Overview
GLP-1 receptor agonists vs placebo for 3-point MACE in type 2 diabetes
In adults with type 2 diabetes, do GLP-1 receptor agonists reduce 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)
Primary outcome
| Outcome | 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events |
|---|---|
| Estimand | HR |
| Trials pooled (k) | 7 — 31185157 (PMID 31185157); 27633186 (PMID 27633186); 27295427 (PMID 27295427); 34215025 (PMID 34215025); 31189511 (PMID 31189511); 30291013 (PMID 30291013); 28910237 (PMID 28910237) |
| Screened-in → pooled | 8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 7 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 1 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome). |
| Pooled effect | 0.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.79–0.91 |
| Prediction interval | 0.77–0.94 |
| Between-study τ² | 0 |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
Transparency (independently checkable)
33 of 33 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).
Stated limitations
- Small k on many topics. A pool of one or two trials is a trial summary in meta-analysis apparatus (τ² undefined, wide intervals from lack of data); the k here is honest, not inflated — see the gap vs the comparator.
- Open-access comparator only. The benchmark meta is restricted to an OA-retrievable publication, a narrower and sometimes weaker comparator set than the full literature.
- Favourable topic sample. Topics were chosen by us; clean binary outcomes with registered trials succeeded, while continuous, recurrent-event and older literature were declined — so the success rate reflects a selected sample, not the whole field.
- Risk of bias is partial. RoB2 domains are computed from machine-available registry fields; domains needing human reading are marked not-assessed.
- Registry snapshot is dated. AACT is a fixed local snapshot; trials registered, or results posted, after it are invisible to the registry-first recall, ghost and RoB2 signals (the snapshot date is shown on those blocks). The re-search mode on the Reproducibility tab measures the resulting drift rather than assuming none.
- Dual screening is not fully independent. The two rule screeners share an author and criteria, so their agreement overstates reliability; an independent model adjudicator is used on disagreements (see Reporting, PRISMA item 8).
- The blind comparison is judged by an AI, and transparency is what we optimise for. A model scoring auditability will reward auditability — so that win is partly circular. The PRISMA/AMSTAR-2 domain comparison (instrument-based, not a model score) is the cross-check, and it is the axis we claim, not superior evidence.
Protocol
| Registration (protocol commit SHA) | 4091958ce4af7f1ca9ed4c30e1021672b0c21223 |
|---|---|
| Committed (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
| Declared analysis method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| Eligibility (P/I/C/design) | Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['type 2 diabetes', 'type 2 diabetic', 'type 2 diabetes mellitus', 'diabetes mellitus, type 2', 't2d', 't2dm']; and none of ['without diabetes', 'no diabetes', 'obesity without diabetes', 'overweight or obesity but without diabetes', 'type 1 diabetes', 'gestational diabetes']; randomised intervention is one of ['liraglutide', 'semaglutide', 'dulaglutide', 'albiglutide', 'efpeglenatide', 'exenatide', 'lixisenatide'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator. |
# Protocol - GLP-1 receptor agonists for 3-point MACE in type 2 diabetes
**Registration.** The commit that adds this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.
## PICO
- **P** - adults with type 2 diabetes.
- **I** - GLP-1 receptor agonist therapy (liraglutide, semaglutide, dulaglutide,
albiglutide, efpeglenatide, exenatide, or lixisenatide) added to usual care.
- **C** - placebo added to usual care.
- **O (primary)** - 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events, defined as cardiovascular
death, nonfatal myocardial infarction, or nonfatal stroke.
- **O (harms / secondary)** - gastrointestinal adverse events, discontinuation for adverse
events, and any further harm outcome the resolved comparator reports.
## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR), GLP-1 receptor agonist vs placebo.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest primary cardiovascular outcome follow-up.
## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is adults with type 2 diabetes, judged from the title or registry
conditions;
- **I3** - a GLP-1 receptor agonist vs placebo contrast;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.
Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. obesity without diabetes, type 1 diabetes, or gestational
diabetes);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no GLP-1 receptor agonist-vs-placebo contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative control).
> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports 3-point MACE, or gives
> a 2x2 vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as target-result status at extraction - never as
> an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a poolable input.
## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/search.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: exact-title sweeps for the large GLP-1 receptor agonist cardiovascular outcome
trials in type 2 diabetes (LEADER, SUSTAIN-6, REWIND, HARMONY Outcomes, AMPLITUDE-O,
PIONEER-6, EXSCEL, and ELIXA).
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "type 2 diabetes cardiovascular", intervention
"efpeglenatide".
