.

## Sources and verification
- Per-arm change-from-baseline mean and standard deviation are taken verbatim from the trial's structured ClinicalTrials.gov posted results (paramType MEAN with a Standard-Deviation dispersion), never a least-squares mean with a standard error, and never imputed. **A single estimand is used consistently across trials** (the ClinicalTrials.gov *in-trial / treatment-policy* observation-period row, all-randomized denominator, from baseline to Week 68); the on-treatment row is a sensitivity analysis, not mixed into the primary pool. The estimand actually pooled is stated on the page, and it may differ slightly from a trial publication's headline treatment-policy number, which is noted where it differs.
- The change is measured from the UNTREATED baseline (Week 0), never from a post-run-in randomization; a maintenance/withdrawal design is excluded rather than mixed.
- Every pooled number is verified against the committed source span before it is pooled.

## Comparator
- Published open-access meta-analysis of semaglutide 2.4 mg for weight reduction in non-diabetic overweight/obesity, for trial-set overlap and reporting comparison only. An identical estimate on an identical trial set is arithmetic, not corroboration; the overlap is stated on the page.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)143
Records screened (deduplicated)143
Excluded at screening — by rule129 (X1 85 · X2 35 · X3 9)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)14
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)2
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)12

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 143 records: agreement 131/143, disagreement 8.4% (12 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 2 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-12T14:25:26Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

