Sacubitril/valsartan vs ACE inhibitor or ARB for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization in HFrEF

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Sacubitril/valsartan vs ACE inhibitor or ARB for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization in HFrEF

In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, does sacubitril/valsartan reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization versus an ACE inhibitor or ARB? (Double-blind active-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeComposite cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 25176015 (PMID 25176015)
Screened-in → pooled7 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 6 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.73–0.87
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

9 of 9 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['heart failure', 'HFrEF', 'reduced ejection fraction']; and none of ['preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'mildly reduced', 'pediatric', 'paediatric', 'children', 'child', 'myocardial infarction', 'hypertension', 'kidney disease', 'chronic kidney disease', 'dialysis', 'cancer therapy', 'chemotherapy']; randomised intervention is one of ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - sacubitril/valsartan for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization in HFrEF

**Registration.** The commit that adds/updates this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (HFrEF).
- **I** - sacubitril/valsartan, also reported as sacubitril, LCZ696, or ARNI.
- **C** - an ACE inhibitor or ARB active comparator, usually enalapril; ramipril is also eligible where used as the active renin-angiotensin-system comparator.
- **O (primary)** - composite cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization.
- **O (secondary)** - cardiovascular death; heart-failure hospitalization.
- **O (harms)** - hypotension; hyperkalemia.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **P** - adult HFrEF / reduced-ejection-fraction heart-failure population, judged from title or registry conditions.
- **I** - sacubitril/valsartan, sacubitril, LCZ696, ARNI, or a title-level angiotensin-neprilysin-inhibition phrase.
- **C** - enalapril, ACE inhibitor, ARB, ramipril, or another explicit RAS-inhibitor active comparator. Standalone valsartan text inside sacubitril/valsartan does not satisfy this criterion.
- **Design** - randomized, double-blind active-controlled trial.

Eligibility is not on the outcome axis. Whether an included trial reports the primary
composite, or gives a 2x2 table versus only an effect plus CI, is recorded as target-result
status at extraction and is never an exclusion.

## Outcomes
- **Primary** - composite cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization, estimand HR, intention-to-treat population, trial end / longest randomized follow-up.
- **Secondary** - cardiovascular death; heart-failure hospitalization, estimand HR where reported.
- **Harms** - hypotension; hyperkalemia, estimand RR when arm-level counts are extractable.

## Analysis Method
Random-effects inverse-variance on the configured log ratio scale; for the primary outcome
this is log(HR) when an abstract-reported HR with 95% CI is machine-extractable. Paule-Mandel
tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on `t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. If only one trial reports the outcome, the estimate is
reported as that trial's own effect, with no tau^2, HKSJ interval, or prediction interval.

## Comparator
Ji et al., *ESC Heart Failure* 2023, "The cardiovascular effects of SGLT2 inhibitors,
RAS inhibitors, and ARN inhibitors in heart failure" (PMID 36722326, DOI
10.1002/ehf2.14298; open access with PMC10053170 available). The comparator is a published
network meta-analysis of randomized trials and reports the assigned HFrEF composite endpoint
for ARNI versus RAS inhibitors as RR 0.83 (95% CI 0.77-0.89).

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)81
Records screened (deduplicated)81
Excluded at screening — by rule74 (X-DESIGN 3 · X1 42 · X2 5 · X3 24)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)7
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)6

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 81 records: agreement 80/81, disagreement 1.2% (1 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:13Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

