Overview
Intravenous iron vs placebo or standard care for heart-failure hospitalization in HFrEF with iron deficiency
In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction and iron deficiency, does intravenous iron reduce heart-failure hospitalization versus placebo or standard care?
Primary outcome
| Outcome | Heart-failure hospitalization |
|---|---|
| Estimand | mixed (HR/IRR) |
| Trials pooled (k) | 2 — 40159390 (PMID 40159390); 25176939 (PMID 25176939) |
| Screened-in → pooled | 8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 2 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 6 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome). |
| Pooled effect | 0.61 (mixed (HR/IRR)), 95% CI 0.01–51.59 |
| Prediction interval | 0–640.63 |
| Between-study τ² | 0.18 |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
Transparency (independently checkable)
27 of 27 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 2 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).
Stated limitations
- Small k on many topics. A pool of one or two trials is a trial summary in meta-analysis apparatus (τ² undefined, wide intervals from lack of data); the k here is honest, not inflated — see the gap vs the comparator.
- Open-access comparator only. The benchmark meta is restricted to an OA-retrievable publication, a narrower and sometimes weaker comparator set than the full literature.
- Favourable topic sample. Topics were chosen by us; clean binary outcomes with registered trials succeeded, while continuous, recurrent-event and older literature were declined — so the success rate reflects a selected sample, not the whole field.
- Risk of bias is partial. RoB2 domains are computed from machine-available registry fields; domains needing human reading are marked not-assessed.
- Registry snapshot is dated. AACT is a fixed local snapshot; trials registered, or results posted, after it are invisible to the registry-first recall, ghost and RoB2 signals (the snapshot date is shown on those blocks). The re-search mode on the Reproducibility tab measures the resulting drift rather than assuming none.
- Dual screening is not fully independent. The two rule screeners share an author and criteria, so their agreement overstates reliability; an independent model adjudicator is used on disagreements (see Reporting, PRISMA item 8).
- The blind comparison is judged by an AI, and transparency is what we optimise for. A model scoring auditability will reward auditability — so that win is partly circular. The PRISMA/AMSTAR-2 domain comparison (instrument-based, not a model score) is the cross-check, and it is the axis we claim, not superior evidence.
Protocol
| Registration (protocol commit SHA) | a56039f46158272c40c9565150903cf87db37c3c |
|---|---|
| Committed (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
| Declared analysis method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| Eligibility (P/I/C/design) | Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['heart failure']; and none of ['preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'chronic obstructive pulmonary disease', 'COPD', 'pulmonary hypertension', 'dialysis', 'haemodialysis', 'hemodialysis', 'postpartum', 'pregnancy', 'inflammatory bowel disease', 'restless legs']; randomised intervention is one of ['ferric carboxymaltose', 'ferric derisomaltose', 'iron sucrose'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'control', 'no treatment']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator. |
# Protocol - intravenous iron for heart-failure hospitalization in HFrEF with iron deficiency
**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. The protocol is committed before the synthesis is run.
## PICO
- **P** - adults with heart failure with reduced or mildly reduced ejection fraction and iron deficiency.
- **I** - intravenous iron, including ferric carboxymaltose, ferric derisomaltose, or iron sucrose.
- **C** - placebo, usual care, standard care, or no-treatment control.
- **O (primary)** - heart-failure hospitalization at trial end / longest reported follow-up.
- **O (harms)** - injection-site/administration-site reactions; hypersensitivity reactions.
## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - risk ratio (RR), intravenous iron vs placebo/standard care.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomized.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest reported follow-up.
## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomized controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is heart failure with reduced or mildly reduced ejection fraction and iron deficiency;
- **I3** - intravenous iron vs placebo, usual care, standard care, or no-treatment control;
- **design** - placebo-controlled or standard-care-controlled RCT; double blinding is not required.
Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (for example HFpEF, COPD, pulmonary hypertension, dialysis, pregnancy/postpartum, inflammatory bowel disease, or restless legs);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no intravenous iron vs eligible control contrast);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another disease area in this set (negative control).
> Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether a trial reports heart-failure
> hospitalization, or gives a 2x2 vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as target-result
> status at extraction - never as an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a
> poolable input. Composite cardiovascular-death/heart-failure-hospitalization effects
> are not treated as standalone heart-failure hospitalization for the primary outcome.
## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/iv-iron-hfref-hosp/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: targeted primary-report searches for FAIR-HF2, AFFIRM-AHF, and IRONMAN.
- PubMed comparator-reference seeding: trials cited by the resolved comparator are fetched and screened by the same rules.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "heart failure reduced ejection fraction iron deficiency", intervention "intravenous iron".
## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a
study only if it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs
metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).
## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Parmananda et al., *Diseases* 2024, "The Efficacy and Safety of Ferric
Carboxymaltose in Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction and Iron Deficiency:
An Updated Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials"
(PMID 39727669, PMC11727542, DOI 10.3390/diseases12120339; Unpaywall is_oa=true).
