Balanced crystalloids vs saline for mortality in critically ill adults

Reproducible meta-analysis harness — auditability, not authority

Overview

Balanced crystalloids vs saline for mortality in critically ill adults

In critically ill adults, do balanced crystalloids reduce mortality versus 0.9% saline? (Randomised trials; double-blinding not required.)

Primary outcome

OutcomeMortality
EstimandRR
Trials pooled (k)5 — 35041780 (PMID 35041780); 34375394 (PMID 34375394); 29485925 (PMID 29485925); 27749094 (PMID 27749094); 26444692 (PMID 26444692)
Screened-in → pooled8 trials met P/I/C/design (screening); 5 reported this outcome with an extractable number and were pooled; the remaining 3 are listed as declared-absent in Results (they were included but reported no poolable value for this outcome).
Pooled effect0.96 (RR), 95% CI 0.9–1.02
Prediction interval0.9–1.02
Between-study τ²0
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.

Transparency (independently checkable)

32 of 32 numerical claims on this page (100%) carry a one-click source a reader can open to check independently — each pooled number its PMID/NCT and verbatim span, each declared-absent trial its reason, each risk-of-bias domain the structured field it read, the reproduction its protocol SHA and replay result. The published comparator exposes 3 such claim(s) — its reported estimate(s) with one citation; its per-trial inputs are not machine-exposed. Score: scripts/transparency_score.py (committed docs/transparency.json).

Stated limitations

Protocol

Registration (protocol commit SHA)f85737aa471079fa1ef93da4ca0caf21c83b77e8
Committed (UTC)2026-09-11
Declared analysis methodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
Eligibility (P/I/C/design)Included iff ALL hold: a randomised controlled trial; population (in title/registry conditions) mentions one of ['critically ill', 'critical illness', 'intensive care', 'ICU', 'sepsis', 'trauma']; and none of ['children', 'child', 'pediatric', 'paediatric', 'PICU', 'neonatal', 'infant', 'noncritically', 'non-critically', 'emergency department', 'diabetic ketoacidosis']; randomised intervention is one of ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (named in title/conditions); a comparator among ['saline', 'sodium chloride', 'NaCl']. Excluded (rule id + verbatim span on each record): X1 not an RCT · X2 wrong/off-topic population · X3 wrong intervention/comparator.
# Protocol - balanced crystalloids vs saline for mortality in critically ill adults

**Registration.** The commit that adds this file is the registration of this
review; its SHA is embedded in the page's Protocol tab and its Reproducibility tab.
Committed BEFORE the synthesis is run.

## PICO
- **P** - critically ill adults, including adult ICU, sepsis, or trauma resuscitation populations matched on title or registry conditions.
- **I** - balanced or buffered crystalloid solution, including balanced crystalloids, balanced multielectrolyte solution/BMES, Plasma-Lyte, Ringer's acetate, or lactated Ringer's.
- **C** - 0.9% saline / normal saline / sodium chloride.
- **O (primary)** - mortality, using in-hospital mortality or 28-90 day mortality where the abstract reports a poolable count or effect estimate.
- **O (harms)** - acute kidney injury and new renal-replacement therapy.

## Estimand / population / timepoint
- **Estimand** - risk ratio (RR), balanced crystalloid vs saline.
- **Population** - intention-to-treat as randomised when reported.
- **Timepoint** - 28-90 day mortality or in-hospital mortality.

## Eligibility - on P/I/C/DESIGN ONLY
Include a record iff **all** hold:
- **I1** - randomised trial;
- **I2** - population is critically ill adults, ICU patients, adult sepsis patients, or adult trauma resuscitation patients, judged from title or registry conditions;
- **I3** - balanced/buffered crystalloid solution vs 0.9% saline / normal saline / sodium chloride;
- **design** - randomised trial with a saline comparator; double-blinding is not required.

