Denosumab vs placebo for new vertebral fractures in postmenopausal osteoporosis

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Denosumab vs placebo for new vertebral fractures in postmenopausal osteoporosis

In postmenopausal women with osteoporosis, does denosumab reduce new vertebral fractures versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeNew vertebral fracture
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 19671655 (PMID 19671655)
Screened-in → pooledall 1 screened-in trials reported this outcome and were pooled (screening count = k).
Single-trial effect0.32 (RR), 95% CI 0.25–0.4
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

10 of 10 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['postmenopausal women with osteoporosis', 'postmenopausal osteoporosis', 'osteoporosis in postmenopausal women']; and none of ['women and men', 'prostate cancer', 'breast cancer', 'cancer', 'malignancy', 'metastatic', 'bone metastases', 'androgen-deprivation', 'androgen deprivation', 'aromatase inhibitor', 'multiple myeloma', 'giant cell tumor', 'paediatric', 'pediatric', 'children', 'chronic kidney disease', 'renal insufficiency', 'romosozumab', 'teriparatide', 'abaloparatide', 'bisphosphonate', 'vertebroplasty']; randomised intervention is one of ['denosumab', 'AMG 162', 'Prolia'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Denosumab vs placebo for new vertebral fractures in postmenopausal osteoporosis

## PICO
- **Population:** postmenopausal women with osteoporosis.
- **Intervention:** denosumab, including AMG 162 or Prolia terminology.
- **Comparator:** placebo.
- **Primary outcome:** new vertebral fracture.

## Eligibility - P/I/C/design only
Include randomized controlled trials when all of the following are true:
- The population is postmenopausal women with osteoporosis, judged from the title or registry conditions.
- The randomized intervention is denosumab.
- The randomized comparator is placebo.
- The trial is double-blind or placebo-controlled.

Exclude records for wrong population, wrong intervention, wrong comparator, non-randomized design, reviews, extensions without randomized placebo comparison, protocol-only reports, men-only trials, mixed women-and-men osteoporosis trials, cancer-related bone loss, chronic kidney disease or renal insufficiency, pediatric populations, and trials focused on another osteoporosis drug.

Eligibility is not based on whether the abstract reports the target outcome. If an otherwise eligible trial does not report new vertebral fracture with an arm-level count or effect estimate plus 95% CI in the abstract or eligible structured registry results, it is declared absent rather than substituted with another endpoint.

## Outcomes
Primary outcome:
- New vertebral fracture, including phrasings such as new radiographic vertebral fracture, new or worsening vertebral fracture, incidence of new vertebral fracture, primary outcome, primary endpoint, and primary end point.

Secondary outcomes:
- Nonvertebral fracture.
- Hip fracture.

Harm outcomes:
- Serious adverse events.
- Serious infection.

## Analysis Method
The estimand is the risk ratio for denosumab versus placebo. The declared synthesis method is random-effects inverse-variance pooling on log risk ratios using Paule-Mandel tau^2 and HKSJ 95% confidence intervals on t(k-1), with the variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`. Prediction intervals use `mu +/- t(k-1)*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. If only one eligible trial reports the outcome, the result is presented as that trial's own effect and no random-effects pooling, tau^2, HKSJ interval, or prediction interval is applicable.

## Comparator
The comparator is Wei et al., "Efficacy and safety of pharmacologic therapies for prevention of osteoporotic vertebral fractures in postmenopausal women," *Heliyon* 2023, PMID 36852077, DOI 10.1016/j.heliyon.2022.e11880, PMCID PMC9958453. It is open access and reports a network meta-analysis of randomized trials in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis; the abstract reports denosumab versus placebo for vertebral fractures as RR 0.33 with 95% CI 0.14 to 0.61.

## Controls
- Positive control: FREEDOM, PMID 19671655.
- Negative control: denosumab in men receiving androgen-deprivation therapy for prostate cancer, PMID 19671656.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)71
Records screened (deduplicated)71
Excluded at screening — by rule70 (X1 60 · X2 9 · X3 1)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)1
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)0

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 71 records: agreement 70/71, disagreement 1.4% (1 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:04Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

