PCSK9 inhibitors vs placebo for major adverse cardiovascular events

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

PCSK9 inhibitors vs placebo for major adverse cardiovascular events

In adults with or at high risk of ASCVD, do PCSK9 inhibitors (evolocumab or alirocumab) reduce major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeMajor adverse cardiovascular events
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)2 — 28304224 (PMID 28304224); 30403574 (PMID 30403574)
Screened-in → pooledall 2 screened-in trials reported this outcome and were pooled (screening count = k).
Pooled effect0.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.59–1.23
Prediction interval0.59–1.23
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

10 of 10 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['cardiovascular disease', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease', 'acute coronary syndrome', 'coronary disease', 'coronary heart disease', 'cardiovascular risk', 'myocardial infarction', 'peripheral artery disease', 'ascvd']; and none of ['heart failure', 'kidney disease', 'chronic kidney disease', 'venous thromboembolism']; randomised intervention is one of ['evolocumab', 'alirocumab', 'PCSK9 inhibitor', 'PCSK9 inhibitors', 'PCSK9 inhibition'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - PCSK9 inhibitors for major adverse cardiovascular events

**Registration.** The commit that adds/updates this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with established ASCVD or title/registry-supported high ASCVD risk.
- **I** - PCSK9 inhibitor monoclonal antibody therapy: evolocumab or alirocumab.
- **C** - placebo.
- **O (primary)** - major adverse cardiovascular events (MACE), as defined by each trial.
- **O (harms)** - injection-site reactions and adverse events leading to discontinuation.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR), PCSK9 inhibitor vs placebo, using published
  trial effect estimates with 95% confidence intervals when arm-level event-time
  data are not available in the abstract.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - longest reported trial follow-up for the primary MACE endpoint.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is adults with established ASCVD or title/registry-supported
  high ASCVD risk;
- **I3** - evolocumab or alirocumab compared with placebo;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only, or secondary
  analysis not indexed as a primary randomised trial record);
- **X2** - wrong population by title/registry conditions (e.g. kidney disease,
  chronic kidney disease, heart failure, or venous thromboembolism);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no evolocumab/alirocumab-vs-placebo
  contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative control).

> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports MACE, or gives
> arm counts vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as target-result status at extraction,
> never as an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: title-level searches for the primary FOURIER and ODYSSEY OUTCOMES reports.
  Comparator-reference seeding is disabled for this topic because later secondary
  publications share the same trial NCTs and can supersede the primary outcome
  reports in the harness deduplication step.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "ASCVD", intervention "alirocumab".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(HR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI
on `t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. Trial HRs and 95% CIs are transformed to log
scale by the harness. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor
5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Xiang et al., *Frontiers in Cardiovascular Medicine* 2022, "Effect of alirocumab
and evolocumab on all-cause mortality and major cardiovascular events: A
meta-analysis focusing on the number needed to treat" (PMID 36531722, DOI
10.3389/fcvm.2022.1016802; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PubMed Central available as
PMC9755489). It reports pooled MACE RR 0.83 (95% CI 0.79-0.87) in patients with
established ASCVD.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include the canonical large
  double-blind placebo-controlled outcome trials FOURIER (PMID 28304224) and
  ODYSSEY OUTCOMES (PMID 30403574).
- **Negative** - FIDELIO-DKD (finerenone in chronic kidney disease and type 2
  diabetes; PMID 33264825) must be recovered and EXCLUDED as wrong population and
  wrong intervention for this topic.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)9
Records screened (deduplicated)9
Excluded at screening — by rule7 (X1 5 · X2 1 · X3 1)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)2
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)2
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)0

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 9 records: agreement 9/9, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 2 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:12Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

9 records screened; 2 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
28675189pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28675189).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
28504611pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28504611).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
28304224pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of evolocumab vs placebo in cardiovascular disease; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…tcomes in Patients with Cardiovascular Disease.”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial involv…”
30403574pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of evolocumab vs placebo in acute coronary syndrome; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…vascular Outcomes after Acute Coronary Syndrome.”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial involv…”
33264825pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'kidney disease'.…f Finerenone on Chronic Kidney Disease Outcomes in Type 2 Diab…
36531722pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36531722).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article
STaRT · NCT06858332nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: STaRT).publication types: (no publication types)
OPTIMUS-IMPACT · NCT07615179nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: OPTIMUS-IMPACT).publication types: (no publication types)
PCSK9-DUO · NCT07581808nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Dual PCSK9 Inhibition With Inclisiran and Alirocumab in Secondary Prevention Hypercholeste…”

