Systemic corticosteroids vs usual care or placebo for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Systemic corticosteroids vs usual care or placebo for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

In hospitalised adults with COVID-19, do systemic corticosteroids reduce 28-day all-cause mortality versus usual care or placebo?

Primary outcome

Outcome28-day all-cause mortality
EstimandIRR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 32678530 (PMID 32678530)
Screened-in → pooled8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 7 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.83 (IRR), 95% CI 0.75–0.92
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

19 of 19 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)dce99b4135d953e0363d519ff078bc6e1311289c
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['covid-19', 'covid 19', 'covid19', 'covid', 'coronavirus disease 2019', 'sars-cov-2', 'severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2', 'coronavirus infection']; and none of ['post covid', 'post-covid', 'long covid', 'pulmonary sequelae', 'community-acquired pneumonia', 'community acquired pneumonia', 'influenza', 'pericarditis', 'atrial fibrillation', 'chronic obstructive pulmonary disease', 'copd', 'pediatric', 'paediatric', 'children', 'child', 'multisystem inflammatory syndrome', 'mis-c']; randomised intervention is one of ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol - systemic corticosteroids for 28-day mortality in hospitalised COVID-19

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs.

## PICO
- **P** - adults hospitalised with COVID-19.
- **I** - systemic corticosteroids, including dexamethasone, hydrocortisone,
  methylprednisolone, prednisone, or prednisolone.
- **C** - usual care, standard care, standard treatment, no hydrocortisone, or placebo.
- **O (primary)** - 28-day all-cause mortality.
- **O (harms)** - serious adverse events.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - odds ratio (OR), systemic corticosteroid vs usual care/placebo.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - 28 days.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - hospitalised, severe, ICU, hypoxic, or pneumonia/ARDS COVID-19 population by
  title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - systemic corticosteroid vs usual care, standard care, no hydrocortisone, or
  placebo;
- **design** - randomised comparison; double-blinding is not required because the
  target comparator includes open-label usual-care trials as well as placebo trials.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, meta-analysis, guideline, observational study, or
  protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (for example post-COVID sequelae, non-COVID community-
  acquired pneumonia, influenza, paediatric MIS-C, pericarditis, or atrial fibrillation);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no systemic corticosteroid-vs-control
  contrast, or a steroid-dose/active-steroid comparison without usual-care/placebo
  control);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic/disease in this set
  (negative control).

> Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an included trial reports
> 28-day all-cause mortality in an abstract-extractable form is recorded as
> target-result status at extraction, never as an exclusion. A published effect
> plus 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/corticosteroids-covid19-mortality/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: targeted trial-report queries for dexamethasone, hydrocortisone, and
  methylprednisolone COVID-19 randomised trials.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "COVID-19", intervention "dexamethasone".
- Comparator-reference seeding is enabled so the WHO REACT trial references are
  replayed through the same P/I/C/design screen.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on the configured log ratio scale; for the primary
outcome this is log(OR). Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on `t_{k-1}` with variance
floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval `mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`.
0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study only if it has a zero cell.
DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
WHO REACT Working Group, *JAMA* 2020, "Association Between Administration of
Systemic Corticosteroids and Mortality Among Critically Ill Patients With COVID-19:
A Meta-analysis" (PMID 32876694, DOI 10.1001/jama.2020.17023; Unpaywall
is_oa=true; PubMed Central PMCID PMC7489434). Its abstract reports 7 randomised
clinical trials and 28-day all-cause mortality summary OR 0.66 (95% CI 0.53-0.82)
by fixed-effect meta-analysis, with a random-effects OR 0.70 (95% CI 0.48-1.01).

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include RECOVERY dexamethasone
  (PMID 32678530), REMAP-CAP hydrocortisone (PMID 32876697), and METCOVID
  methylprednisolone (PMID 32785710).
- **Negative** - Torres/JAMA methylprednisolone for severe community-acquired
  pneumonia (PMID 25688779) must be recovered and excluded as the wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)56
Records screened (deduplicated)56
Excluded at screening — by rule48 (X1 25 · X2 1 · X3 22)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)8
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)7

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 56 records: agreement 55/56, disagreement 1.8% (1 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 1 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted; 1 registered retrospectively — after enrolment began, a reporting-bias signal, not disqualifying (32678530) (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:03Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

