Systemic corticosteroids vs placebo or usual care for mortality in hospitalised community-acquired pneumonia

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Systemic corticosteroids vs placebo or usual care for mortality in hospitalised community-acquired pneumonia

In adults hospitalised with community-acquired pneumonia, do systemic corticosteroids added to standard care reduce all-cause mortality versus placebo or standard care?

Primary outcome

OutcomeAll-cause mortality
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)1 — 36942789 (PMID 36942789)
Screened-in → pooled9 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 1 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 8 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Single-trial effect0.53 (RR), 95% CI 0.33–0.84
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).

Transparency (independently checkable)

30 of 30 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 1 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)036ee46c6c45cb5c10607def1eeda86ba536d750
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['community-acquired pneumonia', 'community acquired pneumonia', 'severe community-acquired pneumonia', 'severe community acquired pneumonia', 'pneumonia, community-acquired']; and none of ['covid', 'sars-cov-2', 'influenza', 'pediatric', 'paediatric', 'children', 'child', 'mycoplasma', 'pneumocystis', 'scrub typhus', 'acute respiratory distress syndrome', 'ards']; randomised intervention is one of ['corticosteroid', 'corticosteroids', 'steroid', 'steroids', 'glucocorticoid', 'glucocorticoids', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone', 'dexamethasone'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'control', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'usual care', 'conventional therapy']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol - systemic corticosteroids for mortality in hospitalised community-acquired pneumonia

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs.

## PICO
- **P** - adults hospitalised with community-acquired pneumonia (CAP).
- **I** - systemic corticosteroids added to standard antimicrobial/supportive care.
- **C** - placebo, usual care, standard care, or conventional therapy.
- **O (primary)** - all-cause mortality at 30 days or in hospital.
- **O (harms)** - hyperglycaemia; gastrointestinal bleeding.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - risk ratio (RR), systemic corticosteroid vs placebo/usual care.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - 30-day mortality preferred; in-hospital mortality accepted when
  that is the trial's reported short-term mortality window.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff all hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - adult hospitalised CAP or severe CAP population by title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - systemic corticosteroid vs placebo/usual/standard care;
- **design** - randomised comparison; double-blinding is not required because the
  target comparator includes placebo or standard-care controls.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational study, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (for example COVID-19/SARS-CoV-2 pneumonia, influenza,
  paediatric CAP, Pneumocystis pneumonia, scrub typhus pneumonitis, or ARDS without
  CAP as the title/condition population);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no systemic corticosteroid-vs-control contrast);
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic/disease in this set
  (negative control).

> Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an included trial reports
> 30-day or in-hospital all-cause mortality in an abstract-extractable form is
> recorded as target-result status at extraction, never as an exclusion. A
> published effect plus 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/corticosteroids-cap-mortality/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: targeted corticosteroid x community-acquired pneumonia x randomised
  placebo/control queries for hydrocortisone, methylprednisolone, prednisone, and
  dexamethasone trial reports.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "community-acquired pneumonia", intervention
  "hydrocortisone".
- Comparator-reference seeding is disabled for this topic because the fixed NCT
  deduplication rule can let later secondary/subgroup reports replace the original
  trial report. Recall is instead checked with named positive controls.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells
of a study only if it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine
validated vs metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Wu et al., *Journal of Critical Care* 2024, "Efficacy and safety of corticosteroids
for the treatment of community-acquired pneumonia: A systematic review and
meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials" (PMID 38128217, DOI
10.1016/j.jcrc.2023.154507; Unpaywall is_oa=true; no direct PubMed Central full
text resolved). Its abstract reports 15 RCTs and all-cause mortality RR 0.69
(95% CI 0.53-0.89).

