Overview
Direct oral anticoagulants vs warfarin for stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation
In adults with non-valvular atrial fibrillation, do direct oral anticoagulants versus warfarin reduce stroke or systemic embolism? Pairwise direct comparison only, not network synthesis.
Primary outcome
| Outcome | Stroke or systemic embolism |
|---|---|
| Estimand | mixed (HR/RR) |
| Trials pooled (k) | 4 — 21830957 (PMID 21830957); 19717844 (PMID 19717844); 24251359 (PMID 24251359); 21870978 (PMID 21870978) |
| Screened-in → pooled | 8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 4 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 4 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome). |
| Pooled effect | 0.81 (mixed (HR/RR)), 95% CI 0.66–0.98 |
| Prediction interval | 0.58–1.13 |
| Between-study τ² | 0.01 |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
Transparency (independently checkable)
22 of 22 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 2 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).
Stated limitations
- Small k on many topics. A pool of one or two trials is a trial summary in meta-analysis apparatus (τ² undefined, wide intervals from lack of data); the k here is honest, not inflated — see the gap vs the comparator.
- Open-access comparator only. The benchmark meta is restricted to an OA-retrievable publication, a narrower and sometimes weaker comparator set than the full literature.
- Favourable topic sample. Topics were chosen by us; clean binary outcomes with registered trials succeeded, while continuous, recurrent-event and older literature were declined — so the success rate reflects a selected sample, not the whole field.
- Risk of bias is partial. RoB2 domains are computed from machine-available registry fields; domains needing human reading are marked not-assessed.
- Registry snapshot is dated. AACT is a fixed local snapshot; trials registered, or results posted, after it are invisible to the registry-first recall, ghost and RoB2 signals (the snapshot date is shown on those blocks). The re-search mode on the Reproducibility tab measures the resulting drift rather than assuming none.
- Dual screening is not fully independent. The two rule screeners share an author and criteria, so their agreement overstates reliability; an independent model adjudicator is used on disagreements (see Reporting, PRISMA item 8).
- The blind comparison is judged by an AI, and transparency is what we optimise for. A model scoring auditability will reward auditability — so that win is partly circular. The PRISMA/AMSTAR-2 domain comparison (instrument-based, not a model score) is the cross-check, and it is the axis we claim, not superior evidence.
Protocol
| Registration (protocol commit SHA) | 38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58 |
|---|---|
| Committed (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
| Declared analysis method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| Eligibility (P/I/C/design) | Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['atrial fibrillation', 'nonvalvular atrial fibrillation', 'non-valvular atrial fibrillation']; and none of ['mechanical heart valve', 'mechanical heart valves', 'valvular heart disease', 'mitral stenosis', 'heart valve', 'venous thromboembolism', 'deep-vein thrombosis', 'deep vein thrombosis', 'pulmonary embolism', 'acute coronary', 'antiphospholipid', 'catheter ablation', 'ablation', 'cardioversion', 'device procedures', 'left atrial appendage', 'postoperative', 'perioperative']; randomised intervention is one of ['dabigatran', 'rivaroxaban', 'apixaban', 'edoxaban', 'direct oral anticoagulant', 'direct oral anticoagulants', 'DOAC', 'DOACs', 'NOAC', 'NOACs', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulant', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['warfarin', 'vitamin K antagonist', 'vitamin k antagonist', 'VKA']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator. |
# Protocol - direct oral anticoagulants versus warfarin for stroke prevention in atrial fibrillation
**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is embedded
in the page's Protocol tab and Reproducibility tab. The protocol is committed before
the synthesis is run.
## PICO
- **P** - adults with non-valvular atrial fibrillation treated for stroke prevention.
- **I** - a direct oral anticoagulant: dabigatran, rivaroxaban, apixaban, or edoxaban.
- **C** - warfarin or other vitamin K antagonist anticoagulation.
- **O (primary)** - stroke or systemic embolism.
- **O (harms)** - major bleeding.
## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - ratio-scale effect, labelled HR when trials report hazard ratios and RR
when the trial abstract reports a relative risk.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised where the trial abstract reports it.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest reported follow-up in the pivotal trial abstract.
## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is atrial fibrillation, judged from title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - direct oral anticoagulant versus warfarin / vitamin K antagonist comparator;
- **design** - randomised DOAC-vs-warfarin allocation; double-blinding is not required.
Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. mechanical heart valves, venous thromboembolism,
antiphospholipid syndrome, catheter ablation, cardioversion, device-procedure studies);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no direct oral anticoagulant versus
warfarin / vitamin K antagonist contrast);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another disease/topic in this set (negative control).
> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports stroke or systemic
> embolism, or gives a 2x2 table versus only an effect+CI, is recorded as target-result
> status at extraction - never as an exclusion. A published effect + CI is a poolable
> input when the fixed extractor can corroborate it from the abstract.
## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: UID searches for the four pivotal direct DOAC-vs-warfarin AF RCTs: RE-LY,
ROCKET AF, ARISTOTLE, and ENGAGE AF-TIMI 48.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "atrial fibrillation", intervention "edoxaban warfarin".
- Comparator-reference seeding is disabled because the resolved 2022 IPD/NMA cites later
subgroup publications that share NCT IDs with the pivotal trials; the UID searches
intentionally preserve the primary trial abstracts as the extraction source.
## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log ratio effects; **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ**
95% CI on `t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a
study only if it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs
metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).
This topic is network-shaped in the literature, but this harness synthesis is explicitly
the direct pairwise DOAC-vs-warfarin comparison. No indirect treatment comparison or
network estimate is calculated by the harness.
## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Carnicelli et al., *Circulation* 2022, "Direct Oral Anticoagulants Versus Warfarin in
Patients With Atrial Fibrillation: Patient-Level Network Meta-Analyses of Randomized
Clinical Trials With Interaction Testing by Age and Sex" (PMID 34985309, PMCID
PMC8800560, DOI 10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.121.056355; Unpaywall is_oa=true). It reports
standard-dose DOAC versus warfarin for stroke or systemic embolism as HR 0.81
(95% CI 0.74-0.89), and reports major bleeding.
Ruff et al. 2014 in *Lancet* was checked because it is the classic direct trial-level
meta-analysis (PMID 24315724, DOI 10.1016/S0140-6736(13)62343-0), but Unpaywall reported
is_oa=false, so it was not used as the comparator.
## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include RE-LY (PMID 19717844), ROCKET AF
(PMID 21830957), and ARISTOTLE (PMID 21870978).
- **Negative** - RE-ALIGN, dabigatran versus warfarin in mechanical heart valves
(PMID 23991661), must be recovered and excluded as the wrong population.
Search
| Records retrieved | 35 |
|---|---|
| Databases / sources | PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Committed cache | cache/noac-vs-warfarin-af-stroke/records.json |
| Run (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
Source status (which adapters ran)
Citation chase: NOT_RUN · ClinicalTrials.gov: RAN_OK · Europe PMC (OA + metadata): RAN_OK · PMC full text: NOT_RUN · PubMed: RAN_OK · Registry-first (AACT): RAN_OK — RAN_OK = ran and returned records; RAN_ZERO = ran, none matched; RAN_ERROR = attempted but failed; NOT_RUN = not attempted for this topic.
Registry-first recall (reach)
Registry-first RECALL: recovered 4/4 of this topic's known trials (enumerated 305; status RAN_OK). Measured 2026-09-11T23:39:14Z. Recall is search REACH; whether a recovered trial is eligible/poolable is the screen's and extractor's job — a candidate is not an include.
Registry landscape & unpublished evidence (AACT)
Of 305 registry records matching the query (broad — reach, not precision): 119 have a linked publication; 25 have posted CT.gov results but no publication (poolable unpublished data no published meta in this topic has); 83 are completed ≥12 months ago with neither results nor a linked publication — a loose upper bound on non-publication, inflated by the broad enumeration and by NCT→PMID linkage misses, not a publication-bias claim. AACT 2026-08-30 (local snapshot).
PubMed
19717844[uid] OR 21830957[uid]
21870978[uid] OR 24251359[uid]
ClinicalTrials.gov
{"cond": "atrial fibrillation", "intr": "edoxaban warfarin"}Screening
Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)
| Stage | n |
|---|---|
| Records identified (committed search) | 35 |
| Records screened (deduplicated) | 35 |
| Excluded at screening — by rule | 27 (X1 13 · X2 11 · X3 3) |
| Met eligibility (P/I/C/design) | 8 |
| Pooled in the primary outcome (k) | 4 |
| Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent) | 4 |
Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).
Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)
Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 35 records: agreement 32/35, disagreement 8.6% (3 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.
Trial integrity: none of the 4 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:10Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).
35 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.
| Record | Type | Decision | Rule | Reason (true of the record) | Verbatim span (from the record) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 21830957 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…warfarin in nonvalvular atrial fibrillation.”; comparator “Rivaroxaban versus warfarin in nonvalvular atrial f…” |
| 19717844 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…rfarin in patients with atrial fibrillation.”; comparator “Dabigatran versus warfarin in patients with atrial…” |
| 24251359 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…rfarin in patients with atrial fibrillation.”; comparator “Edoxaban versus warfarin in patients with atrial…” |
| 21870978 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…rfarin in patients with atrial fibrillation.”; comparator “Apixaban versus warfarin in patients with atrial…” |
| 23991661 | pmid | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'mechanical heart valves'. | …rfarin in patients with mechanical heart valves. |
| 34985309 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34985309). | publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't |
| START-Portugal · NCT03977363 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: START-Portugal). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| ENSURE-AF · NCT02072434 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cardioversion'. | …in Subjects Undergoing Cardioversion of Nonvalvular Atrial F… |
| NCT04121767 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'ablation'. | …oxaban in Thoracoscopic Ablation Atrial Fibrillation Ant… |
| CLOSURE-AF · NCT03463317 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'left atrial appendage'. | Left Atrial Appendage CLOSURE in Patients Wit… |
| NCT00504556 | nct | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…rfarin for Non-valvular Atrial Fibrillation Atrial Fibrillation Thr…”; comparator “…Practice of Dosing With Warfarin for Non-valvular Atrial…” |
| ENTICED-AF · NCT02561897 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'device procedures'. | …or Warfarin Therapy In Device Procedures in Patients With Non-Va… |
| NCT03760874 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT03760874). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| NCT03254147 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT03254147). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| BEST-AF · NCT04099238 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: BEST-AF). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| NCT04878497 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04878497). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| NCT04047654 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04047654). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| CORRAL-AF · NCT04684212 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'left atrial appendage'. | …AF Atrial Fibrillation Left Atrial Appendage Thrombosis CVA CORRAL-A… |
| TRIDUAL-PCI · NCT04291287 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: TRIDUAL-PCI). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| ELIMINATE-AF · NCT02942576 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'catheter ablation'. | …llation (AF) Undergoing Catheter Ablation Atrial Fibrillation ELI… |
| AFTER-CV · NCT01924065 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cardioversion'. | …r Thromboembolism After Cardioversion of Atrial Fibrillation… |
| ORGANON · NCT02935855 | nct | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…ients With nOn-valvular Atrial fibrillatioN (ORGANON) Diabetes ORGA…”; comparator “…an Rivaroxaban Edoxaban Warfarin Acenocumarole ORGANON” |
