Colchicine vs placebo for secondary prevention of cardiovascular events

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Colchicine vs placebo for secondary prevention of cardiovascular events

In adults with coronary disease or recent myocardial infarction, does low-dose colchicine reduce major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeMajor adverse cardiovascular events
Estimandmixed (HR/RR)
Trials pooled (k)2 — 31733140 (PMID 31733140); 32865380 (PMID 32865380)
Screened-in → pooled28 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 2 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 26 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect0.73 (mixed (HR/RR)), 95% CI 0.29–1.82
Prediction interval0.29–1.82
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

89 of 89 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 3 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)9355c4b9d8482a5cf6f6ad3d4884d97f695f2a6d
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular']; and none of ['pericarditis', 'postpericardiotomy', 'post-pericardiotomy', 'post pericardiotomy', 'atrial fibrillation', 'cardiac surgery', 'postoperative', 'ablation', 'stroke', 'transient ischemic', 'intracerebral', 'covid', 'osteoarthritis', 'hypertension', 'aortic stenosis', 'gout']; randomised intervention is one of ['colchicine'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo']; double-blind or placebo-controlled. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator · X-DESIGN not double-blind/placebo-controlled.
# Protocol - colchicine for secondary cardiovascular prevention

**Registration.** The commit adding this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs. This topic uses the
same fixed harness and declared method as the existing colchicine topics.

## PICO
- **P** - adults with coronary disease or recent myocardial infarction.
- **I** - low-dose colchicine added to guideline-based medical therapy.
- **C** - placebo added to guideline-based medical therapy.
- **O (primary)** - major adverse cardiovascular events (MACE) composite.
- **O (harms)** - gastrointestinal adverse effects; non-cardiovascular death.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - hazard ratio or other ratio effect as reported by each trial,
  pooled on the ratio scale by the fixed harness.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised.
- **Timepoint** - trial end / longest planned follow-up for the primary MACE
  composite.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN only
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised controlled trial;
- **I2** - population is coronary disease or recent myocardial infarction;
- **I3** - low-dose colchicine versus placebo;
- **design** - double-blind, placebo-controlled.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not an RCT (review, guideline, observational, protocol-only);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. pericarditis, postoperative atrial fibrillation,
  primary stroke-only populations, hypertension, COVID-19, osteoarthritis);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no colchicine-vs-placebo contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not double-blind and placebo-controlled;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another topic in this set (negative
  control).

Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis. Whether an included trial reports MACE
in its abstract, gives 2x2 data, gives only an effect plus confidence interval,
or reports neither extractable form is extraction status only, never a screening
exclusion.

## Search
- PubMed: exact landmark-trial title queries for COLCOT and LoDoCo2, plus a
  colchicine x coronary disease x placebo x randomised/double-blind sweep.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "coronary artery disease", intervention
  "colchicine".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log ratio effects; Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ
95% CI on t_{k-1} (floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1} *
sqrt(tau^2+se^2). 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study only
if it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor
5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Frontiers in Cardiovascular Medicine 2022, "Colchicine and coronary heart
disease risks: A meta-analysis of randomized controlled clinical trials" (PMID
36176989, PMC9512890, DOI 10.3389/fcvm.2022.947959; Unpaywall is_oa=true).
It reports colchicine reduced MACE (RR 0.65, 95% CI 0.38-0.77) in coronary
atherosclerotic heart disease trials, and reports gastrointestinal and mortality
safety outcomes.