Exclude (reason must be true of the record):
- **X1** - not a randomised trial (review, guideline, observational study, protocol-only when not a trial results record);
- **X2** - wrong population (e.g. pediatric/PICU, neonatal, non-critically ill emergency-department adults, diabetic ketoacidosis);
- **X3** - wrong intervention/comparison (no balanced-crystalloid-vs-saline contrast);
- **X-DESIGN** - not randomised;
- **X5** - off-topic: a primary trial of another population/topic in this set (negative control).

> **Eligibility is NOT on the outcome axis.** Whether a trial reports mortality, or
> gives a 2x2 vs only an effect+CI, is recorded as *target-result status* at
> extraction - never as an exclusion. A published effect + 95% CI is a poolable input.

## Search (fetch-once; raw results committed under cache/<slug>/records.json; screening replays offline)
- PubMed: title-level searches for SMART, PLUS, BaSICS, SPLIT, SALT, the Plasma-Lyte 148 pilot, and the trauma Plasma-Lyte A trial.
- ClinicalTrials.gov: condition "critical illness", intervention "balanced crystalloids".

## Synthesis method (DECLARED; served method must equal this - gate limb 1)
Random-effects inverse-variance on log(RR); **Paule-Mandel** tau^2; **HKSJ** 95% CI on
`t_{k-1}` with variance floor `max(1, Q/(k-1))`; prediction interval
`mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau^2+se^2)`. 0.5 continuity correction to all four cells of a study only if
it has a zero cell. DerSimonian-Laird forbidden. Engine validated vs metafor 5.0.1 (<1e-6).

## Comparator (resolved; open-access confirmed)
Zayed et al., *Journal of Intensive Care* 2018, "Balanced crystalloids versus isotonic
saline in critically ill patients: systematic review and meta-analysis" (PMID 30140441,
DOI 10.1186/s40560-018-0320-x; Unpaywall is_oa=true; PMC6098635). It reports six RCTs
and in-hospital mortality OR 0.92 (95% CI 0.85-1.01), plus acute kidney injury and new
renal-replacement therapy.

## Controls
- **Positive** - SMART (PMID 29485925) and PLUS (PMID 35041780) must be recovered and included by P/I/C/design.
- **Tracked landmark** - BaSICS (PMID 34375394) is queried and verified as a real large trial, but PubMed tags the fetched record as Journal Article only; under this fixed harness it is expected to fail closed at the RCT-publication-type screen rather than be force-included.
- **Negative** - SPLYT-P (PMID 36534387), a pediatric/PICU balanced-fluid trial, must be recovered and EXCLUDED as wrong population.

Screening

Study selection flow (PRISMA 2020)

Stagen
Records identified (committed search)29
Records screened (deduplicated)29
Excluded at screening — by rule21 (X1 7 · X2 4 · X3 10)
Met eligibility (P/I/C/design)8
Pooled in the primary outcome (k)5
Eligible but outcome not extractable (declared-absent)3

Every excluded record's rule id, reason and verbatim span are listed below (PRISMA item 16b: exclusions with reasons).

Dual independent screening (PRISMA item 8)

Two independently-implemented rule screeners over 29 records: agreement 29/29, disagreement 0.0% (0 records). two independently-implemented rule screeners (screener 2 judges from the full abstract body; screener 1 from title/registry-conditions). Adjudicator: screener 1. the two rule sets share an author and the same eligibility criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent; this agreement overstates inter-rater reliability. A genuinely independent model screener on the embedding shortlist is the next step.

Trial integrity: none of the 5 trials pooled across all outcomes on this page is retracted (checked 2026-09-11T23:50:01Z via PubMed efetch (PublicationType + CommentsCorrections) + AACT dates).

29 records screened; 8 included. Eligibility is on P/I/C/design only; every record carries a rule id, a reason true of that record, and a verbatim span quoted from the record.