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include CAPE COD hydrocortisone
  (PMID 36942789), Torres/JAMA methylprednisolone severe CAP (PMID 25688779),
  and STEP prednisone CAP (PMID 25608756).
- **Negative** - RECOVERY dexamethasone for COVID-19 (PMID 32678530) must be
  recovered and excluded as the wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)114
Records screened (deduplicated)114
Excluded at screening — by rule105 (X1 94 · X2 8 · X3 3)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)9
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)1
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)8

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 114 records: agreement 114/114, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 3 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted; 1 registered retrospectively — after enrolment began, a reporting-bias signal, not disqualifying (25688779) (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:03Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

114 records screened; 9 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
42425738pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42425738).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
40597594pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40597594).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
40483569pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40483569).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40307783pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40307783).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis
39660004pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39660004).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
39636194pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39636194).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
38865154pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38865154).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
36942789pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ydrocortisone in Severe Community-Acquired Pneumonia.”; comparator “…14 days) or to receive placebo. All the patients recei…”
29236286pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29236286).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
17519300pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 17519300).publication types: Journal Article, Review
15557131pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…one infusion for severe community-acquired pneumonia: a preliminary randomiz…”; comparator “…rocortisone infusion or placebo. Hydrocortisone was giv…”
8339624pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…crosis factor in severe community-acquired pneumonia. A randomized controlle…”; comparator “…nia. DESIGN: Randomized placebo-controlled study. SETTI…”
42438902pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42438902).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42410832pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42410832).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42178593pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42178593).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42638128pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42638128).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42298767pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42298767).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42343472pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42343472).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42272203pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42272203).publication types: Journal Article
42516151pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42516151).publication types: Journal Article
42032715pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42032715).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41524797pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41524797).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42309657pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42309657).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
41782074pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41782074).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40967602pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40967602).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42524456pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42524456).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41267863pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41267863).publication types: Journal Article
41552367pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41552367).publication types: Journal Article
41590521pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41590521).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41046258pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41046258).publication types: Letter
42177285pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42177285).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study, Observational Study
41180093pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41180093).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40598558pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40598558).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42342261pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42342261).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42694032pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42694032).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40148914pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40148914).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
40665428pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40665428).publication types: Journal Article
41845333pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41845333).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
41909118pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41909118).publication types: Journal Article
42345647pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42345647).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Case Reports
41541042pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41541042).publication types: Journal Article
41888370pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'children'.…comes of critically Ill children with severe sepsis: a d…
39568743pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39568743).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
40323455pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40323455).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural
42387624pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42387624).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39360025pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39360025).publication types: Journal Article
40817233pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'children'.…methasone on outcome of children aged 3-7 years with emp…
40470636pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40470636).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
35723686pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ll patients with severe community-acquired pneumonia.”; comparator “…uble-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled clinical tri…”
35598005pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35598005).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article
25688779pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ed patients with severe community-acquired pneumonia and high inflammatory r…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial conduc…”
21406101pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…the clinical course of community-acquired pneumonia: a randomized controlle…”; comparator “…a tapering regimen, or placebo. RESULTS: Of the 56 pat…”
41817732pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41817732).publication types: Letter
42529262pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42529262).publication types: Journal Article
39061701pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39061701).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42138606pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42138606).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Comparative Study, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40803720pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40803720).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
