DPP-4 inhibitors vs placebo for 3-point MACE in type 2 diabetes

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

DPP-4 inhibitors vs placebo for 3-point MACE in type 2 diabetes

In adults with type 2 diabetes, do DPP-4 inhibitors change 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

Outcome3-point major adverse cardiovascular events
EstimandHR
Trials pooled (k)2 — 23992601 (PMID 23992601); 30418475 (PMID 30418475)
Screened-in → pooled4 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 2 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 2 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect1.01 (HR), 95% CI 0.57–1.78
Prediction interval0.57–1.78
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

6 of 6 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 0 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)0fb7f9f4cd617ae16e470371a271bccbba9e9c86
Committed (UTC)2026-09-12
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['type 2 diabetes']; and none of ['type 1']; randomised intervention is one of ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - DPP-4 inhibitors for 3-point MACE in type 2 diabetes

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs. Eligibility is on
P/I/C/design only; outcome reporting affects extraction status, not screening.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with type 2 diabetes.
- **I** - DPP-4 inhibitors, including sitagliptin, saxagliptin, alogliptin, and
  linagliptin.
- **C** - placebo.
- **O (primary)** - 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events, using the
  trial-reported cardiovascular death, myocardial infarction, or stroke composite.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio (HR), DPP-4 inhibitor vs placebo, pooled on the log
  ratio scale.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest trial-reported follow-up.

## Eligibility - P/I/C/DESIGN only
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is adults with type 2 diabetes;
- **I3** - sitagliptin, saxagliptin, alogliptin, linagliptin, or a DPP-4 inhibitor
  as the randomised intervention;
- **I4** - placebo comparator;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only, or
  meta-analysis);
- **X2** - wrong population, including type 1 diabetes;
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison, including active-comparator DPP-4 CVOTs
  such as CAROLINA;
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative control).

Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an eligible trial reports 3-point
MACE, and whether it reports arm counts or only an effect plus confidence interval,
is recorded at extraction. A published effect plus 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search
- PubMed: direct UID queries for SAVOR-TIMI 53, EXAMINE, TECOS, CARMELINA, and
  CAROLINA primary reports, plus a DPP-4 cardiovascular-outcome-trial
  meta-analysis comparator.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "type 2 diabetes", intervention "DPP-4 inhibitor".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log ratio; Paule-Mandel tau2; HKSJ 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1,Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se2)`. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Published HR inputs
are pooled on the log ratio scale.

## Comparator (resolved; OA confirmed)
Patoulias et al., *World Journal of Cardiology* 2021, "Cardiovascular efficacy and
safety of dipeptidyl peptidase-4 inhibitors: A meta-analysis of cardiovascular
outcome trials" (PMID 34754403, PMC8554356, DOI 10.4330/wjc.v13.i10.585).

## Pivotal
- **TECOS** - NCT00790205; positive-control PMID 26052984.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include TECOS (PMID 26052984).
- **Negative** - DECLARE-TIMI 58 (dapagliflozin in type 2 diabetes, PMID 30415602)
  must be recovered and EXCLUDED as wrong intervention.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)37
Records screened (deduplicated)37
Excluded at screening — by rule33 (X1 8 · X2 5 · X3 20)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)4
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)2
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)2

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 37 records: agreement 36/37, disagreement 2.7% (1 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

