Colchicine vs placebo for prevention of postoperative atrial fibrillation

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Colchicine vs placebo for prevention of postoperative atrial fibrillation

In adults undergoing cardiac surgery, does peri-operative colchicine reduce postoperative atrial fibrillation versus placebo/usual care?

Primary outcome

OutcomePostoperative atrial fibrillation
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)5 — 37640035 (PMID 37640035); 32720823 (PMID 32720823); 29237033 (PMID 29237033); 25172965 (PMID 25172965); 27502857 (PMID 27502857)
Screened-in → pooled8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 5 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 3 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect0.82 (RR), 95% CI 0.65–1.03
Prediction interval0.65–1.03
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

30 of 30 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 2 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)17664842dc5363f3aec2ddee42828835bad05ef6
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['atrial fibrillation']; and none of ['ablation', 'pulmonary vein', 'pericarditis', 'myocardial infarction', 'coronary artery', 'covid']; randomised intervention is one of ['colchicine'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard', 'no colchicine', 'no-colchicine']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol — colchicine for prevention of postoperative atrial fibrillation

**Registration.** The commit adding/updating this file registers the review; its SHA is
embedded in the page. Committed before the synthesis runs. Same machinery as topic 1.

## PICO
- **P** — adults undergoing cardiac (cardiothoracic) surgery.
- **I** — colchicine (peri-operative), added to usual care.
- **C** — placebo / usual care.
- **O (primary)** — postoperative atrial fibrillation (POAF).
- **O (harms)** — gastrointestinal adverse effects; treatment discontinuation.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- RR of POAF, intention-to-treat, in-hospital / index-admission follow-up.

## Eligibility — P/I/C/DESIGN only
- **I1** RCT; **I2** cardiac-surgery population with POAF as an outcome; **I3** colchicine vs
  placebo/usual care; **design** double-blind OR placebo-controlled RCT.
- Exclude: **X1** not RCT; **X2** wrong population (ablation/pulmonary-vein-isolation AF,
  pericarditis, coronary-disease AF); **X3** no colchicine-vs-control contrast; **X5** off-topic
  (a primary trial of another topic in this set — negative control).
- Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis; a published effect+CI is a poolable input.

## Synthesis method (DECLARED = served)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); Paule-Mandel τ²; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1}
(floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); PI μ ± t_{k-1}·√(τ²+se²). DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. metafor-validated.
(Note: the comparator used DerSimonian-Laird; we report theirs as published and pool ours under the declared method.)

## Comparator (resolved; OA confirmed)
Zhao et al., *J Cardiothorac Surg* 2022, "A meta-analysis of colchicine in prevention of atrial
fibrillation following cardiothoracic surgery or cardiac intervention" (PMID 36050741,
PMC9438305, DOI 10.1186/s13019-022-01958-9; open access). Reports POAF RR 0.62 (0.52–0.74) over 9 RCTs.

## Controls
- **Positive** — the search recovers the colchicine-vs-placebo cardiac-surgery POAF RCTs the comparator pools.
- **Negative** — CORP (colchicine for recurrent pericarditis, PMID 21873705 — another topic in this set)
  must be recovered and EXCLUDED (wrong population).

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)67
Records screened (deduplicated)67
Excluded at screening — by rule59 (X1 48 · X2 9 · X3 2)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)8
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)5
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)3

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 67 records: agreement 61/67, disagreement 9.0% (6 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Independent model adjudication of the disagreements

A capable model (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets) adjudicated 6 content-bearing disagreements; it agrees with the served rule screener on 5/6. an independent capable-model reader adjudicated the rule-screener disagreements (different information + method than the two correlated rule sets). Advisory: the rule screener remains the served decision; flags are surfaced for review. Flags: 39266309 (served exclude, model include: Colchicine RCT in the cardiac-surgery perioperative period; eligible at screening though its focus is organ damage.)