RecordTypeDecisionRuleReason (true of the record)Verbatim span (from the record)
35041780pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in critically ill; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…lution versus Saline in Critically Ill Adults.”; comparator “…trolyte Solution versus Saline in Critically Ill Adult…”
34375394pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in critically ill; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…olution on Mortality in Critically Ill Patients: The BaSICS Ra…”; comparator “…lanced Solution vs 0.9% Saline Solution on Mortality i…”
29770681pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29770681).publication types: Letter, Comment
29770680pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29770680).publication types: Letter, Comment
29770679pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29770679).publication types: Letter, Comment
29770678pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 29770678).publication types: Letter, Comment
29485925pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in critically ill; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…lloids versus Saline in Critically Ill Adults.”; comparator “…ced Crystalloids versus Saline in Critically Ill Adult…”
27749094pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in intensive care; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…ds versus Saline in the Intensive Care Unit. The SALT Randomiz…”; comparator “…ced Crystalloids versus Saline in the Intensive Care U…”
26444692pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in intensive care; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…y Among Patients in the Intensive Care Unit: The SPLIT Randomi…”; comparator “…Crystalloid Solution vs Saline on Acute Kidney Injury…”
27604335pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in critically ill; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…e or Plasma-Lyte 148 in critically ill patients.”; comparator “…luid resuscitation with saline or Plasma-Lyte 148 in c…”
23732264pmidincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in trauma; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…nitial resuscitation of trauma patients: a randomized…”; comparator “Saline versus Plasma-Lyte A in…”
36534387pmidexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'children'.…on Serum Chloride Among Children in the Pediatric Intens…
30140441pmidexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: 30140441).publication types: Journal Article, Review
FENICE II · NCT06394947nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: FENICE II).publication types: (no publication types)
SMART-SURG · NCT02547779nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Isotonic Solutions and Major Adverse Renal Events Trial in the Non-Medical Intensive Care …”
KATECHOL · NCT02414555nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Perioperative Fluid Management in Patients Receiving Major Abdominal Surgery - Effects of …”
PPI-PROTECT · NCT07367113nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Peripheral Perfusion Index-guided Fluid Resuscitation for Preventing Acute Skin Failure in…”
NCT04201704nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'children'.…Giving Reduced Fluid in Children After Trauma Critical I…
SaLt-ED · NCT02614040nctexcludeX2wrong population: title/conditions mention 'emergency department'.…rs or Plasmalyte in the Emergency Department Critical Illness Acute…
KETO-FAST · NCT07738536nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Ketosis, Immune Function and Metabolic Adaptation in Response to Short-term Fasting in Cri…”
FFAKI · NCT02458157nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Forced Fluid Removal in High Risk Acute Kidney Injury Acute Kidney Injury Fluid Overload C…”
CARE · NCT03118362nctexcludeX2population not on-topic: title/conditions do not mention any of ['critically ill', 'critical illness', 'intensive care', 'ICU', 'sepsis', 'trauma'] (an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined title/conditions: “Fluid Resuscitation in Burn Patients Severe Burns Fluid Resuscitation CARE”
RESPONSE · NCT02860572nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Non-interventional Follow-up Versus Fluid Bolus in RESPONSE to Oliguria in the Critically …”
BASE · NCT03537898nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['saline', 'sodium chloride', 'NaCl']).examined: “Balanced Solutions and Plasma Electrolytes Critical Illness Acidosis, Metabolic Lactated R…”
ALBUS · NCT07212582nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “Human Albumin for Resuscitation in Surgical Septic Shock: A Randomized Controlled Trial (A…”
ESCALATE · NCT07464431nctexcludeX3no eligible comparator (none of ['saline', 'sodium chloride', 'NaCl']).examined: “Sodium Bicarbonate for Critically Ill Patients With Metabolic Acidosis and Acute Kidney In…”
CRUSADERS · NCT07189091nctincludeINCLUDERCT of balanced crystalloid vs saline in critically ill; double-blind placebo-controlled — P/I/C/design met.population “…nistration rEduction in cRitically Ill adultS Critical Care, I…”; comparator “…creep NaCl 0.9% (normal saline) for fluid creep Plasma…”
NCT05441878nctexcludeX3the randomised intervention is not ['balanced crystalloid', 'balanced crystalloids', 'balanced solution', 'balanced multielectrolyte', 'buffered crystalloid', 'Plasma-Lyte', 'Plasmalyte', "Ringer's acetate", 'lactated Ringer'] (not named in title/conditions; an incidental abstract mention does not qualify).examined: “20% Albumin vs. Balanced Salt Solution as Resuscitation Fluid in Cirrhosis With Sepsis Ind…”
NCT07649694nctexcludeX1not a randomized controlled trial (record: NCT07649694).publication types: (no publication types)