71 records screened; 1 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
19671655pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of denosumab vs placebo in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…vention of fractures in postmenopausal women with osteoporosis.”; comparator “…r 60 mg of denosumab or placebo subcutaneously every 6…”
25944523pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 25944523).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
42553793pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42553793).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42083710pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42083710).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42084700pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42084700).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42581168pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42581168).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42399071pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42399071).publication types: Journal Article
42101135pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42101135).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
42570164pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42570164).publication types: Journal Article
41711448pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41711448).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42168413pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42168413).publication types: Journal Article
41784728pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41784728).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42392636pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42392636).publication types: Journal Article
41635538pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41635538).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
41703396pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41703396).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Consensus Statement
41895691pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41895691).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42008054pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42008054).publication types: Journal Article
41964816pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41964816).publication types: Journal Article
41697310pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41697310).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
42283886pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42283886).publication types: Journal Article
41403523pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41403523).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41477377pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41477377).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41511732pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41511732).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
42062181pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42062181).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41185891pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41185891).publication types: Journal Article
41874862pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41874862).publication types: Journal Article
41528445pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41528445).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
41369394pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41369394).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural
42319705pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'pediatric'.…port the Fulfillment of Pediatric Requirements with the F…
41840122pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41840122).publication types: Journal Article
42503710pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42503710).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41070065pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41070065).publication types: Journal Article
41778369pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41778369).publication types: Journal Article
41976897pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41976897).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41854838pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41854838).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40921943pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40921943).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline
40796128pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40796128).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42033746pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42033746).publication types: Journal Article, Scoping Review
41466921pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41466921).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41342953pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41342953).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40323522pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40323522).publication types: Journal Article
41946942pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41946942).publication types: Journal Article
19671656pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'prostate cancer'.…deprivation therapy for prostate cancer.
36852077pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36852077).publication types: Journal Article
35865739pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35865739).publication types: Journal Article
35706496pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35706496).publication types: Journal Article
32492050pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32492050).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis
32427503pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32427503).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline
31021904pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31021904).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis
30907957pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30907957).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Network Meta-Analysis
30907953pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30907953).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
30657216pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30657216).publication types: Journal Article, Review
30575489pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['postmenopausal women with osteoporosis', 'postmenopausal osteoporosis', 'osteoporosis in postmenopausal women'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Fracture Prevention with Zoledronate in Older Women with Osteopenia.”
30409774pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30409774).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis
29227547pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29227547).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis
28892457pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'romosozumab'.Romosozumab or Alendronate for Frac…
28492856pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28492856).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline
27641143pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'romosozumab'.Romosozumab Treatment in Postmenopa…
27533157pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'abaloparatide'.Effect of Abaloparatide vs Placebo on New Verte…
27462009pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['denosumab', 'AMG 162', 'Prolia'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A randomized, double-blind, multicenter, placebo-controlled study to evaluate the efficacy…”
26789873pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 26789873).publication types: Journal Article, Review
26438308pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 26438308).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
24382002pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'romosozumab'.Romosozumab in postmenopausal women…
22466336pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 22466336).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis
22008217pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 22008217).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
20168099pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['postmenopausal women with osteoporosis', 'postmenopausal osteoporosis', 'osteoporosis in postmenopausal women'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Zoledronic acid for the prevention of bone loss in postmenopausal women with low bone mass…”
19622552pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19622552).publication types: Consensus Statement, Guideline, Journal Article, Systematic Review
18627265pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 18627265).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
17761594pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 17761594).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
12049882pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 12049882).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S., Review
1393035pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['postmenopausal women with osteoporosis', 'postmenopausal osteoporosis', 'osteoporosis in postmenopausal women'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Effect of salcatonin given intranasally on bone mass and fracture rates in established ost…”

Controls

Results

New vertebral fracture (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepoint36 months
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.32 (RR), 95% CI 0.25–0.4
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)
TrialIdInputSource
19671655PMID 196716550.32 (RR), 95% CI 0.26–0.41✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (RR): RESULTS: As compared with placebo, denosumab reduced the risk of new radiographic vertebral fracture, with a cumulative incidence of 2.3% in the denosumab group, versus 7.2% in the placebo group (risk
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.325. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only

Nonvertebral fracture

EstimandHR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.67–0.95
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)
TrialIdInputSource
19671655PMID 196716550.8 (HR), 95% CI 0.67–0.95✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): Denosumab also reduced the risk of nonvertebral fracture, with a cumulative incidence of 6.5% in the denosumab group, versus 8.0% in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.80; 95% CI, 0.67 to 0.95; P=0.01
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.813. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only

Hip fracture

EstimandHR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.6 (HR), 95% CI 0.37–0.97
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)
TrialIdInputSource
19671655PMID 196716550.6 (HR), 95% CI 0.37–0.97✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): Denosumab reduced the risk of hip fracture, with a cumulative incidence of 0.7% in the denosumab group, versus 1.2% in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.60; 95% CI, 0.37 to 0.97; P=0.04)--a relative
second source (· corroboration): CT.gov RR 0.605. CT.gov structured result present; measures are not both count-derived (abstract effect vs registry counts), shown for corroboration only

Harms

Serious adverse events

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
19671655PMID 19671655declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Serious infection

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
19671655PMID 19671655declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorEfficacy and safety of pharmacologic therapies for prevention of osteoporotic vertebral fractures in postmenopausal women. (2023), Heliyon
IdentifierPMID 36852077
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1016/j.heliyon.2022.e11880

New vertebral fracture: 0.33 (RR), 95% CI 0.14–0.61

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2023) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 19671655not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
19671655some concernslowsome concernssome concernssome concernslow

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, RR 0.32 [0.2548, 0.4018]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.2548, 0.4018]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 11 of ~79 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 14%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In postmenopausal women with osteoporosis, does denosumab reduce new vertebral fractures versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 3fb64a1e0143); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (71 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.32 (95% CI 0.25 to 0.4); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.32 (95% CI 0.25 to 0.4); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

196716550.32 [0.26, 0.41]Pooled (k=1)0.32 [0.25, 0.4]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 3fb64a1e0143) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py denosumab-vertebral-fracture

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 1.4% (1/71); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 3fb64a1e01, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA3fb64a1e01434eb6ee9ea8a764a84c749270dfff
Content hash (review core)c9518eb5a38f25fb2b462bb1e532c422661045065d9f313d4441b1cda43c05b0
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 1 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = NOT-ENUMERABLE. comparator is a 55-node NMA; trial list only in supplement

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 3 of 3 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 3 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.