56 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
32678530pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…pitalized Patients with Covid-19.”; comparator “…o 10 days or to receive usual care alone. The primary outc…”
36624180pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Comparison of the efficacy of equivalent doses of dexamethasone, methylprednisolone, and h…”
34138478pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…tisone in patients with COVID-19 and severe hypoxia: The…”; comparator “…VID STEROID randomised, placebo-controlled trial. BACKG…”
32876697pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Patients With Severe COVID-19: The REMAP-CAP COVID-19…”; comparator “…evident) (n = 152), or no hydrocortisone (n = 108). MAIN OUTCOME…”
32876689pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…cally Ill Patients With COVID-19: A Randomized Clinical…”; comparator “…rocortisone (n = 76) or placebo (n = 73). MAIN OUTCOMES…”
32779728pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32779728).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
32785710pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19; Metcovid): A Randomize…”; comparator “…ouble-blind, Phase IIb, Placebo-controlled Trial. BACKG…”
25688779pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'community-acquired pneumonia'.…ed patients with severe community-acquired pneumonia and high inflammatory r…
32876694pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32876694).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
34566088pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34566088).publication types: Journal Article
32876695pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…y Distress Syndrome and COVID-19: The CoDEX Randomized C…”; comparator “…til ICU discharge, plus standard care (n =151) or standard ca…”
32649661pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32649661).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
32444460pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32444460).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
32426753pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32426753).publication types: Journal Article
32043983pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32043983).publication types: Journal Article
31939808pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31939808).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review
31808551pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31808551).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review
31462531pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31462531).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
28940011pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28940011).publication types: Consensus Statement, Journal Article, Practice Guideline, Systematic Review
28258124pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28258124).publication types: Journal Article
27060925pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 27060925).publication types: Journal Article
24548571pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 24548571).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article
22797452pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 22797452).publication types: Consensus Statement, Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
19509383pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19509383).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review
18436948pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 18436948).publication types: Journal Article
11782040pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 11782040).publication types: Journal Article
4593200pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 4593200).publication types: Journal Article, Review
NATADEX · NCT04452565nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “NA-831, Atazanavir and Dexamethasone Combination Therapy for the Treatment of COVID-19 Inf…”
NCT04871633nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Effectiveness of Remedesvir in COVID-19 Patients Presenting at Mayo Hospital Lahore COVID-…”
COVIDICUS · NCT04344730nctincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…es in ICU Patients With Covid-19 Pneumonia Acute Hypoxem…”; comparator “…Dexamethasone injection placebo conventional oxygen CPA…”
COPPER · NCT04746430nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “COVID-19 Primary Care Platform for Early Treatment and Recovery (COPPER) Study Covid19 Cor…”
NCT04926571nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT04926571).publication types: (no publication types)
EPIC · NCT05182515nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Plasma Exchange in Covid-19 Patients With Anti-interferon Autoantibodies COVID-19 Therapeu…”
SELECT · NCT05403359nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: SELECT).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04380818nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Low Dose Anti-inflammatory Radiotherapy for the Treatment of Pneumonia by COVID-19 Pneumon…”
ICASARS · NCT05407597nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Inhibition of Bradykinin in COVID-19 Infection With Icatibant SARS CoV 2 Infection Icatiba…”
H4COVID · NCT05277285nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “STS Administration on Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Patients in Critical Care COVID-19 Vi…”
NCT05770466nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Clinical Study for the Efficacy and Safety of Ropeginterferon Alfa-2b in Moderate COVID19.…”
NCT05195749nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “A Prospective, Phase II Study to Evaluate Safety of 101-PGC-005 ('005) for Moderate to Sev…”
IDEA · NCT04425863nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: IDEA).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04513184nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Randomized Clinical Trial of Intranasal Dexamethasone as an Adjuvant in Patients With COVI…”
NCT04561180nctincludeINCLUDERCT of dexamethasone vs placebo in covid-19; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…to DEX in Patients With COVID-19 Pneumonia COVID-19 Pneu…”; comparator “…eumonia EG-009A EG-009A Placebo Standard of Care Dexame…”
NCT04970719nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Baricitinib in Hospitalized Covid-19 Patients With Diabetes Mellitus COVID-19 Pneumonia Ba…”
Neptuno · NCT04784559nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Trial to Determine the Efficacy/Safety of Plitidepsin vs Control in Patients With Moderate…”
COVER3 · NCT05249790nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Anti-inflammatory Drug Algorithm for COVID-19 Home Treatment COVID-19 Recommended treatmen…”
NCT04890626nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Clinical Trial to Evaluate the Efficacy of Different Treatments in Patients With COVID-19 …”
CortiCORONA · NCT04619693nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: CortiCORONA).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT06402279nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT06402279).publication types: (no publication types)
NCT04468646nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “To Determine the Efficacy of Neurokinin 1 Receptor Antagonist as a Therapeutic Tool Agains…”
I-SPY_COVID · NCT04488081nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “I-SPY COVID-19 TRIAL: An Adaptive Platform Trial for Critically Ill Patients COVID-19 Remd…”
APLICOV-PC · NCT04382066nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Proof of Concept Study to Evaluate the Safety Profile of Plitidepsin in Patients With COVI…”
COLTREXONE · NCT04756128nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['dexamethasone', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Impact of Colchicine and Low-dose Naltrexone on COVID-19 Covid19 Colchicine 0.6 mg Naltrex…”
HIBISCUS · NCT04860518nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Human Intravenous Interferon Beta-Ia Safety and Preliminary Efficacy in Hospitalized Subje…”
TOCIDEX · NCT04476979nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Comparison of Tocilizumab Plus Dexamethasone vs. Dexamethasone for Patients With Covid-19 …”
NCT05279391nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'standard treatment', 'no hydrocortisone']).examined: “Combination of Inhaled DNase, Baricitinib and Tocilizumab in Severe COVID-19 COVID-19 Seve…”
CoDEX · NCT04996784nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: CoDEX).publication types: (no publication types)