Trial integrity: none of the 5 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:01Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

67 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
42506093pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42506093).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42417166pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42417166).publication types: Journal Article
42318173pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42318173).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42250736pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42250736).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42196392pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 42196392).publication types: Journal Article, Review
42132185pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['atrial fibrillation'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Short-Term, Weight-Adjusted Colchicine to Prevent Post-CABG Arrhythmias: A Randomized, Dou…”
41745311pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41745311).publication types: Journal Article, Review
41297980pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 41297980).publication types: Journal Article, Review, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
40868251pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40868251).publication types: Journal Article
40659682pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['atrial fibrillation'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Colchicine in patients with aortic stenosis undergoing transcatheter aortic valve replacem…”
40631790pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40631790).publication types: Journal Article, Network Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.
40124716pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40124716).publication types: Journal Article, Review
40014057pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 40014057).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39872654pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39872654).publication types: Journal Article, Review
39848652pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39848652).publication types: Journal Article, Systematic Review, Network Meta-Analysis
39266309pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39266309).publication types: Clinical Trial Protocol, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
39243878pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 39243878).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
38648916pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38648916).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article
38639701pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38639701).publication types: Journal Article, Comparative Study, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
38181213pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38181213).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article
38163371pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 38163371).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
37640035pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…hicine on perioperative atrial fibrillation and myocardial injury a…”; comparator “…twice daily or matching placebo, starting within 4 h be…”
37505274pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37505274).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article, Review
37341446pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 37341446).publication types: Meta-Analysis, Journal Article
36754105pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36754105).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Clinical Trial Protocol
36531704pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36531704).publication types: Journal Article
36286314pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['atrial fibrillation'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Colchicine in Cardiac Surgery: The COCS Randomized Clinical Trial.”
32720823pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…iNe on the InciDence of Atrial Fibrillation in Open Heart Surgery P…”; comparator “…ndomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study, conse…”
29237033pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ention of Perioperative Atrial Fibrillation in patients undergoing…”; comparator “…ct of colchicine versus placebo on postoperative atrial…”
29186389pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['atrial fibrillation'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “The effect of colchicine administration on postoperative pleural effusion following lung r…”
29121194pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29121194).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
28918897pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28918897).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Systematic Review
28747027pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28747027).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Review
29766857pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29766857).publication types: Journal Article
25172965pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…drome and postoperative atrial fibrillation: the COPPS-2 randomized…”; comparator “…nitiated, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomized…”
24508207pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'pulmonary vein'.…lation recurrence after pulmonary vein isolation: mid-term eff…
23022970pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 23022970).publication types: English Abstract, Journal Article, Review
22090167pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…e reduces postoperative atrial fibrillation: results of the Colchic…”; comparator “…rting the intervention (placebo/colchicine 1.0 mg twice…”
21873705pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'pericarditis'.…olchicine for recurrent pericarditis (CORP): a randomized tr…
36050741pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 36050741).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Review
34657777pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 34657777).publication types: Journal Article, Review
32865380pmidexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['atrial fibrillation'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Colchicine in Patients with Chronic Coronary Disease.”
32611559pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32611559).publication types: Journal Article, Review
32116184pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 32116184).publication types: Journal Article, Review
31462531pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 31462531).publication types: Journal Article, Comment
30792496pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30792496).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
30516110pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30516110).publication types: Journal Article, Review
30217592pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30217592).publication types: Journal Article, Review
29921647pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29921647).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Review
29272515pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29272515).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
28645513pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28645513).publication types: Journal Article, Review
28265666pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 28265666).publication types: Journal Article, Review
27637120pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 27637120).publication types: Journal Article
27502857pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…iNe on the InciDence of Atrial Fibrillation in Open Heart Surgery P…”; comparator “…colchicine (n = 179) or no-colchicine (n = 181). Main exclusi…”
27378573pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 27378573).publication types: Journal Article, Review
27223641pmidexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard', 'no colchicine', 'no-colchicine']).examined: “Colchicine to Reduce Atrial Fibrillation in the Postoperative Period of Myocardial Revascu…”
26318871pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 26318871).publication types: Journal Article, Meta-Analysis, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Systematic Review
23040570pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'pulmonary vein'.…lation recurrence after pulmonary vein isolation: a randomized…
19622551pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19622551).publication types: Guideline, Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't
19406267pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 19406267).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article
15927979pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 15927979).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, N.I.H., Extramural, Research Support, U.S. Gov't, P.H.S.
15110218pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 15110218).publication types: Comparative Study, Journal Article
12958120pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 12958120).publication types: Journal Article, Research Support, Non-U.S. Gov't, Review
NCT07611019nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'coronary artery'.…rial Fibrillation After Coronary Artery Bypass Grafting: A Sing…
NCT07287345nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…Surgery Post Operative Atrial Fibrillation Inflammatory Markers Co…”; comparator “…n Colchicine (Colcrys®) Placebo”
NCT03905759nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['placebo', 'usual care', 'standard', 'no colchicine', 'no-colchicine']).examined: “Prophylaxis Against Postoperative Atrial Fibrillation in Patients Undergoing On-pump CABG …”
NCT02177266nctincludeINCLUDERCT of colchicine vs placebo in atrial fibrillation; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…cardiotomy Syndrome and Atrial Fibrillation Atrial Fibrillation Pos…”; comparator “…Constriction Colchicine Placebo”