143 records screened; 14 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
42575111pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in overweight; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Chinese adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 12): a…”; comparator “…ndomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, multicentre…”
42560457pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42560457).publication types: Journal Article
42503495pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Efficacy of CagriSema for Reaching Anthropometric Treatment Targets and Cardiometabolic Ou…”
42417199pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42417199).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42401410pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42401410).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42365860pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42365860).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42323166pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Short- and long-term effects of semaglutide 2.4 mg on energy intake, appetite, and food re…”
42308057pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effects of Semaglutide on Body Composition and GFR: A Prespecified Analysis of the SMART T…”
42297754pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42297754).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42225300pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide 25 mg Oral Versus Semaglutide 2.4 mg Injectable: An Indirect Treatment Compari…”
42175595pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42175595).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Review
42070571pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…e disorder and comorbid obesity: a randomised, double-b…”; comparator “…ekly semaglutide versus placebo in patients with alcoho…”
41992023pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41992023).publication types: Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Journal Article
41936548pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41936548).publication types: Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis, Journal Article
41906858pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41906858).publication types: Journal Article
41772149pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'bimagrumab'.Bimagrumab plus semaglutide alone…
41664890pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41664890).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study, Review
41580006pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41580006).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
41553702pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…ascular Disease Without Diabetes Based on the SELECT Tri…
41451292pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41451292).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
41296499pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ors in Adolescents With Obesity: The STEP TEENS Study.”; comparator “…maglutide 2.4 mg versus placebo on insulin sensitivity…”
41290376pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'heart failure'.…tide in obesity-related heart failure with preserved ejection…
41211586pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41211586).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
41138739pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide and cardiovascular outcomes by baseline and changes in adiposity measurements:…”
41045908pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…nd Exercise Function in Obesity-Related HFpEF: Insights…”; comparator “…ients to semaglutide or placebo. Compared with patients…”
40961953pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…with obesity and type 2 diabetes (STEP UP T2D): a random…
40961952pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention '7·2 mg'.Once-weekly semaglutide 7·2 mg in adults with obesity…
40934115pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'oral semaglutide'.Oral Semaglutide at a Dose of 25 mg in A…
40859897pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40859897).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
40825340pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n Asian population with obesity, defined as BMI ≥25 kg/…”; comparator “…ndomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 tri…”
40629530pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ue with semaglutide for obesity: from preclinical asses…”; comparator “…f PYY1875 1.0 mg versus placebo as an add-on to semaglu…”
40554081pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40554081).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40544433pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cagrilintide'.Coadministered Cagrilintide and Semaglutide in Adul…
40544432pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…t or Obesity and Type 2 Diabetes.
40537987pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…in patients with type 2 diabetes.
40189961pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in overweight; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Japanese adults with overweight and obesity: A post hoc…”; comparator “…semaglutide 1.7 mg, or placebo, plus lifestyle recomme…”
40069849pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in weight management; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…semaglutide 2.4 mg for weight management in participants from Ch…”; comparator “…maglutide 2.4 mg versus placebo for weight management i…”
42644855pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42644855).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42536519pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42536519).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42207966pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42207966).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study
42654343pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42654343).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42666197pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42666197).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42427356pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42427356).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42559252pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42559252).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42564827pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42564827).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42280424pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42280424).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
42060800pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42060800).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42670242pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42670242).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study
42571323pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42571323).publication types: Journal Article
42683151pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42683151).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42438123pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42438123).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42495454pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42495454).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42583410pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42583410).publication types: Journal Article
42421259pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42421259).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42654342pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42654342).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42568490pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42568490).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42689016pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42689016).publication types: Journal Article
42220771pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42220771).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42505402pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42505402).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42316327pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42316327).publication types: Journal Article
42644866pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42644866).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Review
42446420pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42446420).publication types: Review, Journal Article
42174253pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide versus placebo in individuals with poor weight loss after bariatric surgery: a…”
42532552pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42532552).publication types: Editorial
42515728pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42515728).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42514386pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42514386).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42163419pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42163419).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41489473pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41489473).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42634930pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['semaglutide 2.4', 'semaglutide', 'once-weekly semaglutide'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Assessment of the safety and efficacy of sodium pentaborate pentahydrate in individuals wi…”
42321502pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42321502).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42654234pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42654234).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41897188pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41897188).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42668312pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42668312).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42567173pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effect of semaglutide on kidney outcomes in the SELECT, FLOW, and SOUL trials: a prespecif…”
42473259pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…n in Adults With Type 1 Diabetes: Design and Methods of…
42449760pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42449760).publication types: Journal Article
42342009pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42342009).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
42339050pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42339050).publication types: Journal Article
42179170pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42179170).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41778920pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…renia, Prediabetes, and Obesity Treated With Second-Gen…”; comparator “…, a 30-Week Randomized, Placebo-Controlled Trial With S…”
41759565pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41759565).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41702353pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Improved quality of life with semaglutide in schizophrenia: Secondary analyses from a rand…”
41567689pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41567689).publication types: Journal Article
41565568pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41565568).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41555458pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Cardiac autonomic neuropathy in patients with SGA-treated schizophrenia: a randomized cont…”
41513169pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'liraglutide'.…c effects of short-term liraglutide vs. placebo in a blinde…
41475544pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41475544).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41429002pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…n in Adults With Type 1 Diabetes and Obesity Using Autom…
41419187pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41419187).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41335431pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide and Early-Stage Metabolic Abnormalities in Individuals With Schizophrenia Spec…”
41286875pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41286875).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41218611pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide for the treatment of cognitive dysfunction in major depressive disorder: A ran…”
42410302pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42410302).publication types: Letter
42668799pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42668799).publication types: Journal Article
41913139pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41913139).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42144979pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42144979).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42403733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42403733).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42590035pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42590035).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42220875pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42220875).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42452586pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42452586).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42549049pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42549049).publication types: Journal Article
42426361pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42426361).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42310900pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42310900).publication types: Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Journal Article
42303274pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42303274).publication types: Journal Article
42007544pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42007544).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article
42484659pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42484659).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41808133pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41808133).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
42588312pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42588312).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42303931pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42303931).publication types: Journal Article, Scoping Review
42650025pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42650025).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42348164pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42348164).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42118699pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42118699).publication types: Journal Article, Review
33625476pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in overweight; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…y Weight in Adults With Overweight or Obesity: The STEP 3…”; comparator “…utaneous Semaglutide vs Placebo as an Adjunct to Intens…”
33567185pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in overweight; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…aglutide in Adults with Overweight or Obesity.”; comparator “…at a dose of 2.4 mg) or placebo, plus lifestyle interve…”
33667417pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…or obesity, and type 2 diabetes (STEP 2): a randomised,…
NCT04189848nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…e sc Healthy Volunteers Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2 Overwe…
STEP 8 · NCT04074161nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'liraglutide'.…utide Works Compared to Liraglutide in People Living With O…
NCT06131437nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'tirzepatide'.…l CagriSema Compared to Tirzepatide Helps People With Obesi…
NCT07225816nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'liraglutide'.…Stomach in People Using Liraglutide (Injected), Semaglutide…
NCT07446439nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['semaglutide 2.4', 'semaglutide', 'once-weekly semaglutide'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Study to Evaluate Tradipitant on Treating Nausea and Vomiting Induced by GLP-1R Agonist …”
STEP 10 · NCT05040971nctincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…s in People Living With Obesity and Prediabetes Obesity…”; comparator “…sity Semaglutide 2.4 mg Placebo STEP 10”
NCT04228354nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “A Research Study Looking at the Comparability (Bioequivalence) of Two Versions of Semaglut…”
NCT07731256nctincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ck Pain Lower Back Pain Obesity (BMI>30) Chronic Lower…”; comparator “…by PDS290 pen-injector) Placebo (administered by PDS290…”
OASIS 1 · NCT05035095nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'tablets'.…te How Well Semaglutide Tablets Taken Once Daily Work i…
GLP1-AD-TTE · NCT07677865nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: GLP1-AD-TTE).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05646199nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['overweight', 'obesity', 'obese', 'weight management', 'body weight'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide vs Metformin in Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS) Polycystic Ovary Syndrome”
NCT05579249nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “A Research Study Comparing Wegovy to Other Weight Management Drugs in People Living With O…”
NCT06830343nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['semaglutide 2.4', 'semaglutide', 'once-weekly semaglutide'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “The Safety, Tolerability, and Pharmacokinetics of of SYH9017 in Chinese Participants With …”
GLOW · NCT06977438nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “GLP-1 Plus Lifestyle for Overall Wellness: Find Your Way Forward Obesity, Childhood Semagl…”
NCT07478653nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'children'.…Obesity Dental Care for Children
BETTER-GLP1 · NCT07042672nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: BETTER-GLP1).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07619495nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07619495).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT06390501nctincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide 2.4 vs placebo in obesity; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…t on Energy Expenditure Obesity; Drug”; comparator “…esity; Drug Semaglutide Placebo”
NCT06363747nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…y (MRB) II Study Type 2 Diabetes Obesity
SEMA-CKM · NCT07424430nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: SEMA-CKM).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07357766nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['semaglutide 2.4', 'semaglutide', 'once-weekly semaglutide'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Research Study to Compare Different Versions of Injectable CagriSema and Placebo in Peop…”
SURMOUNT-5 · NCT05822830nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'tirzepatide'.A Study of Tirzepatide (LY3298176) in Particip…
NCT07444073nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07444073).publication types: (no publication types)
aGLP1-GUS · NCT06987669nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: aGLP1-GUS).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05078255nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes Type 2 Diabetes Obesity
RAISE-KT · NCT04741074nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…c Kidney Disease Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus in Obese Obesi…
THRIVE · NCT07592546nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Translational Health Research Into Vascular and Neurocognitive Effects of Weight Loss Clas…”
WAIT · NCT07275697nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Waiting on Atrial Fibrillation Intervention Therapy (WAIT) Study Atrial Fibrillation (AF) …”