## Controls
- **Positive** - the search must recover and include COLCOT (PMID 31733140) and
  LoDoCo2 (PMID 32865380).
- **Negative** - CORP recurrent pericarditis (PMID 21873705), a double-blind
  placebo colchicine trial from another topic/disease, must be recovered and
  excluded as the wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)120
Records screened (deduplicated)120
Excluded at screening — by rule92 (X1 62 · X2 16 · X3 14)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)28
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)2
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)26

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 120 records: agreement 103/120, disagreement 14.2% (17 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Independent model adjudication of the disagreements

A capable model (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets) adjudicated 17 content-bearing disagreements; it agrees with the served rule screener on 12/17. an independent capable-model reader adjudicated the rule-screener disagreements (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets). Advisory: the rule screener remains the served decision; flags are surfaced for review. Flags: 32407460 (served include, model exclude: This is an economic analysis of COLCOT rather than an eligible randomized trial record.); 34446156 (served include, model exclude: This is a duplicate secondary analysis of LoDoCo2 rather than an independent eligible trial report.); 34420373 (served exclude, model include: This is a randomized placebo-controlled colchicine trial in acute myocardial infarction.); 25784519 (served include, model exclude: This perioperative cardiac-surgery study is excluded by the wrong population.); 23500260 (served exclude, model include: This is a randomized placebo-controlled colchicine trial in a coronary PCI population.)

Trial integrity: none of the 3 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:02Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

