Empagliflozin vs placebo for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalisation in HFpEF/HFmrEF

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Empagliflozin vs placebo for cardiovascular death or heart-failure hospitalisation in HFpEF/HFmrEF

In adults with heart failure and preserved or mildly reduced ejection fraction, does empagliflozin reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeComposite cardiovascular death or worsening heart failure
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 34449189 (PMID 34449189)
Screened-in → pooled4 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 3 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.81 (RR), 95% CI 0.72–0.91
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

7 of 7 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)c5dc828d141fe01e81ce46b9a9e29863c2a01918
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%']; and none of ['heart failure with reduced ejection fraction', 'reduced ejection fraction', 'HFrEF', 'ejection fraction of 40% or less', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of 40% or less', 'type 2 diabetes', 'diabetes', 'diabetic', 'chronic kidney disease', 'kidney disease', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute myocardial infarction', 'Fontan', 'single ventricle']; randomised intervention is one of ['empagliflozin', 'Jardiance'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'matching placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - Empagliflozin for cardiovascular death or worsening heart failure in HFmrEF/HFpEF

**Registration.** The commit that adds/updates this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with heart failure and mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction
  (HFmrEF/HFpEF; operationally LVEF >40% or preserved-EF trial eligibility).
- **I** - Empagliflozin 10 mg daily, added to usual heart-failure therapy.
- **C** - placebo or matching placebo, added to usual heart-failure therapy.
- **O (primary)** - time to first composite cardiovascular death or worsening heart
  failure, where worsening heart failure includes hospitalization or urgent visit for
  heart failure as defined by the trial.
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR) with 95% confidence interval.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **Population** - adult HFmrEF/HFpEF or preserved-EF heart-failure population,
  judged from the title, registry conditions, or trial acronym.
- **Intervention** - Empagliflozin is named in the title or registry condition/acronym.
- **Comparator** - placebo or matching placebo.
- **Design** - randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not a randomized controlled trial.
- **X2** - wrong population, including HFrEF/LVEF <=40%, diabetes-only, CKD-only,
  myocardial-infarction, or other non-HFmrEF/HFpEF populations.
- **X3** - wrong intervention or comparator.
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind/placebo-controlled in the machine-readable record.

Eligibility is not decided by outcome reporting. An eligible Empagliflozin HFpEF trial
that reports symptoms, hemodynamics, or safety but not the target composite HR is kept
as target-result absent, not excluded.

## Outcomes
- **Primary efficacy outcome** - composite cardiovascular death or worsening heart
  failure; HR estimand; intention-to-treat/randomized population; longest
  trial-reported randomized follow-up.
- **Secondary outcomes** - none preregistered for this topic.
- **Harms** - none preregistered for this topic.

## Search
- PubMed: UID-anchored queries for EMPEROR-Preserved (PMID 34449189), PRESERVED-HF
  (PMID 34711976), and CAMEO-DAPA (PMID 37534453), plus configured comparator and
  negative-control PMIDs.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "heart failure with preserved ejection fraction",
  intervention "Empagliflozin".
- Citation chasing: enabled and bounded; every reached record is still screened by
  the same P/I/C/design rules.

## Synthesis method
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(HR) using source-reported trial HRs and 95%
CIs only. Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t(k-1) with variance floor
max(1, Q/(k-1)); prediction interval mu +/- t(k-1)*sqrt(tau^2 + se^2). For k=1,
the result is reported as the single trial's own HR with no random-effects pooling.

## Comparator
Pal et al., *Indian Heart Journal* 2023, "SGLT2 inhibitors and cardiovascular outcomes
in heart failure with mildly reduced and preserved ejection fraction: A systematic
review and meta-analysis" (PMID 36914068, DOI 10.1016/j.ihj.2023.03.003; Unpaywall
is_oa=true). This comparator matches the HFmrEF/HFpEF population, placebo comparison,
composite cardiovascular-death/HF-worsening outcome, and HR estimand, but is class-level
SGLT2 inhibitor evidence rather than Empagliflozin-only evidence; the overlap tab must
therefore not claim an identical trial set.

## Controls
- **Positive** - EMPEROR-Preserved (PMID 34449189) must be recovered and included.
- **Negative** - DAPA-HF (PMID 31535829), a Empagliflozin/placebo trial with the same
  endpoint but HFrEF/LVEF <=40%, must be recovered and excluded as wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)100
Records screened (deduplicated)100
Excluded at screening — by rule96 (X1 77 · X2 12 · X3 7)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)4
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)3

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 100 records: agreement 99/100, disagreement 1.0% (1 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:05Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