It reports total HF hospitalizations OR 0.59 (95% CI 0.40 to 0.88) over six RCTs,
plus serious adverse events and qualitative angioedema/hypersensitivity detail.
## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover FAIR-HF2 (PMID 40159390), AFFIRM-AHF
(PMID 33197395), and IRONMAN (PMID 36347265).
- **Negative** - the COPD intravenous-iron RCT (PMID 32565444) must be recovered
and EXCLUDED as wrong population.
Search
| Records retrieved | 39 |
|---|---|
| Databases / sources | PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Committed cache | cache/iv-iron-hfref-hosp/records.json |
| Run (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
Source status (which adapters ran)
Citation chase: NOT_RUN · ClinicalTrials.gov: RAN_OK · Europe PMC (OA + metadata): RAN_OK · PMC full text: NOT_RUN · PubMed: RAN_OK · Registry-first (AACT): NOT_RUN — RAN_OK = ran and returned records; RAN_ZERO = ran, none matched; RAN_ERROR = attempted but failed; NOT_RUN = not attempted for this topic.
PubMed
FAIR-HF2 JAMA 2025 randomized clinical trial ferric carboxymaltose
AFFIRM-AHF ferric carboxymaltose acute heart failure Lancet 2020
10.1016/S0140-6736(22)02083-9
ClinicalTrials.gov
{"cond": "heart failure reduced ejection fraction iron deficiency", "intr": "intravenous iron"}Screening
Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)
| Stage | n |
|---|---|
| Records identified (committed search) | 39 |
| Records screened (deduplicated) | 39 |
| Excluded at screening — by rule | 31 (X1 24 · X2 2 · X3 5) |
| Met eligibility (P/I/C/design) | 8 |
| Pooled in the primary outcome (k) | 2 |
| Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent) | 6 |
Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).
Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)
Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 39 records: agreement 37/39, disagreement 5.1% (2 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.
Trial integrity: none of the 2 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:08Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).
39 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.
| Record | Type | Decision | Rule | Reason (true of the record) | Verbatim span (from the record) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…erric Carboxymaltose in Heart Failure With Iron Deficiency: T…”; comparator “…a were met) vs a saline placebo (n = 547). MAIN OUTCOME…” |
| 33197395 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…t discharge after acute heart failure: a multicentre, double-…”; comparator “…ymaltose, compared with placebo, on outcomes in patient…” |
| 36347265 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…altose in patients with heart failure and iron deficiency in…”; comparator “…ferric derisomaltose or usual care, stratified by recruitm…” |
| 32565444 | pmid | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'chronic obstructive pulmonary disease'. | Intravenous iron and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: a randomised controlle… |
| 39727669 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39727669). | publication types: Journal Article, Review |
| 37632463 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…erric Carboxymaltose in Heart Failure with Iron Deficiency.”; comparator “…erric carboxymaltose or placebo, in addition to standar…” |
| 37380069 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37380069). | publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article |
| 36688211 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36688211). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 36673114 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36673114). | publication types: Journal Article, Review |
| 36178088 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36178088). | publication types: Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Journal Article |
| 35788564 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35788564). | publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural |
| 35363499 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35363499). | publication types: Journal Article, Review, Practice Guideline |
| 35011874 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35011874). | publication types: Journal Article, Review |
| 34080008 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…ent patients with acute heart failure: the results of the AFF…”; comparator “…arboxymaltose (FCM) vs. placebo on HRQoL for the AFFIRM…” |
| 33781348 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33781348). | publication types: Guideline, Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't |
| 33755777 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33755777). | publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis |
| 33586856 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33586856). | publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review |
| 32965803 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32965803). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 31462531 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31462531). | publication types: Journal Article, Comment |
| 29128254 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29128254). | publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review |
| 28919117 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28919117). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 28701470 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28701470). | publication types: Clinical Trial, Journal Article, Multicenter Study |
| 26061376 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 26061376). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 25176939 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…tients with symptomatic heart failure and iron deficiency†.”; comparator “…i-centre, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial that e…” |
| 23537975 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 23537975). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 22348897 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 22348897). | publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review |
| 21903058 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 21903058). | publication types: Journal Article |
| 20570952 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 20570952). | publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't |
