Semaglutide vs placebo for 3-point MACE in obesity without diabetes

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Semaglutide vs placebo for 3-point MACE in obesity without diabetes

In adults with overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease but without diabetes, does semaglutide reduce 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

Outcome3-point major adverse cardiovascular events
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 37952131 (PMID 37952131)
Screened-in → pooledall 1 screened-in trials reported this outcome and were pooled (screening count = k).
Single-trial effect0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.72–0.89
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

7 of 7 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetes', 'obesity without diabetes', 'overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease', 'cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity', 'heart disease and stroke in patients with overweight or obesity', 'cardiovascular diseases']; and none of ['type 2 diabetes', 'type 2 diabetic', 'diabetes mellitus', 't2d', 't2dm', 'type 1 diabetes', 'gestational diabetes', 'heart failure', 'chronic kidney disease', 'sleep apnea']; randomised intervention is one of ['semaglutide'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - semaglutide for 3-point MACE in obesity without diabetes

**Registration.** The commit that adds this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease but
  without diabetes.
- **I** - once-weekly subcutaneous semaglutide 2.4 mg added to standard care.
- **C** - placebo added to standard care.
- **O (primary)** - 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events, defined as
  cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction, or nonfatal stroke.
- **O (harms / secondary)** - gastrointestinal adverse events, adverse events leading to
  permanent discontinuation, and any further outcome the resolved comparator reports.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR), semaglutide vs placebo.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / mean follow-up 39.8 months.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - adults with overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease but
  without diabetes, judged from the title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - semaglutide vs placebo contrast;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. type 2 diabetes, type 1 diabetes, chronic kidney
  disease, heart failure, sleep apnea, or obesity trials without established
  cardiovascular disease);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no semaglutide-vs-placebo contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative control).

> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports 3-point MACE, or gives
> a 2x2 vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as target-result status at extraction - never as
> an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/search.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: exact SELECT title/PMID sweeps for the main MACE report. Later SELECT secondary
  analyses are not configured as positive controls because they share NCT03574597 and the
  fixed harness deduplicates same-NCT PubMed records to the latest-year publication.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "cardiovascular disease obesity without diabetes",
  intervention "semaglutide".
- Comparator/reference seeding is disabled so the broader comparator's reference list does
  not pull in semaglutide obesity trials outside the established-CVD SELECT population.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs
metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6). For this topic, the poolable input is the published HR + 95% CI
path on the same ratio/log scale; 2x2 extraction is available but is not required when a
trial reports an HR + CI.

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Stefanou et al., *Therapeutic Advances in Neurological Disorders* 2024, "Risk of major
adverse cardiovascular events and all-cause mortality under treatment with GLP-1 RAs or
the dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist tirzepatide in overweight or obese adults without
diabetes: a systematic review and meta-analysis" (PMID 39345822, DOI
10.1177/17562864241281903; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PubMed Central PMC11437580). It reports
pooled MACE OR 0.79 (95% CI 0.71-0.89) over 16 RCTs in overweight or obese adults
without diabetes. This comparator is broader than the registered lane's semaglutide-only
SELECT population; the exact registered lane has one landmark eligible RCT.

## Controls
- **Positive** - SELECT main MACE report (PMID 37952131), the verified eligible landmark
  trial report. Only this positive control is configured to avoid same-NCT secondary
  SELECT reports superseding the main MACE paper during fixed harness deduplication.
- **Negative** - SUSTAIN-6 (PMID 27633186: semaglutide, randomized, placebo-controlled,
  but type 2 diabetes rather than obesity without diabetes) must be recovered and
  EXCLUDED by the population rule.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)66
Records screened (deduplicated)66
Excluded at screening — by rule65 (X1 61 · X2 4)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)1
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)0

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 66 records: agreement 66/66, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-12T15:30:11Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