81 records screened; 7 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
25176015pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ion versus enalapril in heart failure.”; comparator “…lysin inhibition versus enalapril in heart failure. BACKG…”
42096363pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42096363).publication types: Journal Article
42645107pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42645107).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42028604pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Modest Contribution of Bradykinin to Blood Pressure Reduction by Sacubitril/Valsartan in C…”
40689605pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40689605).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42505901pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42505901).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42200486pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42200486).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41335448pmidexcludeX-DESIGNnot double-blind/placebo-controlled (record: 41335448).no 'placebo'/'double-blind'/'masked' in text; registry masking = (masking not stated)
40418165pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40418165).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
41912806pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “The NPR1 agonist antibody XXB750 in heart failure: a phase 2 randomized trial.”
40266448pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40266448).publication types: Journal Article, Comparative Study, Observational Study, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
42663359pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42663359).publication types: Journal Article
42641814pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42641814).publication types: Journal Article
40849246pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40849246).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40353367pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'paediatric'.…nd clinical outcomes in paediatric patients with heart fai…
39320292pmidexcludeX-DESIGNnot double-blind/placebo-controlled (record: 39320292).no 'placebo'/'double-blind'/'masked' in text; registry masking = (masking not stated)
41425656pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41425656).publication types: Journal Article
38516430pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38516430).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40100325pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40100325).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study
37554618pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37554618).publication types: Journal Article, Review
38013641pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38013641).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article
38869007pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38869007).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
37143752pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37143752).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39768713pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39768713).publication types: Journal Article, Review
36459752pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36459752).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Network Meta-Analysis
34956440pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34956440).publication types: Journal Article, Review
31475794pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'.…n in Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction.
36722326pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36722326).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Network Meta-Analysis
36315602pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36315602).publication types: Journal Article, Review
36027570pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'.…with Mildly Reduced or Preserved Ejection Fraction.
34693498pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34693498).publication types: Journal Article, Review
34449189pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'.…in Heart Failure with a Preserved Ejection Fraction.
33731544pmidexcludeX-DESIGNnot double-blind/placebo-controlled (record: 33731544).no 'placebo'/'double-blind'/'masked' in text; registry masking = (masking not stated)
33074526pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33074526).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis
33026243pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Efficacy of Ertugliflozin on Heart Failure-Related Events in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes…”
32865377pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Cardiovascular and Renal Outcomes with Empagliflozin in Heart Failure.”
31535829pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Dapagliflozin in Patients with Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fraction.”
30882238pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effect of Dapagliflozin on Heart Failure and Mortality in Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus.”
27206819pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 27206819).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline
25306450pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 25306450).publication types: Journal Article, Review
23104435pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 23104435).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
22008217pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 22008217).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
19622552pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19622552).publication types: Consensus Statement, Guideline, Journal Article, Systematic Review
19001508pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'.…with heart failure and preserved ejection fraction.
16963472pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “The perindopril in elderly people with chronic heart failure (PEP-CHF) study.”
13678871pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effects of candesartan in patients with chronic heart failure and preserved left-ventricul…”
13678870pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effects of candesartan in patients with chronic heart failure and reduced left-ventricular…”
13678869pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effects of candesartan in patients with chronic heart failure and reduced left-ventricular…”
11759645pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A randomized trial of the angiotensin-receptor blocker valsartan in chronic heart failure.”
11479264pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 11479264).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S., Review
2057034pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effect of enalapril on survival in patients with reduced left ventricular ejection fractio…”
1463530pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effect of enalapril on mortality and the development of heart failure in asymptomatic pati…”
EVALUATE-HF · NCT02874794nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…duced Ejection Fraction Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fr…”; comparator “…acubitril/Valsartan vs. Enalapril on Aortic Stiffness in…”
SHORT · NCT05021419nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Efficacy of a Streamlined Heart Failure Optimization Protocol Heart Failure with Reduced E…”
OUTSTEP-HF · NCT02900378nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…lapril in Patients With Heart Failure Chronic Heart Failure W…”; comparator “…acubitril/valsarTan and Enalapril in Patients With Heart…”
NCT02389933nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT02389933).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT06900803nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Evaluating Dashboard-Integrated Pharmacist-Led Education on Improving Sacubitril/Valsartan…”
ARNI-PVA · NCT04498780nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: ARNI-PVA).publication types: (no publication types)
ANSWER-HF · NCT04853758nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in reduced ejection fraction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…gas Cardiomyopathy With Reduced Ejection Fraction: ANSWER-HF. Chagas Card…”; comparator “…Oral Tablet [Entresto] Enalapril ANSWER-HF”
NCT07192341nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Sacubitril/Valsartan in Patients With Prosthetic Heart Valves With Heart Failure and Reduc…”
PROSPER-HF · NCT04803175nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: PROSPER-HF).publication types: (no publication types)
PRESENT-HF · NCT05487261nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…sartaN in paTients With Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection F…”; comparator “…re Sacubitril-valsartan Enalapril placebo Placebo PRESENT…”
CHILISALT · NCT03359967nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: CHILISALT).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04735354nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04735354).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07527767nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07527767).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05168787nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05168787).publication types: (no publication types)
SAVA-TTR · NCT06712030nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Effect of Angiotensin Receptor/Neprilysin Inhibitors on Transthyretin Cardiac Amyloidosis …”
PARTHENON · NCT02957409nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: PARTHENON).publication types: (no publication types)
PARALLEL-HF · NCT02468232nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…e Patients With Chronic Heart Failure and Reduced Ejection Fr…”; comparator “…raction (HF-rEF) LCZ696 Enalapril Placebo to LCZ696 Place…”
NCT07465653nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Safety and Tolerability Study of HJB647 in Heart Failure Participants With Reduced Eject…”
REACT-HFrEF-RO · NCT07465679nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: REACT-HFrEF-RO).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT07814482nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Effect of Sacubitril-Valsartan on Estimated Pulmonary Artery Systolic Pressure in Patients…”
NCT07347925nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07347925).publication types: (no publication types)
INITIATE · NCT05989503nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Initiation of ARNi and SGLT2i in Patients With HFrEF Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection F…”
SPANIK-HF · NCT04141800nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: SPANIK-HF).publication types: (no publication types)
TRANSFORMHFrEF · NCT04872959nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “TRANSFORM Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction Heart Failure, Systolic HealthRevea…”
PIONEER-HF · NCT02554890nctincludeINCLUDERCT of sacubitril vs enalapril in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…tabilized From an Acute Heart Failure Episode. Acute Heart Fa…”; comparator “…bitril/Valsartan Versus Enalapril on Effect on NT-proBNP…”
PARASAIL · NCT02690974nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Description of Tolerability of LCZ696 (Sacubitril / Valsartan) in Heart Failure With Reduc…”
NCT03816306nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT03816306).publication types: (no publication types)
TRANSITION · NCT02661217nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['enalapril', 'ACE inhibitor', 'ACE inhibitors', 'angiotensin-converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin converting enzyme inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor blocker', 'ARB', 'ramipril', 'RAS inhibitor', 'RAS inhibitors', 'RAS inhibition']).examined: “Comparison of Pre- and Post-discharge Initiation of LCZ696 Therapy in HFrEF Patients After…”
NCT05553886nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sacubitril', 'LCZ696', 'sacubitril/valsartan', 'sacubitril-valsartan', 'ARNI', 'angiotensin-neprilysin inhibition', 'angiotensin receptor-neprilysin inhibitor', 'angiotensin receptor neprilysin'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “S086 Tablets for Chronic Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection Fraction Chronic Heart Failur…”