- Fixed-screen note: several PubMed abstracts for verified double-blind CVOTs do not use
the literal phrase "double-blind"; the config therefore does not require that literal
abstract/title string, while the protocol eligibility criterion remains double-blind
placebo-controlled design.
## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs
metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6). For this topic, the poolable input is the published HR + 95% CI
path on the same ratio/log scale; 2x2 extraction is available but is not required when a
trial reports an HR + CI.
## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Giugliano et al., *Cardiovascular Diabetology* 2021, "GLP-1 receptor agonists and
cardiorenal outcomes in type 2 diabetes: an updated meta-analysis of eight CVOTs" (PMID
34526024, DOI 10.1186/s12933-021-01366-8; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PubMed Central
PMC8442438). It reports pooled MACE HR 0.86 (95% CI 0.79-0.94) over 8 cardiovascular
outcome trials.
## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include LEADER, SUSTAIN-6, and REWIND.
- **Negative** - SELECT (semaglutide, double-blind, placebo-controlled, but obesity without
diabetes - another disease population) must be recovered and EXCLUDED by the population
rule.
Search
| Records retrieved | 10 |
|---|---|
| Databases / sources | PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov |
| Committed cache | cache/glp1-ra-mace-t2d/records.json |
| Run (UTC) | 2026-09-11 |
Source status (which adapters ran)
Citation chase: NOT_RUN · ClinicalTrials.gov: RAN_OK · Europe PMC (OA + metadata): RAN_OK · PMC full text: NOT_RUN · PubMed: RAN_OK · Registry-first (AACT): RAN_OK — RAN_OK = ran and returned records; RAN_ZERO = ran, none matched; RAN_ERROR = attempted but failed; NOT_RUN = not attempted for this topic.
Registry-first recall (reach)
Registry-first RECALL: recovered 6/7 of this topic's known trials (enumerated 708; status RAN_OK). Reachable ceiling 7/7: 1 trial(s) are registered but not enumerated by the committed query (registry vocabulary limit — improvable). Missed: 30291013. Measured 2026-09-11T23:39:14Z. Recall is search REACH; whether a recovered trial is eligible/poolable is the screen's and extractor's job — a candidate is not an include.
Registry landscape & unpublished evidence (AACT)
Of 708 registry records matching the query (broad — reach, not precision): 397 have a linked publication; 62 have posted CT.gov results but no publication (poolable unpublished data no published meta in this topic has); 118 are completed ≥12 months ago with neither results nor a linked publication — a loose upper bound on non-publication, inflated by the broad enumeration and by NCT→PMID linkage misses, not a publication-bias claim. AACT 2026-08-30 (local snapshot).
PubMed
27295427[uid] OR 27633186[uid] OR 31185157[uid]
31189511[uid] OR 30291013[uid] OR 34215025[uid]
28910237[uid] OR 26630143[uid]
ClinicalTrials.gov
{"cond": "type 2 diabetes cardiovascular", "intr": "efpeglenatide"}Screening
Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)
| Stage | n |
|---|---|
| Records identified (committed search) | 10 |
| Records screened (deduplicated) | 10 |
| Excluded at screening — by rule | 2 (X1 1 · X2 1) |
| Met eligibility (P/I/C/design) | 8 |
| Pooled in the primary outcome (k) | 7 |
| Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent) | 1 |
Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).
Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)
Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 10 records: agreement 10/10, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.
Trial integrity: none of the 7 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:08Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).
10 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.
| Record | Type | Decision | Rule | Reason (true of the record) | Verbatim span (from the record) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31185157 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…tcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial involv…” |
| 27633186 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…tcomes in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…e (0.5 mg or 1.0 mg) or placebo for 104 weeks. The prim…” |
| 27295427 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…diovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…receive liraglutide or placebo. The primary composite…” |
| 34215025 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…s with Efpeglenatide in Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…DS: In this randomized, placebo-controlled trial conduc…” |
| 31189511 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…diovascular outcomes in type 2 diabetes (REWIND): a double-blin…”; comparator “…ouble-blind, randomised placebo-controlled trial. BACKG…” |
| 30291013 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…tcomes in patients with type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular dise…”; comparator “…ouble-blind, randomised placebo-controlled trial. BACKG…” |
| 28910237 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…diovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…ose of 2 mg or matching placebo once weekly. The primar…” |
| 26630143 | pmid | include | INCLUDE | RCT of liraglutide vs placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met. | population “…natide in Patients with Type 2 Diabetes and Acute Coronary Synd…”; comparator “…receive lixisenatide or placebo in addition to locally…” |
| 37952131 | pmid | exclude | X2 | wrong population: title/conditions mention 'without diabetes'. | …lar Outcomes in Obesity without Diabetes. |
| 34526024 | pmid | exclude | X1 | not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34526024). | publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review |
Controls
- Positive: Recovered & included the canonical trials ['27295427', '27633186', '31189511'] that a comparator includes; none missed.