Controls

Results

Mortality (primary)

EstimandRR
Analysis populationintention-to-treat
Timepoint28-90 day or in-hospital
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k5
Pooled effect0.96 (RR), 95% CI 0.9–1.02
Prediction interval0.9–1.02
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)estimate ranges 0.95–0.97 across single-trial drops; most influential: 34375394. each row drops one trial and re-pools; a stable estimate across drops = no single trial drives it.

k = 5: the 5 trial(s) named below were pooled; 3 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
35041780PMID 35041780530/2433 vs 530/2413 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Death within 90 days after randomization occurred in 530 of 2433 patients (21.8%) in the BMES group and in 530 of 2413 patients (22.0%) in the saline group, for a difference of -0.15 percentage points
34375394PMID 343753941381/5230 vs 1439/5290 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): By day 90, 1381 of 5230 patients (26.4%) assigned to a balanced solution died vs 1439 of 5290 patients (27.2%) assigned to saline solution (adjusted hazard ratio, 0.97 [95% CI, 0.90-1.05]; P = .47).
29485925PMID 29485925818/7942 vs 875/7860 (events/n)✓ verified (AACT-derived, cross-checked)
AACT structured '30-day In-hospital Mortality' summed across NCT02444988, NCT02547779 (harness-derived by scripts/build_aact_arms.py via aact.summed_arms: registrations discovered from study_references, arms aligned by result-group title, recurrent-event guarded). Cross-checked to the abstract: 818/7942=10.3% and 875/7860=11.1% match the published percentages.
27749094PMID 2774909472/520 vs 68/454 (events/n)✓ verified against source
ClinicalTrials.gov results (structured): outcome 'In-hospital Mortality' 72/520 (Physiologically Balanced) vs 68/454 (0.9% Sodium Chloride)
outcome-identity check (model-derived): population hospitalised (in-hospital) patients; timepoint in-hospital; definition all-cause in-hospital death; is-match True — All-cause in-hospital mortality matches the declared outcome's in-hospital option and definition.
26444692PMID 2644469287/1152 vs 95/1110 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): Overall, 87 of 1152 patients (7.6%) in the buffered crystalloid group and 95 of 1110 patients (8.6%) in the saline group died in the hospital (absolute difference, -1.0% [95% CI, -3.3% to 1.2%]; RR, 0
27604335PMID 27604335declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
23732264PMID 23732264declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CRUSADERSNCT07189091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Harms

Acute kidney injury

EstimandRR
MethodSingle included trial that reported this outcome — the estimate is that trial's own effect; no random-effects pooling (tau^2, HKSJ and prediction interval are not applicable at k=1).
k1
Single-trial effect1.04 (RR), 95% CI 0.8–1.36
Noteprediction interval undefined for k=1
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=1 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 1: the 1 trial(s) named below were pooled; 7 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
26444692PMID 26444692102/1067 vs 94/1025 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): RESULTS: In the buffered crystalloid group, 102 of 1067 patients (9.6%) developed AKI within 90 days after enrollment compared with 94 of 1025 patients (9.2%) in the saline group (absolute difference,
35041780PMID 35041780declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
34375394PMID 34375394declared absentfactorial-design trial: no extraction sentence explicitly names the intervention, so the effect cannot be attributed to our comparison rather than the co-randomised factor; refused (factorial guard)
29485925PMID 29485925declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
27749094PMID 27749094declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
27604335PMID 27604335declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
23732264PMID 23732264declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CRUSADERSNCT07189091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