41005772pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41005772).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
40055601pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40055601).publication types: Journal Article
37729338pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37729338).publication types: Editorial
39003393pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39003393).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
39360775pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39360775).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural
37879118pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37879118).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
41683627pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41683627).publication types: Journal Article
38853475pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38853475).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
39488718pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39488718).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study
39287265pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39287265).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
40388163pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40388163).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural
39574948pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39574948).publication types: Journal Article, Review
37644607pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37644607).publication types: Letter, Comment
37430366pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37430366).publication types: Letter
38329440pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['community-acquired pneumonia', 'community acquired pneumonia', 'severe community-acquired pneumonia', 'severe community acquired pneumonia', 'pneumonia, community-acquired'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Methylprednisolone as Adjunct to Endovascular Thrombectomy for Large-Vessel Occlusion Stro…”
40519427pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40519427).publication types: Case Reports, Journal Article
40095877pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40095877).publication types: Journal Article
39266268pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39266268).publication types: Journal Article
36967375pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36967375).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article
35552779pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35552779).publication types: Editorial, Comment
37995353pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37995353).publication types: Review, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
38510776pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38510776).publication types: Journal Article
40787733pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40787733).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
39642210pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39642210).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Meta-Analysis
35488828pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35488828).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Review
33446608pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ients hospitalised with community-acquired pneumonia: a randomised clinical…”; comparator “…ndomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial, immun…”
25608756pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…erapy for patients with community-acquired pneumonia: a multicentre, double-…”; comparator “…uble-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial. BACKG…”
21636122pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of corticosteroid vs placebo in community-acquired pneumonia; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…l stay in patients with community-acquired pneumonia: a randomised, double-b…”; comparator “…ndomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. BACKG…”
42640135pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42640135).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
41029298pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'covid'.…on predicts survival in COVID-19 severe pneumonia tre…
41644167pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'covid'.…ients hospitalised with COVID-19 pneumonia during the…
40026467pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40026467).publication types: Journal Article
41180339pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41180339).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40917910pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40917910).publication types: Journal Article, Review
37970598pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['corticosteroid', 'corticosteroids', 'steroid', 'steroids', 'glucocorticoid', 'glucocorticoids', 'hydrocortisone', 'methylprednisolone', 'prednisone', 'prednisolone', 'dexamethasone'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Mortality reduction in severe community-acquired pneumonia: key findings from a large rand…”
37356085pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37356085).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40302135pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40302135).publication types: Journal Article, Practice Guideline
36046347pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36046347).publication types: Journal Article
34321903pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34321903).publication types: Journal Article, Review
34993763pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34993763).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study
36091845pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36091845).publication types: Journal Article
33754123pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33754123).publication types: Journal Article, Review
37366867pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37366867).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39036518pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39036518).publication types: Journal Article
37311899pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37311899).publication types: Journal Article, Review
33425407pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33425407).publication types: Case Reports, Journal Article
33245242pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33245242).publication types: Journal Article, Review
33620019pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33620019).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
33727376pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33727376).publication types: Journal Article, Review
35962234pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35962234).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
34310373pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34310373).publication types: Journal Article, Review
32678530pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'covid'.…pitalized Patients with Covid-19.
38128217pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38128217).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Journal Article
NCT06472219nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['community-acquired pneumonia', 'community acquired pneumonia', 'severe community-acquired pneumonia', 'severe community acquired pneumonia', 'pneumonia, community-acquired'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “PREDICATE Trial For Respiratory Tract Infections Respiratory Tract Infections”
REMAP-CAP · NCT02735707nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'covid'.…d Pneumonia, Influenza, COVID-19 REMAP-CAP
NCT06892197nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'control', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'usual care', 'conventional therapy']).examined: “Comparing Hydrocortisone and Prednisolone for Community Acquired Pneumonia (CAP) Community…”
NCT01228110nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'control', 'standard care', 'standard therapy', 'usual care', 'conventional therapy']).examined: “Corticosteroids in Community Acquired Pneumonea Community Acquired Pneumonia Hydrocortison…”