- Negative: Cross-topic trial(s) ['37952131'] recovered by the search and correctly EXCLUDED ['37952131'] by rule (same drug/design, wrong topic).
Results
3-point major adverse cardiovascular events (primary)
| Estimand | HR |
|---|---|
| Analysis population | intention-to-treat |
| Timepoint | trial end |
| Method | Random-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1. |
| k | 7 |
| Pooled effect | 0.85 (HR), 95% CI 0.79–0.91 |
| Prediction interval | 0.77–0.94 |
| τ² | 0 |
| Leave-one-out (influence) | estimate ranges 0.83–0.87 across single-trial drops; most influential: 28910237. each row drops one trial and re-pools; a stable estimate across drops = no single trial drives it. |
k = 7: the 7 trial(s) named below were pooled; 1 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31185157 | PMID 31185157 | 0.79 (HR), 95% CI 0.57–1.11 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): Major adverse cardiovascular events occurred in 61 of 1591 patients (3.8%) in the oral semaglutide group and 76 of 1592 (4.8%) in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.79; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0 |
| 27633186 | PMID 27633186 | 0.74 (HR), 95% CI 0.58–0.95 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The primary outcome occurred in 108 of 1648 patients (6.6%) in the semaglutide group and in 146 of 1649 patients (8.9%) in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.74; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.58 to |
| 27295427 | PMID 27295427 | 0.87 (HR), 95% CI 0.78–0.97 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The primary outcome occurred in significantly fewer patients in the liraglutide group (608 of 4668 patients [13.0%]) than in the placebo group (694 of 4672 [14.9%]) (hazard ratio, 0.87; 95% confidence |
| 34215025 | PMID 34215025 | 0.73 (HR), 95% CI 0.58–0.92 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): During a median follow-up of 1.81 years, an incident MACE occurred in 189 participants (7.0%) assigned to receive efpeglenatide (3.9 events per 100 person-years) and 125 participants (9.2%) assigned t |
| 31189511 | PMID 31189511 | 0.88 (HR), 95% CI 0.79–0.99 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): During a median follow-up of 5.4 years (IQR 5.1-5.9), the primary composite outcome occurred in 594 (12.0%) participants at an incidence rate of 2.4 per 100 person-years in the dulaglutide group and i |
| 30291013 | PMID 30291013 | 0.78 (HR), 95% CI 0.68–0.9 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): The primary composite outcome occurred in 338 (7%) of 4731 patients at an incidence rate of 4.6 events per 100 person-years in the albiglutide group and in 428 (9%) of 4732 patients at an incidence ra |
| 28910237 | PMID 28910237 | 0.91 (HR), 95% CI 0.83–1 | ✓ verified against source abstract effect+CI (HR): A primary composite outcome event occurred in 839 of 7356 patients (11.4%; 3.7 events per 100 person-years) in the exenatide group and in 905 of 7396 patients (12.2%; 4.0 events per 100 person-years) |
| 26630143 | PMID 26630143 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Harms
Gastrointestinal adverse events
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31185157 | PMID 31185157 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 27633186 | PMID 27633186 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 27295427 | PMID 27295427 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 34215025 | PMID 34215025 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 31189511 | PMID 31189511 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 30291013 | PMID 30291013 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 28910237 | PMID 28910237 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 26630143 | PMID 26630143 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Adverse events leading to discontinuation
| Trial | Id | Input | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31185157 | PMID 31185157 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 27633186 | PMID 27633186 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 27295427 | PMID 27295427 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 34215025 | PMID 34215025 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 31189511 | PMID 31189511 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 30291013 | PMID 30291013 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 28910237 | PMID 28910237 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
| 26630143 | PMID 26630143 | declared absent | no percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract |
Comparator
| Published comparator | GLP-1 receptor agonists and cardiorenal outcomes in type 2 diabetes: an updated meta-analysis of eight CVOTs. (2021), Cardiovasc Diabetol |
|---|---|
| Identifier | PMID 34526024 |
| Open access | True |
| URL | https://doi.org/10.1186/s12933-021-01366-8 |
Major adverse cardiovascular events: 0.86 (HR), 95% CI 0.79–0.94
Scope match (is this the same question?)
✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.
Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)
| k in this review (our own search) | 7 |
|---|---|
| k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted) | not stated in the comparator abstract/full text |
| Shared trials | not exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed) |
| Only in ours | |
| Only in theirs | |
| Overlap method | publication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source) |
| Note | Trials newer than the comparator (2021) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted. |
The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.