66 records screened; 1 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
37952131pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of semaglutide vs placebo in cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes.”; comparator “…uble-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled, event-drive…”
42670242pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42670242).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study
42677221pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42677221).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42339050pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42339050).publication types: Journal Article
42653733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42653733).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42403733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42403733).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42536519pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42536519).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42644855pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42644855).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42437874pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42437874).publication types: Journal Article
42163419pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42163419).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
42443711pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42443711).publication types: Letter
42603234pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42603234).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42403263pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetes', 'obesity without diabetes', 'overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease', 'cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity', 'heart disease and stroke in patients with overweight or obesity', 'cardiovascular diseases'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide Injection Once-Weekly for Weight Management in Adults: Results From A Randomiz…”
42654433pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42654433).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Review
42555627pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42555627).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
42580680pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42580680).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42118699pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42118699).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42337824pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42337824).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis
42427356pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42427356).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42452586pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42452586).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42100257pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42100257).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42470502pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42470502).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42304551pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42304551).publication types: Journal Article
42091772pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42091772).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41883191pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41883191).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42590035pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42590035).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42668799pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42668799).publication types: Journal Article
42304554pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42304554).publication types: Letter
42382865pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42382865).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42536323pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42536323).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
42588312pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42588312).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42225300pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetes', 'obesity without diabetes', 'overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease', 'cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity', 'heart disease and stroke in patients with overweight or obesity', 'cardiovascular diseases'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide 25 mg Oral Versus Semaglutide 2.4 mg Injectable: An Indirect Treatment Compari…”
42225305pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42225305).publication types: Journal Article, Comparative Study
42353331pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42353331).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42158845pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42158845).publication types: Journal Article
42250076pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42250076).publication types: Journal Article
41969188pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41969188).publication types: Journal Article, Comparative Study
42046181pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42046181).publication types: Journal Article
42653816pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42653816).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42207966pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42207966).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study
42429319pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42429319).publication types: Journal Article
38907684pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['cardiovascular outcomes in obesity without diabetes', 'obesity without diabetes', 'overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease', 'cardiovascular disease and overweight or obesity', 'heart disease and stroke in patients with overweight or obesity', 'cardiovascular diseases'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Semaglutide and Cardiovascular Outcomes by Baseline HbA1c and Change in HbA1c in People Wi…”
38157134pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38157134).publication types: Letter
42074711pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42074711).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42220875pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42220875).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41808133pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41808133).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
41969169pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41969169).publication types: Letter
42219272pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42219272).publication types: Journal Article
42033283pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42033283).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42410309pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42410309).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study
42529614pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42529614).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42549049pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42549049).publication types: Journal Article
42195357pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42195357).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42297751pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42297751).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
41889157pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41889157).publication types: Journal Article
41693033pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41693033).publication types: Editorial, Comment
41787495pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41787495).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42483679pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42483679).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41365841pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41365841).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41968220pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41968220).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42608657pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42608657).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42348164pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42348164).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
27633186pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'type 2 diabetes'.…tcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes.
39345822pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39345822).publication types: Journal Article, Review
NCT07619508nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07619508).publication types: (no publication types)
INTERCEPT · NCT07417618nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: INTERCEPT).publication types: (no publication types)

Controls

Results

3-point major adverse cardiovascular events (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end / mean follow-up 39.8 months
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.72–0.89
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)
TrialIdInputSource
37952131PMID 379521310.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.72–0.9✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): A primary cardiovascular end-point event occurred in 569 of the 8803 patients (6.5%) in the semaglutide group and in 701 of the 8801 patients (8.0%) in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.80; 95% confi
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.812. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only

Harms

Gastrointestinal adverse events

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
37952131PMID 37952131declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Adverse events leading to permanent discontinuation

EstimandRR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect2.03 (RR), 95% CI 1.87–2.21
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)
TrialIdInputSource
37952131PMID 379521311461/8803 vs 718/8801 (events/n)✓ verified against source
SELECT (PMID 37952131) abstract: 'Adverse events leading to permanent discontinuation of the trial product occurred in 1461 patients (16.6%) in the semaglutide group and 718 patients (8.2%) in [the placebo group]'; enrolment '8803 assigned to semaglutide and 8801 to placebo'. 1461/8803=16.6%, 718/8801=8.2% (percentage-corroborated).

Comparator

Published comparatorRisk of major adverse cardiovascular events and all-cause mortality under treatment with GLP-1 RAs or the dual GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist tirzepatide in overweight or obese adults without diabetes: a systematic review and meta-analysis. (2024), Ther Adv Neurol Disord
IdentifierPMID 39345822
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1177/17562864241281903

Major adverse cardiovascular events: 0.79 (OR), 95% CI 0.71–0.89

Scope match (is this the same question?)

⚠ SCOPE MISMATCH. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is class-level (match: False); population match: True. comparator is a DRUG-CLASS meta-analysis while this topic is a single agent — a PICO scope mismatch (single-drug review vs class-level review); the k difference vs this comparator is a scope difference, not unretrieved evidence Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Comparator resolution. No same-scope (single-agent) published meta-analysis exists to serve as a like-for-like comparator: semaglutide 2.4 mg for MACE in obesity without diabetes rests on a single pivotal RCT (SELECT, NCT03574597), so k=1 is the COMPLETE single-drug RCT evidence base for this question, not a search gap. The nearest published synthesis pools the GLP-1-receptor-agonist CLASS (a different, network-level PICO question); its larger k reflects that broader scope, not evidence this review failed to retrieve. A complete review with k=1 is not a weak review; it is a complete one, and saying so is more informative than the comparator larger number.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)16
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2024) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 1 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 37952131industryabstract only39.8 months. (Funded by Novo Nordisk; SELECT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03574597.).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
37952131some concernslowlowlowlowsome concerns

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, HR 0.8 [0.7155, 0.8944]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.7155, 0.8944]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 18 of ~78 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 23%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with overweight or obesity and established cardiovascular disease but without diabetes, does semaglutide reduce 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 3fb64a1e0143); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (66 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.8 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.89); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.8 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.89); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

379521310.8 [0.72, 0.9]Pooled (k=1)0.8 [0.72, 0.89]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py semaglutide-obesity-mace

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/66); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 3fb64a1e01, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Content hash (review core)896603d726bcb11d88ed6aaffaa8f417d287697172a90bcd403047d3b7396bb0
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 1 of 1 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 1 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.