| SoSTART · NCT03153150 | nct | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…aventricular Hemorrhage Atrial Fibrillation Atrial Flutter Small Ve…”; comparator “…enocoumarol Phenindione Warfarin SoSTART” |
| NCT03088072 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'left atrial appendage'. | …Atrial Fibrillation and Left Atrial Appendage Closure Non-Valvular At… |
| ERTEMIS · NCT05540587 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'mitral stenosis'. | …Atrial Fibrillation and Mitral Stenosis Mitral Valve Stenosis A… |
| NCT02219984 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT02219984). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| PRiSMA-AF · NCT02611635 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: PRiSMA-AF). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| CHAOS · NCT03558295 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: CHAOS). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| PAUSE-ER · NCT04195113 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: PAUSE-ER). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| NCT05027061 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05027061). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| NCT00806624 | nct | exclude | X3 | the randomised intervention is not ['dabigatran', 'rivaroxaban', 'apixaban', 'edoxaban', 'direct oral anticoagulant', 'direct oral anticoagulants', 'DOAC', 'DOACs', 'NOAC', 'NOACs', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulant', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify). | examined: “DU-176b Phase 2 Dose Finding Study in Subjects With Non-valvular Atrial Fibrillation Atria…” |
| NCT05006287 | nct | include | INCLUDE | RCT of dabigatran vs warfarin in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…y After Cardiac Surgery Atrial Fibrillation”; comparator “…icoagulants Compared to Warfarin Early After Cardiac Sur…” |
| NCT00829933 | nct | exclude | X3 | the randomised intervention is not ['dabigatran', 'rivaroxaban', 'apixaban', 'edoxaban', 'direct oral anticoagulant', 'direct oral anticoagulants', 'DOAC', 'DOACs', 'NOAC', 'NOACs', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulant', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify). | examined: “Late Phase 2 Study of DU-176b in Patients With Non-Valvular Atrial Fibrillation Atrial Fib…” |
| NCT06401616 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'left atrial appendage'. | …AC) Atrial Fibrillation Left Atrial Appendage Absent Anticoagulant Ad… |
| ATIS-NVAF · NCT03062319 | nct | exclude | X3 | the randomised intervention is not ['dabigatran', 'rivaroxaban', 'apixaban', 'edoxaban', 'direct oral anticoagulant', 'direct oral anticoagulants', 'DOAC', 'DOACs', 'NOAC', 'NOACs', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulant', 'non-vitamin K antagonist oral anticoagulants'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify). | examined: “Optimal Antithrombotic Therapy in Ischemic Stroke Patients with Non-Valvular Atrial Fibril…” |
Controls
- Positive: Recovered & included the canonical trials ['19717844', '21830957', '21870978'] that a comparator includes; none missed.
- Negative: Cross-topic trial(s) ['23991661'] recovered by the search and correctly EXCLUDED ['23991661'] by rule (same drug/design, wrong topic).
Results
Stroke or systemic embolism (primary)
| Estimand | mixed (HR/RR) |
|---|---|
| Analysis population | intention-to-treat |
| Timepoint | trial end |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| k | 4 |
| Pooled effect | 0.81 (mixed (HR/RR)), 95% CI 0.66–0.98 |
| Prediction interval | 0.58–1.13 |
| τ² | 0.01 |
| Leave-one-out (influence) | estimate ranges 0.78–0.85 across single-trial drops; most influential: 19717844. each row drops one trial and re-pools; a stable estimate across drops = no single trial drives it. |
k = 4: the 4 trial(s) named below were pooled; 4 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 21830957 | PMID 21830957 | 0.88 (HR), 95% CI 0.74–1.03 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): In the intention-to-treat analysis, the primary end point occurred in 269 patients in the rivaroxaban group (2.1% per year) and in 306 patients in the warfarin group (2.4% per year) (hazard ratio, 0.8 |
| 19717844 | PMID 19717844 | 0.66 (RR), 95% CI 0.53–0.82 | ✓ verified against source RE-LY, verbatim: '... in the group that received 150 mg of dabigatran (relative risk, 0.66; 95% CI, 0.53 to 0.82; P<0.001 for superiority)'. Pre-specified approved-dose rule: the 150 mg regimen is the marketed dose; the abstract's first-mentioned 110 mg arm (RR 0.91) is the lower dose and is not the review's pooled comparison. |