Risk of bias
Coverage: 7 of 7 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).
| Trial | Funding | Scanned | Verbatim statement |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 31185157 | industry | abstract only | t of placebo. (Funded by Novo Nordisk; PIONEER 6 ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT02692716.). |
| PMID 27633186 | industry | abstract only | semaglutide. (Funded by Novo Nordisk; SUSTAIN-6 ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01720446 .). |
| PMID 34215025 | industry | abstract only | ived placebo. (Funded by Sanofi; AMPLITUDE-O ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03496298.). |
| PMID 31189511 | industry | abstract only | risk factors. FUNDING: Eli Lilly and Company. |
| PMID 30291013 | industry | abstract only | pe 2 diabetes. FUNDING: GlaxoSmithKline. |
| PMID 28910237 | industry | abstract only | ived placebo. (Funded by Amylin Pharmaceuticals; EXSCEL ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01144338 .). |
| PMID 27295427 | mixed | abstract only | with placebo. (Funded by Novo Nordisk and the National Institutes of Health; LEADER ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01179048.). |
Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.
| Trial | Overall | D1 randomisation | D2 deviations/blinding | D3 missing data | D4 measurement | D5 selective reporting |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 27295427 | some concerns | low | some concerns | low | some concerns | low |
| 27633186 | some concerns | low | some concerns | low | some concerns | some concerns |
| 28910237 | some concerns | low | some concerns | low | low | some concerns |
| 30291013 | low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement) | low | low | low | low | low |
| 31185157 | some concerns | low | some concerns | low | some concerns | low |
| 31189511 | some concerns | low | some concerns | low | some concerns | low |
| 34215025 | some concerns | low | low | some concerns | low | low |
Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)
| Stratum | Re-pooled estimate |
|---|---|
| Full pool (all pooled trials) | k=7, HR 0.8501 [0.7904, 0.9144] |
| Low risk of bias only | k=1, HR 0.78 [0.678, 0.8973] |
GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)
| Domain | Effect on certainty | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Risk of bias | −1 | 6 of 7 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns' |
| Inconsistency | not downgraded | tau^2=0.00092; prediction interval not markedly wider than the CI |
| Imprecision | not downgraded | 95% CI [0.7904, 0.9144] |
| Indirectness | human judgement | directness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO) |
| Publication bias (registry-based) | not downgraded | registry census: 118 of ~577 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 20%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot |
Manuscript
Abstract
Question. In adults with type 2 diabetes, do GLP-1 receptor agonists reduce 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)
Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 4091958ce4af); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (10 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.
Results. Pooling 7 trials gave HR 0.85 (95% CI 0.79 to 0.91), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.77 to 0.94. 1 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).
Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).
Methods
This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 4091958ce4af) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).
Results
Pooling 7 trials gave HR 0.85 (95% CI 0.79 to 0.91), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.77 to 0.94.
Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 7 of 7 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was HR 0.78 (95% CI 0.68 to 0.9, k=1); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.
Limitations
No GRADE domain was downgraded from the machine-computable signals. The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.
Data availability & reproduction
The committed cache, protocol (SHA 4091958ce4af) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:
python scripts/build_topic.py glp1-ra-mace-t2d
Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.
Reporting (PRISMA)
Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.
| PRISMA 2020 item | Status | Where / why |
|---|---|---|
| 5 Eligibility criteria | ✓ present | Protocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced. |
| 6 Information sources + dates | ✓ present | Search tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks. |
| 7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source | ✓ present | Search tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable. |
| 8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement) | ✓ present | Two independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/10); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. |
| 9 Data collection process | ✓ present | Results tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity. |
| 15 Certainty assessment | ✓ present | Results tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE. |
| 16a Flow with counts at every stage | ✓ present | Screening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent. |
| 16b Exclusions with reasons | ✓ present | Screening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span. |
| 24a-c Registration & protocol | ✓ present | Protocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 4091958ce4, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object. |
Reproducibility
| Reproduction census failures | 0 |
|---|---|
| Re-run from registration SHA | 4091958ce4af7f1ca9ed4c30e1021672b0c21223 |
| Content hash (review core) | 2d82ab49f2292560f414936fc6aa9ef9c29466b9d8e8bad6400c514ee17fbf61 |
| Replayed offline from committed cache | True |
Parity with the published comparator
Our pooled k = 7 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 7 — PARITY. 7/8; the 1 gap ELIXA is a 4-point MACE (estimand) correctly declared-absent
Independent second extraction (blind)
Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 5 of 5 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 5 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 2 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.