120 records screened; 28 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
42681982pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42681982).publication types: Journal Article
42453064pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42453064).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41882721pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41882721).publication types: Journal Article
40988201pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40988201).publication types: Journal Article, Case Reports, Review
39431112pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39431112).publication types: Journal Article
39233210pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39233210).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
37608812pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37608812).publication types: Journal Article, Review
35907660pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35907660).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
35736394pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35736394).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
35253137pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35253137).publication types: Journal Article, Review
34414298pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34414298).publication types: Journal Article
32407460pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…w-dose colchicine after myocardial infarction in the Colchicine Cardi…”; comparator “…IMS: In the randomized, placebo-controlled Colchicine C…”
31733140pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…w-Dose Colchicine after Myocardial Infarction.”; comparator “…(0.5 mg once daily) or placebo. The primary efficacy e…”
42669068pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42669068).publication types: Journal Article
42618809pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42618809).publication types: Journal Article, Scoping Review
42536391pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42536391).publication types: Journal Article
42534206pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42534206).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42454471pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42454471).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42454467pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42454467).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42419674pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42419674).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42250736pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42250736).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42171107pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42171107).publication types: Journal Article, Multicenter Study, Observational Study
42022602pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42022602).publication types: Journal Article
41936433pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41936433).publication types: Journal Article
41811478pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41811478).publication types: English Abstract, Journal Article, Review
41760558pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41760558).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
41707930pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41707930).publication types: Journal Article
41528549pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41528549).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Comparative Study
41488670pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41488670).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41487823pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41487823).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41407975pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41407975).publication types: Journal Article, Observational Study
41356581pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41356581).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41257435pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41257435).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41224205pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41224205).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
41214504pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41214504).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
41210669pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41210669).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42395065pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42395065).publication types: Journal Article
41670023pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…on progression of known coronary atherosclerosis in pati…”; comparator “…ase: EKSTROM randomized placebo controlled trial. AIMS:…”
41605493pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…trophy in patients with coronary artery disease: A rando…”; comparator “…chicine 0.6 mg daily or placebo for 48 weeks after a ru…”
40659197pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40659197).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
40573223pmidexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['colchicine'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Does Green Brazilian Propolis Extract Improve Functional Capacity in Symptomatic Chronic C…”
40263680pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…go Primary Percutaneous Coronary Intervention: A Randomi…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled clinical tri…”
40228852pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40228852).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article
39704486pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39704486).publication types: Published Erratum
39478683pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “The effects of colchicine on lipoprotein(a)- and oxidized phospholipid-associated cardiova…”
39240565pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'stroke'.…Hours for Mild Ischemic Stroke: A Subgroup Analysis of…
39189611pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…lchicine on non-culprit coronary plaque composition afte…”; comparator “…ACS was a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial that r…”
39166327pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “Effect of Colchicine on Coronary Plaque Stability in Acu…”; comparator “…(0.5 mg once daily) or placebo for 12 months. The prim…”
39115262pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n Patients with Chronic Coronary Artery Disease: A Doubl…”; comparator “…Double-Blind Randomized Placebo-Controlled Cross-Over S…”
38035037pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38035037).publication types: Journal Article
37949621pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37949621).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
37247416pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Association of Low-Dose Colchicine With Incidence of Knee and Hip Replacements : Explorato…”
37060288pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37060288).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Clinical Trial Protocol
36643381pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36643381).publication types: Journal Article
34876021pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…onth period after acute coronary syndrome occurrence; a…”; comparator “…ccurrence; a randomized placebo-control trial. BACKGROU…”
34637494pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “The effect of vitamin K1 on arterial calcification activity in subjects with diabetes mell…”
34446156pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n Patients With Chronic Coronary Disease in Relation to…”; comparator “…ne 0.5 mg once daily or placebo. The rate of the compos…”
34432196pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34432196).publication types: Journal Article, Clinical Trial Protocol
34420373pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34420373).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
21873705pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'pericarditis'.…olchicine for recurrent pericarditis (CORP): a randomized tr…
36176989pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36176989).publication types: Systematic Review, Journal Article
35138464pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 35138464).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis
34686461pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…Injury in Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (COPE-PCI)…”; comparator “…omised to colchicine or placebo, 6 to 24-hours pre-proc…”
34416165pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34416165).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, Non-P.H.S., Review, Consensus Statement
34409634pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34409634).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