Controls

Results

Cross-family definition audit. Two independent model families (Gemini via AGY, and Fable) re-read every pooled row and checked whether the extracted result matches the outcome LABEL's definition — composite component set, timepoint, population, analysis set — not just the number. Rows flagged for this topic, with how each was resolved (refuse the trial / disclose the heterogeneity / relabel the timepoint / already disclosed). This is the endpoint-IDENTITY check — distinct from the per-number MAGNITUDE check (every pooled number located in its committed source span, gate-enforced). A number can pass magnitude and fail identity, which is exactly the class this audit catches; ‘verified’ on this harness now means both:
TrialOutcomeFindingResolution
27502857Gastrointestinal adverse effectsflagged; per-row adjudicationDISCLOSED (diarrhoea-only counts used as the GI-adverse-effect proxy; open-label trial, no placebo)
37640035Gastrointestinal adverse effectsflagged; per-row adjudicationDISCLOSED (prespecified non-infectious-diarrhoea safety outcome reported as events; narrower than a broad GI-adverse-effect endpoint)
29237033Postoperative atrial fibrillationPilot: POAF within 30 days, lung-resection surgery. ·both familiesTIMEPOINT RELABELLED (in-hospital to 30 days, windows vary)
37640035Postoperative atrial fibrillationCOP-AF: 14-day window, clinically-important AF, non-cardiac thoracic surgery. ·both familiesTIMEPOINT RELABELLED (in-hospital to 30 days, windows vary)

Postoperative atrial fibrillation (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepointpostoperative, in-hospital to 30 days (windows vary by trial: index-admission, 14-day, and 30-day POAF)
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k5
Pooled effect0.82 (RR), 95% CI 0.65–1.03
Prediction interval0.65–1.03
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)estimate ranges 0.79–0.83 across single-trial drops; most influential: 37640035. each row drops one trial and re-pools; a stable estimate across drops = no single trial drives it.

k = 5: the 5 trial(s) named below were pooled; 3 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
37640035PMID 37640035103/1608 vs 120/1601 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Clinically important atrial fibrillation occurred in 103 (6.4%) of 1608 patients assigned to colchicine, and 120 (7.5%) of 1601 patients assigned to placebo (hazard ratio [HR] 0.85, 95% CI 0.65 to 1.1
32720823PMID 3272082313/81 vs 13/71 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): POAF occurred in 13 patients (16.1%) in the colchicine group and 13 patients (18.3%) in the placebo group (odds ratio 0.85 [95% Confidence Interval = 0.37-1.99]).
29237033PMID 292370335/49 vs 7/51 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): New POAF occurred in 5 (10.2%) patients in the colchicine group and 7 (13.7%) patients in the placebo group (adjusted hazard ratio 0.69, 95% confidence interval 0.20-2.34).
25172965PMID 2517296561/180 vs 75/180 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): There were no significant differences between the colchicine and placebo groups for the secondary end points of postoperative AF (colchicine, 61 patients [33.9%]; placebo, 75 patients [41.7%]; absolut
27502857PMID 2750285726/179 vs 37/181 (events/n)✓ verified against source
END-AF (PMID 27502857) abstract: 'scheduled to undergo elective cardiac surgery (n = 360) were randomized to colchicine (n = 179) or no-colchicine (n = 181) ... The primary end point of AF occurred in 63 patients (17.5%): 26 (14.5%) in the colchicine group and 37 (20.5%) in the no-colchicine group (relative risk reduction 29.3% [P = .14])'. The abstract STATES the randomization: n=179 colchicine, n=181 no-colchicine. 26/179=14.5% corroborates the colchicine arm EXACTLY (180 gives 14.4%).
22090167PMID 22090167declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07287345NCT07287345declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT02177266NCT02177266declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Gastrointestinal adverse effects

EstimandRR
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect3.7 (RR), 95% CI 0.49–27.83
Prediction interval0.49–27.83
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k>=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
37640035PMID 37640035134/1608 vs 38/1601 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Non-infectious diarrhoea was more common in the colchicine group (134 [8.3%] events) than the placebo group (38 [2.4%]; HR 3.64, 2.54-5.22).
27502857PMID 2750285744/179 vs 10/181 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Diarrhea occurred in 54 patients, 44 (24.6%) on colchicine and 10 (5.5%) on no-colchicine (P < .001).
32720823PMID 32720823declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
29237033PMID 29237033declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25172965PMID 25172965declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
22090167PMID 22090167declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07287345NCT07287345declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT02177266NCT02177266declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Treatment discontinuation