37 records screened; 4 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
23992602pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of sitagliptin vs compared with placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ndrome in patients with type 2 diabetes.”; comparator “…peptidase 4 (DPP-4), as compared with placebo in patients with type 2…”
23992601pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of sitagliptin vs compared with placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…tcomes in patients with type 2 diabetes mellitus.”; comparator “…in 609 patients in the placebo group (7.3% and 7.2%, respect…”
30418475pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of sitagliptin vs compared with placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…r Events in Adults With Type 2 Diabetes and High Cardiovascular…”; comparator “…tin added to usual care compared with placebo added to usual care res…”
26052984pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of sitagliptin vs compared with placebo in type 2 diabetes; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…diovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes.”; comparator “…and 851 patients in the placebo group (11.6%; 4.17 per 100 pe…”
31536101pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Effect of Linagliptin vs Glimepiride on Major Adverse Cardiovascular Outcomes in Patients …”
30415602pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Dapagliflozin and Cardiovascular Outcomes in Type 2 Diabetes.”
34754403pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34754403).publication types: Journal Article
NCT04521049nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['type 2 diabetes'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Tubular Markers in Response to Saxagliptin Therapy Diabetes Mellitus, Type 2”
NCT02470039nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Trial to Compare NNC0123-0000-0338 in a Tablet Formulation and Insulin Glargine in Subject…”
NCT02192853nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Correlation Between Plasma- and Endothelial DPP-4 Activity Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus sitagl…”
TriMaster · NCT02653209nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “TriMaster: Study of a DPP4 Inhibitor, SGLT2 Inhibitor and Thiazolidinedione as Third Line …”
NCT01660386nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Study of Comparing the Different Effect of DPP-4 Inhibitors and Sulfonylurea by Using "Bip…”
NCT05578352nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “The Exploreration of the Management for the Positive IAA in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes …”
E-LIFT · NCT02686476nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effect of Empagliflozin on Liver Fat Content in Patients With Type 2 Diabetes Non Alcoholi…”
GLP1-AD-TTE · NCT07677865nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: GLP1-AD-TTE).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT00770302nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Assess Pharmacokinetics, Safety and Tolerability in Healthy Chinese Volunteers After Oral …”
NCT04017221nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04017221).publication types: (no publication types)
REASON · NCT02330406nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['type 2 diabetes'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Randomized Evaluation of Anagliptin Versus Sitagliptin On Low-density lipoproteiN Choleste…”
RACELINES · NCT03433248nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Renal Actions of Combined Empagliflozin and LINagliptin in Type 2 diabetES Type2 Diabetes …”
NCT01378117nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Dipeptidyl Peptidase-4 Inhibitor (Sitagliptin) Therapy in the Inpatients With Type 2 Diabe…”
NCT05429554nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT05429554).publication types: (no publication types)
DECIDE · NCT02616666nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Pragmatic Randomized Trial to Evaluate the Comparative Effectiveness Between Dapaglifloz…”
NCT00699322nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Effect of Dipeptidyl Peptidase-IV Inhibitor and Sulfonylurea on Glucose Variability and Ox…”
NCT03602638nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Effects of a Dipeptidyl Peptidase-4 Inhibitor Sitagliptininsulin on the Progression of Cor…”
NCT03486964nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT03486964).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT01568125nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT01568125).publication types: (no publication types)
OBESE-DKD · NCT04626323nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['type 2 diabetes'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Randomized Study Comparing Metabolic Surgery With Intensive Medical Therapy to Treat Diabe…”
NCT03951805nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Research Study to Compare Two Types of Insulin: Insulin 287 and Insulin Glargine in Peop…”
NCT02150707nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT02150707).publication types: (no publication types)
INDORSE · NCT02406443nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “The INDORSE Study: Inhibition of Dipeptidyl Peptidase IV: Outcomes on Renal Sodium Excreti…”
SUSTAIN™ · NCT02207374nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “A Trial Comparing the Safety and Efficacy of Semaglutide Once Weekly in Monotherapy or in …”
NCT00918879nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “Evaluate Saxagliptin in Adult Indian Patients With Type 2 Diabetes Inadequate Glycemic Con…”
SlowDOWN · NCT06770894nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['type 2 diabetes'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “DPP4-Inhibitors and Bone Metabolism in Diabetes Osteoporosis Bone Loss, Postmenopausal Dia…”
NCT06218342nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['sitagliptin', 'saxagliptin', 'alogliptin', 'linagliptin', 'DPP-4'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Henagliflozin in Relieving Type 2 Diabetes With Non-alcoholic Fatty Liver Disease Type 2 D…”
NCT02792400nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['compared with placebo', 'as compared with placebo', 'placebo group', 'placebo groups', 'or placebo', 'and placebo']).examined: “The Role of Glucagon in the Effects of Dipeptidyl Peptidase-4 Inhibitors and Sodium-glucos…”
NCT02180334nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['type 2 diabetes'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “The Effect of Combination of Mosapride and DPP-4 Inhibitor on Plasma Concentration of Incr…”
NCT02475499nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT02475499).publication types: (no publication types)