| 24251359 | PMID 24251359 | 0.87 (HR), 95% CI 0.74–1.02 | ✓ verified against source ENGAGE AF-TIMI 48, verbatim (intention-to-treat, matching the ITT basis of ROCKET-AF and ARISTOTLE in this pool): '... there was a trend favoring high-dose edoxaban versus warfarin (hazard ratio, 0.87; 97.5% CI, 0.73 to 1.04; P=0.08)'. Pre-specified approved-dose rule: the 60 mg higher-dose regimen is the marketed dose; the 30 mg low-dose arm is not pooled. [CI CONVERTED: source reports HR 0.87 with a 97.5% CI 0.73-1.04 (multiplicity-adjusted for the two edoxaban doses); converted to a 95% CI 0.745-1.016 (SE=0.079 from the 97.5% bounds, z=2.2414) so it pools on the same 95% basis as the other trials. Cycle 75 audit.] |
| 21870978 | PMID 21870978 | 0.79 (HR), 95% CI 0.66–0.95 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The rate of the primary outcome was 1.27% per year in the apixaban group, as compared with 1.60% per year in the warfarin group (hazard ratio with apixaban, 0.79; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.66 to |
| NCT00504556 | NCT00504556 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| ORGANON | NCT02935855 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| SoSTART | NCT03153150 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| NCT05006287 | NCT05006287 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Harms
Major bleeding
| Estimand | HR |
|---|---|
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| k | 2 |
| Pooled effect | 0.75 (HR), 95% CI 0.29–1.91 |
| Prediction interval | 0.19–2.95 |
| τ² | 0.01 |
| Leave-one-out (influence) | not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k>=3) |
k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 24251359 | PMID 24251359 | 0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.71–0.91 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The annualized rate of major bleeding was 3.43% with warfarin versus 2.75% with high-dose edoxaban (hazard ratio, 0.80; 95% CI, 0.71 to 0.91; P<0.001) and 1.61% with low-dose edoxaban (hazard ratio, 0 |
| 21870978 | PMID 21870978 | 0.69 (HR), 95% CI 0.6–0.8 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The rate of major bleeding was 2.13% per year in the apixaban group, as compared with 3.09% per year in the warfarin group (hazard ratio, 0.69; 95% CI, 0.60 to 0.80; P<0.001), and the rates of death f |
| 21830957 | PMID 21830957 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 19717844 | PMID 19717844 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| NCT00504556 | NCT00504556 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| ORGANON | NCT02935855 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| SoSTART | NCT03153150 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| NCT05006287 | NCT05006287 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Comparator
| Published comparator | Direct Oral Anticoagulants Versus Warfarin in Patients With Atrial Fibrillation: Patient-Level Network Meta-Analyses of Randomized Clinical Trials With Interaction Testing by Age and Sex. (2022), Circulation |
|---|---|
| Identifier | PMID 34985309 |
| Open access | True |
| URL | https://doi.org/10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.121.056355 |
Stroke or systemic embolism: 0.81 (HR), 95% CI 0.74–0.89
Major bleeding: 0.86 (HR), 95% CI 0.74–1.01
Scope match (is this the same question?)
✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.
Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)
| k in this review (our own search) | 4 |
|---|---|
| k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted) | not stated in the comparator abstract/full text |
| Shared trials | not exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed) |
| Only in ours | |
| Only in theirs | |
| Overlap method | publication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source) |
| Note | Trials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted. |
The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.
Risk of bias
Coverage: 3 of 4 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (24251359) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.
| Trial | Funding | Scanned | Verbatim statement |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 21830957 | industry | abstract only | oxaban group. (Funded by Johnson & Johnson and Bayer; ROCKET AF ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT00403767.). |
| PMID 24251359 | industry | abstract only | cular causes. (Funded by Daiichi Sankyo Pharma Development; ENGAGE AF-TIMI 48 ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT00781391.). |
| PMID 21870978 | industry | abstract only | er mortality. (Funded by Bristol-Myers Squibb and Pfizer; ARISTOTLE ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT00412984.). |
| PMID 19717844 | not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved) | abstract only |
Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.