New renal-replacement therapy

EstimandRR
MethodRandom-effects inverse-variance on the log ratio (log RR/OR/HR as configured for the outcome); Paule-Mandel tau^2; HKSJ 95% CI on t_{k-1} (variance floor max(1,Q/(k-1))); prediction interval mu +/- t_{k-1}*sqrt(tau2+se^2). Validated vs metafor 5.0.1.
k2
Pooled effect0.98 (RR), 95% CI 0.4–2.43
Prediction interval0.4–2.43
τ²0
Notetau^2 estimated as 0, so the prediction interval coincides with the confidence interval (no between-study heterogeneity detected).
Leave-one-out (influence)not assessable at k=2 (leave-one-out needs k&gt;=3)

k = 2: the 2 trial(s) named below were pooled; 6 further screened-in trial(s) reported no poolable value for this outcome and are shown as declared absent.

TrialIdInputSource
35041780PMID 35041780306/2403 vs 310/2394 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): New renal-replacement therapy was initiated in 306 of 2403 patients (12.7%) in the BMES group and in 310 of 2394 patients (12.9%) in the saline group, for a difference of -0.20 percentage points (95%
26444692PMID 2644469238/1152 vs 38/1110 (events/n)✓ verified against source
abstract arm-level counts (percentage-corroborated): In the buffered crystalloid group, RRT was used in 38 of 1152 patients (3.3%) compared with 38 of 1110 patients (3.4%) in the saline group (absolute difference, -0.1% [95% CI, -1.6% to 1.4%]; RR, 0.96
34375394PMID 34375394declared absentfactorial-design trial: no extraction sentence explicitly names the intervention, so the effect cannot be attributed to our comparison rather than the co-randomised factor; refused (factorial guard)
29485925PMID 29485925declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
27749094PMID 27749094declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
27604335PMID 27604335declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
23732264PMID 23732264declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract
CRUSADERSNCT07189091declared absentno percentage-corroborated arm counts or effect+CI for this outcome found in the abstract

Comparator

Published comparatorBalanced crystalloids versus isotonic saline in critically ill patients: systematic review and meta-analysis. (2018), J Intensive Care
IdentifierPMID 30140441
Open accessTrue
URLhttps://doi.org/10.1186/s40560-018-0320-x

Mortality: 0.92 (OR), 95% CI 0.85–1.01

Acute kidney injury: 0.92 (OR), 95% CI 0.84–1.01

New renal-replacement therapy: 0.92 (OR), 95% CI 0.85–1.01

Scope match (is this the same question?)

✓ same question. Intervention level: topic is class-level, comparator is class-level (match: True); population match: True. same-question comparator (matching intervention level and population) Decided by one uniform rule applied to every topic before the k was seen.

Comparator resolution. k = 5 of the comparator's 6 (honest ceiling). The remaining candidates in our corpus are physiologic-endpoint pilots that report no mortality outcome: PMID 27604335 (saline vs Plasma-Lyte 148 pilot, primary endpoint base excess) and PMID 23732264 (saline vs Plasma-Lyte A in trauma, primary endpoint acid-base status/chloride at 24 h). Neither states a mortality result to pool, so both are correctly excluded rather than counted - a named shortfall, not a search miss.

Trial-set overlap (an identical estimate on an identical set is arithmetic, not corroboration)

k in this review (our own search)5
k stated in the comparator's own text (auto-extracted)6
Shared trialsnot exactly verifiable (comparator trial table not machine-exposed)
Only in ours35041780, 34375394
Only in theirs
Overlap methodpublication-date + design identity (comparator trial list not extracted from source)
NoteTrials newer than the comparator (2018) cannot be in it (only-ours, verifiable by date). Exact shared count not asserted.