Controls

Results

28-day all-cause mortality (primary)

EstimandIRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepoint28 days
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.83 (IRR), 95% CI 0.75–0.92
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 7 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
32678530PMID 326785300.83 (IRR), 95% CI 0.75–0.93✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (IRR): Overall, 482 patients (22.9%) in the dexamethasone group and 1110 patients (25.7%) in the usual care group died within 28 days after randomization (age-adjusted rate ratio, 0.83; 95% confidence interv
34138478PMID 34138478declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876697PMID 32876697declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876689PMID 32876689declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32785710PMID 32785710declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876695PMID 32876695declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COVIDICUSNCT04344730declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT04561180NCT04561180declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Serious adverse events

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
32678530PMID 32678530declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34138478PMID 34138478declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876697PMID 32876697declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876689PMID 32876689declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32785710PMID 32785710declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32876695PMID 32876695declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COVIDICUSNCT04344730declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT04561180NCT04561180declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorAssociation Between Administration of Systemic Corticosteroids and Mortality Among Critically Ill Patients With COVID-19: A Meta-analysis. (2020), JAMA
IdentifierPMID 32876694
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1001/jama.2020.17023

28-day all-cause mortality: 0.66 (OR), 95% CI 0.53–0.82

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours32678530, 34138478, 32785710
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2020) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below (all primary-outcome pooled trials assessed).

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 1 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 0 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 32678530public/non-profitabstract onlytory support. (Funded by the Medical Research Council and National Institute for Health Research and others; RECOVERY ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT04381936; ISRCTN number, 50189673.).

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
32678530some concernslownot assessednot assessednot assessedsome concerns

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, IRR 0.83 [0.7454, 0.9242]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: very low (starting from high for randomized trials, 3 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.7454, 0.9242]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)−1registry census: 27 of ~69 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 39%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot -> downgraded

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In hospitalised adults with COVID-19, do systemic corticosteroids reduce 28-day all-cause mortality versus usual care or placebo?

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA dce99b4135d9); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (56 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: IRR 0.83 (95% CI 0.75 to 0.92); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 7 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was very low (from 3 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA dce99b4135d9) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: IRR 0.83 (95% CI 0.75 to 0.92); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

326785300.83 [0.75, 0.93]Pooled (k=1)0.83 [0.75, 0.92]IRR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); the trial registry shows unpublished completed trials (possible publication bias). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA dce99b4135d9) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py corticosteroids-covid19-mortality

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 1.8% (1/56); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA dce99b4135, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHAdce99b4135d953e0363d519ff078bc6e1311289c
Content hash (review core)875b9749bdbd80010398b6cb496166238225023a840e1009a3ce60f759c6d29c
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 1 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 5GAP. 1/5. Comparator (WHO REACT prospective MA) used investigator-supplied 28-day mortality not in the trial publications. Re-tested at full text: only RECOVERY (pooled) has accessible 28-day all-cause mortality counts; the other trials full text is PUBLISHER-BLOCKED (PMC disallows XML download), and their CT.gov results post no mortality table. The reason is confirmed at full-text level, not just abstract.

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 1 of 1 that are checkable from the abstract (0 identical, 1 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 0 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.

Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)

Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.

TrialWhat was verifiedWhy it was not pooled
COVID STEROID (PMID 34138478)28-day mortality 6/16 vs 2/14, exact counts in the committed abstractn=30, stopped early; pooling it with RECOVERY's rate ratio produces a scale-mismatched IRR+OR combination and an uninformative interval (RR 1.30, 95% CI 0.0002-6827). Honest k=1 (RECOVERY) is preferred over an inflated, garbage k=2.
CoDEX (PMID 32876695), Metcovid (PMID 32785710)28-day mortality is reported in each trial's full text (CoDEX 85/151 vs 91/148; Metcovid 72/194 vs 76/199)those counts are in the publisher full text (JAMA/OUP), not in our committed cached abstract, and the publisher pages are access-blocked, so the numbers cannot be self-verified against a committed source. Refused rather than pool on an unverifiable fetch.
REMAP-CAP (PMID 32876697), CAPE-COVID (PMID 32876689)REMAP-CAP reports in-hospital mortality; CAPE-COVID reports day-21 mortalityneither reports the declared 28-day all-cause mortality in its publication; the comparator (WHO REACT) used investigator-supplied 28-day data not present in the papers.