100 records screened; 4 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
34449189pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of empagliflozin vs placebo in preserved ejection fraction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Heart Failure with a Preserved Ejection Fraction.”; comparator “…n (10 mg once daily) or placebo, in addition to usual t…”
32865377pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Cardiovascular and Renal Outcomes with Empagliflozin in Heart Failure.”
37773799pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37773799).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42292836pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42292836).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41620372pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41620372).publication types: Journal Article
42117353pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42117353).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41607621pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41607621).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41304969pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41304969).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41300756pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41300756).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40826119pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40826119).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40775780pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40775780).publication types: Journal Article
40772898pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40772898).publication types: Journal Article
40834289pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40834289).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40583271pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40583271).publication types: Journal Article
40113531pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40113531).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40074465pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Efficacy of Acoramidis on All-Cause Mortality and Cardiovascular Hospitalization in Transt…”
39998630pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39998630).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39697908pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39697908).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39618225pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39618225).publication types: Letter
39535626pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39535626).publication types: Editorial
39346567pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39346567).publication types: Journal Article, Review
38798923pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38798923).publication types: Journal Article
38790943pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38790943).publication types: Journal Article, Review
38672161pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38672161).publication types: Journal Article, Review
38184133pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38184133).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42679960pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42679960).publication types: Editorial
42598998pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42598998).publication types: Journal Article
42533465pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42533465).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41810940pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41810940).publication types: Journal Article
40996089pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40996089).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42675456pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42675456).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
42669762pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42669762).publication types: Consensus Statement, Journal Article
42658609pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42658609).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42649514pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42649514).publication types: Journal Article
42652855pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42652855).publication types: Journal Article
42647240pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42647240).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42644019pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42644019).publication types: Journal Article
42616235pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42616235).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42645205pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42645205).publication types: Journal Article
42645107pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42645107).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42645866pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42645866).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42661921pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42661921).publication types: Journal Article
42661733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42661733).publication types: Journal Article
42594169pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42594169).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42653207pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42653207).publication types: Journal Article
42586458pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42586458).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Review
42575273pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42575273).publication types: Journal Article
42567257pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42567257).publication types: Journal Article
42566081pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42566081).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
42630733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42630733).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42572746pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42572746).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42644878pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42644878).publication types: Journal Article
42614550pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42614550).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42609336pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42609336).publication types: Journal Article
42546911pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42546911).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
42546819pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42546819).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42573026pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42573026).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study
42554040pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42554040).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42541550pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42541550).publication types: Journal Article
41614664pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41614664).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study
42602176pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42602176).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42535981pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42535981).publication types: Journal Article
42568799pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42568799).publication types: Journal Article
42530804pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42530804).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42523039pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42523039).publication types: Journal Article
42521604pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42521604).publication types: Journal Article
42521017pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42521017).publication types: Journal Article
42520258pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “The ManageHF Just-in-Time Adaptive Mobile App Interventions to Promote Self-Management and…”
42509262pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42509262).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42508633pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42508633).publication types: Journal Article
42500881pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Empagliflozin Ameliorates Experimental Pulmonary Vascular Remodeling, but May Not Benefit …”
42494134pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42494134).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42487161pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42487161).publication types: Journal Article
42487144pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42487144).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42486183pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42486183).publication types: Journal Article
42483979pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42483979).publication types: Journal Article
42480847pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42480847).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42480823pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42480823).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
42548880pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42548880).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42548862pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42548862).publication types: Journal Article
NCT06401343nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “Use of SGLT2i in noHCM With HFpEF Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy Heart Failure With Preserved…”
ADDEMFEP · NCT06683053nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Evaluation of the Use of Empagliflozin in Patients with HF with PEF in a Cardiology Outpat…”
NCT07047508nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07047508).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT05584319nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “EMPAGUM: Effects of Empagliflozin on Gut Microbiota in Heart Failure With a Preserved Ejec…”
NCT05057806nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…fit Research Plan Type2 Diabetes Heart Failure With Pres…
NCT05600387nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “Empagliflozin on the Function of Left Atrium in Heart Failure With Mildly Reduced or Prese…”
SAK · NCT05138575nctincludeINCLUDERCT of empagliflozin vs placebo in preserved ejection fraction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…rial Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction SAK”; comparator “…te Potassium Chloride + Placebo for Empagliflozin SAK”
EMPA-PRED · NCT06249945nctincludeINCLUDERCT of empagliflozin vs placebo in preserved ejection fraction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n in Heart Failure With PReserved Ejection Fraction and End Stage Renal Dis…”; comparator “…sis Empagliflozin 25 MG Placebo EMPA-PRED”
NCT03448406nctincludeINCLUDERCT of empagliflozin vs placebo in preserved ejection fraction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…onic Heart Failure With Preserved Ejection Fraction (HFpEF). The Study Look…”; comparator “…t Failure Empagliflozin Placebo”
NCT05129722nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “Polydiuretic Therapy for HFpEF, a Randomised Controlled Trial Heart Failure With Preserved…”
SGLT2-HD · NCT06929169nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'chronic kidney disease'.…hase 2 Randomized Study Chronic Kidney Disease Requiring Hemodialysis…
NCT03753087nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…ion Fraction and Type-2 Diabetes Mellitus Heart Failure,…
NCT06424288nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “A Study to Test Whether Vicadrostat in Combination With Empagliflozin Helps People With He…”
NCT07776054nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “Clinical Impact of SGLT2 Inhibitor After DC Cardioversion in Persistent AF With HFpEF Atri…”
ICDDTKZ26 · NCT07303556nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Improving Cardiovascular Disease Diagnosis and Treatment in Kazakhstan Using Metabolic Cor…”
NCT06046612nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'matching placebo']).examined: “Empagliflozin for Peripheral Microvascular Dysfunction in Heart Failure With Preserved Eje…”
PADN-HFpEF · NCT07331220nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['empagliflozin', 'Jardiance'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Pulmonary Artery Denervation for Heart Failure With Preserved Left Ventricular Ejection Fr…”
NCT07599293nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07599293).publication types: (no publication types)
DICE · NCT07322237nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['heart failure with mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'mildly reduced or preserved ejection fraction', 'preserved ejection fraction', 'HFpEF', 'HFmrEF', 'left ventricular ejection fraction of more than 40%', 'left ventricular ejection fraction >40%', 'ejection fraction greater than 40%', 'ejection fraction >=50%'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “DICE Study- Diastolic Improvement With Carvedilol & Empagliflozin in Patients With Cirrhos…”
NCT05139472nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'diabetes'.…eart Failure, Diastolic Diabetes Mellitus