34369166pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34369166).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
34266580pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34266580).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Review
33779702pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33779702).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
33272780pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33272780).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
33137319pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 33137319).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
32865380pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n Patients with Chronic Coronary Disease.”; comparator “…once daily or matching placebo. The primary end point…”
32862667pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…in Patients With Acute Coronary Syndrome: The Australia…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial involv…”
32295417pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…n Prior to Percutaneous Coronary Intervention: COLCHICIN…”; comparator “…of colchicine 1.8 mg or placebo. RESULTS: Among the 400…”
31284074pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…w Dose Colchicine after Myocardial Infarction (LoDoCo-MI) study: A pi…”; comparator “…udy: A pilot randomized placebo controlled trial of col…”
30653442pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30653442).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
28845751pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Antiinflammatory Therapy with Canakinumab for Atherosclerotic Disease.”
28413100pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28413100).publication types: Journal Article, Review
28065445pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “COLIN trial: Value of colchicine in the treatment of patients with acute myocardial infarc…”
27223641pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'atrial fibrillation'.Colchicine to Reduce Atrial Fibrillation in the Postoperative Pe…
26265659pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ith Colchicine in Acute Myocardial Infarction: A Pilot Study.”; comparator “…signed to colchicine or placebo for 5 days. The primary…”
25784519pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…s who underwent on-pump coronary artery bypass grafting.”; comparator “…omized to colchicine or placebo starting 48 hours befor…”
25495322pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 25495322).publication types: Historical Article, Journal Article
24006166pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 24006166).publication types: English Abstract, Journal Article, Review
23500260pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Colchicine treatment for the prevention of bare-metal stent restenosis in diabetic patient…”
23265346pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Low-dose colchicine for secondary prevention of cardiovascular disease.”
21918905pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'stroke'.…onary syndrome or acute stroke: a pilot randomized con…
20586571pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 20586571).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review
20131255pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'gout'.…chicine for early acute gout flare: Twenty-four-hour…
19621072pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19621072).publication types: Guideline, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
15014504pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 15014504).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
11846488pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 11846488).publication types: Editorial, Comment
1792241pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 1792241).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, Non-P.H.S., Review
1593057pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ion of restenosis after coronary angioplasty.”; comparator “…aily (130 patients), or placebo (67 patients) for 6 mon…”
ARTCAP · NCT06280976nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Aggressive Risk-Prevention Therapies for Coronary Atherosclerotic Plaque (ART-CAP) Coronar…”
CLEAR SYNERGY · NCT03048825nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…t Registry ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction Non ST Elevation Myocar…”; comparator “…luting Stent Colchicine-Placebo Spironolactone-Placebo…”
ESCALATE · NCT06469528nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “ESCALATion of Medical Therapy Following Multimodality Plaque Evaluation in High-risk Chron…”
NCT05739929nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…Undergoing Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (COLCHICIN…”; comparator “…cine 0.5 MG Oral Tablet Placebo”
NCT06215989nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “Treatment of ACuTe Coronary Syndromes With Low-dose…”; comparator “…chicine Colchicine Pill Placebo”
COLOR · NCT07349875nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Colchicine Treatment for Non-Flow-Limiting Coronary Plaque by Coronary CTA: A Randomized C…”
COLPET · NCT02162303nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Colchicine in Vascular Inflammation Assessed With PET Imaging Atherosclerotic Vascular Dis…”
PROACT 2 · NCT05850091nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…etection of Subclinical Coronary Atherosclerosis and Int…”; comparator “…Rosuvastatin Colchicine Placebo PROACT 2”
NCT06054100nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “The Effect of Colchicine on Inflammation in ACS Patients Acute Coronary Syndrome STEMI Col…”
COLD-MI · NCT04420624nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “COLchicine to Prevent Sympathetic Denervation After an Acute Myocardial Infarction Myocard…”
COLCOHIV · NCT07704164nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “Colchicine to Reduce Coronary Artery Inflammation in…”; comparator “…(CVD) Colchicine 0.5 mg Placebo COLCOHIV”
NCT05200052nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Effect of Colchicine On Left Ventricle Function After Anterior Myocardial Infarction Asses…”
COCAR · NCT05726019nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'postpericardiotomy'.…Myocardial Reperfusion Postpericardiotomy Syndrome Postoperative…
NCT01709981nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ts of Colchicine in PCI Coronary Artery Disease”; comparator “…tery Disease Colchicine Placebo”
COOL · NCT00754819nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…g Inflammation in Acute Coronary Syndrome Using Colchici…”; comparator “…ary Syndrome Colchicine Placebo COOL”
COPMAN · NCT04139655nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'cardiac surgery'.…ardial Injury After Non-Cardiac Surgery Pilot Study Myocardial…
MACT · NCT04949516nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Mono Antiplatelet and Colchicine Therapy Acute Coronary Syndrome Drug-Eluting Stents Aspir…”
CAFE · NCT06798714nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'atrial fibrillation'.…ne on the Occurrence of Atrial Fibrillation After Cardiac Surgery C…
CODEN · NCT02095522nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ion in Non ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction Patients NSTEMI CODEN”; comparator “…ients NSTEMI Colchicine Placebo CODEN”
LEADER-PAD · NCT04774159nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['coronary', 'myocardial infarction', 'acute coronary', 'stable angina', 'atherosclerotic cardiovascular'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Low Dose ColchicinE in pAtients With Peripheral Artery DiseasE to Address Residual Vascula…”
NCT07143136nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in myocardial infarction; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…on-ST Segment Elevation Myocardial Infarction Patients Treated With D…”; comparator “…l Infarction Colchicine Placebo”
RIGHT · NCT06025071nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Residual Inflammatory Risk-Guided colcHicine in Elderly Trial Percutaneous Coronary Interv…”
DRC-04 · NCT03376698nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in coronary; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…Diabetic Patients With Coronary Artery Disease Colchici…”; comparator “…5 mg Colchicine 0.25 mg Placebo DRC-04”
NCT03735134nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Colchicine in Periprocedural Myocardial Infarction: the Role of Alpha Defensin Inflammatio…”
NCT05709509nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Effect of Colchicine on MMP-9, NOX2, and TGF-β1 in Myocardial Infarct ST Elevation Myocard…”
NCT06020300nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Short Course Low Dose Oral Colchicine After ST Elevation Myocardial Infarction(STEMI) STEM…”
NCT07362966nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo']).examined: “Precision Colchicine Intervention to Suppress Atherosclerosis in TET2 Clonal Hematopoiesis…”