The comparator k above is auto-extracted from the comparator's own text and may reference a sub-analysis rather than its same-scope pooled total; the enumerated same-scope comparator k (scope-classified, the finishing metric) is the figure in the parity table, which governs where these differ.

Risk of bias

Coverage: 4 of 5 primary-outcome pooled trials have a registry (AACT) match and are assessed below; the other 1 are pooled but have no registry match (26444692) and are shown as not assessed with the reason — never guessed.

Unit-of-analysis caveat (disclosed, not adjusted). 3 pooled trial(s) use a cluster-randomized or crossover design: PMID 29485925 (cluster-randomized crossover); PMID 27749094 (cluster-randomized crossover); PMID 26444692 (cluster-randomized crossover). They are pooled from patient-level counts without applying a design effect (cluster ICC) or a within-subject (crossover) adjustment, because the ICC / paired variance is not reported in the source. Consequence: the true variance of these trials is larger than the patient-level calculation assumes, so their inverse-variance weight in the pool is OVERSTATED and the pooled confidence interval is too narrow (over-precise) — the pooled point estimate is unaffected, but its certainty is optimistic. This is a stated limitation (a documented meta-analysis error class the harness flags but cannot correct without the missing variance component), not a silent simple-parallel pooling.
Funding / conflict-of-interest disclosure (per pooled trial, from source — disclosed, not adjusted). Industry-funded trials are a documented reporting-bias dimension (they tend to report more favourable results). For each pooled trial the funding source is classified from a verbatim statement in the committed source (full text preferred, abstract fallback), including an industry drug-supply tie in an otherwise independently funded trial: 0 of 5 pooled trials are industry-funded or industry-tied (the industry-funded proportion of this pool, for comparison against a comparator's). Absence is labelled by how deeply we looked — 0 with no funding statement in the full text (genuinely silent) and 3 where only the abstract was available (full text not retrieved) — so 'not stated' is never presented as 'independently funded'. The harness does not adjust for funding (the per-trial bias magnitude is not quantifiable from a funding line) — it is disclosed so a reader can weigh it. Never inferred.
TrialFundingScannedVerbatim statement
PMID 35041780public/non-profitabstract onlywith saline. (Funded by the National Health and Medical Research Council of Australia and the Health Research Council of New Zealand; PLUS ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT02721654.).
PMID 29485925declared (source unclassified)abstract onlyse of saline. (Funded by the Vanderbilt Institute for Clinical and Translational Research and others; SMART-MED and SMART-SURG ClinicalTrials.gov numbers, NCT02444988 and NCT02547779 .).
PMID 34375394not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only
PMID 27749094not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only
PMID 26444692not stated (abstract only — full text not retrieved)abstract only

Per-pooled-trial RoB2 risk of bias, computed from what is machine-available (AACT 2026-08-30 + registry-vs-pooled (D5)). Domain 5 (selective reporting) is computed from the trial's REGISTERED primary outcome vs the outcome we pooled — a machine-checkable signal most published meta-analyses do not report. D1/D2/D4 use AACT structured allocation/masking fields. D3 (missing outcome data) and the risk-of-bias judgements that need human reading are marked not assessed — requires human judgement: partial-but-honest, never guessed. Hover a cell for its basis.