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
34449189Composite cardiovascular death or worsening heart failureEMPEROR-Preserved: CV death + HHF, no urgent-visit component. ·both familiesDISCLOSED (component note; k=1)

Composite cardiovascular death or worsening heart failure (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end / longest randomized follow-up
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.81 (RR), 95% CI 0.72–0.91
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 3 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
34449189PMID 34449189415/2997 vs 511/2991 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): RESULTS: Over a median of 26.2 months, a primary outcome event occurred in 415 of 2997 patients (13.8%) in the empagliflozin group and in 511 of 2991 patients (17.1%) in the placebo group (hazard rati
SAKNCT05138575declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
EMPA-PREDNCT06249945declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT03448406NCT03448406declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

DECLARED ABSENT. no harms recorded

Comparator

Published comparatorSGLT2 inhibitors among patients with heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: A meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials. (2023), Medicine (Baltimore)
IdentifierPMID 37773799
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1097/MD.0000000000034693

Composite cardiovascular death or urgent visit/hospitalization for heart failure in HFmrEF/HFpEF: 0.74 (HR), 95% CI 0.67–0.82

Scope match (is this the same question?)

⚠ SCOPE MISMATCH. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is class-level (match: False); population match: True. comparator is a DRUG-CLASS meta-analysis while this topic is a single agent — a PICO scope mismatch (single-drug review vs class-level review); the k difference vs this comparator is a scope difference, not unretrieved evidence Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Comparator resolution. No same-scope (single-agent) published meta-analysis exists to serve as a like-for-like comparator: empagliflozin in HF with preserved ejection fraction rests on a single pivotal RCT (EMPEROR-Preserved, NCT03057951), so k=1 is the COMPLETE single-drug RCT evidence base for this question, not a search gap. The nearest published synthesis pools the SGLT2-inhibitor CLASS (a different, network-level PICO question); its larger k reflects that broader scope, not evidence this review failed to retrieve. A complete review with k=1 is not a weak review; it is a complete one.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2023) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Trials the comparator pools that this review EXCLUDES on estimand grounds

A larger k bought by pooling a different outcome is not a larger evidence base — it is a different question. These trials were found; they are excluded deliberately because the outcome they report is not this review's estimand, not because the search missed them.

TrialIdWhat the trial reportsWhy excluded (estimand)
EMPEROR-ReducedPMID 32865377cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure — HR 0.75Same empagliflozin/placebo comparison and endpoint, but population is HFrEF (LVEF <=40%), outside this HFpEF/HFmrEF topic.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 1 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 34449189industryabstract onlyof diabetes. (Funded by Boehringer Ingelheim and Eli Lilly; EMPEROR-Preserved ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT03057951).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
34449189some concernslowsome concernssome concernssome concernslow

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, RR 0.8105 [0.7194, 0.9131]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.7194, 0.9131]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 11 of ~37 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 30%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with heart failure and preserved or mildly reduced ejection fraction, does empagliflozin reduce the composite of cardiovascular death or hospitalisation for heart failure versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA c5dc828d141f); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (100 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.81 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.91); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 3 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA c5dc828d141f) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.81 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.91); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

344491890.81Pooled (k=1)0.81 [0.72, 0.91]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA c5dc828d141f) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py empagliflozin-hfpef-hosp

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 1.0% (1/100); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA c5dc828d14, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHAc5dc828d141fe01e81ce46b9a9e29863c2a01918
Content hash (review core)868c9499cd9413c56eae19423abbb12dcf1546e7daac055ed9afc961f9e470c4
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 1 of 1 that are checkable from the abstract (1 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.