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
25608756HyperglycaemiaIn-hospital hyperglycaemia needing insulin (pooled with an undefined hyperglycaemia).DISCLOSED (endpoint is in-hospital hyperglycaemia requiring insulin — a treatment-threshold definition narrower than hyperglycaemia)

All-cause mortality (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepoint30-day or in-hospital
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect0.53 (RR), 95% CI 0.33–0.84
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 8 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
36942789PMID 3694278925/400 vs 47/395 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): By day 28, death had occurred in 25 of 400 patients (6.2%; 95% confidence interval [CI], 3.9 to 8.6) in the hydrocortisone group and in 47 of 395 patients (11.9%; 95% CI, 8.7 to 15.1) in the placebo g
15557131PMID 15557131declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
8339624PMID 8339624declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
35723686PMID 35723686declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25688779PMID 25688779declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21406101PMID 21406101declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33446608PMID 33446608declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25608756PMID 25608756declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21636122PMID 21636122declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Hyperglycaemia

Estimandmixed (OR/RR)
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect1.88 (mixed (OR/RR)), 95% CI 0.17–20.09
Prediction interval0.17–20.09
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 7 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
25688779PMID 2568877911/61 vs 7/59 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Hyperglycemia occurred in 11 patients (18%) in the methylprednisolone group and in 7 patients (12%) in the placebo group (P = .34).
25608756PMID 256087561.96 (OR), 95% CI 1.31–2.93✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (OR): The prednisone group had a higher incidence of in-hospital hyperglycaemia needing insulin treatment (76 [19%] vs 43 [11%]; OR 1.96, 95% CI 1.31-2.93, p=0.0010).
36942789PMID 36942789declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
15557131PMID 15557131declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
8339624PMID 8339624declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
35723686PMID 35723686declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21406101PMID 21406101declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33446608PMID 33446608declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21636122PMID 21636122declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Gastrointestinal bleeding

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
36942789PMID 36942789declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
15557131PMID 15557131declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
8339624PMID 8339624declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
35723686PMID 35723686declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25688779PMID 25688779declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21406101PMID 21406101declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
33446608PMID 33446608declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25608756PMID 25608756declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
21636122PMID 21636122declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorEfficacy and safety of corticosteroids for the treatment of community-acquired pneumonia: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. (2024), J Crit Care
IdentifierPMID 38128217
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1016/j.jcrc.2023.154507

All-cause mortality: 0.69 (RR), 95% CI 0.53–0.89

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)1
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2024) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 0 of 1 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (36942789) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed. RoB2 is scoped to the primary outcome; 2 trial(s) pooled only in secondary outcomes (25608756, 25688779) are outside this assessment.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 3 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 36942789public/non-profitabstract onlyived placebo. (Funded by the French Ministry of Health; CAPE COD ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT02517489.).
PMID 25608756public/non-profitabstract onlynd efficiency. FUNDING: Swiss National Science Foundation, Viollier AG, Nora van Meeuwen Haefliger Stiftung, Julia und Gottfried Bangerter-Rhyner Stiftung.
PMID 25688779not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT registry fields). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
36942789not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 0 of 1 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=1, RR 0.5253 [0.33, 0.8361]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 0 of 1 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedsingle trial (k=1): between-study inconsistency is not estimable
Imprecision−195% CI [0.33, 0.8361]; single trial (no replication)
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedno registry ghost census available for this topic

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults hospitalised with community-acquired pneumonia, do systemic corticosteroids added to standard care reduce all-cause mortality versus placebo or standard care?

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 036ee46c6c45); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (114 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.53 (95% CI 0.33 to 0.84); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable. 8 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 036ee46c6c45) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

A single eligible trial contributed an extractable estimate: RR 0.53 (95% CI 0.33 to 0.84); with k=1 no between-trial heterogeneity or prediction interval is estimable.

369427890.53Pooled (k=1)0.53 [0.33, 0.84]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 0 of 1 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 036ee46c6c45) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py corticosteroids-cap-mortality

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/114); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI, single-trial (k=1) flagged, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 036ee46c6c, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA036ee46c6c45cb5c10607def1eeda86ba536d750
Content hash (review core)cee479a9bc566f8e6c496aa8c0c647cb700dc49b5a37cab9b17df2296072247d
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)

Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.

TrialWhat was verifiedWhy it was not pooled
Torres 2015 (25688779)in-hospital mortality locatedin-hospital mortality is a SECONDARY (primary = treatment failure), narrower population (severe CAP + CRP>150), and a different timepoint than the declared 28-day mortality.
Meduri/ESCAPe (35723686)60-day mortality located (CT.gov)reports 60-day mortality, not the declared 28-day; timepoint mismatch. Pooling mixed timepoints would be estimand-inconsistent.