| Trial | Overall | D1 randomisation | D2 deviations/blinding | D3 missing data | D4 measurement | D5 selective reporting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 19717844 | some concerns | low | not assessed | low | not assessed | some concerns |
| 21830957 | some concerns | low | low | some concerns | low | low |
| 21870978 | some concerns | low | some concerns | some concerns | some concerns | low |
| 24251359 | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed |
Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)
| Stratum | Re-pooled estimate |
|---|---|
| Full pool (all pooled trials) | k=4, HR 0.8069 [0.6611, 0.985] |
| Low risk of bias only | — (not informative — see coverage) |
GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)
| Domain | Effect on certainty | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Risk of bias | −1 | 3 of 3 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 3 of 4 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped |
| Inconsistency | not downgraded | tau^2=0.00741; prediction interval not markedly wider than the CI |
| Imprecision | not downgraded | 95% CI [0.6611, 0.985] |
| Indirectness | human judgement | directness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO) |
| Publication bias (registry-based) | −1 | registry census: 83 of ~227 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 37%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot -> downgraded |
Manuscript
Abstract
Question. In adults with non-valvular atrial fibrillation, do direct oral anticoagulants versus warfarin reduce stroke or systemic embolism? Pairwise direct comparison only, not network synthesis.
Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 38478f5e060a); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (35 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.
Results. Pooling 4 trials gave mixed (HR/RR) 0.81 (95% CI 0.66 to 0.98), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.58 to 1.13. 4 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).
Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).
Methods
This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).
Results
Pooling 4 trials gave mixed (HR/RR) 0.81 (95% CI 0.66 to 0.98), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.58 to 1.13.
Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 3 of 4 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.
Limitations
This synthesis is limited in that risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage); the trial registry shows unpublished completed trials (possible publication bias). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.
Data availability & reproduction
The committed cache, protocol (SHA 38478f5e060a) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:
python scripts/build_topic.py noac-vs-warfarin-af-stroke
Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.
Reporting (PRISMA)
Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.
| PRISMA 2020 item | Status | Where / why |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Eligibility criteria | ✓ present | Protocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced. |
| 6 Information sources + dates | ✓ present | Search tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks. |
| 7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source | ✓ present | Search tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable. |
| 8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement) | ✓ present | Two independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 8.6% (3/35); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. |
| 9 Data collection process | ✓ present | Results tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity. |
| 15 Certainty assessment | ✓ present | Results tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE. |
| 16a Flow with counts at every stage | ✓ present | Screening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent. |
| 16b Exclusions with reasons | ✓ present | Screening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span. |
| 24a-c Registration & protocol | ✓ present | Protocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 38478f5e06, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object. |
Reproducibility
| Reproduction census failures | 0 |
|---|---|
| Re-run from registration SHA | 38478f5e060a9d63bcb073cb652d0e6f70d27c58 |
| Content hash (review core) | fc8488af98ea3a02a876a0f512e38ec46964f5cceb8e3a989fc4dc9e49769c7d |
| Replayed offline from committed cache | True |
Parity with the published comparator
Our pooled k = 4 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 4 — PARITY. CLOSED to parity: ENGAGE-AF added + RE-LY switched to the approved 150 mg dose, via a documented pre-specified approved-dose rule (dabigatran 150 mg RR 0.66; edoxaban 60 mg ITT HR 0.87), both verified against source. Pooled RR 0.805 (0.658-0.984). Pairwise subset of the DOAC-vs-warfarin evidence; matches the comparable comparator k=4.
Independent second extraction (blind)
Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 4 of 5 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 4 same-result-different-statistic, 1 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.
Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)
Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.
| Trial | What was verified | Why it was not pooled |
|---|---|---|
| ENGAGE AF-TIMI 48 (PMID 24251359) | stroke/SE located: high-dose edoxaban HR 0.79 (on-treatment) and HR 0.87 (intention-to-treat), both with 97.5% CIs; low-dose 1.07/1.13 | multi-dose (high/low) AND multi-analysis (on-treatment vs ITT) AND non-95% (97.5%) CIs. Which arm/analysis to pool is not unambiguous, and mixing a 97.5% CI into a 95%-CI pool is a subtle error; refused pending a pre-specified dose+analysis rule rather than pick one to reach parity. |
| RE-LY (PMID 22343711 dose note) | we pool dabigatran 110 mg stroke/SE RR 0.91 | (refinement, not a refusal) 150 mg is the primary licensed stroke-prevention dose (RR 0.66); the arm choice should be pinned by a pre-specified rule. The 110 mg value is real and verified, but a dose-selection rule is queued. |