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
33567185Percent change in body weightCT.gov observed mean vs the abstract treatment-policy estimate. ·both familiesALREADY DISCLOSED (estimand stated; raw mean+-SD required to pool)
33625476Percent change in body weightSame CT.gov-vs-abstract estimand question (STEP 3). ·both familiesALREADY DISCLOSED (estimand stated)

Percent change in body weight (primary)

EstimandMD
Analysis populationin-trial / treatment-policy estimand (all randomized), baseline to Week 68
TimepointWeek 68
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect-11.84 (MD), 95% CI -25.13–1.44
Prediction interval-33.69–10
τ²1.86
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 12 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
33625476PMID 33625476-16.5±10.1 (n=407) vs -5.8±7.7 (n=204) (mean±SD)✓ verified against source
ClinicalTrials.gov results (structured, continuous): outcome 'Change in Body Weight (%)' mean -16.5 (SD 10.1, n=407) [Semaglutide 2.4 mg] vs -5.8 (SD 7.7, n=204) [Placebo] Percentage — population: Overall number of participants analyzed = full analysis set (FAS) which comprise
33567185PMID 33567185-15.6±10.1 (n=1306) vs -2.8±6.5 (n=655) (mean±SD)✓ verified against source
ClinicalTrials.gov results (structured, continuous): outcome 'Change in Body Weight (%)' mean -15.6 (SD 10.1, n=1306) [Semaglutide 2.4 mg] vs -2.8 (SD 6.5, n=655) [Placebo] Percentage point — population: Overall number of participants analyzed = full analysis set (FAS) which comprise
42070571PMID 42070571declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41045908PMID 41045908declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40629530PMID 40629530declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41778920PMID 41778920declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07731256NCT07731256declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06390501NCT06390501declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41296499PMID 41296499declared absentestimand mismatch: this is a mean-difference (continuous) topic, but the only extractable value for this trial was a count/proportion or a ratio effect (not a per-arm mean/SD) — declared absent rather than pooled across estimands
40189961PMID 40189961declared absentestimand mismatch: this is a mean-difference (continuous) topic, but the only extractable value for this trial was a count/proportion or a ratio effect (not a per-arm mean/SD) — declared absent rather than pooled across estimands
40069849PMID 40069849declared absentestimand mismatch: this is a mean-difference (continuous) topic, but the only extractable value for this trial was a count/proportion or a ratio effect (not a per-arm mean/SD) — declared absent rather than pooled across estimands
42575111PMID 42575111declared absenttimepoint mismatch: the pre-registered primary timepoint is Week 68, but this trial's source reports the outcome at Week 44 (Baseline (week 0), end of treatment (week 44)) — declared absent rather than pooled across follow-up durations
40825340PMID 40825340declared absenttimepoint mismatch: the pre-registered primary timepoint is Week 68, but this trial's source reports the outcome at Week 44 (Baseline (week 0), end of treatment (week 44)) — declared absent rather than pooled across follow-up durations
STEP 10NCT05040971declared absenttimepoint mismatch: the pre-registered primary timepoint is Week 68, but this trial's source reports the outcome at Week 52 (From randomisation (week 0) to end of treatment (week 52)) — declared absent rather than pooled across follow-up durations