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
28304224Major adverse cardiovascular eventsFOURIER: 5-point primary (adds unstable angina, revascularization). ·both familiesDISCLOSED (composite-heterogeneity note)
30403574Major adverse cardiovascular eventsODYSSEY: 4-point primary (adds unstable angina requiring hospitalization). ·both familiesDISCLOSED (composite-heterogeneity note)

Major adverse cardiovascular events (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointlongest reported trial follow-up
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect0.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.59–1.23
Prediction interval0.59–1.23
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Composite heterogeneitypooled trials use each trial's OWN primary composite; component sets differ across trials (varying extra components across trials: revascularization, unstable angina) — the pooled estimate mixes composite definitions (disclosed, not adjusted)
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)
TrialIdInputSource
28304224PMID 283042240.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.79–0.92✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): Relative to placebo, evolocumab treatment significantly reduced the risk of the primary end point (1344 patients [9.8%] vs. 1563 patients [11.3%]; hazard ratio, 0.85; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.7
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.666. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only
30403574PMID 304035740.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.78–0.93✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): A composite primary end-point event occurred in 903 patients (9.5%) in the alirocumab group and in 1052 patients (11.1%) in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.85; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.78 to
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.818. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only

Harms

Injection-site reactions

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
28304224PMID 28304224declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30403574PMID 30403574declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Adverse events leading to discontinuation

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
28304224PMID 28304224declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
30403574PMID 30403574declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorEffect of alirocumab and evolocumab on all-cause mortality and major cardiovascular events: A meta-analysis focusing on the number needed to treat. (2022), Front Cardiovasc Med
IdentifierPMID 36531722
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.3389/fcvm.2022.1016802

Major adverse cardiovascular events: 0.83 (RR), 95% CI 0.79–0.87

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)2
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 2 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 2 of 2 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 28304224industryabstract onlyrent targets. (Funded by Amgen; FOURIER ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01764633 .).
PMID 30403574industryabstract onlyived placebo. (Funded by Sanofi and Regeneron Pharmaceuticals; ODYSSEY OUTCOMES ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01663402 .).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
28304224low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlowlowlowlow
30403574some concernslowsome concernssome concernssome concernslow

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 2 of 2 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=2, HR 0.85 [0.5852, 1.2346]
Low risk of bias onlyk=1, HR 0.85 [0.7877, 0.9173]

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 2 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.5852, 1.2346]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 4 of ~32 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 12%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with or at high risk of ASCVD, do PCSK9 inhibitors (evolocumab or alirocumab) reduce major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 38478f5e060a); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (9 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 2 trials gave HR 0.85 (95% CI 0.59 to 1.23), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.59 to 1.23.

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 2 trials gave HR 0.85 (95% CI 0.59 to 1.23), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.59 to 1.23.

283042240.85 [0.79, 0.92]304035740.85 [0.78, 0.93]Pooled (k=2)0.85 [0.59, 1.23]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 2 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was HR 0.85 (95% CI 0.79 to 0.92, k=1); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py pcsk9-mace

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/9); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 38478f5e06, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58
Content hash (review core)9557a6261e09556f63cc0592cf7e3314d2342d471e4987eae2c0830dbd9c9645
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Re-search (living vs frozen)

Re-running the committed queries live and diffing against the cache: PubMed/EPMC: 4 retrieved live vs 6 committed (0 new, 2 no longer returned). CT.gov: 0 live vs 0 committed (0 new). Measured 2026-09-11T19:14:43Z; source scope committed PubMed + Europe PMC + CT.gov queries.

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 2 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 2PARITY-effective. 2/12 but our 2 (FOURIER+ODYSSEY) = ~87% of comparator patients; 10 gaps = non-prespecified MACE tallies

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 2 of 2 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 2 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.