DECLARED ABSENT. no included trial reported this outcome with a percentage-corroborated count or an effect+CI in its abstract
TrialIdInputSource
37640035PMID 37640035declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
32720823PMID 32720823declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
29237033PMID 29237033declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
25172965PMID 25172965declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
22090167PMID 22090167declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
27502857PMID 27502857declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT07287345NCT07287345declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
NCT02177266NCT02177266declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorA meta-analysis of colchicine in prevention of atrial fibrillation following cardiothoracic surgery or cardiac intervention. (2022), J Cardiothorac Surg
IdentifierPMID 36050741
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1186/s13019-022-01958-9

Postoperative atrial fibrillation: 0.62 (RR), 95% CI 0.52–0.74

Gastrointestinal adverse effects: 2.65 (RR), 95% CI 1.83–3.84

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is a single agent, comparator is a single agent (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)5
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)9
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours37640035
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2022) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 3 of 5 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 2 are pooled but have no registry match (27502857, 29237033) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 5 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 4 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 37640035public/non-profitabstract onlyous diarrhoea. FUNDING: Canadian Institutes of Health Research, Accelerating Clinical Trials Consortium, Innovation Fund of the Alternative Funding Plan for the Academic Health Sciences Centres of Ontario, Population Health Research Institute, Hamilton He
PMID 32720823not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only
PMID 29237033not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only
PMID 25172965not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only
PMID 27502857not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
25172965low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlownot assessedlowlow
32720823low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlownot assessedlowlow
37640035some concernslowsome concernsnot assessedlowlow
27502857not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed
29237033not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 3 of 5 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=5, RR 0.8176 [0.6481, 1.0315]
Low risk of bias onlyk=2, RR 0.8211 [0.1626, 4.1466]

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: moderate (starting from high for randomized trials, 1 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of biasnot downgradedno assessed trial at high risk; fewer than half at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 3 of 5 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.6481, 1.0315]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)not downgradedregistry census: 1 of ~14 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 7%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In adults undergoing cardiac surgery, does peri-operative colchicine reduce postoperative atrial fibrillation versus placebo/usual care?

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA 17664842dc53); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (67 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 5 trials gave RR 0.82 (95% CI 0.65 to 1.03), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.65 to 1.03. 3 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was moderate (from 1 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA 17664842dc53) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 5 trials gave RR 0.82 (95% CI 0.65 to 1.03), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.65 to 1.03.

376400350.85327208230.88292370330.74251729650.81275028570.71Pooled (k=5)0.82 [0.65, 1.03]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 3 of 5 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was RR 0.82 (95% CI 0.16 to 4.15, k=2); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA 17664842dc53) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py colchicine-postop-af

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 9.0% (6/67); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step. An independent capable-model reader adjudicated the disagreements and agrees with the served screener on 5/6 (genuinely independent — different information + method).
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA 17664842dc, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHA17664842dc5363f3aec2ddee42828835bad05ef6
Content hash (review core)5bad434822b60850fb2788132c339bcd220451e53b5a7cfbbd953eb27d8b8b41
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 5 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 7NEAR. Comparator (Zhao 2022) pools 9; comparable same-scope k=7 (excludes 2 post-PVI-ablation trials). Decomposed: 4 POOLED BY US (Bessissow 29237033, COPPS-2 25172965, END-AF 27502857, END-AF-low-dose 32720823) + END-AF recovered = 5 ours; of the rest: 2 SCOPE-excluded (Deftereos x2, post-pulmonary-vein-isolation ablation recurrence, not post-surgery POAF); 1 MULTI-ARM (Zarpelon 27223641, pre+post-op dosing + late-admission single-dose subgroup, dose/timing ambiguity); 1 REACH (Sarzaeem 2014, no PMID/not in corpus); 1 flagged ELIGIBLE but on verification NOT cleanly poolable (COPPS AF substudy 22090167: double-blind, real POAF 12.0% vs 22.0%, but the abstract gives percentages without exact per-arm N or a CI, and its PMC full text mis-maps — refuse on ambiguity). So the k gap is scope + multi-arm + reach + one percentage-only trial, not a search/extraction failure.

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 3 of 3 that are checkable from the abstract (3 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 4 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.