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
31733140Major adverse cardiovascular eventsCOLCOT: 5-point composite (adds resuscitated arrest + urgent angina revascularization). ·both familiesDISCLOSED (per-trial primary MACE; component sets vary)
32865380Major adverse cardiovascular eventsLoDoCo2: 4-point composite (ischemia-driven revascularization). ·both familiesDISCLOSED (per-trial primary MACE; component sets vary)

Major adverse cardiovascular events (primary)

Estimandmixed (HR/RR)
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointtrial end
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect0.73 (mixed (HR/RR)), 95% CI 0.29–1.82
Prediction interval0.29–1.82
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 26 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
31733140PMID 317331400.77 (HR), 95% CI 0.61–0.96✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): The primary end point occurred in 5.5% of the patients in the colchicine group, as compared with 7.1% of those in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.77; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.61 to 0.96; P =
32865380PMID 32865380187/2762 vs 264/2760 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): A primary end-point event occurred in 187 patients (6.8%) in the colchicine group and in 264 patients (9.6%) in the placebo group (incidence, 2.5 vs. 3.6 events per 100 person-years; hazard ratio, 0.6
32407460PMID 32407460declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41670023PMID 41670023declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41605493PMID 41605493declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40263680PMID 40263680declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39189611PMID 39189611declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39166327PMID 39166327declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39115262PMID 39115262declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34876021PMID 34876021declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34446156PMID 34446156declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34686461PMID 34686461declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32862667PMID 32862667declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32295417PMID 32295417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
31284074PMID 31284074declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
26265659PMID 26265659declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25784519PMID 25784519declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
1593057PMID 1593057declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CLEAR SYNERGYNCT03048825declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05739929NCT05739929declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06215989NCT06215989declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PROACT 2NCT05850091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COLCOHIVNCT07704164declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT01709981NCT01709981declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COOLNCT00754819declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CODENNCT02095522declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07143136NCT07143136declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DRC-04NCT03376698declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Gastrointestinal adverse effects

EstimandRR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect5.38 (RR), 95% CI 1.6–18.1
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 27 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
34876021PMID 3487602115/120 vs 3/129 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Evaluating adverse effects, gastrointestinal symptom was the most with the rate of 15 (12.5%) in the colchicine group and 3 (2.5%) in the controls.
32407460PMID 32407460declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
31733140PMID 31733140declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41670023PMID 41670023declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41605493PMID 41605493declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40263680PMID 40263680declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39189611PMID 39189611declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39166327PMID 39166327declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39115262PMID 39115262declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34446156PMID 34446156declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34686461PMID 34686461declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32865380PMID 32865380declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32862667PMID 32862667declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32295417PMID 32295417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
31284074PMID 31284074declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
26265659PMID 26265659declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25784519PMID 25784519declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
1593057PMID 1593057declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CLEAR SYNERGYNCT03048825declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05739929NCT05739929declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06215989NCT06215989declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PROACT 2NCT05850091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COLCOHIVNCT07704164declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT01709981NCT01709981declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COOLNCT00754819declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CODENNCT02095522declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07143136NCT07143136declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DRC-04NCT03376698declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Non-cardiovascular death

EstimandHR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect1.51 (HR), 95% CI 0.99–2.31
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 27 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
32865380PMID 328653801.51 (HR), 95% CI 0.99–2.31✓ verified against source
abstract effect+CI (HR): The incidence of death from noncardiovascular causes was higher in the colchicine group than in the placebo group (incidence, 0.7 vs. 0.5 events per 100 person-years; hazard ratio, 1.51; 95% CI, 0.99
32407460PMID 32407460declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
31733140PMID 31733140declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41670023PMID 41670023declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
41605493PMID 41605493declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
40263680PMID 40263680declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39189611PMID 39189611declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39166327PMID 39166327declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
39115262PMID 39115262declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34876021PMID 34876021declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34446156PMID 34446156declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34686461PMID 34686461declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32862667PMID 32862667declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32295417PMID 32295417declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
31284074PMID 31284074declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
26265659PMID 26265659declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25784519PMID 25784519declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
1593057PMID 1593057declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CLEAR SYNERGYNCT03048825declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT05739929NCT05739929declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT06215989NCT06215989declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
PROACT 2NCT05850091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COLCOHIVNCT07704164declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT01709981NCT01709981declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
COOLNCT00754819declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CODENNCT02095522declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07143136NCT07143136declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
DRC-04NCT03376698declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorColchicine and coronary heart disease risks: A meta-analysis of randomized controlled clinical trials. (2022), Front Cardiovasc Med
IdentifierPMID 36176989
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.3389/fcvm.2022.947959