TrialOverallD1 randomisationD2 deviations/blindingD3 missing dataD4 measurementD5 selective reporting
27749094some concernslownot assessedlownot assessedsome concerns
29485925some concernslowsome concernslowlowsome concerns
34375394low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlownot assessedlowlow
35041780low (on assessed domains; some domains require human judgement)lowlownot assessedlowlow
26444692not assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessednot assessed

Risk-of-bias sensitivity (re-pooled with the same estimator)

Does the result survive dropping the trials that are not low risk of bias? The primary outcome is re-pooled by risk-of-bias stratum with the identical estimator. 4 of 5 pooled trials have a risk-of-bias rating; no pooled trial is rated high risk (the registry-derived assessment does not reach 'high'), so the standard drop-high sensitivity is inert and the informative stratum is low-only. An unrated trial cannot be placed in a stratum, so a low-only pool with fewer trials than the full pool reflects both risk of bias and assessment coverage — read the widened interval with that caveat, not as instability of the effect.
StratumRe-pooled estimate
Full pool (all pooled trials)k=5, RR 0.9592 [0.8995, 1.0229]
Low risk of bias onlyk=2, RR 0.9762 [0.6864, 1.3882]

GRADE certainty (partial, object-derived)

Overall certainty: very low (starting from high for randomized trials, 3 downgrade(s)).Risk of bias, inconsistency, imprecision and publication bias are computed from committed fields; publication bias is assessed from the registry ghost census, not funnel-plot asymmetry (which is unreliable at our small k). Indirectness is left to human judgement (the PICO scope note states the directness) — this is a partial GRADE, honestly labelled.
DomainEffect on certaintyBasis
Risk of bias−12 of 4 assessed trial(s) at 'some concerns'; RoB assessed for only 4 of 5 pooled trials (registry-derived), so the rating is capped
Inconsistencynot downgradedtau^2=0.0 (no between-study heterogeneity detected)
Imprecision−195% CI [0.8995, 1.0229]; crosses the null (1) -> the pooled estimate is compatible with no effect
Indirectnesshuman judgementdirectness of population/intervention/comparator/outcome is a human judgement; not auto-rated (the scope note on the page states the PICO)
Publication bias (registry-based)−1registry census: 5 of ~16 completed registered trials have no published result (upper bound 31%); publication bias assessed from the registry, not a funnel plot -> downgraded

Manuscript

Abstract

Question. In critically ill adults, do balanced crystalloids reduce mortality versus 0.9% saline? (Randomised trials; double-blinding not required.)

Methods. A prospectively registered, fully reproducible review: the protocol was committed before synthesis (registration SHA f85737aa4710); a registry-first search was screened by two independent rule screeners with adjudication (29 records assessed); every pooled number was extracted down a source ladder and verified against its committed source.

Results. Pooling 5 trials gave RR 0.96 (95% CI 0.9 to 1.02), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.9 to 1.02. 3 eligible trial(s) were declared absent for this outcome (reported reason on each).

Certainty. Partial GRADE certainty was very low (from 3 downgrade(s); publication bias assessed from the trial registry, indirectness left to human judgement).

Methods

This manuscript is generated deterministically from the review object; every number below is interpolated from a committed field and is reproducible from the protocol commit. The protocol (SHA f85737aa4710) was committed before any synthesis ran. Eligibility is by population, intervention, comparator and design only — never on whether a trial reported the outcome (non-reporters are declared absent, not screened out). Two independently implemented rule screeners ran with adjudication. Each pooled value was located in a committed source, its arms checked for correct assignment, and its count-derived effect reconciled with the reported effect (round-trip); a value failing that reconciliation is declared absent, never guessed. Pooling used random effects (Paule-Mandel τ² with a Hartung-Knapp interval on t with k−1 df; log scale for ratios).

Results

Pooling 5 trials gave RR 0.96 (95% CI 0.9 to 1.02), random-effects (Paule-Mandel with a Hartung-Knapp interval). The 95% prediction interval was 0.9 to 1.02.

350417800.99343753940.97294859250.93277490940.92264446920.88Pooled (k=5)0.96 [0.9, 1.02]RR (log scale, null=1)
Forest plot of the primary outcome, rendered from the committed per-trial estimates and the pooled result.