Controls

Results

Composite cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end / longest randomized follow-up
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.73–0.87
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
25176015PMID 251760150.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.73–0.87✓ verified against source
PARADIGM-HF (PMID 25176015) abstract: the primary composite of death from cardiovascular causes or hospitalization for heart failure occurred in 914 of 4187 (21.8%) LCZ696 vs 1117 of 4212 (26.5%) enalapril patients (hazard ratio in the LCZ696 group, 0.80; 95% CI, 0.73 to 0.87; P<0.001). SCALE CORRECTION (override): the CT.gov structured extractor pooled the count-derived RR 0.823 from 914/4187 vs 1117/4212 and labelled the k=1 pool HR; the trial reports the time-to-event HR 0.80 directly.
EVALUATE-HFNCT02874794declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
OUTSTEP-HFNCT02900378declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
ANSWER-HFNCT04853758declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PRESENT-HFNCT05487261declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PARALLEL-HFNCT02468232declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PIONEER-HFNCT02554890declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

DECLARED ABSENT. no harms recorded

Comparator

Published comparatorThe cardiovascular effects of SGLT2 inhibitors, RAS inhibitors, and ARN inhibitors in heart failure. (2023), ESC Heart Fail
IdentifierPMID 36722326
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1002/ehf2.14298

Composite cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization versus RAS inhibitors in HFrEF: 0.83 (RR), 95% CI 0.77–0.89

Scope match (is this the same question?)

⚠ SCOPE MISMATCH. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is class-level (match: False); population match: True. comparator is a DRUG-CLASS meta-analysis while this topic is a single agent — a PICO scope mismatch (single-drug review vs class-level review); the k difference vs this comparator is a scope difference, not unretrieved evidence Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Comparator resolution. Single-drug review vs a multi-class comparator (SCOPE MISMATCH, stated): the only available open-access comparator (PMID 36722326) is a network meta-analysis across SGLT2 inhibitors, RAS inhibitors and ARNIs, not a sacubitril-specific pairwise meta. No same-scope sacubitril-vs-ACEi/ARB meta exists because PARADIGM-HF is the single pivotal HFrEF RCT, so k=1 (PARADIGM-HF) is the COMPLETE single-drug HFrEF evidence, not a gap. Component/harm secondaries were dropped rather than shipped ambiguous (see refusals).

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2023) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 0 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (25176015) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 1 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 25176015industryabstract onlyeart failure. (Funded by Novartis; PARADIGM-HF ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01035255.).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT registry fields). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
25176015not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 0 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, HR 0.8 [0.7328, 0.8733]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 0 of 1 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.7328, 0.8733]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedno registry ghost census available for this topic

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, does sacubitril/valsartan reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalization versus an ACE inhibitor or ARB? (Double-blind active-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 3fb64a1e0143); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (81 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.8 (95% CI 0.73 to 0.87); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 6 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: HR 0.8 (95% CI 0.73 to 0.87); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

251760150.8 [0.73, 0.87]Pooled (k=1)0.8 [0.73, 0.87]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 0 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py sacubitril-valsartan-hfref

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 1.2% (1/81); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 3fb64a1e01, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Content hash (review core)f726b2ccd2897733ef488ffd645b81a49cbc82f66f213ef9d09203e5b070b490
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)

Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.

TrialWhat was verifiedWhy it was not pooled
PARADIGM-HF secondary 'Cardiovascular death'CV-death HR is reported (~0.80), but the extractor clause-bound it to the all-cause-death sentenceambiguous source attribution (all-cause vs CV-death sentence); and CV death is already a component of the pooled composite primary. Dropped rather than shipped ambiguous.
PIONEER-HF (hypotension, hyperkalemia harms)PIONEER-HF harm counts are in CT.gov structured resultsPIONEER-HF enrolled ACUTE decompensated HF with in-hospital initiation — out of scope for this chronic-HFrEF topic. Dropped.