Harms

Gastrointestinal adverse events

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
42575111PMID 42575111declared absentdeclared absent (override): the STEP-12 (China/Taiwan) abstract reports OVERALL adverse events ('Adverse events were reported in 141 [87.6%] of 161 ... and 61 [75.3%] of 81 ...'), with gastrointestinal disorders only named as the most common CATEGORY. It gives no gastrointestinal-specific event count, so the 141/161 vs 61/81 extracted for this harm outcome is a wrong-endpoint (overall AEs, not GI AEs). Refuse rather than pool the wrong endpoint. Surfaced by the cycle-76 blind accuracy census (a wrong number that passed every gate).
42070571PMID 42070571declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41296499PMID 41296499declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41045908PMID 41045908declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40825340PMID 40825340declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40629530PMID 40629530declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40189961PMID 40189961declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40069849PMID 40069849declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41778920PMID 41778920declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33625476PMID 33625476declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33567185PMID 33567185declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
STEP 10NCT05040971declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07731256NCT07731256declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06390501NCT06390501declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorEffectiveness & safety of semaglutide in weight reduction in obese nondiabetic patients: A systematic review and meta-analysis. (2026), Medicine (Baltimore)
IdentifierPMID 42536519
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1097/MD.0000000000049986

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)2
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2026) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 0 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 2 are pooled but have no registry match (33567185, 33625476) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 1 of 2 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 33567185industryabstract onlybody weight. (Funded by Novo Nordisk; STEP 1 ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03548935).
PMID 33625476not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT registry fields). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
33567185not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed
33625476not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 0 of 2 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=2, MD -11.8449 [-25.1318, 1.442]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 0 of 2 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=1.86306; prediction interval not markedly wider than the CI
Imprecision−195% CI [-25.1318, 1.442]; crosses the null (0) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedno registry ghost census available for this topic

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes, how much more does once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg reduce body weight than placebo at Week 68? (Randomized double-blind trials; mean difference in percent body-weight change.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA fe53c76aad18); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (143 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 2 trials gave MD -11.84 (95% CI -25.13 to 1.44), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was -33.69 to 10. 12 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA fe53c76aad18) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 2 trials gave MD -11.84 (95% CI -25.13 to 1.44), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was -33.69 to 10.

33625476-10.733567185-12.8Pooled (k=2)-11.84 [-25.13, 1.44]MD (null=0)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 0 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA fe53c76aad18) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py semaglutide-obesity-weight

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-12; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 8.4% (12/143); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA fe53c76aad, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHAfe53c76aad18c0fd8369e3c1fe171406c0f85e7f
Content hash (review core)eefd211ef5389f879f225507da4242630a12142726f28445dca58a4457d70696
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 2 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 2PARITY. EXACT same-scope, same-timepoint parity. Our pool = STEP-1 (Wilding) + STEP-3 (Wadden), both once-weekly semaglutide 2.4 mg vs placebo at the pre-registered Week 68 primary; both are in the comparator's (PMID 42536519) pool too. The comparator's other 2 of 4 are out of our pre-registered scope: O'Neil-2018 is a phase-2 DAILY dose-ranging trial with a liraglutide arm, and Rubino/STEP-4 is a weight-loss-MAINTENANCE (randomised-withdrawal) estimand we exclude. We also RETRIEVED two regional 2.4 mg-vs-placebo trials (STEP-12 China, Korean STEP) but DECLARED THEM ABSENT for TIMEPOINT MISMATCH (Week 44 end-of-treatment, not the pre-registered Week 68) — a timepoint-consistency guard refusing to pad k by mixing follow-up durations. Pooled MD -11.84% (-25.13, 1.44), tau2=1.86; the wide CI is the honest k=2 HKSJ interval (t on 1 df), not a lowered bar.