Major adverse cardiovascular events: 0.65 (RR), 95% CI 0.38–0.77

Gastrointestinal adverse effects: 2.07 (RR), 95% CI 1.45–2.95

Non-cardiovascular death: 1.07 (RR), 95% CI 0.85–1.36

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)2
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)not stated in the comparator abstract/full text
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours41670023, 41605493, 40263680, 39189611, 39166327, 39115262
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 1 of 2 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (32865380) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed. RoB2 is scoped to the primary outcome; 1 trial(s) pooled only in secondary outcomes (34876021) are outside this assessment.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 3 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 1 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 31733140public/non-profitabstract onlythan placebo. (Funded by the Government of Quebec and others; COLCOT ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT02551094.).
PMID 32865380public/non-profitabstract onlyived placebo. (Funded by the National Health Medical Research Council of Australia and others; LoDoCo2 Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry number, ACTRN12614000093684.).
PMID 34876021not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
31733140some concernslowlowsome concernslowlow
32865380not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 1 of 2 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=2, HR 0.7312 [0.2934, 1.8223]
Low risk of bias only(not informative — see coverage)

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: low (starting from high for randomized trials, 2 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−11 of 1 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 1 of 2 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.2934, 1.8223]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 6 of ~33 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 18%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults with coronary disease or recent myocardial infarction, does low-dose colchicine reduce major adverse cardiovascular events versus placebo? (Double-blind placebo-controlled RCTs.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 9355c4b9d848); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (120 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 2 trials gave mixed (HR/RR) 0.73 (95% CI 0.29 to 1.82), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.29 to 1.82. 26 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was low (from 2 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 9355c4b9d848) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 2 trials gave mixed (HR/RR) 0.73 (95% CI 0.29 to 1.82), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.29 to 1.82.

317331400.77 [0.61, 0.96]328653800.71Pooled (k=2)0.73 [0.29, 1.82]MIXED (HR/RR) (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 1 of 2 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. a low-risk-only subpool was not estimable.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 9355c4b9d848) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py colchicine-secondary-cv-prevention

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 14.2% (17/120); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. An independent capable-model reader adjudicated the disagreements and agrees with the served screener on 12/17 (genuinely independent — different information + method).
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 9355c4b9d8, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA9355c4b9d8482a5cf6f6ad3d4884d97f695f2a6d
Content hash (review core)1dc836ac0a3b0965753a40a149de2ec7a5d47e316dc1664e19d46c2b57939cf6
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 2 of 2 that are checkable from the abstract (1 identical, 1 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 2 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.

Verified but not pooled (refusals, with reasons)

Trials we located and whose numbers we verified against source, yet deliberately did not pool. Honest k over inflated k: a named refusal is a result.

TrialWhat was verifiedWhy it was not pooled
COPS (PMID 32862667)primary composite 24 vs 38 events locatedthe abstract reports 'events' (ambiguous recurrent-vs-patient) with no HR/CI and a broader composite (mortality+ACS+revascularisation+stroke) than a 3-point MACE; refused on ambiguity.
Akrami 2021 (PMID 34876021)MACE 8 vs 28 locatednon-standard composite including decompensated heart failure; small, low-quality reporting; estimand mismatch.
COColchicine-PCI (PMID 32295417)death/MI/TVR composite 11.7% vs 12.9% locatedthis is a 30-day peri-PCI SECONDARY composite (the trial's primary is PCI-related myocardial injury); wrong timepoint/scope for secondary CV prevention.