| 19920054 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…altose in patients with heart failure and iron deficiency.”; comparator “…boxymaltose) or saline (placebo). The primary end point…” |
| 18191732 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of ferric carboxymaltose vs placebo in heart failure; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…ith symptomatic chronic heart failure and iron deficiency FER…”; comparator “…ERRIC-HF: a randomized, controlled, observer-blinded tr…” |
| 16979010 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 16979010). | publication types: Clinical Trial, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't |
| Iron Turtle · NCT03079518 | nct | exclude | X3 | no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'control', 'no treatment']). | examined: “Intravenous Iron in paTients With Heart failURe and Reduced Ejection fracTion (HFREF) pLus…” |
| IRONICA · NCT07053475 | nct | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'preserved ejection fraction'. | …rEF) Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction (HFPEF) Iron Deficiency… |
| IRONHEART · NCT06542822 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: IRONHEART). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| iCHF-2 · NCT03991000 | nct | exclude | X3 | no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'control', 'no treatment']). | examined: “Iron in Patients With Cardiovascular Disease Cardiovascular Diseases Anemia, Iron-deficien…” |
| IronSucroseHF · NCT06703411 | nct | exclude | X3 | no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'control', 'no treatment']). | examined: “Intravenous Iron Sucrose for Acute Decompensated Heart Failure Patients With Reduced Eject…” |
| RESAFE · NCT04974021 | nct | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: RESAFE). | publication types: (no publication types) |
| IronEx · NCT03803111 | nct | exclude | X3 | no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard of care', 'control', 'no treatment']). | examined: “Effects of Iron Therapy and Exercise Training in Patients With Heart Failure and Iron Defi…” |
| COMBINED-HF · NCT06434025 | nct | exclude | X3 | the randomised intervention is not ['ferric carboxymaltose', 'ferric derisomaltose', 'iron sucrose'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify). | examined: “IV Iron and SGLT2 Inhibitor on Ventricular Function and Myocardial Iron Content in Heart F…” |
Controls
- Positive: Recovered & included the canonical trials ['40159390', '33197395', '36347265'] that a comparator includes; none missed.
- Negative: Cross-topic trial(s) ['32565444'] recovered by the search and correctly EXCLUDED ['32565444'] by rule (same drug/design, wrong topic).
Results
| Trial | Outcome | Finding | Resolution |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | Heart-failure hospitalization | Total (recurrent) HF hospitalizations = rate ratio. | ALREADY DISCLOSED (labelled IRR / mixed scale) |
Heart-failure hospitalization (primary)
| Estimand | mixed (HR/IRR) |
|---|---|
| Analysis population | intention-to-treat |
| Timepoint | trial end / longest reported follow-up |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| k | 2 |
| Pooled effect | 0.61 (mixed (HR/IRR)), 95% CI 0.01–51.59 |
| Prediction interval | 0–640.63 |
| τ² | 0.18 |
| Leave-one-out (influence) | not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k>=3) |
k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | PMID 40159390 | 0.8 (IRR), 95% CI 0.6–1.06 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (IRR): The second primary outcome (total heart failure hospitalizations) occurred 264 times in the ferric carboxymaltose group vs 320 times in the placebo group (rate ratio, 0.80 [95% CI, 0.60-1.06]; P = .12 |
| 25176939 | PMID 25176939 | 0.39 (HR), 95% CI 0.19–0.82 | ✓ verified against source CONFIRM-HF full text (PMC4359359, Table 2 + Results): 'Hospitalizations due to worsening HF ... 10 10 (7.6) ... 32 25 (19.4) ... 0.39 (0.19-0.82) ... 0.009' and 'Treatment with FCM was associated with a significant reduction in the risk of hospitalization due to worsening HF with a time-to-event analysis returning an HR of 0.39 with a 95% CI of (0.19-0.82) (P = 0.009)'. First-event (time-to-event) HR: 10 vs 25 patients with >=1 HF hospitalization. |
| 33197395 | PMID 33197395 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 36347265 | PMID 36347265 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 37632463 | PMID 37632463 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 34080008 | PMID 34080008 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 19920054 | PMID 19920054 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 18191732 | PMID 18191732 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Harms
Injection-site reactions
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | PMID 40159390 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 33197395 | PMID 33197395 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 36347265 | PMID 36347265 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 37632463 | PMID 37632463 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 34080008 | PMID 34080008 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 25176939 | PMID 25176939 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 19920054 | PMID 19920054 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 18191732 | PMID 18191732 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Hypersensitivity reactions
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | PMID 40159390 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 33197395 | PMID 33197395 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 36347265 | PMID 36347265 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 37632463 | PMID 37632463 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 34080008 | PMID 34080008 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 25176939 | PMID 25176939 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 19920054 | PMID 19920054 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 18191732 | PMID 18191732 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Comparator
| Published comparator | The Efficacy and Safety of Ferric Carboxymaltose in Heart Failure with Reduced Ejection Fraction and Iron Deficiency: An Updated Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. (2024), Diseases |
|---|---|
| Identifier | PMID 39727669 |
| Open access | True |
| URL | https://doi.org/10.3390/diseases12120339 |
Total HF hospitalizations: 0.59 (OR), 95% CI 0.4–0.88
Serious adverse events: 0.73 (OR), 95% CI 0.49–1.1
Scope match (is this the same question?)
✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.
Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)
| k in this review (our own search) | 2 |
|---|---|
| k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted) | 6 |
| Shared trials | not exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed) |
| Only in ours | 40159390 |
| Only in theirs | |
| Overlap method | publication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source) |
| Note | Trials newer than the comparator (2024) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted. |
The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.
Risk of bias
Coverage: 1 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (25176939) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.
| Trial | Funding | Scanned | Verbatim statement |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 40159390 | not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved) | abstract only | |
| PMID 25176939 | not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved) | abstract only |
Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.
| Trial | Overall | D1 randomisation | D2 deviations/blinding | D3 missing data | D4 measurement | D5 selective reporting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 40159390 | some concerns | low | some concerns | not assessed | low | low |
| 25176939 | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed | not assessed |
Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)
| Stratum | Re-pooled estimate |
|---|---|
| Full pool (all pooled trials) | k=2, RR 0.6064 [0.0071, 51.5861] |
| Low risk of bias only | — (not informative — see coverage) |
GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)
| Domain | Effect on certainty | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Risk of bias | −1 | 1 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 1 of 2 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped |
| Inconsistency | −1 | tau^2=0.17798; prediction interval [0.0006, 640.6305] is >=2x the CI width -> real heterogeneity |
| Imprecision | −1 | 95% CI [0.0071, 51.5861]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect |
| Indirectness | human judgement | directness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO) |
| Publication bias (registry-based) | not downgraded | no registry ghost census available for this topic |
Manuscript
Abstract
Question. In adults with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction and iron deficiency, does intravenous iron reduce heart-failure hospitalization versus placebo or standard care?
Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA a56039f46158); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (39 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.
Results. Pooling 2 trials gave mixed (HR/IRR) 0.61 (95% CI 0.01 to 51.59), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0 to 640.63. 6 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).
Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was very low (from 3 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).
Methods
This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA a56039f46158) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).
Results
Pooling 2 trials gave mixed (HR/IRR) 0.61 (95% CI 0.01 to 51.59), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0 to 640.63.
Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.
Limitations
This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); between-trial heterogeneity was detected (inconsistency); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.
Data availability & reproduction
The committed cache, protocol (SHA a56039f46158) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:
python scripts/build_topic.py iv-iron-hfref-hosp
Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.
Reporting (PRISMA)
Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.
| PRISMA 2020 item | Status | Where / why |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Eligibility criteria | ✓ present | Protocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced. |
| 6 Information sources + dates | ✓ present | Search tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks. |
| 7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source | ✓ present | Search tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable. |
| 8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement) | ✓ present | Two independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 5.1% (2/39); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. |
| 9 Data collection process | ✓ present | Results tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity. |
| 15 Certainty assessment | ✓ present | Results tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE. |
| 16a Flow with counts at every stage | ✓ present | Screening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent. |
| 16b Exclusions with reasons | ✓ present | Screening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span. |
| 24a-c Registration & protocol | ✓ present | Protocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA a56039f461, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object. |
Reproducibility
| Reproduction census failures | 0 |
|---|---|
| Re-run from registration SHA | a56039f46158272c40c9565150903cf87db37c3c |
| Content hash (review core) | 451467c498dc5a4baea8ea653674594665420a9c3165146c51e12a94786f4221 |
| Replayed offline from committed cache | True |
Parity with the published comparator
Our pooled k = 2 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 3 — NEAR. 2/3. Gap = HEART-FID + AFFIRM-AHF, refused on estimand: CT.gov labels HEART-FID heart-failure hospitalizations as COUNT_OF_PARTICIPANTS (297/1532 vs 332/1533) but the publication says "297 hospitalizations" = RECURRENT EVENTS, not patients — pooling the CT.gov count as a binary would produce a wrong number, so the recurrent-event guard refuses it. FAIR-HF = no extractable data; EFFECT-HF = open-label (design-excluded). CONFIRM-HF recovered.
Independent second extraction (blind)
Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 0 of 0 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 1 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.
Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)
Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.
| Trial | What was verified | Why it was not pooled |
|---|---|---|
| AFFIRM-AHF (PMID 33197395), HEART-FID (PMID 37632463), IRONMAN (PMID 36347265) | total HF hospitalisations located (e.g. AFFIRM-AHF 217 vs 294) | these are RECURRENT-EVENT totals (rate ratios), not patients-with->=1-event; pooling them as a binomial 2x2 would over-count. Estimand mismatch with the count-based pool. |
| FAIR-HF (PMID 19920054), EFFECT-HF (PMID 28701470) | abstracts fetched | FAIR-HF reports only PGA/NYHA (no HF-hospitalisation counts); EFFECT-HF is open-label with peak-VO2 as primary and no HF-hospitalisation result. Named data/outcome gaps. |