Risk-of-bias sensitivity. 4 of 5 pooled trials carry a risk-of-bias rating; no trial is rated high risk. Restricted to low-risk trials the estimate was RR 0.98 (95% CI 0.69 to 1.39, k=2); read the widened interval with the coverage caveat.

Limitations

This synthesis is limited in that the confidence interval is wide or crosses the null (imprecision); risk of bias is not assessed for every pooled trial (registry-derived coverage); the trial registry shows unpublished completed trials (possible publication bias). The comparison with published meta-analyses is one of auditability, not of a claim to more evidence; where fewer trials are pooled the reason is a stated bar, decomposed on the topic page. Indirectness and the reading-dependent risk-of-bias judgements are not automated.

Data availability & reproduction

The committed cache, protocol (SHA f85737aa4710) and code regenerate this review byte-for-byte offline. Rebuild with a single command:

python scripts/build_topic.py balanced-crystalloids-vs-saline-mortality

Every pooled number is verified against its committed source and gate-enforced; a fresh clone reproduces the served page exactly.

Reporting (PRISMA)

Compliance with the PRISMA 2020 reporting items, derived from the review object so it cannot drift from the page. Every item is rendered or declared absent with a reason.

PRISMA 2020 itemStatusWhere / why
5 Eligibility criteria✓ presentProtocol tab — generated from the structured include object (P/I/C/design), so declared == enforced.
6 Information sources + dates✓ presentSearch tab — PubMed, ClinicalTrials.gov; run 2026-09-11; AACT snapshot dated on the ghost/recall blocks.
7 Full search strategy, verbatim, every source✓ presentSearch tab — the exact PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov queries are printed verbatim and are re-runnable.
8 Selection process (screeners, disagreement)✓ presentTwo independently-implemented rule screeners; disagreement rate 0.0% (0/29); rule-based adjudicates. CAVEAT: both rule sets share an author and the same criteria, so they are NOT statistically independent and this agreement overstates reliability — a genuinely independent model screener is the next step.
9 Data collection process✓ presentResults tab + per-trial Source column — source hierarchy (abstract > CT.gov structured > full text > hand-verified AACT arms), round-trip validation on every extraction, outcome-identity gating; refuse on ambiguity.
15 Certainty assessment✓ presentResults tab — the machine-computable certainty signals are shown: imprecision via the 95% CI and the prediction interval, inconsistency via tau^2. A PARTIAL, object-derived GRADE is now rendered on the Risk-of-bias tab (risk-of-bias, inconsistency, imprecision, and registry-based publication bias computed from committed fields; indirectness left to human judgement) — a graded certainty label with each domain's basis, not a full hand-graded GRADE.
16a Flow with counts at every stage✓ presentScreening tab — PRISMA flow: identified -> screened -> excluded-by-rule (counts) -> eligible -> pooled k -> declared-absent.
16b Exclusions with reasons✓ presentScreening tab — every excluded record lists its rule id, a reason true of the record, and a verbatim span.
24a-c Registration & protocol✓ presentProtocol + Reproducibility tabs — registered at commit SHA f85737aa47, committed before synthesis, eligibility generated from the structured object.

Reproducibility

Reproduction census failures0
Re-run from registration SHAf85737aa471079fa1ef93da4ca0caf21c83b77e8
Content hash (review core)4c0bccc752af7e24c94cf8a30df5c0b573553760687fa0cb4e6cf19a2bf96b50
Replayed offline from committed cacheTrue

Parity with the published comparator

Our pooled k = 5 vs the comparable same-scope comparator k = 5PARITY. comparator mortality pool k=5; we pool 5 (added PLUS+BaSICS megatrials; their Verma/Young are tiny physiologic)

Independent second extraction (blind)

Of this page's pooled numbers, a blind second extractor agreed or reconciled on 2 of 2 that are checkable from the abstract (2 identical, 0 same-result-different-statistic, 0 conflict; 6 not stated in the abstract). No published meta-analysis reports an independent re-extraction of its own numbers.