Controls

Results

3-point major adverse cardiovascular events (primary)

EstimandHR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect1.01 (HR), 95% CI 0.57–1.78
Prediction interval0.57–1.78
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 2 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
23992601PMID 239926011 (HR), 95% CI 0.89–1.12✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): RESULTS: A primary end-point event occurred in 613 patients in the saxagliptin group and in 609 patients in the placebo group (7.3% and 7.2%, respectively, according to 2-year Kaplan-Meier estimates;
30418475PMID 304184751.02 (HR), 95% CI 0.89–1.17✓ verified against source
PubMed abstract (PMID 30418475): During a median follow-up of 2.2 years, the primary outcome occurred in 434 of 3494 (12.4%) and 420 of 3485 (12.1%) in the linagliptin and placebo groups, respectively, (absolute incidence rate difference, 0.13 [95% CI, -0.63 to 0.90] per 100 person-years) (HR, 1.02; 95% CI, 0.89-1.17; P < .001 for noninferiority). CARMELINA primary is 3-point MACE (CV death, nonfatal MI, nonfatal stroke).
23992602PMID 23992602declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
26052984PMID 26052984declared absentdeclared absent (estimand mismatch): TECOS's abstract reports its primary as a FOUR-point composite (cardiovascular death, nonfatal myocardial infarction, nonfatal stroke, OR hospitalization for unstable angina), HR 0.98 (0.88-1.09). Our outcome is 3-point MACE (no unstable-angina hospitalization); TECOS's 3-point HR (~0.99) is not in the committed abstract (full text/supplement only). Refuse rather than pool a 4-point estimate under a 3-point label. Surfaced by cross-family (Fable) QA on a page that had passed every internal gate.

Harms

DECLARED ABSENT. no harms recorded

Comparator

Published comparatorCardiovascular efficacy and safety of dipeptidyl peptidase-4 inhibitors: A meta-analysis of cardiovascular outcome trials. (2021), World J Cardiol
IdentifierPMID 34754403
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.4330/wjc.v13.i10.585

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)2
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2021) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 0 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 2 are pooled but have no registry match (23992601, 30418475) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 1 of 2 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 23992601industryabstract onlyith diabetes. (Funded by AstraZeneca and Bristol-Myers Squibb; SAVOR-TIMI 53 ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT01107886.).
PMID 30418475not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT registry fields). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
23992601not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed
30418475not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 0 of 2 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=2, HR 1.0082 [0.5699, 1.7836]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 0 of 2 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.5699, 1.7836]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedno registry ghost census available for this topic

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with type 2 diabetes, do DPP-4 inhibitors change 3-point major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 0fb7f9f4cd61); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (37 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 2 trials gave HR 1.01 (95% CI 0.57 to 1.78), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.57 to 1.78. 2 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 0fb7f9f4cd61) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 2 trials gave HR 1.01 (95% CI 0.57 to 1.78), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.57 to 1.78.

239926011 [0.89, 1.12]304184751.02 [0.89, 1.17]Pooled (k=2)1.01 [0.57, 1.78]HR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 0 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 0fb7f9f4cd61) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py dpp4-mace-t2d

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-12; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 2.7% (1/37); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 0fb7f9f4cd, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA0fb7f9f4cd617ae16e470371a271bccbba9e9c86
Content hash (review core)100b70c61d563c98a4d3e033f984cee7b884df2f0522c7202af10dc21494aad9
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue